تطبيقات المواعدة وأفخاخها: لما يتعين على تطبيقات المواعدة أن تبذل جهداً أكبر لحماية مستخدميها من المثليات والمثليين ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي ومغايري الهوية الجنسانية

التعريف بالمقال: تتلاعب الدول القمعية بتطبيقات المواعدة الإليكترونية لاستهداف أفراد مجتمعات المثليين والمثليات ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي ومغايري الهوية الجنسانية، ولذا يتحتم على الشركات المالكة لهذه التطبيقات الإلكترونية النهوض بمسؤوليتها ودورها في تقليل حجم المخاطرة التي يتعرض لها مستخدميها


By: Afsaneh Rigot
May 16, 2018

Available in:
English | فارسی


Photo: Flickr - Attribution 2.0 Generic (CC BY 2.0) - Some Rights Reserved

For many apps are the only way to access communities from which they are otherwise blocked; 40% of respondents in our research said they use apps to meet “like-minded people”.


 

تعتبر تطبيقات المواعدة الإلكترونية ثورة حقيقة غيرت بالكامل من أسلوبنا كأفراد في المواعدة وإقامة العلاقات وحتى رحلتنا الإنسانية في البحث عن الحب. ولكن للأسف، هذ الرحلة قد لا تكون ممتعة ومرحة للجميع. ففي بعض الدول، تم استخدام تطبيقات المواعدة الإلكترونية لاضطهاد مستخدميها من المثليين والمثليات ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي ومغايري الهوية الجنسانية. ففي تقرير صدر حديثاً عن مؤسسة المادة 19، قامت فيه المؤسسة بالتحقيق في طرق استخدام تطبيقات المواعدة الإلكترونية الشهيرة من قبل المثليين والمثليات ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي ومغايري الهوية الجنسانية في مصر ولبنان وإيران، وما يصاحبها من مخاطر قد يتعرض لها هؤلاء المستخدمون على يد السلطات وغيرهم من الأطراف الفعالة غير الحكومية. ولذا قمنا بالاشتراك مع تطبيق "جرايندر" وغيره من تطبيقات المواعدة الإلكترونية بالبحث في طرق يمكن لشركات التطبيقات أن تستخدمها – ويتوجب عليها – تعديل خدماتها ومنتجاتها لتقديم حماية أفضل لمستخدميها تحيل بين الكشف عنهم والإساءة إليهم والقبض عليهم. ولذا يتوجب على جماعات حقوق الإنسان والتقنيين وشركات التطبيقات توحيد صفهم للعمل معاً لتخفيف خطر انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان التي يتم ارتكابها بسبب التكنولوجيا – ولا يزال الطريق في أوله. 

لقد وصلت الحملات القمعية الموجهة ضد جماعات المثليين والمثليات ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي ومغايري الهوية الجنسانية لذروتها في سبتمبر 2017، عندما تم اعتقال أكثر من 70 شخص في مصر عقب رفع علم قوس قزح (شعار المثليين والمثليات ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي ومغايري الهوية الجنسانية) في حفلة غنائية. تم استخدام تطبيقات المواعدة لتعقب ووضع أفخاخ لكثير من المعتقلين. وتراوحت أنماط وطرق الاعتقالات والاستهدافات بين قيام أحد أفراد السلطة من المعتدين بإنشاء حساب مزيف له كمستخدم يبحث عن علاقة عاطفية، ليتمكن من خلالها بناء ملف قضية يستخدمه ضد الفرد الضحية – ووضع نقاط تفتيش للشرطة لتوقيف الأفراد وتفتيش هواتفهم المحمولة وحتى التسلل إلى مواقع الدردشة الاجتماعية الخاصة بجماعات المثليين والمثليات ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي ومغايري الهوية الجنسانية. وقد ورد إلى علم الجماعات المحلية أخبار عن الإساءات القائمة والمستمرة لفترات طويلة، ولكن لم يحرك أحد ساكناً ويتخذ خطوة فعالة مستجيبة لتلك الدعوات بشكل جاد وحقيقي. بينما تشهد حالات الإساءة المماثلة ارتفاعاً ملحوظاً في بلدان أخرى.

