العودة إلى المستقبل: العودة إلى حقوق الإنسان

مع تجاهلها إشراك المواطنين، أخفقت حركة حقوق الإنسان في كفالة الحقوق كافة، والأدهى أنها عرّضت الحقوق المدنية والسياسية المكفولة بالفعل للخطر، بما في ذلك في الشمال.


By: Mona Younis
November 1, 2018

Available in:
English | Español



كيف تتخيل حركة حقوق الإنسان أن تصبح حقوق الإنسان واقعًا مُعاشًا للجميع؟ ما زلنا لم نوضّح لأنفسنا هذا التصوّر بشكل ملموس، ناهيك عن توضيحه للجمهور العام. إن حقوق الإنسان فكرة عالمية، وأنها مُلزِمة لجميع الحكومات على مستوى العالم، لابد أن تكون في صدارة وقلب تحركاتنا. دون هذا، سنبقى غير قادرين على بلوغ الناس وإشراكهم في كافة الأماكن على مسار الوفاء بوعد حقوق الإنسان للناس جميعًا.

يتطلب العمل في المستقبل على هذا المسار أن نعرف – نحن حركة حقوق الإنسان – أين ضللنا مسيرتنا إلى الآن. ومما يُسرّع من ضرورة تصحيحات المسار هو العدوانية المتزايدة إزاء حقوق الإنسان على المستوى العالمي، وتراجع الدولة التي يعتبرها الكثير – إن لم يكن الجميع – حليفة لحقوق الإنسان، وهي الولايات المتحدة. ثمّة ثلاثة تصحيحات ضرورية كل الضرورة.

أولًا، بالنسبة لمَن هم منّا في دول الشمال، فإن خطأنا الأساسي والمركزي كان قبول تَفَرُق الحقوق الأساسية المطلوبة لعيش حياة كريمة كاملة إلى مسارين. فعلى الرغم من التأكيد المتكرر على عدم قابلية حقوق الإنسان للتقسيم، فقد قبلنا بتقسيمها إلى مجموعتين من الحقوق، ثم مضينا إلى السير في طريق تفضيل مجموعة على الثانية، ونتج عن هذا الانتقاص إضعاف لحقوق الإنسان وتقويضها.

فمع كفاحنا من أجل الحقوق المدنية والسياسية، توقعّنا أن يتدبر الناس أمورهم من دون الحقوق الاقتصادية والاجتماعية. وبدلًا من البحث في تكامل هذه الحقوق وتلك، شدّدنا على عدم تماثل المجموعتين. للأسف، فإن الإخفاق في المطالبة بالحقوق جميعًا وبكفالتها معًا ككل غير مُجزّأ، أدى إلى إخفاقنا في كفالة هذه المجموعة من الحقوق أو تلك بشكل كامل، في أي مكان.

إنّ حدود الحقوق المدنية والسياسية ظاهرة في كل مكان، فمن الكافي النظر إلى تجربة جنوب أفريقيا، حيث تم القضاء على الأبارتايد السياسي مع استمرار الأبارتايد الاقتصادي، حتى ندرك ضرر الفصل بين الحقوق. ويمكننا النظر إلى سياسات السجن في الولايات المتحدة لنعرف أنّ أولئك الذين تُستوفى حقوقهم الاقتصادية والاجتماعية هم فقط من يمكنهم ممارسة حقوقهم المدنية والسياسية بشكل كامل؛ فخطر اللامساواة في إجمالي الدخل بين الأفراد على الديمقراطية السياسية واضح وظاهر للعيان في الولايات المتحدة وغيرها من أقطار العالم.

ثانيًا، وانطلاقًا من تقسيم ما كان يجب ألا يُقسَّم، سقط مجتمع حقوق الإنسان في دول الشمال في خطأ آخر، وهو تفضيل مجموعة من الدول على مجموعة أخرى. فقد أشدنا بالدول التي كفلت الحقوق المدنية والسياسية التي اعتبرناها بمثابة حقوق الإنسان، واعتبرناها دولًا صديقة دائمة، ومن لم يفعلوا   – وقد فضّلوا مجموعة الحقوق الأخرى   – اعتبرناهم أعداء دائمين. مع النظر للأمر عبر عدسة الحرب الباردة، أخفقنا في اعتبار أن نظام الرعاية الصحية في كوبا إنجاز بمجال حقوق الإنسان لا يقل أهمية عن الحريات التي يتمتع بها الأفراد في الولايات المتحدة، ودفعنا قِدمًا بفكرة أن على الناس الاختيار بين واجبات الدول في كفالة حرية الفكر والتعبير وتكوين الجمعيات على جانب، والحق في الطعام والصحة والإسكان على الجانب الآخر. وفي أثناء هذه العملية، قوّضنا من المبادئ التي كانت يجب أن نعتنقها كمبادئ دائمة: الكفالة الكاملة لكل الحقوق اللازمة للحياة الإنسانية.

