العمل على استدامة حركاتنا: ممارسة منهج الأمان الشمولي بشكل يومي في حياتنا.

كيف تبدو ممارسات الأمان الشمولية والرعاية الذاتية الجماعية لمدافعي حقوق الإنسان في حياتهم اليومية؟ 

Deepa Ranganathan , María Díaz Ezquerro
June 15, 2017

باعتبارنا مدافعات عن حقوق الإنسان (WHRD) علينا العمل في إطار ثقافات وسياقات وبيئات سياسية مختلفة، ومن الحتمي أن تصبح استراتيجيات عملنا متنوعة وفي حالة دائمة من التطور. وقد يصبح عملنا مهمة خطرة وشاقة بل قد نتعرض للإجراءات العقابية جزاءً لنا على مجرد التواجد أو التنظيم كمجموعة أو كجماعة من مدافعي حقوق الإنسان الشباب. بيننا من هم أعضاء في جماعات الممثلين و المثليات ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي ومغايري الهوية الجنسانية وحاملي صفات الجنسين* ممن يستحيل الاعتراف بهويتهن في الدوائر العامة. ومنا المحاميات ممن يستمعن إلى حالات انتهاك حقوق الإنسان التي تحتاج إلى مستمع متعاطف وبسرية تامة. ومنا حاشدات الموارد ممن يعملن على تجاوز دهاليز السياسات المالية. ومنا الفنانات من كاتبات الأغاني ورسامي الحوائط والشاعرات ممن يتغنين ببيوت الشعر والقصائد المتحدية للهياكل القمعية.   

 في معركتنا في الدفاع عن حقوق الإنسان والعمل على ضمان إتاحة العدالة وتحقيقها للجميع، نحن نخاطر بحياتنا وصحتنا العقلية والنفسية.

 في معركتنا في الدفاع عن حقوق الإنسان والعمل على ضمان إتاحة العدالة وتحقيقها للجميع، نحن نخاطر بحياتنا وصحتنا العقلية والنفسية. فالهجمات الجسدية على المدافعات عن حقوق الإنسان ليست بالظاهرة الجديدة وقد ازدات وطأتها في الأعوام الأخيرة، طبقاً للتقرير السنوي العالمي لحالة المدافعات عن حقوق الإنسان في عام 2012. وكما أظهر البحث الذي تم نشره حديثاً بعنوان "الشجاعة والإبداع والمرونة: صفات مدافعات وناشطات الحركات النسوية الشابة حول العالم" والذي قام بإنتاجه برنامج الناشطات النسويات الشابات في رابطة حقوق المرأة في التنميةAWID  بالاشتراك مع مؤسسة فريدا، أن 44% من الناشطات النسويات الشابات قالوا أنهن يشعرن بالتهديد أو عدم الأمان بسبب العمل الذي يقمن به. ونسبة 54% قاموا بتحديد الجماعات المتطرفة أو الأصولية الدينية كأحد أهم وأكبر المخاطر المهددة لمناصرتهم اليومية. تصاعد التيارات الأصولية والعسكرية والأزمات الديموقراطية والليبرالية الجديدة والعولمة تتداخل وتتشابك جميعها في سياق عمل المدافعات عن حقوق الإنسان. وقد أدى هذا إلى زيادة عدد التهديديات والهجمات التي تتم ضدنا بشكل مثير للخوف والقلق. فهناك آلاف المدافعات والناشطات اللاتي يقعن تحت تهديد أو تعرضن بالفعل لمختلف أنواع العنف الجسدي والنفسي وعلى شبكة الإنترنت.      