وبالرغم من أن التسجيل والاشتراك في تطبيقات المواعدة هذه يأتي بمخاطر كبيرة، إلا أن هذه التطبيقات لها أهمية كبيرة أيضاً. ففي بعض البلدان يصبح مقابلة ومواعدة أفراد من نفس الميول الجنسية صعباً للغاية، فالذهاب إلى الحانة بحثاً عن علاقة ليس بالأمر الهين، إن لم يكن مستحيلاً، ناهيك عن تعريض هؤلاء الأفراد لخطورة كبيرة. وهذا السبب تعتبر تطبيقات المواعدة هذه هي الطريقة الوحيدة المتاحة لهؤلاء الأفراد، بعد أن سُدت كل الطرق الأخرى أمامهم؛ وقد جاءت 40% من إجابات الأفراد المشتركين في بحثنا عن سبب اشتراكهم في هذه التطبيقات "لمقابلة أشخاص متقاربين فكرياً". وإلى جانب المخاطر الجسدية التي قد يتعرض لها مستخدمي هذه التطبيقات، فقد كشفت نتائج بحثنا عن أن الدافع للجنس والحب والحميمية والارتباط عادة ما يتفوق على أية مخاوف ومخاطرات.

وبالتالي فمسؤولية مطوري ومقدمي تلك التطبيقات ركن أساسي. فعبء الحماية ومسؤوليتها لا يمكن أن يقع على عاتق المستخدمين وحدهم. فقد أعلنت الأمم المتحدة في معاييرها بكل وضوح أن الشركات أيضاً ملزمة بحماية حقوق الإنسان. ولذا على شركات التطبيقات الإلكترونية بذل مزيد من الجهد لمحاولة فهم بيئة وتجربة المستخدمين، فتأمين الرسائل المتبادلة ببساطة ليس كافياً لحمايتهم. فتلك الشركات مدينة لمستخدميها بحق الحماية الاستباقية وإجراءات الأمان.

ولمعرفة المزيد حول المخاطر التي يتعرض لها مستخدمو تطبيقات المواعدة من المثليين والمثليات ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي ومغايري الهوية الجنسانية، قمنا بإجراء استقصاء ضم أكثر من 400 فرد من مصر ولبنان وإيران. كما قمنا بتنظيم مجموعات مناقشة مع المنظمات المحلية، بالإضافة إلى إجراء مقابلات مع النشطاء المحليين ومغايري الهوية الجنسية. ووجدنا أن العديد من تطبيقات المواعدة والدردشة ينقصها سمات أمان رئيسية على سبيل المثال، تلك التطبيقات كان ينقصها ممارسات بروتوكولات الأمان مثل TSL وSSL الخاصة بتطبيقات الهاتف بالإضافة إلى علامات تحديد المواقع الإلكترونية الآمنة، كما أن عمليات التسجيل والتحقق كانت ضعيفة أيضاً. إلى جانب خصائص الدعم الخاصة بتلك التطبيقات التي اتسمت بالضعف أو لم تقدم أي نوع من المساعدة في الحالات العصيبة. كان المشتركون في الاستقصاء على علم ودراية بالمخاطر الناجمة عن ضعف وعيوب الأمان الخاصة بتلك التطبيقات: 50% من المشتركين ممن توقفوا عن استخدام بعض التطبيقات قالوا إنهم أقدموا على هذه الخطوة بسبب "مخاوف تتعلق بالأمان الجسدي" و20% بسبب "مخاوف تتعلق بالأمن الإليكتروني".

ومن خلال بحثنا قمنا بتجميع تحالف من الجماعات المحلية والنشطاء وخبراء حقوق الإنسان ورجال الأعمال والتقنيين لبحث طرق يمكننا من خلالها محاربة التهديدات والمخاطر التي تهدد الأفراد المثليين والمثليات ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي ومغايري الهوية الجنسانية. كيف يمكن لتطبيق أن يساعد مستخدم أثناء وقوفه في نقطة تفتيش من خلال إخفاء استخدامه لتطبيق مواعدة للمغايرين جنسانياً؟ كيف يمكن مساعدة مستخدم إذا ما تم استعمال محادثات الدردشة والصور كدليل ضده في المحكمة؟ كيف يمكن للتطبيقات الإلكترونية المساعدة في توصيل المجموعات ببعضها لبحث سبل الاستجابة السريعة في حالة تعرض فرد للاعتقال؟ من خلال تجميعنا لهؤلاء الخبراء تمكنا من العثور على حلول أفضل لتلك القضايا الخطيرة.

