هويات في خطر: الرقابة على محتوى مجتمع الميم على الإنترنت في شتى أنحاء العالم

تقوم شركة كندية بضبط خصائص برنامج طورته بحيث يُستخدم على مستوى العالم في الرقابة على إتاحة المعلومات الخاصة بقضايا مجتمع الميم، في خرق للمعايير الدولية. 


Available in:
English | Español


Photo: Land Rover Mene/Wikimedia


إذا كنت في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وأردت تصفّح موقع GLAAD أو موقع "هيومن رايتس كامبين"، فقد يخيب مسعاك؛ فسوف تجد بدلًا من هذين الموقعين الخاصين بمنظمات تناصر حقوق مجتمع الميم إخطارًا بأن الموقعين محظورين. وإذا كنت في البحرين أو السودان أو الإمارات أو اليمن وحاولت إجراء بحث مُشفر على "غوغل" دون استخدام كود HTTPS لكلمة "مثلي" أو "مثلية"، فسوف تكون النتيجة هي صفحة محظورة. وستواجه العقبات نفسها إذا كنت في أفغانستان أو الكويت وحاولت الاطلاع على مدونة "فانغارد" الخاصة بمركز مجتمع الميم في لوس أنجلس.

ما هو الخيط الذي يجمع هذه الأمثلة معًا؟ إنّ سبب هذا الحجب في الحالات كافة هو استخدام هذه الدول لنفس تقنية الفلترة التي أنتجتها شركة "نت-سويبر" الكندية، لمنع الاطلاع على محتوى تحميه الأطر الدولية لحقوق الإنسان.

عادة ما تُستخدم تكنولوجيا فلترة شركة "نت-سويبر" في الحدّ من، ومنع الوصول إلى، مواقع بعينها تُعتبر غير لائقة. ففي المدارس، يمكن استخدام هذه التكنولوجيا في منع تصفح المواقع الجنسية، ويمكن استخدامها في مقار العمل للحد من تصفح الموظفين لمواقع التواصل الاجتماعي. لكن عندما تقع هذه التكنولوجيا في يد الحكومات السلطوية التي تسيطر على قدرات الإنترنت في دولة بأكملها، فهي تؤدي أدوارًا مقلقة للغاية.

لقد نشر "سيتزن لاب" تقريرًا في أبريل/نيسان 2018 تبين منه تنصيب برمجية "نت-سويبر" في شبكات 30 دولة. وتوصلنا إلى استخدام هذه التكنولوجيا في فلترة باقة عريضة من المحتوى، بما يشمل المواقع السياسية ذات الطابع الانتقادي، ومواقع الإعلام المستقل، ومحتوى ديني. وتوصلنا في حالة خمس من الدول إلى وجود حجب محتوى متصل بمجتمع الميم. إن قائمة الصفحات المحجوبة طويلة، وتضم مواقع أخبار تخص مجتمع الميم، ومواقع ثقافية، ومواقع لمنظمات فيروس نقص المناعة المكتسبة/الإيدز، ومواقع منظمات مناصرة مثل الاتحاد الدولي للمثليات والمثليين ومزدوجي التفضيل الجنسي ومتحولي الجنس وحاملي صفات الجنسين (ILGA).

وفي حالات أخرى، تبين لنا أنه قد تم تصنيف محتوى يخص مجتمع الميم بالخطأ على أنه موقع "بورنو" رغم أنه لا يعتبر من المواقع الجنسية، وهي مسألة مُقلقة بصفة خاصة نظرًا لأن مواقع البورنو هي من بين المواقع الأكثر عُرضة للحجب عمومًا. إن هذا التصنيف الخاطئ لمحتوى يخص مجتمع الميم يسلط الضوء على تبعات عمليات التصنيف الأوتوماتيكية التي تسيئ تصنيف كلمات مفتاحية معينة، ومن ثم تخلط بين المحتوى الخاص بالصحة الجنسية والمحتوى الجنسي.

ومما يثير القلق بصفة خاصة، وجود قرائن على حجب بعض المواقع في الإمارات، نتيجة لتصنيف برمجية "نت-سويبر" لها ضمن تصنيف "أنماط حياة بديلة". ويشمل هذا التصنيف بحسب وصف الشركة "... سائر الممارسات والاهتمامات والتوجهات الجنسية غير التقليدية".

