应对疫情全球大流行,我们需要立法保护隐私与数据

政府正在越来越广泛地运用数字技术和大数据统计来应对2019冠状病毒(Covid-19)的大流行。我们必须认识到这些技术不能取代其它综合防疫措施,并且要认识到数字技术所带来的风险,包括日益根深蒂固的监控以及对“法治”的侵蚀。




几周之前,我们习以为常的平静生活戛然而止。幸亏有了数字技术,我们可以把社交、工作和学习转到线上开展,还可以在线打打零工、收送快递,来保持工作和生产经营,大部分人的生活得以勉强维持。很多人也逐渐习惯了用即时通讯软件向亲朋好友嘘寒问暖。

数字技术不仅将我们联结在一起,还帮助我们应对疫情大流行的危机。通过各种应用程序和大数据分析,我们可以跟踪公民的行动轨迹,用以识别确诊病例,防止病毒在确诊病例之间及他人之间进一步扩散和传播。数字技术甚至可以用于减少人与人之间的接触,来防止病毒不知不觉的传播:中国研发并投入使用了一批手机应用程序,要求居民在上面登记自己的健康信息、查看自己是否与确诊病例密切接触过,政府可以通过这些信息跟踪病毒的传播轨迹,并对检查合格的居民发布允许进入公共场所的授权。以色列总理近期宣布国家进入“紧急模式”,并动用了此前在反恐行动中采取的措施,直接从居民手机上搜集信息用于跟踪病毒轨迹。韩国开发了一个手机程序,用于监督人们的检疫隔离。台湾地区更早以前就整合了全民健保数据库和海关入境数据库,用于识别可能携带病毒入境的旅客。

美国也在运用技术手段跟踪疫情大流行的发展趋势。政府已经开始找谷歌、脸书、大数据Palantir、人脸识别Clearview AI 这样的公司探讨“如何运用从人们智能手机中收集到的位置信息来抗击新型冠状病毒。” 也有志愿者开发了“冠状病毒APP”来让用户检查自己是否与确诊病例有过交集,以此鼓励人们居家隔离、自我监督。据《华尔街日报》报道,政府官员已经在用从人们手机上收集到的位置信息来研究美国人的行踪以及与病毒传播之间的关系。

隐私保护方面的专家和活动家们对此表示担忧,尤其是因为这些数字技术依赖的是去标识化的信息,例如会显示病人的生活细节,导致各种猜测,有时候还会由于所参加的活动、访问的地址而引起污名化。如果这些应用程序只是小范围使用,会给人带来一种虚假的安全感。如果大范围使用,则会制造集体恐慌,带来其它危害。还有人担忧政府也会获得这些数据,并在疫情结束之后继续使用,或是在疫情期间将数据用于非防疫用途。不过,当前的共识似乎是行动轨迹信息的集合不会带来隐私风险。

政府官员已经在用从人们手机上收集到的位置信息来研究美国人的行踪以及与病毒传播之间的关系。

值此危机时刻,为了保障公共利益,公民与个人的权利和利益常常受到这样那样的限制,包括宵禁、强制停产停工、旅游禁令等等。限制个人隐私的法律也属于这种限制。但是,我们应当认真审视这样的限制,它们是否有足够的有效性,代价是什么,能不能通过披露更少隐私的方式达到相似的结果。广泛而模糊的监控权会严重减损人们的隐私权,并且,在许多民主宪政国家,还会侵害法治。例如,在以色列,对于拉平疫情曲线而言更重要的措施是禁止人们为了非必要目的外出,而不是进一步加强监控。

最后,我们必须铭记的一个关键问题是,技术手段一旦用上,就很难恢复原状。“911事件”和反恐战争之后所发生的事情已经说明了这一点,即使控制住了这次疫情,我们还会担心有更新型的病毒,这些管控措施就会留下来。很可能为了预防下一次疫情,我们会保留这些措施并且习以为常,进入新常态。当然,还有很多新公司会把这当作经营模式的一部分。

我们应当认真审视这样的限制,它们是否有足够的有效性,代价是什么,能不能通过披露更少隐私的方式达到相似的结果。

在很多地区,发布大规模的居家令可能是防止疫情扩散最有效的方法,正如众多欧洲国家美国的城市和州目前在实施的。这并不意味着政府不应当使用个人信息来应对疫情,也不是说政府不应当与私部门合作。我们还是很需要技术手段来结束新冠疫情。事实上,欧盟委员会已经发令要求通讯企业上交行动轨迹汇总数据,用以跟踪疫情轨迹,监督人们是否遵守了居家令。部分欧洲国家还采取了独立的信息管控措施应对危机:德国在实施欧洲《通用数据保护条例》的本国立法中加入了一些条款,明确允许在流行病事件中使用个人数据;意大利通过了关于紧急状态的立法,要求所有近期去过疫情风险地区的人主动或通过医生告知卫生主管部门。同样的,对于国家而言,为了判断哪些人可以回归工作、减少对人们活动和工作权利的限制,要评估人们是否健康、是否具备免疫力,这时候行动许可应用程序(例如“健康码”)、大规模的病例筛查及接触史调查就能派上用场了。

我想说的是,在政府决定采用信息技术手段,例如运用个人数据来防止第二波疫情爆发、发布“健康码”的同时,这些手段应当被谨慎小心地使用。这些措施应当是疫情防控所必须的,而且范围和程度要与疫情相适应。为了维护我们的自由和法治,数字技术手段的使用应当受到严格的限制,包括所收集到的信息在哪些情况下可以与其它信息相整合,以及信息的使用方式、主体、期限等等都应明确。例如,非常规的个人隐私限制措施,应当明确只在这次疫情中使用,并且只在相同目的很难有其它替代方案的情况下使用。不能只依赖个人的同意和授权来保护个人隐私。对使用个人授权数据加以限制的权利,也不应当是“可放弃的”。基于类似的原因,欧盟数据保护委员会针对疫情期间的个人数据使用发布了一则声明,电子前沿基金会也针对如何收集数据、兼顾公共卫生与隐私发布了一系列指引。一些政府所试图推行的紧急法令,例如匈牙利总理所发布的,已经超出了必要的、与疫情相适应的范围,人权倡导者、公民社会与司法机关有必要对此保持警醒。

这很有可能是一条漫长而曲折的道路。但眼下已经到了思考的时间,我们需要想一想,等疫情逐步结束,我们回复到日常生活之后,我们究竟想改变什么,技术应该扮演怎样的角色。到时候我们可能不需要强化监控。也许,当我们看到污染程度下降了,可以减少旅行,用视频会议替代某些会面。也许,某些文艺作品教科书至此开始对全民免费开放。还有可能,我们终将如愿形成一套能够更好地保护个人信息的法律。

 


本文初稿曾于2020年3月18日发表在伯克曼互联网与社会研究中心的Medium博客合集,可点击链接查看


 

 

ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED: April 16, 2020

比阿特丽斯·博特罗·艾西拉,哈佛大学伯克曼互联网与社会研究中心研究员,哈佛法学院博士候选人。


 

COMMENTS

We need privacy and data laws to tackle this world pandemic

Governments are increasingly using digital technologies and big data analytics to address the Covid-19 pandemic. These technologies can’t replace other comprehensive measures, and their adoption must consider the risks they pose of further entrenching surveillance and eroding the rule of law.




Life as we know it came to a halt a few weeks ago. Digital technologies, however, have played a crucial role in keeping many of us afloat, with social and work or study interactions online, and gig-work or delivery services to keep people working and businesses going. Many of us are increasingly using messaging apps to check on distant loved ones.

Besides keeping us connected, digital technologies are also being used to tackle the pandemic crisis. Apps and big data analytics are tracking citizen movements to identify and prevent transmission between known cases and the people they interact with. In addition, this technology can help to suppress silent transmission by reducing contact between individuals: China developed and deployed apps where people could log their health status and check if they had been in close contact with an infected person, allowing the government to follow the spread of the disease and to issue authorizations for individuals to circulate in public. Israel’s prime minister recently used his emergency powers to tap into cellphone data—previously used as a counter-terrorism measure—to follow the virus. South Korea developed an app to supervise people under quarantine. Taiwan, early on, integrated its national health insurance database with its immigration and customs database to identify travelers that could be bringing the virus to the country.

The US is also adopting technological solutions to keep track of the pandemic. The government has started talks with firms like Google, Facebook, Palantir and Clearview AI “...about how they can use location data gleaned from Americans’ phones to combat the novel coronavirus.”  Volunteers have also built “Coronapps” that would allow users to see if they have crossed paths with an infected person, encouraging self-isolation and self-monitoring. According to the Wall Street Journal, government officials are already using location data from cellphones to understand the movements of Americans and how they may be affecting the spread of the disease.

But scholars and activists working on privacy have raised concerns, especially when the technology relies on de-identifiable data: these apps may reveal personal details of patients’ lives, leading to speculation and, at times, stigmatization over activities and locations visited. If not widely used, these apps may create a false sense of safety, and if widely adopted they may create a collective panic that could bring its own harmful effects. There are also concerns about this data being fed back to other government agencies, and being used later, or in the meantime, for other non-pandemic related uses. Yet, the current consensus seems to be that aggregated mobility data poses no privacy risk.

Government officials are already using location data from cellphones to understand the spread of the disease.

In times of crisis, civil and individual interests and rights are often limited to accommodate measures that intend to advance public interest goals. Measures like curfews, mandatory closing of businesses and travel restrictions fall within these lines. Limiting individual privacy laws could also fall within these lines. These limitations however should be evaluated carefully, taking into special account their potential effectiveness, their cost, and whether similar results could be achieved with less privacy rights-invasive measures. Broad and vague surveillance authority would seriously compromise privacy rights and, in many constitutional democracies, the rule of law. In Israel, for example, the much more important action to flatten the curve was to limit leaving home to essential purposes, for which increasing surveillance was not necessary.

Lastly, a key question to keep in mind is that technological solutions that are rolled out are hard to roll back: much like what happened after 9/11 and the war on terror, once we’ve managed to deal with this pandemic, we will be scared of a new one and the controls will stay. There's a chance we’ll leave the apparatus in place to prevent the next one, and then we’ll get used to it. Additionally, of course, many new companies will have made this part of their business model.

Limitations should take into special account whether similar results could be achieved with less privacy rights-invasive measures.

It may be that in many places, large scale stay-at-home orders will be most suitable to  contain the pathogen, as various European countries and many US cities and states are mandating. This is not to say governments should not use personal information to tackle the emergency nor collaborate with the private sector at all. We are most likely going to need technology to get us out of this one. Indeed, the European Commission ordered telecom companies to share aggregated mobility data to follow the spread of the disease and monitor the compliance with stay-at-home orders. Independent European countries have also taken data-related measures to address the crisis: Germany, for example, inserted wording into its GDPR enabling legislation that specifically allows for the processing of personal data in the event of an epidemic, and Italy passed emergency legislation requiring anyone who has recently stayed in an at-risk area to notify health authorities either directly or through their doctor. Similarly, as countries evaluate ways to allow healthy and immune people to go back to work, mobility permit applications that evaluate and prove the risk of a particular individual and wide spread testing contact-tracing measures may be useful and even necessary to ease the current restrictions on people’s right to move and work. 

My point is, rather, that as governments decide that they will adopt data-enabled solutions—for example, to have a targeted approach to address the likely subsequent waves of the disease or issue mobility permits—these solutions need to be implemented carefully. The measures governments take must be necessary and proportionate to address the crisis. To safeguard our liberties and the rule of law, they must also be implemented hand by hand with strict rules about how the information collected by these solutions can be combined with other data, and limits about how, by whom, and for how long it can be used. For example, policies that further limit personal privacy should be exclusively limited to address this pandemic. They should be limited for particular objectives that are very hard to achieve by any other means. Consent should not be the main privacy-protecting mechanism, and the limits about how the data can be used should not be waivable. Along somewhat similar lines, the European Data Protection Board has published a statement on the use of personal data to address the pandemic and the Electronic Frontier Foundation also issued some guidelines on how data collection would be permissible to protect public health and privacy. As some governments try to push emergency decrees further than what seems necessary and proportionate, as Hungary’s Orban just did. It will be an important task for human rights advocates, civil society, and courts to remain vigilant.

There is a good chance this will be a long, bumpy ride. Yet now is the time to think about what we might want to change for when we go back, slowly, to our daily lives, and of course, what the role of technology in that future should be. It doesn’t need to be an enhanced surveillance future. Maybe, as we see pollution levels drop, we’ll learn that we can travel less and use video conferences more. Maybe some cultural materials or textbooks could be free and open for all, always. And maybe, hopefully, we’ll finally come up with better personal data protection laws.

 


A previous version of this article was published on the Berkman Klein Center for Internet and Society’s Medium Collection on March 18, 2020 and can be found here.


 

 

ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED: April 16, 2020

Beatriz Botero Arcila is a fellow at the Berkman Klein Center for Internet and Society at Harvard University and doctoral candidate at Harvard Law School.


 

COMMENTS
Stay connected! Join our weekly newsletter to stay up-to-date on our newest content.  SUBSCRIBE