حماية أجساد الأطفال الرقمية باستخدام الحقوق

يتزايد خضوع الأطفال لطيف عريض من أجهزة المراقبة، فما هي الآثار السلبية المحتملة في السياقات حيث تقل الموارد وفي الظروف الهشة؟


By: Kristin Sandvik
October 30, 2019

Available in:
English | Español



تعد واقعة قيام مسؤولة من مفوضية الأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين مؤخراً بتغريد صورة على تويتر لفتاة عراقية لاجئة ترفع ورقة عليها كافة بياناتها الشخصية، وتشمل سجلها الأسري وموقعها، تعد واقعة مهمة لسببين. أولاً، بسبب اللامبالاة المذهلة وربما أيضاً الجهل في واقعة استعراض مسؤولة رفيعة المستوى بقسم الاتصالات بالأمم المتحدة لبيانات شخصية لطفلة. لكن الجانب الأبرز في هذه الواقعة هو الإدانة الواسعة للتغريدة (وقد تم حذفها بعدئذ) وإدانة صاحبتها، وردها بأنها مجرد "فتاة عمرها ست سنوات". في حين ركز الانتقاد على هوة السلطة الفاصلة بين العاملين بالمجال الإنساني واللاجئين، وموقف اللاجئين العراقي الهش؛ فهي واقعة مهمة أيضاً لأنها تؤشر بمتغير جديد في مجال المساعدات الإنسانية وإدارة المنظمات العالمية: أجساد الأطفال الرقمية.

لأن الأطفال يعتمدون على البالغين، فما تعد به التكنولوجيا أكثر شيء هو رعاية ورقابة بلا حدود: بشكل مباشر من قبل الآباء والأمهات، وأيضاً بشكل غير مباشر من قبل شركات التسويق والتقنية المعنية بإدارة ملفات المستهلكين. كما أوضحت ديبوراه لوبتون، ففي الاقتصاد السياسي للشمال العالمي (ودعوني أضيف: الشرق العالمي)، يصبح الأطفال مستهدفين بطيف عريض من أجهزة المراقبة التي تولّد بيانات تفصيلية عنهم. ما هي الآثار السلبية المحتملة في السياقات التي بها موارد قليلة وأوضاع هشة، بما يستتبعه هذا من فجوة سلطة كبيرة ونقص في المحاسبة؟

صعود الممارسات التجريبية: التكنولوجيا التعليمية والأطفال الرُضّع والبيانات البيومترية

هناك تاريخ طويل قائم من التعاملات التعليمية التي بها إشكاليات، في سياق المساعدات الإنسانية، منها مثلاً "إلقاء" الكتب المدرسية المستعملة على أطفال بدول ومناطق أخرى دون أن تلائم سياقاتهم اللغوية أو الثقافية. تاريخ "إلقاء التكنولوجيا" المستعملة في الكوارث أحدث بكثير، لكنه أيضاً إشكالي، إذ يشتمل على عمليات اختبار عريضة النطاق لمنصات التكنولوجيا التعليمية الرقمية. في حين يشتكي الممارسون من أوجه القصور في مدى ملائمة المواد التعليمية للأطفال، فإن غياب النهج التشاركي في تحضير المادة التعليمية ومشاكل العمل والتسليم في سياقات الطوارئ، والجوانب الأخلاقية للتكنولوجيا التعليمية، واستخلاص البيانات – وكيف يتم تجميع البيانات عن الأطفال والنشء كجزء من التواشج بين عمليات المساعدات الإنسانية ورأسمالية المراقبة – هي قضايا قلما تتم مناقشتها.