لكن حتى وفي إطار هذا الفهم الضيق لمجموعة من الحقوق، كان هناك الكثير مما يجب عمله. إذ أننا كحركة حقوق الإنسان في الشمال قمنا بالاستعانة بالدول "الصالحة" في الشمال للضغط على الدول السيئة في الأماكن الأخرى، واحتفلنا عن حق بنجاحاتنا، وإن كانت دولنا لا تقبل بالتعاون في مجال حقوق الإنسان إلا عندما يكون هذا التعاون مُناسبًا لها. من ثم، لجأت دولنا على سبيل المثال إلى التنديد بقيام الغير بالتعذيب، مع الانخراط في الوقت نفسه في أعمال تسليم استثنائية للمحتجزين وإدارة "مواقع سوداء". تلك هي الليبرالية، لا حقوق الإنسان، وفي ذاك الإطار كان بإمكان دول الشمال أن تسمح لنا ببعض النجاحات، مع انتهاكها لحقوق الإنسان في ظل إفلاتها من العقاب داخليًا وخارجيًا.

إن اصطفافنا إلى جانب مجموعة من الدول دون مجموعة أخرى قد شوّه من رسالة حقوق الإنسان وحطّ من قدرها، وكان لهذا تداعيات بعيدة المدى. فقد أصبح يُنظر إلى حقوق الإنسان وكأنها هراوة سياسية ترفعها مجموعة من الدول ضدّ مجموعة أخرى، وتلوّح بها في وجه أعدائها لا أصدقائها، من بين هذه الدول الأخرى. وفي الشمال، أصبح الرأي العام ينظر إلى حقوق الإنسان بصفتها مشكلة في مناطق أخرى، وليس كشريان حياة في الأماكن كافة، بما في ذلك في بلدان الشمال. إن الدول الشمالية وتلك المتحالفة معها تفتقر إلى إحقاق المحاسبة على انتهاكاتها في شتى أنحاء العالم، مما أدّى إلى تأجيج التشكك في أمر حقوق الإنسان برمّته في الجنوب، بما في ذلك في أوساط من سوف تفيدهم حقوق الإنسان فائدة عظيمة. من الأمثلة الواضحة تجربة المنطقة العربية لعقود مع ازدواجية معايير دولنا "الصالحة" وخيانتها، حيث دأبت دول الشمال على الترويج للديمقراطية وهي في الوقت نفسه تدعم الطغاة وتُمكّنهم، والقيام بإلقاء المحاضرات عن ضرورة المحاسبة والمساءلة، في ظلّ عدم محاسبة أحد على "خطئها" في العراق. لكن ما قمنا به من عمل كان مهمًا، لذا فقد استمر تركيزنا على ما يمكننا فعله، مع تجاهل ما يجب أن يتم فعله.

ثالثًا، وعلى مدار عقود، طوّر مجتمع حقوق الإنسان عمله ومنهجياته واتخذ طابعًا احترافيًا مهنيًا، ووسّع وعمّق من نفاذنا إلى وقدرتنا على التأثير على صناع السياسات والقرارات في مختلف دولنا الصالحة، فحققنا نتائج مهمة. وعلى النقيض، أخفق مجتمعنا الحقوقي في بلوغ المواطنين العاديين في كل مكان، الذين لم نتوقع منهم أكثر من أن يسمحوا لنا بتوثيق تجاربهم وخسائرهم وكتابة التقارير عنها، أو المرافعة عنهم في المحاكم، أو الطلب منهم كتابة الرسائل. إنّ الإخفاق في إشراك أغلب الناس أكثر من هذا حرم جهودنا من حشد المواطنين المُطالبين بحقوق الإنسان ممن يحكمونهم. لقد انصبّ تركيزنا على مطالبة دول بالضغط على دول أخرى، بدلًا من تمكين المواطنين من أن يقوموا هم أنفسهم بالضغط. وتدريجيًا، أصبحنا نفضل ما نعرف كيف نفعله، على ما كان مطلوب منّا فعله.