Photo credit: Deepa Ranganathan

في عام 2016 وفي منتدى رابطة حقوق المرأة في التنميةAWID الذي عُقد في باهيا بالبرازيل، تم إهداء لوحة جدارية لأرواح المدافعات والنشاطات اللاتي فقدن أرواحهن. وقامت المشتركات بتوقيع الحائط برسائل وداع تكريماً لهن على دورهن. مرجع الصورة: ديبا رانجانثان


 في هذا السياق العالمي من التقلبات والتحديات يعتبر الأمان الشمولي استراتيجية سياسية مساهمة في الحفاظ على الحركة النسوية واستداماتها. ولفهم الأمان الشمولي علينا أن نعي العوامل الاجتماعية والسياسية والاقتصادية والبيئية وغيرها من العوامل الأخرى التي تحث وتعيد إنتاج انعدام المساواة والعنف والإتجاهات والممارسات الذكورية. فالأمان الشمولي يقر بطبيعة العنف الموجه لجنس المرأة بذاته، والذي تتجلى آثاره على المستوى الجسدي والعاطفي والنفسي، كما يأخذ في الاعتبار طريقة تفاعل المجالات العامة والخاصة مع بعضها البعض ويقدم أيضاً حلاً شاملاً للرعاية الذاتية في سلسلة متصلة تعمل على مقاومة ما يحدث. بالإضافة إلى أن الأمان الشمولي يضع احتياجاتنا وامتيازاتنا والمخاطر التي نتعرض لها في سياقها المناسب.  

العناية بالذات هي إحدى آليات الأمان التي يمكن أن تساعد مدافعات حقوق الإنسان على التكيف مع المخاطر الجسدية والرقمية وتحيل بينهن وبين الانهاك والإجهاد الشديدين ومواجهة مواطن الضعف في مراحلها الأولية في عملهن كناشطات ومدافعات. فالعناية الذاتية في روحها هي تحدي ومقاومة للرؤية الذكورية عن المرأة كالراعية العاطفية للعائلة والمجتمع، على حساب تقويض سلامتها العقلية وصحتها الجسدية. فعادة ما يتم ربط العناية الذاتية بالمستوى الفردي فقط. ولكن الحقيقة أن الرعاية الذاتية لا يمكن فصلها عن الرعاية الجماعية بداخل جماعاتنا المناصرة وحركاتنا. فالرعاية الجماعية كجزء حيوي وجوهري من الأمان، هي في ذاتها أحد أعمال المقاومة والمرونة النسوية التي تسهم في حدوث التغير الاجتماعي وتعزز من استدامة حركاتنا النسوية والجماعية.


Words by Maryam Alkhawaja, Urgent Action Fund's board member. Art by @mosaiceye. Original Insta post by @urgentactionfund.

أطلق صندوق الأعمال الطارئة في أفريقيا نشرة على موقع انستجرام مخصصة بالكامل لنشر كل ما يتعلق بالرعاية والصحة الذاتية. "كإحدى مدافعات حقوق الإنسان، فأنت لا تعرضين حياتك فقط للخطر. بل حياة كل من تحبين؛ من عائلتك وأقربائك وأصدقائك وزملائك." كلمات مريم الخواجة، عضو مجلس صندوق الأعمال الطارئة. الصورة من رسم @mosaiceye. والمنشور الأصلي من نشرة @urgentactionfund على موقع انستجرام.


في مؤسسة فريدا، بعض الجماعات النسوية التي تشكل جزء من مجتمعنا عادة ما تشمل الرعاية الذاتية في استراتيجة عملها. و بما أن العديد منها يعمل على القضاء على أشكال العنف المختلفة، فمن الضروري أخذ استراحات من ورش العمل والدورات شديدة الوطأة. وكثيرا ما نبدأ الاجتماعات الإقليمية والدولية التي ننظمها مع الشريكات من متلقيات المنح والموظفات والمستشارات بترديد التأكيدات الإيجابية على مسامع بعضنا البعض ونشبك أيدينا ونتعانق، كما نؤدي بعض الطقوس وتمارينات التنفس معاً. هذه الأدوات جزء حيوي من منهجية الاجتماع/ التنظيم الخاصة بنا. كما أننا دائماً ما نقوم بخلق مساحات آمنة أثناء الاجتماعات لجلسات الرعاية الذاتية مثل معالجة الإجهاد والدفاع عن النفس وتناول الطعام والرقص وممارسة اليوجا الجماعية. وضع أوقات للاستراحة وإتخاذ خطوات ملموسة لرعاية إحدانا الأخرى أصبح أمراً مهماً لنا بشكل خاصة حيث أننا منظمة عالمية تجتمع أفرادها معاً في نفس المساحة حوالي مرتين فقط في العام.