هناك توجه حديث آخر يتصل ببيانات الأطفال الرُضع التعريفية البيومترية، التي تساعد في تحسين معدلات التطعيم (التحصين) للأطفال. يموت مئات الآلاف من الأطفال سنوياً بسبب أمراض يمكن تجنبها، وفي حالات كثيرة تكون الوفاة بسبب عدم اتساق تقديم برامج التطعيم. بيانات التعريف البيومترية إذن تُستخدم في ربط الأطفال بسجلاتهم الطبية لتجاوز التحديات اللوجستية المتصلة بنظام البيانات الورقية. تجري حالياً تجارب (وهناك تجارب قيد التحضير) في كل من الهند وبنغلادش وتنزانيا في هذا الصدد. في حين تبقى هنالك تحديات تكنولوجية في عمليات الإدارة الجيدة لبيانات الرُضع الرقمية، فإن التقنيات البيومترية الجديدة تلتقط بيانات الأصابع والأعين والوجوه والآذان والأقدام. إضافة للتطعيمات، فإن استخدامات البيانات الأخرى تشمل مكافحة التزوير في عمليات المساعدة الإنسانية والاحتيال، والوصول إلى الأطفال المفقودين، ومكافحة أعمال سرقة الهوية (انتحال الشخصية).

في المساعدات الإنسانية، يجري بوتيرة متزايدة استخلاص البيانات من الأطفال عن طريق تصغير وشخصنة تكنولوجيا الاتصالات والمعلومات. فالبيانات البيومترية للرضع والأطفال عادة ما تقترن بأجهزة تتبع على هيئة سوار في المعصم أو سلسلة أو قطعة توضع في الأذن، وأجهزة أخرى يحملها الأطفال على أجسادهم لفترات طويلة.

في جميع الحالات، فإن المبادرات التكنولوجية الجديدة الموجهة إلى الأطفال، عادة ما يتم عرضها في سياق سرديات التقدم، دون مراعاة كبيرة للتبعات غير المقصودة لتلك التقنيات. في اقتصاد المعاناة، دائماً ما يكون الأطفال والرُضع هم الأفراد الأكثر استحقاقاً للمساعدة، ولا يمكن بحال الوقوف ضد التدخلات الكفيلة بإنقاذ حياتهم. بالمثل، فإن إلحاح إنقاذ الأطفال هو أيضاً سبب يتيح للفاعلين بالمساعدات الإنسانية والقطاع الخاص مساحة للاختبار والتجريب. وفي الوقت نفسه، فإن المزيج بين توزيع المعدات التقنية وحصاد البيانات يصبح بالضرورة جزءاً من اقتصاد البيانات العالمي، حيث يُعاد إنتاج أوجه اللامساواة الهيكلية القائمة وتتفاقم.

أجساد الأطفال الرقمية

رغم الرقمنة الهائلة للمساعدات الإنسانية المستهدفة للأطفال، فحتى الآن لم يظهر تفكير ناقد يبحث في كيفية إنتاج أجساد الأطفال الرقمية في سياق المساعدات. إن استخدام التقنيات الرقمية يهيئ "أجساداً رقمية": صور ومعلومات وبيانات بيومترية وبيانات أخرى يجري تخزينها في الفضاء الافتراضي، وهي تمثل الأجساد الحقيقية للأفراد المتضررين بالنزاعات والمخاطر الطبيعية، لكن لا سيطرة تُذكر لهؤلاء الأفراد عليها. هذه "الأجساد الرقمية" تشكل شخصياتنا وعلاقاتنا وهوياتنا القانونية والاجتماعية، وهي حالياً لها صلة هائلة بحقوقنا وامتيازاتنا كأفراد وكمواطنين. ما هو المختلف حقاً فيما يتعلق بأجساد الأطفال الرقمية؟ ما طبيعة الخطر والضرر الذي تؤدي إليه هذه الأجساد الرقمية؟

في السياقات غير المتصلة بالمساعدات الإنسانية، بدأ للتو الباحثون المعنيون بالبيانات والمطالبين بحقوق الخصوصية في تسليط الضوء على هذه الممارسات، لا سيما الأضرار الكثيرة التي قد تطرأ، وتشمل على سبيل المثال لا الحصر، تآكل الخصوصية.