هذا البند من تصنيفات المواقع إشكالي للغاية؛ إذ يبدو أن غرضه الوحيد هو تسهيل حجب مواقع مجتمع الميم غير الجنسية. إننا نعرف أنه ربما ليس بإمكان شركة فلترة محتوى إنترنت مثل "نت-سويبر" ضمان ألا يستخدم الزبائن منتجها في فلترة محتوى مجتمع الميم أو غير ذلك من صنوف المحتوى الذي تحميه القوانين والمعاهدات. لكن على هذه الشركات ألا تيسّر الفلترة السهلة لمثل هذا المحتوى عن طريق إنشاء تصنيفات محتوى من قبيل "أنماط حياة بديلة".

ولهذا الحجب الممنهج والمنتشر للمحتوى عدة آثار سلبية، وهو يسهم في زيادة وصم مجتمع الميم في بلدان يشهد أفراد هذا المجتمع فيها بالفعل الكثير من التمييز. فعن طريق حجب مواقع منظمات الإيدز، يمكن أن تحد برمجية "نت-سويبر" من قدرة الاطلاع على معلومات صحية كفيلة بإنقاذ الحياة. وتشير البحوث أيضًا إلى أن شبكة الإنترنت تتيح مساحات آمنة لأعضاء مجتمعات الأقليات، يمكنهم من خلالها التواصل وتبادل الموارد، وتكوين روابط اجتماعية قوية. وسوف يجد الكثير من أعضاء مجتمع الميم أنفسهم في عزلة أكبر في غياب مثل هذه المساحات، في بلدان تحكمها نُظم تجرّم وجودهم في حد ذاته. وعلى مستوى أكبر، فإن حجب المنافذ الإعلامية المتنوعة التي تتيح وجهات نظر مختلفة يعني أن يبقى الحوار المجتمعي إزاء التوجه الجنسي والهويات الجنسية راكدًا، ما يعني ركود التقدم على مسار التقبل المجتمعي لمجتمع الميم.

ومن وجهة النظر القانونية، فإن استخدام تكنولوجيا "نت-سويبر" في حجب محتوى مجتمع الميم على الإنترنت يثير المخاوف إزاء انتهاك عدد من الحقوق المحمية دوليًا، ومنها الحق في حرية الرأي والتعبير، والحق في التماس واستقبال وإرسال المعلومات والأفكار بكافة أنواعها، والحق في عدم التعرض للتمييز.

إنّ الدول تتحمل التزامًا قانونيًا بحماية الحق في حرية التعبير لجميع الأفراد من مجتمع الميم، وعليها أن تضمن ألا تكون أي قيود على هذه الحقوق تمييزية. وبموجب مبادئ الأمم المتحدة التوجيهية بشأن الأعمال التجارية وحقوق الإنسان، فعلى الحكومات جميعًا – ومنها الحكومة الكندية – التزام بحماية حقوق الإنسان من انتهاكات القطاع الخاص، بما يشمل "أن تعلن بوضوح توقعها من جميع المؤسسات التجارية المقيمة في إقليمها و/أو ولايتها القضائية أن تحترم حقوق الإنسان في كل عملياتها"، بما يشمل عملياتها خارج أراضي الدولة. غير أنه وفي حالة "نت-سويبر"، قدمت الحكومة الكندية دعمًا ماليًا ومساندة للشركة من خلال البعثات الدبلوماسية التجارية الخاصة بالدولة، وهي مستمرة في تقديم الدعم التجاري لها.

كما أنه وبموجب نفس المبادئ التوجيهية، فشركات مثل "نت-سويبر" تقع عليها مسؤولية مستقلة باحترام حقوق الإنسان المتعارف عليها دوليًا. وفي حين أنه ربما كان لدى الدول العشر التي ذكرناها أطرًا قانونية تسمح بهذه الرقابة على الإنترنت، فهذا لا يحل الشركات التي لها عمليات في هذه الدول من الالتزام بالقانون الدولي. فالمبادئ التوجيهية تنص على أن هذه المسؤولية المترتبة على الشركات تسري بشكل "يسمو على الالتزام بالقوانين والأنظمة الوطنية لحماية حقوق الإنسان".

وقد أظهرت بحوثنا وجود آثار سلبية كبيرة لاستخدام منتجات وخدمات "نت-سويبر" على حرية تعبير أفراد مجتمع الميم وقدرتهم على الوصول إلى المعلومات. إلّا أنّه لا يبدو أن "نت-سويبر" قد استوفت مسؤوليتها إزاء احترام حقوق الإنسان أثناء اضطلاعها بأنشطتها وأعمالها؛ إذ ليس لدى الشركة تعهد مُعلن بالسياسات الخاصة بالجمهور، أو إعلان بجهودها إزاء عملية إيلاء العناية الواجبة، أو إعلان بما تتخذه من تدابير إزاء حقوق الإنسان.