أما على المستوى المنظمي، فنعمل على بناء وإعادة تشكيل سياستنا وممارسات الرعاية الذاتية الجماعية بشكل منتظم. ونعطي الأولوية للأمان الشمولي في سياستنا الداخلية والتي نترجمها إلى أفعال. فعملنا كفريق تعيش أفراده في مناطق مختلفة التوقيت نحاول دائماً أن نجد مساحات آمنة سواء من خلال شبكة الإنترنت أو بشكل شخصي  ونخصصها لبناء فريق العمل وتبادل الأفكار والخواطر الجماعية. كما نبدأ اجتماعتنا الأسبوعية بحديث غير رسمي نتبادل فيه الكلام عن أي شيء عدا العمل، قبل أن نبدأ في وضع أي استراتيجيات أو خطط: فنتحدث عما طهيناه وأي أحذية نرتديها وأي أغنية نرددها اليوم. وصف هذه الأشياء التي تبدو سخيفة وغير مهمة أصبح شيء مرحب به كمتنفس لنا له عظيم الأثر على صحتنا النفسية. بالإضافة إلى أنه يجعلنا نشعر بالقرب من بعضنا بالرغم من الأميال التي تفصلنا عن بعض والأدوار المختلفة التي نقوم بها. في العام الماضي، قامت إحدى عضوات فريق العمل بالمشاركة في كتابة منشور مدونة  عن بعض ممارستنا الخاصة للرعاية الذاتية والجماعية. وحيث أنه كان أولى الأعمال الكتابية المشتركة لفريق عملنا، فكان من الملائم أن يدور حول الرعاية الذاتية والرفاه النفسي.         

الدفاع عن حقوق الإنسان هي مهمتنا وعملنا اليومي الذي تمارسه العديدات من بيننا، والتفاعل بيننا يتم في موقع العمل كما يتم بعيداً عنه. في كلتا الحالتين، أحياناً كثيرة يبدوعملنا كتجربة مليئة بالعزلة خالية من عبارات الشكر. في مثل هذه الحالات، شعورك بمساندة فريق عملك، أمر مهم ومؤثر للغاية. فمواصلة العمل بكل حماس يومياً لاستكمال معاركنا كثير ما يصبح مضنياً. ولذا علينا جميعاً أن نطلب الدعم والمساندة من الزميلات والقرينات وغيرهن من رفيقات الحركة النسوية، حتى لا نقع فريسة للعزلة يوماً. فالاعتناء برفاهنا النفسي أمر ضروري ولازم لاستمرار قدرتنا على المساهمة في الحركة النسوية بكل فاعلية.  

كمدافعات عن حقوق الإنسان، تقع على عاتقنا مسؤولية قيادة الطريق لضمان شمول الأمان الشمولي كجزء من عملنا. وكقادة في الحركة النسوية الشابة علينا مقاومة الوقوع في فخ استنساخ الأنظمة التي نحاول تحديها ومقاومتها في المنظمات والحركات. فهذا قد يدفع بالعضوات إلى حافة الإجهاد واختلال توزان القوى الذي يؤدي إلى بيئة عمل غير صحية وغير متوازنة. فمن المهم والضروري شمول سياسات الرعاية الذاتية المتكاملة في المنظمات لضمان إتاحة الموارد لنا حتى نستطيع  تعزيز ودعم الثقافة النسوية للرفاه النفسي والرعاية الصحية الجماعية في حركاتنا.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Deepa Ranganathan

تعمل ديبا رانجانثان موظفة لشؤون الاتصالات في مؤسسة فريدا | صندوق النسويات الشابات. وسابقاً عملت مع الحركة النسائية للعمل في مجال التكنولوجيا في دلهي ويوميات الحرم الجامعي في بنغالور وصحيفة نيو إنديان إكسبريس في مادوراي، ومقرعملها الحالي في الهند.  