كنقطة انطلاق، قمنا بوضع توصيات مخصصة لتطبيقات المواعدة للمغايرين جنسياً. كما قام خبرائنا أيضاً بعرض خبراتهم ومساعدتهم في تنفيذها. وكان عدد كبير من تلك التوصيات يتعلق بإجراءات الأمان الأساسية المفترض تواجدها في جميع التطبيقات لحماية خصوصية وأمان المستخدمين. ورغم أن جميع التوصيات لا تحتاج إلا لموارد محدودة للتنفيذ، إلا أن ما قد يواجه هؤلاء الأفراد من مخاطر جسيمة في تلك الأقاليم يجعل الالتزام بتنفيذ تلك التوصيات يفوق أي مخاوف من الناحية المالية أو الموارد ويهون من شأنها. فتلك التوصيات لا تمكن شركات التطبيقات من تأدية واجبهم والاضطلاع بمسؤولياتهم بحماية مستخدميهم فقط، بل تسمح لهم ببناء قاعدة من الثقة والأمان لمستخدميهم؛ وقد أثبت البحث الذي قمنا به بقوة أن الأمان هو أحد العوامل التي ينظر فيها المستخدمون عند اختيارهم بين التطبيقات.

لم نقم بعرض جميع التوصيات علناً وإتاحتها للعامة لأننا بهذا سنقوض من الهدف المنشود. ولكن من بين تلك التوصيات العامة، حاجة التطبيقات لتقديم معلومات محددة السياق للمستخدمين وتقديم دليل إرشادي حول حقوقهم والقوانين المطبقة. وهناك توصيات أخرى تتعلق باستخدام الرسائل المؤقتة (ويقصد به مسح الرسائل بعد مرور وقت محدد) وخطوط اتصال مباشرة بين المستخدمين والجماعات المحلية للاستجابة السريعة وأفضل ممارسات برتوكولات الحماية الإلكترونية TSL/ SSL وتأمين عملية تسجيل وإنشاء حساب وترجمة التطبيقات بلغات محددة حتى تكون أكثر إتاحة للمستخدمين – وبشكل خاص لتأمين الرسائل وحمايتها والتغييرات المكانية الجغرافية لإخفاء موقع المستخدمين وخاصية إخفاء التطبيق. تنوعت الاستجابة لتلك التوصيات – ولكن شركاء التطبيقات الإلكترونية مثل "جرايندر" تبنوا بالفعل عدد من تلك التوصيات من بينهم منهج أمان الحماية الاستباقية. 

كما سنستمر في العمل كتحالف لمجموعات حقوق الإنسان وشركات التطبيقات الإلكترونية لمواجهة قضايا الأمان في مصر وإيران ولبنان وغيرهم من الدول والعمل على الارتقاء بمستويات الأمان لمستخدمي تلك التطبيقات. ولقد قمنا بالفعل بتحقيق تقدم مبهر مع تطبيقات مثل "جرايندر" وغيرها قاموا بالفعل بتقديم خصائص وسمات جديدة تهدف لمساعدة المستخدمين المعرضين للخطر في بعض البلدان. ولكن لا يزال أمامنا طريق طويل. وعلى النشطاء أن يضغطوا بشكل أكبر على الشركات المؤسسة والمطورة لتلك التطبيقات للتأكد أن أمان وحماية وخصوصية المستخدمين هي الأولوية.


فسانيه ريجوت مديرة برنامج مؤسسة المادة 19 الخاص بأعمال وحقوق الإنسان لمجتمعات المثليين والمثليات ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي ومغايري الهوية الجنسانية وأعمال الشفافية بإيران


 

الأنظمة الديموقراطية غير الليبرالية وحقوق الإنسان: كتاب قواعد جديد

BY: César Rodríguez-Garavito & Krizna Gomez
English | Español

المقاومة أم الفرار: استجابة المنظمات الحقوقية المصرية لحملات القمع

BY: Khaled Mansour
English | Español

ترسيخ الأمن الرقمي في بنية الحركة النسوية

BY: Jennifer Radloff
English | Français | Español

فهم العنف الجنسي ضد الرجال والأطفال في حالات النزاع

BY: Charu Lata Hogg
English | Français | Español

 

COMMENTS

Apps and traps: why dating apps must do more to protect LGBTQ communities

Repressive states are manipulating dating apps to find and target LGBTQ individuals, and app companies must take responsibility for reducing the risks to their users.


By: Afsaneh Rigot
May 16, 2018

Available in:
العربية | فارسی


Photo: Flickr - Attribution 2.0 Generic (CC BY 2.0) - Some Rights Reserved
For many apps are the only way to access communities from which they are otherwise blocked; 40% of respondents in our research said they use apps to meet “like-minded people”.

Dating apps have revolutionized how we date, hook-up, and find love. But, sadly it’s not always fun and games. In some countries apps have also been used to harm LGBTQ communities. In a recent report, Article 19 investigated how popular dating apps are used by LGBTQ people in Egypt, Lebanon and Iran, and the risks they bring from authorities and non-state actors. Teaming up with Grindr and other dating apps, we looked at ways app companies can—and should—adapt their services and products to better protect against their misuse to surveil, abuse, and arrest users. Human rights groups, technologists and companies must work together to mitigate the risk of human rights violations committed via technologies— and there is still a long way to go.