 فإن المبادرات التكنولوجية الجديدة الموجهة إلى الأطفال، عادة ما يتم عرضها في سياق سرديات التقدم، دون مراعاة كبيرة للتبعات غير المقصودة لتلك التقنيات.

إن مسألة اختبار المنتجات غير النهائية على الأطفال مثيرة للجدل لأقصى حد: إمكانية تجريب المنتجات غير الآمنة في السياقات الهشة وحيث تقل الموارد قد تكون عرضة لمتطلبات وشروط مختلفة عن القائمة في الدول الغنية، وهو أمر مقلق للغاية. على الجانب الآخر، فإن إنزال الأجهزة الرقمية من الشمال والشرق العالميين على الجنوب العالمي دون أي فهم للاحتياجات والسياقات المحلية ودون محاولة تكييف الأجهزة واستخداماتها مع السياق – بناء على تاريخ من الإمبريالية التكنولوجية – يعد أمراً غير فعالاً، وهو ينزع التمكين من الأفراد، وينطوي على سوء إدارة الموارد، وفي أسوأ السيناريوهات يزيد من عدم استقرار نظم التعليم والمدارس الهشة بالفعل.

في حالات كثيرة جداً، فيما يخص التقنيات المستهدفة للأطفال المتصلة بالمساعدات الإنسانية، يتم تجاهل احتمالات الخطر والضرر الرقميين على الأطفال أو يصبحا خفيين لا يراهما أحد. الخطر هنا هو قضية أمان البيانات وسوء الإدارة والتلاعب البشري بالبيانات التي تم جمعها. الأطفال – لا سيما في السياقات الهشة – لديهم فرص قليلة للغاية لتحدي ورفض المعرفة التي يتم تجميعها بالخوارزميات. لديهم وعي قليل بالجوانب القانونية للتكنولوجيا، فيما يتعلق بكيفية استغلال بياناتهم الشخصية وكيف يتم تسليعها واستخدامها في قرارات حول حصولهم في المستقبل على موارد، مثل الرعاية الصحية والتعليم والتأمين والضمان الاجتماعي وفرص العمل وهلم جرا. هناك خطر واضح بأن تحصل فصائل مسلحة أو أطراف أخرى لها أغراض خبيثة على بياناتهم، وتقوم باستغلالها، وهناك أيضاً مشاكل متصلة بالأجهزة التي يرتديها الأطفال والهواتف وأجهزة التابلت التي تستخدم كأجهزة استماع، فقد تكون مفيدة في مراقبة علاقات ومسارات حياة الأطفال. إن على الفاعلين بالمجال الإنساني فهم الفرص التي تتيحها التقنيات الجديدة، وأيضاً الأضرار المحتملة لها، ليس فقط أثناء الاستجابة الإنسانية، إنما أيضاً بعد فترة طويلة من انتهاء حالة الطوارئ.

الختام: حان الوقت للالتفات إلى اتفاقية حقوق الطفل!

إن تعميم هذا المزيج من المراقبة واستخلاص بيانات الأطفال بمضمار المساعدات الإنسانية، ويتراوح من التكنولوجيا التعليمية إلى بيانات الرضع البيومترية، يعني أن المناقشات الناقدة حول الاعتبارات الأخلاقية والقانونية لأجساد الأطفال الرقمية أصبحت ضرورة ملحة.