 
 

María Díaz Ezquerro

تشغل ماريا دياز إكويرو منصب موظف تنمية القدرات في مؤسسة فريدا | صندوق النسويات الشابات. وقد عملت من قبل كمدير برنامج في مؤسسة نحن المرأة وعملت أيضاً كمستشار في عدد من منظمات مناصرة حقوق المرأة في تايلاند وماليزيا. مقر عملها الحالي في إندونيسيا.

 

Creative Commons LicenseThis OpenGlobalRights Perspectives article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License. Photos, images, and logos are excepted from this license, except where noted. Please contact our team for re-publication queries.

 

اكتب لدى openGlobalRights

 

مقالات ذات صلة:

نصيب الرعاية الجماعية من تمويل حقوق الإنسان: أزمة سياسية

BY: Meerim Ilyas, Tatiana Cordero Velásquez
EnglishPortuguêsEspañol

الاستعداد لما هو آت مهما كان: كيف يمكن للتحضير والاستعداد الجيد المساعدة في التعافي من الصدمات

BY: Zelalem Kibret
English

محاربة الوصم: حماية الصحة العقلية والرفاه النفسي لمدافعي حقوق الإنسان الأفارقة.

BY: Douglas Mathew Mawadri
EnglishFrançais

المزيد عن:

Making our movements sustainable: practicing holistic security every day

What does holistic security and collective self-care in human rights work look like on a day-to-day basis?

Deepa Ranganathan , María Díaz Ezquerro
June 15, 2017

As Women Human Rights Defenders (WHRD) operating from different cultures, contexts and political environments, our strategies are also diverse and constantly in flux. Our work can be dangerous, difficult and subject to punitive action, simply due to the fact that we exist or organize as a young human rights group or collective. Some of us are members of LGBTQI* groups who can never openly admit these identities. Some of us are lawyers who listen to cases of human rights violations that require an empathetic ear and complete confidentiality. Some of us are resource mobilizers who need to navigate the politics of money. Some of us are artists writing songs, painting walls, performing poetries and singing lyrics that challenge oppressive structures.

In the fight to defend human rights and make sure justice is accessible and attainable to everyone, we risk our physical and psychological well-being.

In the fight to defend human rights and make sure justice is accessible and attainable to everyone, we risk our physical and psychological well-being. Indeed, physical attacks on  WHRDs are not a new phenomenon and have increased in recent years, according to the 2012 Global Report on the Situation of WHRDs. And, according to the recently published research, ‘Brave, Creative, Resilient: The Global State of Young Feminist Organizing’, produced jointly by AWID's Young Feminist Program and FRIDA, 44% of young feminists said they felt threatened or unsafe because of the work they do. Fifty-four per cent of them have identified extremist or fundamentalist religious groups as the biggest threat to their everyday activism. The rise of fundamentalism, militarism, democracy crises, neoliberalism and globalization overlap the contexts where WHRDs work. This has resulted in an alarming increase of attacks and threats against us. There are thousands of young feminist activists who are at serious risk or have been subjected to different forms of physical, psychological and online violence.  


Photo credit: Deepa Ranganathan

In 2016 at the 13th AWID Forum held in Bahia, Brazil, a canvas was dedicated to WHRDs who lost their lives. Participants signed the wall with parting messages as a tribute.


In this volatile and challenging global context, holistic security is a political strategy that contributes to the preservation and sustainability of feminist movements. To understand holistic security, one needs to be mindful of the social, political, economic, environmental and other systemic factors that provoke and reproduce inequality, violence and patriarchal attitudes and practices. Holistic security recognizes the specific gendered nature of violence, which can manifest itself on the physical, emotional and psychological level, takes into account the way public and private spheres interact with each other and offers a complete self care solution in continuum that serves to counter that. It also contextualises our needs, privileges and risks.

Self-care is a security mechanism that can help WHRDs cope with physical and digital risks and prevent burnout and vulnerabilities at an early stage of our roles as activists. At its core, self-care challenges the patriarchal vision of women as carers of the family and community, at the cost of undermining our own sanity and health. Often, self-care is only related to the individual level. But it cannot be separated from the collective well-being within our organizations, shared efforts, and movements. Collective self-care, as an essential part of integrated security, is a feminist act of resistance and resilience that contributes to transformative social change and strengthens the sustainability of our work.