ومع تجاهل السعي لإشراك المواطنين، أخفقت حركة حقوق الإنسان في كفالة الحقوق كافة، بل والأدهى أنها عرّضت الحقوق المدنية والسياسية المكفولة بالفعل للخطر، بما في ذلك في الشمال. الحق أن أكبر خطأ اقترفناه ربما كان تخيلنا أن بإمكاننا جعل الحكومات تحترم الحقوق دون أن نُحرّك المواطنين. لقد تجاهلنا في مساعينا الحاجة إلى وجود حركات، رغم علمنا بالدور المحوري للحركات الاجتماعية في كافة التحولات الاجتماعية والسياسية المهمة. من المُرجح أن هذا كان حتميًا، بعد أن اعتبرنا أن حقوق الإنسان هي الحقوق المدنية والسياسية، واعتبرنا أن دولنا قد كفلت هذه الحقوق بالفعل. نحن بالطبع كُنّا نعرف أن بلادنا بعيدة عن الكمال، لكننا اعتبرنا أن التصليحات والإصلاحات والتعديلات الجزئية المحدودة – وهي الأمور التي ينشغل بها الخبراء – هي حلول كافية، بدلًا من السعي إلى تحولات جذرية أو تغيّرات في السلطة لا تقدر عليها إلا حركات من المُطالبين بالحقوق لأنفسهم. ولقد انحسر دور الحركات الاجتماعية أكثر عن منظورنا وخرج تمامًا من نطاقه. لكن لحسن الطالع فالحركات الاجتماعية مستمرة في التشكّل في الجنوب والشمال على حد السواء، لكن للأسف دون وجودنا مع هذه الحركات في أغلب الحالات.

إننا إذ حبّذنا حقوق ودول ومنهجيات وخبرات بعينها، ضيّقنا في الشمال من حقوق الإنسان. فالغالبية العظمى من البشر يعتبرون حقوق الإنسان   – إن كانت ضمن نطاق اهتمامهم من الأساس – غير ذات صلة بهم و/أو مُضلِلة، و/أو لا يمكن الوصول إليها. وقد استغلّ هذا الأمر – وبسهولة – من يعادون حقوق الإنسان، بكل فعالية.

إنّ إحياء فكرة أن تحترم الدول كافة الحقوق كوحدة متكاملة سيقود طريقنا نحو ما يجب علينا أن نفعله ونُنجزه: الخروج إلى الناس في كل مكان وإشراكهم ليقرّوا بقوة وإمكانات حقوق الإنسان، ثم أنّ ندعمهم في المطالبة بأن يفي كل من يسعون للحُكم بالتزامات حقوق الإنسان. يحتاج هذا التحوّل إلى التوسع، وإلى التكثيف، وإلى التنسيق بين الحقوق والدول والمقاربات المتبناة. وسوف نعرف أننا نجحنا عندما تُعلي الدول حقوق الإنسان على جدول أولوياتها وضمن تشريعاتها ومخصصات ميزانياتها وما تتخذه من إجراءات، انطلاقًا من عدم قبول مواطني الدول أقلّ من هذا. 

 


منى يونس هي استشارية تخطيط استراتيجي وتصميم برامج وتقييم معنية بحقوق الإنسان. شغلت الكاتبة مناصب منسقة برامج حقوق الإنسان في مؤسسة ميرتزغيلمور، ومنسقة "إنترناشيونال هيومن رايتس فاندرز غروب"، ومديرة برنامج العلوم وحقوق الإنسان في الجمعية الأمريكية لتقدم العلوم، كما ساهمت في تأسيس الصندوق العربي لحقوق الإنسان، وصندوق حقوق الإنسان العالمي (فاند فور غلوبال هيومن رايتس).


 

COMMENTS

Back to the Future: returning to human rights

By neglecting citizen engagement, the human rights movement has failed not only to secure all rights but has put the civil and political rights already secured at risk, including in the North.  


By: Mona Younis
November 1, 2018

Available in:
Español | العربية



How does the human rights community imagine human rights will become a reality for all? We have yet to articulate that for ourselves, let alone for general publics. The vision of the universality of human rights and what they obligate governments universally to do must be front and center in all that we do. Without it we will remain unable to reach and enlist people everywhere to realize the human rights promise that is theirs. 

The way forward requires that as a community we identify where we lost our way. Hastening the need for course corrections is the growing hostility to human rights globally and the retreat of what many, but not all, consider a human rights ally—the US. Three such corrections are especially critical. 

First, for those of us in the North, our original error was to accept the bifurcation of the rights essential to living fully human lives. Repeated affirmation of their indivisibility notwithstanding, we acquiesced to their separation into two sets of rights, then proceeded to privilege one over the other, enervating the power of human rights in the process. 

As we fought for civil and political rights, we expected people to manage without economic and social rights. Rather than exploring their complementarity, we stressed their dissimilarity. Regrettably, failing to pursue the full spectrum of rights together, we failed to achieve either set of rights fully—anywhere. 