إن مبدأ عدم الإضرار يمثل توجيهاً أخلاقياً أساسياً عبر مختلف مجالات التنمية والمساعدات الإنسانية والصحة العالمية. الأمثلة أعلاه توضح الحاجة إلى الاستثمار في التوجيه الأخلاقي بناء على الأدلة، فيما يتعلق بآثار التنمية وتطبيق التقنيات الجديدة في السياقات قليلة الموارد والأوضاع الهشة. على الممارسين والأكاديميين أن ينتبهوا لكيف أن تأطير المشكلات الهيكلية ينتقل إلى التعامل مع المشاكل الطيعة للحل بالابتكار التكنولوجي والتدخلات التكنولوجية، ومصالح الأطراف المعنية بتطوير التقنية. لكن هل هذا يكفي؟

تمثل اتفاقية حقوق الطفل لعام 1989 لحظة فارقة للتفكير في حقوق الطفل في السلامة وفي أن يُستمع إليهم وفي الحصول على حماية لأجسادهم. المادة 3.1 تطالب بـ "في جميع الإجراءات التي تتعلق بالأطفال، سواء قامت بها مؤسسات لرعاية الاجتماعية العامة أو الخاصة، أو المحاكم أو السلطات الإدارية أو الهيئات التشريعية، يولى الاعتبار الأول لمصالح الطفل الفضلى". حان الوقت لتأطير فهمنا لأجساد الأطفال الرقمية في سياق المساعدات الإنسانية، ضمن منظومة هذا المبدأ الحقوقي المرجعي.

 


كريستين ساندفيك هي باحثة لعلم اجتماع القانون وتشمل اهتماماتها البحثية سياسة الابتكار والتكنولوجيا في الفضاء الإنساني. هي أستاذة بحث بالدراسات الإنسانية في PRIO، وأستاذة بقسم علم الجريمة وعلم اجتماع القانون في جامعة أوسلو.


 

COMMENTS

Protecting children’s digital bodies through rights

Children are becoming the objects of a multitude of monitoring devices—what are the possible negative ramifications in low resource contexts and fragile settings?


By: Kristin Sandvik
October 30, 2019

Available in:
Español | العربية



The recent incident of a UNHCR official tweeting a photo of an Iraqi refugee girl holding a piece of paper with all her personal data, including family composition and location, is remarkable for two reasons. First, because of the stunning indifference and perhaps also ignorance displayed by a high-ranking UN communications official with respect to a child’s personal data. However, the more notable aspect of this incident has been the widespread condemnation of the tweet (since deleted) and its sender, and her explanation that it was “six years old”. While public criticism has focused on the power gap between humanitarians and refugees and the precarious situation of Iraqi refugees, this incident is noteworthy because it marks the descent of a new figure in international aid and global governance: that of children’s digital bodies.

Because children are dependent, what technology promises most of all is almost unlimited care and control: directly by parents but indirectly by marketing agencies and tech companies building consumer profiles. As explained by the Deborah Lupton, in the political economy of the global North (and, I would add, the global East), children are becoming the objects of a multitude of monitoring devices that generate detailed data about them. What are the possible negative ramifications in low resources contexts and fragile settings characterized by deep-seated oversight and accountability deficits?

The rise of experimental practices: Ed. Tech, babies and biometrics

There is a long history of problematic educational transplants in aid context, from dumping used text books to culturally or linguistically inappropriate material. The history of tech-dumping in disasters is much more recent, but also problematically involves large-scale testing of educational technology platforms. While practitioners complain about relevance, lack of participatory engagement and questionable operability in the emergency context, ethical aspects of educational technology (Ed. Tech), data extraction—and how the collection of data from children and youth constitute part of the merging of aid and surveillance capitalism—are little discussed.

Another recent trend concerns infant biometric identification to help boost vaccination rates. Hundreds of thousands of children die annually due to preventable diseases, many because of inconsistencies in the provision of vaccine programs. Biometric identification is thus intended to link children with their medical records and overcome the logistical challenges of paper-based systems. Trials are now ongoing or planned for India, Bangladesh and Tanzania. While there are still technical challenges in accurately capturing the biometric data of infants, new biometric techniques capture fingers, eyes, faces, ears and feet. In addition to vaccines, uses for child biometrics include combatting aid fraud, identifying missing children and combatting identity theft.