Crackdowns on LGBTQ groups in the Middle East and North Africa reached a climax in September 2017 when more than 70 people were arrested in Egypt after a rainbow flag was flown during a concert. Dating apps were used to entrap many of those arrested. Patterns of arrests and targeting range from such entrapments—where a state aggressor uses a fake profile to pose as an app user interested in a relationship to build a case against an individual—to police checkpoint stop-and-checks on mobile devices, and even infiltration of LGBTQ online group chats. Local groups have been aware of these abuses for a long time, but no one took their calls for action seriously enough. Meanwhile, similar cases of abuse are on the rise in other countries.

"Crackdowns on LGBTQ groups in the Middle East and North Africa reached a climax in September 2017 when more than 70 people were arrested in Egypt after a rainbow flag was flown during a concert". 

While using dating apps carries risks, it’s important to note their significance—in certain countries meeting queer people isn’t as easy as strolling into a bar, and it is often impossible and extremely dangerous. For many apps are the only way to access communities from which they are otherwise blocked; 40% of respondents in our research said they use apps to meet “like-minded people”. While the apps can put users in real physical danger, our research shows that the drive for sex, love, intimacy, and association is often stronger than the fear of risks.

The responsibility, therefore, of app developers and providers is key. The burden of protection shouldn’t be solely on users, and UN standards make clear that companies have human rights responsibilities. App companies must make the effort to understand their users’ environments and experiences; sending security messages is simply not enough. They owe proactive protective, security and safety measures to their users.

To find out more about the risks imposed by using apps to LGBTQ communities, we surveyed more than 400 individuals in Egypt, Lebanon and Iran. We also conducted focus groups with local organizations and interviewed local, queer activists. We found many dating and messaging apps lack fundamental security features. For example, best practices around TSL and SSL (security protocols) for mobile applications and secure geolocation markers were lacking, and registration and verification processes were weak. The support features on the apps were also weak or had not helped in severe cases. Respondents knew the risks they face from app security flaws: 50% of respondents who stopped using certain apps said they did so due to “physical security concerns” and 20% because of “digital security” concerns.

Following our research, we brought together a coalition of local groups, activists, human rights experts, business and technologists to look at ways to combat threats to LGBTQ individuals. How can an app help a user during a checkpoint stop by concealing their use of a queer dating app? How can a user be helped if their chat logs and pictures are used as evidence against them in court? How can apps help connect groups to deliver a rapid response if an individual is arrested? By bringing these experts together we were able to find better solutions to the toughest issues.

As an initial step, we tailored recommendations to specific queer dating apps. Our experts also offered their expertise in assisting with implementation. Many of our recommendations are basic security measures that all apps should have in place to protect the privacy and security of their users. Although most of the recommendations required limited resources to implement, given the high risks faced by individual users in the region, the obligation to implement them should outweigh any concerns surrounding the financial or resource commitments involved. Not only do the recommendations enable companies to fulfil their responsibility to protect users, they allow them to build trust and secure their user base; our research has made it clear that security is one of the factors users consider when choosing apps.

We have not made all our recommendations public as this could undermine our objectives. But some general public recommendations include the need for apps to provide context specific information to users and advise on their rights and the applicable law. Other  recommendations concern the use of timed messages (which automatically delete after a set time); direct lines of communication between users and local groups for rapid response; best practices around TSL/SSL; account registration security, translation of apps in specific languages so they are more accessible to users—especially for the security and safety messages; geolocation changes to obscure the location of users; and app-cloaking. The response has varied—but apps partners such as Grindr have taken on many of the recommendations and a more proactive approach to security.

We will continue to work as a coalition of human rights groups and app companies to address security issues in Egypt, Iran, Lebanon and beyond, and increase security for apps users. There is already ground-breaking progress, from Grindr and other apps introducing new features to help protect users in high risk countries. But there is still a long way to go. Activists must put more pressure on the companies creating these apps to ensure that the safety, security, and privacy of their users remain a top priority.


Afsaneh Rigot is a program officer at Article 19 focusing on the organization’s LGBTQ, Business and Human Rights, and Iran Transparency work.


 

RELATED ARTICLES

DNA testing can help – and hinder – sexual violence prosecutions

BY: Karen Naimer
Español | Français

To strengthen digital security for human rights defenders, behavior matters

BY: Michael Caster
简体中文 | Español

Ethics, technology and human rights: navigating new roads

BY: Danna Ingleton

The fine print: seeing beyond the hype in technology for human rights

BY: Zara Rahman

 

COMMENTS