Words by Maryam Alkhawaja, Urgent Action Fund's board member. Art by @mosaiceye. Original Insta post by @urgentactionfund.

Urgent Action Fund recently launched an Instagram feed dedicated entirely to posting about self-care and well-being. "As a human rights defender, you are not just putting yourself at risk. You put everyone you love at risk. Your family, your relatives, your friends, your colleagues."


At FRIDA, some of the young feminist groups that form a part of our community often include self-care as part of their work strategy. As many of them work on eradicating different forms of violence, it is necessary to take frequent breaks from all intense workshops and sessions. Often, at global and regional gatherings that we organize with our grantee partners, staff and advisors, we start with positive affirmations for each other, hold hands, offer hugs, and do rituals and breathing exercises together. These tools are an essential part of our convening/meeting methodology. In addition, we always carve out safe spaces during meetings for self-care sessions, such as stress management, feminist self-defense, eating, dancing, and practising collective yoga. Resorting to breaks and taking concrete steps to care for each other becomes especially important for us, as a global organization that only gathers everyone together in the same space about twice a year.

At an organizational level, we regularly build and reconstruct our politics and collective self-care practices. We prioritize holistic security in our internal policies and translate it into actions.  As a team working from different time zones, we always try to find online and in-person spaces that are safe and dedicated to team building and collective reflections.  Our weekly team meetings begin with casual check-ins talking about everything except work, before jumping into any strategizing or planning: what did we cook, what shoes are we wearing, what song are we humming today. To verbalise such seemingly insignificant things has become a welcome breather and has had a huge impact on our mental well-being. It makes us feel closer to each other, despite being miles apart and playing diverse roles. In fact, last year, our team co-wrote this blog post about some of our own practices for individual and collective self care. It was the first collaborative piece for our team and it was fitting that it was about self care and well-being.

 Fighting for human rights is an everyday task for many of us and our interaction happens both on the field and off it. Either way, it could be an isolating and thankless experience. In such situations, to know that your team has got your back matters a great deal. To stay motivated every single day to continue our fight can sometimes be a daunting task. That is why we must often seek support and solidarity from our peers and other fellow feminists around us, to make sure we are never isolated. To take care of our mental well-being is necessary to be able to contribute to the movement fully.

As WHRDs, we must lead the way in ensuring holistic security as part of our work. As young feminist leaders, we must resist falling into the trap of replicating the systems we challenge in organizations and movements. This can lead to exhaustion of members, unequal power dynamics, eventually contributing to an unbalanced and unhealthy work environment. It is important to incorporate comprehensive self-care policies in our organizations, and ensure resources are available for us to be able to promote this culture of feminist collective well-being in our movements.  

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Deepa Ranganathan

Deepa Ranganathan works at FRIDA | The Young Feminist Fund as a Communications Associate. She has worked with Feminist Approach to Technology in Delhi, Campus Diaries in Bangalore and The New Indian Express in Madurai previously. She is based in India.

María Díaz Ezquerro

María Díaz Ezquerro works as the Capacity Development Officer at  FRIDA | The Young Feminist Fund. She worked previously as a Program Director at We women foundation and as a consultant for various feminist organizations in Thailand and Malaysia. She is based in Indonesia.

 

Creative Commons LicenseThis OpenGlobalRights Perspectives article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License. Photos, images, and logos are excepted from this license, except where noted. Please contact our team for re-publication queries.

 

Write for
OpenGlobalRights

 

RELATED ARTICLES:

New threats against human rights defenders require new kinds of protection

BY: Padre Melo
Español

Collective care in human rights funding: a political stand

BY: Meerim Ilyas, Tatiana Cordero Velásquez
العربيةPortuguêsEspañol

When advocacy work builds resilience, everyone benefits

BY: Kristi Pinderi
Españolshqiptar

Ready for anything: how preparation can improve trauma recovery

BY: Zelalem Kibret
العربية

Security and well-being: two sides of the same coin

BY: Holly Davis, Magda Adamowicz
Español

MORE ON: