Prôner une approche plus joyeuse des droits humains

La joie est essentielle pour comprendre la lutte pour les droits humains et en être conscient peut entraîner une vision plus positive des droits humains.




Se pencher sur la joie dans le domaine des droits humains s’est avéré très étrange, notamment pour moi, quand j’ai commencé le projet dont le point d’orgues a été mon livre, Joyful Human Rights. Mais aujourd’hui, cette notion m’est extrêmement familière, non seulement parce que j’ai passé six ans à travailler sur ce projet, mais également parce que cela a trouvé un écho avec de très nombreuses personnes en cours de route. En tant qu’universitaire, militant, et consultant, il est rare qu’un travail universitaire soit si bien accueilli, en particulier par les personnes marginalisées dans le monde.

Je défends l’idée que se focaliser sur la joie modifie radicalement notre manière de percevoir les victimes, les coupables, les martyrs, et les militants dans le domaine des droits humains. De plus, revenir à ce qui explique l’absence de cette notion de joie modifie les origines philosophiques et historiques des droits humains et apporte un regard nouveau permettant d’exprimer une idée plus positive et solide de ces droits.

Chaque sujet du livre trouve un écho avec des personnes diverses. Nombreux sont ceux qui s’intéressent au travail novateur de Clowns without Borders ou au pouvoir de la musique dans le travail des droits humains. D’autres veulent essayer de comprendre les coupables joyeux. Peuvent-ils vraiment être si joyeux ? Est-ce vraiment de la joie qu’ils ressentent ou est-ce simplement de l’adrénaline ou de la sociopathie ? Il existe également un grand intérêt pour le nouveau domaine de la croissance post-traumatique notamment afin de remédier à la trop grande importance donnée au trouble de stress post-traumatique.

Se focaliser sur la joie modifie radicalement notre manière de percevoir les victimes, les coupables, les martyrs, et les militants dans le domaine des droits humains.

Les lecteurs ont été nombreux à recommander des exemples supplémentaires que j’aurais dû inclure. Comment écrire un chapitre sur les coupables joyeux sans mentionner les gladiateurs romains et leurs spectateurs assoiffé de sang, la prise de  Jérusalem en 1099, ou les massacres sadiques des aborigènes en Australie ?

Les nombreux exemples de massacres joyeux et sadiques m’amènent à m’interroger encore plus fortement sur la façon dont la vision de la banalité du mal de Hannah Arendt et de Stanley Milgram est devenue si prééminente. Il est vrai qu’il est quelque peu réconfortant de se dire que la grande majorité des êtres humains n’est pas sadique et que les atrocités découlent d’un système plus vaste s’appuyant sur la déshumanisation, la hiérarchie, l’autoritarisme, et l’obéissance. Bien entendu, ces éléments jouent un rôle important mais les faits sont trop nombreux à montrer que lorsqu’ils en ont l’opportunité, les humains sont nombreux à faire preuve de sadisme joyeux. Même Arendt, célèbre pour avoir constaté la banalité du mal lors du procès d’Eichmann en 1961, a dû reformuler ses conclusions en assistant au procès d’Auschwitz à Francfort en 1965. La signification d’Auschwitz avait changé : « Une chose est sûre, c’est que chacun pouvait décider par soi-même d’être bon ou mauvais à Auschwitz ».

Le triste chapitre sur les coupables est contrebalancé par des douzaines d’exemples de militants joyeux des droits humains et ayant gagné leur combat. La joie se manifeste dans les victoires des droits humains, dans le combat pour une juste cause, et dans les chansons et les œuvres d’art des contestations sociales. La joie est transgressive des conditions actuelles, une source de force intérieure et la capacité à rassembler les gens pour réaliser notre plein potentiel. Dans le livre, je parle du rôle de la joie dans la vie et l’œuvre incroyable de l’archevêque Oscar Romero, de Martin Luther King, et de Jesusa Rodríguez, l’actrice et militante mexicaine, ainsi que des chants puissants et joyeux qui ont accompagné les mouvements des droits humains. Mais comment aurais-je pu ne pas mentionner la puissance des chansons de Bob Marley et de la manière dont elles continuent d’unir tant de gens entrent eux dans le monde ou de « Miss Sarajevo », une chanson de U2, Brian Eno et Luciano Pavarotti, sur le concours de beauté « Miss Sarajevo assiégée » qui s’est tenu en 1993 en plein milieu du tristement célèbre siège. C’est un moment de rébellion, d’appel à un avenir différent et joyeux et de rappel d’un passé paisible.

Il déclara que c’était la première fois qu’on lui parlait d’espoir, de la possibilité de trouver un sens nouveau à la vie après une tragédie.

Le dernier chapitre, « Les vainqueurs des droits humains », a touché de nombreuses personnes, en particulier celles qui ont souffert de violation des droits humains. Je relate l’histoire de ceux qui ont gagné leur combat, trouvé du sens à la tragédie, et façonné un avenir joyeux et positif. Ils ne se considèrent pas comme des victimes mais comme des vainqueurs. Au lieu de prendre la métaphore de la résilience, qui nous replonge dans notre passé, l’histoire de ces vainqueurs nous incite à prendre celle de l’art Japonais du kintsugi et honorer ainsi nos cicatrices et les transformer en quelque chose de nouveau et de beau.

J’ai été particulièrement touché par ma discussion avec un jeune homme afghan dont le village avait été récemment détruit par une attaque de drones. Il éclata en sanglots quand je lui parlai des vainqueurs des droits humains sur lesquels j’avais écrit dans mon dernier chapitre. Il déclara que c’était la première fois qu’on lui parlait d’espoir, d’autres personnes ayant vécu des événements similaires, et de la possibilité de trouver un sens nouveau à la vie après une tragédie.

Je n’exagère probablement que légèrement en disant que, depuis presque 25 ans, mon enseignement n’a pas porté sur les droits humains mais principalement sur son contraire, à savoir les violations des droits humains. Un rapide tour d’horizon des programmes, des manuels, et des articles académiques montre que de nombreux autres universitaires se concentrent également principalement sur les violations et les tragédies. Nous prenons heureusement plus conscience de l’importance de la joie, de l’espérance, de l’amour, et d’autres émotions positives, dans le travail des droits humains, comme l’illustre le forum d’OpenGlobalRights sur le récit narratif positif au service du changement.

Je travaille sur des projets concrets avec mes étudiants et les membres de ma communauté. Nous apprenons comment interagir les uns avec les autres. Nous apprenons à être vulnérables, humbles, généreux, reconnaissants, parfois tristes et même joyeux. Ce type de pédagogie est généralement absente du monde universitaire, notamment de mes mentors en termes de pédagogie, mais comment pourrais-je revenir à un enseignement moins humain mais plus didactique, théorique et conceptuel, en particulier dans le domaine des droits humains ? Si nous ne mettons pas les relations humaines, et la joie qu’elles peuvent apporter, en premier plan, parlons-nous vraiment des droits humains ?

 

ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED: February 25, 2020

William Paul Simmons est professeur d’études de genre et féministes et directeur du graduate program en ligne sur les pratiques des droits humains  à l’université de l’Arizona.


 

COMMENTS

Making the case for a more joyful approach to human rights

Joy is essential to understanding the struggle for human rights, and recognizing this can articulate a more positive notion of human rights.




Focusing on joy in the field of human rights felt very foreign to me and others when I first started the project that would culminate in my book, Joyful Human Rights.  But now it seems so familiar—not just because I have spent six years living the project, but because it has resonated with so many people along the way.  As an academic, activist, and consultant, it is rare to receive such validation of academic work, especially from marginalized individuals around the globe.

I argue that focusing on joy drastically modifies the way we view human rights victims, perpetrators, martyrs, and activists. And tracing the absence of joy in human rights discourse recasts the philosophical and historical origins of human rights and provides a new lens for articulating a more affirmative and robust notion of human rights.

Each topic in the book resonates with different people. Many are drawn to the pioneering work of the NGO Clowns without Borders / Payasos Sin Fronteras, or the power of music in human rights work. Others want to try to make sense of joyful perpetrators—can they really be so joyful? Is it really joy that they are experiencing, or just adrenaline, or sociopathy? And many are drawn to the new field of post-traumatic growth, especially as an antidote to the overemphasis on post-traumatic stress disorder.