The limits of civil and political rights are evident everywhere. It is sufficient to look at the South African experience, where political apartheid has been eliminated while economic apartheid persists, to recognize the harm of separating the rights; and to mass incarceration in the US to know that only those whose economic and social rights are fulfilled can fully exercise their civil and political rights. The threat that gross income inequality poses to political democracy is on clear display in the US and elsewhere. 

Second, from dividing the indivisible, the Northern human rights community fell into another mistake: privileging one set of states over another. We anointed those that upheld the civil and political rights we considered synonymous with human rights our permanent friends, and those that did not—favoring the other set of rights instead—our permanent enemies. Adopting the Cold War lens we failed to acknowledge Cuba’s health care a human rights achievement no less remarkable than the freedoms enjoyed in the US, and suggested that people must choose between states duties to ensure freedoms of thought, expression and association, and rights to food, health and housing. In the process, we undermined what should have been our permanent principles—the full realization of all human rights essential for human life. 

Still, even within this narrow conception of one set of rights there was much important work to do. Those of us in the North leveraged our “good” states to pressure the bad ones elsewhere, and rightly celebrated our successes, even though our states were receptive only when it suited them. Thus, they could simultaneously denounce torture by others while engaging in extraordinary renditions and “black sites” themselves. This was liberalism, not human rights, and in that framework states could allow us some wins while violating human rights with impunity at home and beyond.

Aligning ourselves with one set of states muddled and degraded the human rights message, with far-reaching implications. Human rights came to be known and experienced as a political bludgeon wielded by one set of states against others, and wielded inconsistently with friends and foes. In the North, the public came to know human rights as a problem elsewhere, not a lifeline everywhere, including for them. Northern and allied states’ lack of accountability for their violations around the world fueled cynicism in the South, including among those with the most to gain from human rights. A conspicuous example is the Arab region’s decades-long experience with our good states’ double-standards and betrayal that saw them simultaneously promote democracy—while supporting and enabling tyrants—and lecture on accountability—while holding no one to account for their “mistake” in Iraq. But our work was important so we persisted to focus on what we could do, neglecting what needed to be done.

Third, over the course of decades, the human rights community developed and professionalized its work and methodologies, expanded and deepened our engagement and leverage with policy- and decision-makers throughout our good states, and achieved significant outcomes. In contrast, the community failed to reach ordinary citizens anywhere, from whom we expected little more than to allow us to document and report their experience and losses and litigate their cases, or to write letters. Failing to conceive of more than that for the majority of people, we deprived our efforts of a mobilized citizenry that comes to expect and demand human rights of those who govern. We focused on leveraging states to pressure states rather than enabling citizens to pressure theirs. Gradually, we privileged what we knew how to do over what was needed from us. 

By neglecting citizen engagement, the human rights movement has failed not only to secure all rights but has put the civil and political rights already secured at risk, including in the North. Indeed, our gravest error has arguably been to imagine that we could achieve rights-respecting governments without a mobilized citizenry. We disregarded the need for movements in our efforts, despite our knowledge of the essential role of social movements in all significant social and political transformations. This was likely inevitable once we conflated human rights with civil and political rights and viewed our states as having already attained them. We, of course, recognized our states were far from perfect. But we considered mere fixes, corrections, tweaks—the realm of experts—would suffice, not fundamental transformations or shifts in power that only movements of rights claimants can achieve. The role of movements receded further from view and eventually dismissed entirely as within our purview. Fortunately they continued to form in both South and North; regrettably without us for the most part.

By privileging particular rights, states, and methodologies and expertise, we in the global North contracted the human rights vision. The vast majority of humanity came to know human rights, if at all, as irrelevant, disingenuous, and/or inaccessible. Those hostile to human rights have readily and effectively exploited this. 

Reviving the vision of all rights respected by all states will point the way to what we need to do and achieve: reach and enlist people everywhere to recognize the power and potential of human rights, then support them to demand the fulfillment of human rights obligations from all those who seek to govern. This transformation requires expansion, amplification, and coordination across rights, nations, and approaches. We will know we have succeeded when states prioritize human rights in their policies, legislation, budget allocations and actions, because their citizens accept nothing less. 


Mona Younis is a strategic planning, program design and evaluation consultant focused on human rights. Previously she served as human rights program officer at the Mertz Gilmore Foundation, coordinator of the International Human Rights Funders Group, and director of the Science and Human Rights Program of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. She also co-founded the Arab Human Rights Fund and the Fund for Global Human Rights.


 

COMMENTS