In aid, data is increasingly extracted from children through the miniaturization and personalization of ICT technology. Infant and child biometrics are often coupled with tracking devices in the form of wristbands, necklaces, earpieces, and other devices which the users carry for extended periods of time.

Across the board, technology initiatives directed at children are usually presented as progress narratives, with little concern for unintended consequences. In the economy of suffering, children and infants are always the most deserving individuals, and life-saving interventions are hard to argue against. Similarly, the urgency of saving children functions as a call to action that affords aid and private sector actors room to maneuver with respect to testing and experimentation. At the same time, the mix of gadget distribution and data harvesting inevitably become part of a global data economy, where patterns of structural inequality are reproduced and exacerbated.

Children’s digital bodies

Despite the massive technologization of aid targeting children, so far, no critical thinking has gone into considering the production of children’s digital bodies in aid. The use of digital technologies creates corresponding “digital bodies”—images, information, biometrics, and other data stored in digital space—that represent the physical bodies of populations affected by conflict and natural hazards, but over which these populations have little say or control. These “digital bodies” co-constitute our personalities, relationships, legal and social personas—and today they have immense bearing on our rights and privileges as individuals and citizens. What is really different about children’s digital bodies? What is the specific nature of risk and harm these bodies might incur?

In a non-aid context, critical data researchers and privacy advocates are only just beginning to direct attention to these practices, in particular to the array of specific harms they may encounter, including but not limited to the erosion of privacy.

Technology initiatives directed at children are usually presented as progress narratives, with little concern for unintended consequences.

The question of testing unfinished products on children is deeply contentious: the possibility that unsafe products may be trialed in fragile and low resource settings under different requirements than those posed by rich countries is highly problematic.  On the other hand, parachuting and transplanting digital devices from the global North and East to the global South without any understanding of local needs, context and adaption practices is—based on the history of technological imperialism—ineffective, disempowering, a misuse of resources and, at worst, could further destabilize fragile school systems.

Very often, in aid tech targeting children, the potential for digital risk and harm for children is ignored or made invisible. Risk is phrased as an issue of data security and malfunction and human manipulation of data. Children—especially in low-resource settings—have few opportunities to challenge the knowledge generated through algorithms. They also have scant techno-legal consciousness with respect to how their personal data is being exploited, commodified and used for decisions about their future access to resources, such as healthcare, education, insurance, welfare, employment, and so on. There is the obvious risk of armed actors and other malicious actors accessing and exploiting data; but there are also issues connected to wearables, tablets and phones being used as listening devices useful for surveilling the child’s relatives and careers. It is incumbent on aid actors to understand both the opportunities posed by new technologies, as well as the potential harms they may present—not only during the response, but long after the emergency ends.

Conclusion: time to turn to the CRC!

The mainstreaming of a combination of surveillance and data extraction from children now taking place in aid, ranging from education technology to infant biometrics means that critical discussions of the ethical and legal implications for children’s digital bodies are becoming a burning issue.

The do no harm principle is a key ethical guidance post across fields of development, humanitarianism and global health. The examples above illustrate the need for investment in ethics and evidence on the impact of development and application of new technologies in low resource and fragile settings.  Practitioners and academics need to be alert to how the framing of structural problems shifts to problematizations being amenable to technological innovation and intervention and the interests of technology stakeholders.  But is that enough?

The Children’s Rights Convention of 1989 represented a watershed moment in thinking children’s right to integrity, to be heard and to protection of their physical bodies. Article 3.1 demands that “In all actions concerning children, whether undertaken by public or private social welfare institutions, courts of law, administrative authorities or legislative bodies, the best interests of the child shall be a primary consideration.” Time has now come to articulate and integrate an understanding of children’s digital bodies in international aid within this normative framework.

 


Kristin Sandvik is a socio-legal scholar with a particular interest in the politics of innovation and technology in the humanitarian space. She is a research professor in humanitarian studies at PRIO, and a professor in the Department of Criminology and Sociology of Law at the University of Oslo.


 

COMMENTS