Focusing on joy drastically modifies the way we view human rights victims, perpetrators, martyrs, and activists.

Many readers have recommended additional examples that I should have included. How could I have a chapter on joyful perpetrators without mentioning the Roman gladiators and their bloodthirsty spectators, the storming of Jerusalem in 1099, or the sadistic massacres of aboriginal people in Australia?

Considering the scores of examples of joyful and sadistic massacres, it makes me further wonder how the hegemonic view of the banality of evil perpetrated by Hannah Arendt and Stanley Milgram became so ensconced? Admittedly, there is some comfort to know that the overwhelming number of humans are not sadistic, and that atrocities stem from a larger system grounded in dehumanization, hierarchy, authoritarianism, and obedience. Of course, these play significant roles, but there is just too much evidence that when given the chance many humans will be joyfully sadistic.  Even Arendt, famous for observing the banality of evil in the Eichmann trial in 1961, had to reframe her conclusions when observing the Frankfort Auschwitz trial in 1965. The meaning of Auschwitz had changed: “One thing is sure, and this one had not dared to believe any more—namely, ‘that everyone could decide for himself to be either good or evil in Auschwitz’”.

The very un-joyful chapter on perpetrators is balanced by dozens of examples of joyful activists and human rights winners.  Joy manifests in human rights victories, the fighting for a just cause, and in the songs and artwork of social protest. Joy is transgressive of current conditions, a source of inner strength, and a force to bring people together to realize our potentials. In the book I discuss the role of joy in the incredible lives and works of Archbishop Oscar Romero, Martin Luther King, and Jesusa Rodríguez, the Mexican actress and activist, as well the powerful and joyful anthems that have driven human rights movements.  But, how could I have not mentioned the power of Bob Marley’s songs and how they continue to connect so many worlds around the globe or “Miss Sarajevo” a song by U2, Brian Eno, and Luciano Pavarotti about the Miss Besieged Sarajevo beauty pageant held in 1993 in the middle of the infamous siege. It is a defiant and pleading moment for an alternative joyful future and to the formerly peaceful past.

He said it was the first time that anyone had talked to him about hope, about the possibility of making new meaning of your life after catastrophe.

The last chapter “Human Rights Winners” has resonated with many, especially those that have suffered human rights abuses. I provide narratives from those who are exemplars of overcoming, finding meaning in tragedy, and shaping a joyful and just future. They do not see themselves as victims or even survivors, but as winners. Instead of the metaphor of resilience, which means to snap back to your former trajectory, their stories suggest we look to the Japanese art of kintsugi as metaphor which honors our scars and creates something new and beautiful from them.

I was particularly moved talking to a young man from Afghanistan whose village had recently been destroyed in a drone strike. He broke into tears as I told him about some of the human rights winners I write about in my last chapter. He said it was the first time that anyone had talked to him about hope, about other individuals that have gone through similar journeys, and the possibility of making new meaning of your life after catastrophe.

It is probably only a slight exaggeration to say that I have not been teaching about human rights for almost 25 years, but mostly about its opposite, human rights abuses. A quick review of syllabi, textbooks, and academic articles shows that many other academics also focus mostly on abuses and tragedy. Fortunately, we are becoming more aware of the importance of joy, hope, love, and other positive emotions in human rights work, as exemplified by the Positive Narratives to Mobilize for Change forum on OpenGlobalRights.

I work on real-world projects with my students and community members. In part, we are learning how to connect with each other. We are learning to be vulnerable, humble, generous, grateful, sometimes tearful, and even joyful. Such a pedagogy is foreign to most academics, not the least to my pedagogical mentors, but how could I ever go back to a less human but more didactic, theoretical, and conceptual way of teaching, especially in the field of human rights?  If we do not forefront human relationships, and the joy they can bring, are we really talking about human rights?

 

ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED: February 25, 2020

William Paul Simmons is a professor of Gender & Women's Studies and director of the online Human Rights Practice graduate program at the University of Arizona.


 

COMMENTS
Stay connected! Join our weekly newsletter to stay up-to-date on our newest content.  SUBSCRIBE