وتوجد سوابق بشركات طوّرت تقنيات للرقابة على الإنترنت واتخذت في الوقت نفسه تدابير ملموسة للحدّ من آثار منتجاتها وخدماتها على مجتمع الميم في أنحاء العالم. ففي عام 2011 أعلنت شركة "لايت-سبيد سيستمز" – التي تطوّر خدمات فلترة إنترنت لأغراض تعليمية – أنها سوف تُلغي تصنيف محتوى "تعليم.أنماط حياة" الذي كان يُستخدم في حجب معلومات تعليمية متصلة بمجتمع الميم. وقامت شركة "بلو كوت سيستمز" مثلها – في عام 2013 – بإعلان اعتزامها إلغاء تصنيف "LGBTQ" من مُنتجها "ويب-فلتر". كما أدلت شركات أخرى تُطور تقنيات فلترة للإنترنت بتصريحات علنية حول ممارساتها الخاصة بالمسؤولية الاجتماعية للشركات، ومنها شركات "جونيبر نتوركس" و"سيمانتك" و"فورس-بوينت".

ونظرًا لتداعيات هذه التكنولوجيا على مجتمعات الميم والفئات الأخرى المتضررة من هذه الرقابة على الإنترنت؛ يتعين على الدول ضمان ربط دعمها المالي والتجاري للشركات بالتزام تلك الشركات بحقوق الإنسان. كما يجب على الشركات اعتماد آليات لتقييم آثار منتجاتها وخدماتها على حقوق الإنسان ووضع آليات للحدّ من هذه الآثار.


رونالد ديبرت هو مدير "سيتيزن لاب" الذي تديره مدرسة مونك للشؤون الدولية والسياسات العامة في جامعة تورنتو، وآدم سينفت هو مدير العمليات ويشغل مايلز كينيون منصب أخصائي الاتصالات في المركز.


 

COMMENTS

Identities in the crosshairs—censoring LGBTQ internet content around the world

A Canadian company is enabling its software to be used globally to censor access to information on LGBTQ issues, in breach of international standards.


Available in:
Español | العربية


Photo: Land Rover Mene/Wikimedia


If you find yourself in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and want to access the website of GLAAD or the Human Rights Campaign, you might be out of luck: instead of the websites of these two LGBTQ advocacy organizations, you’ll be notified that they’re blocked. If you’re in Bahrain, Sudan, UAE, or Yemen and attempt to do a non-HTTPS encrypted Google search for the words ‘gay’ or ‘lesbian’, you will also receive a blocked page. You’ll face similar obstacles if you’re in Afghanistan or Kuwait and attempt to access the Los Angeles LGBT Center’s Vanguard blog.

What’s the common thread tying these instances together? They’re all the result of countries using the same filtering technology, produced by Canadian company Netsweeper, to prevent access to content that is protected under international human rights frameworks.

Netsweeper’s filtering technology is often used to limit and block access to certain websites that might be deemed inappropriate. In schools, it could be used to block access to pornography; in offices, it could be used to limit employee access to social media. But in the hands of authoritarian governments that control the Internet capabilities of an entire country, the technology becomes altogether more disturbing.

In April 2018, Citizen Lab published a report that identified Netsweeper installations on networks in 30 countries. We found that this technology was being used to filter a range of content, including critical political websites, independent media, and religious content. In five of those countries, we found instances of LGBTQ-related content being blocked. The list of blocked pages is extensive and includes LGBT news and culture sites, HIV/AIDS organizations, and advocacy organizations like the International Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Trans and Intersex Association (ILGA).

In other cases, we found that non-pornographic LGBTQ content was miscategorized as ‘pornography”, which is particularly problematic given that pornography is amongst the most frequently blocked content. This mis-categorization of LGBTQ content highlights the consequences of automated categorization processes misinterpreting the presence of certain keywords, and thus confusing sexual health material for adult content.

Of particular concern was evidence that some content was blocked in the UAE as a result of being classified as ‘Alternative Lifestyles’ by Netsweeper. This standardized category is described by the company to include “… the full range of non-traditional sexual practices, interests and orientations.”

This content category is especially problematic as it appears to serve little purpose beyond facilitating the blocking of non-pornographic, LGBTQ content. We recognize that it may not be possible for an Internet filtering company like Netsweeper to ensure that customers don’t use their product to filter LGBTQ or other protected content. However, such companies should not facilitate the easy filtering of such material by, for example, creating content categories like ‘Alternative Lifestyles’. 

The systematic and widespread blocking of content has a number of adverse effects and contributes to further stigmatization of LGBTQ people in countries which might already be highly discriminatory. By blocking access to HIV/AIDS organizations, Netsweeper may be limiting access to life-saving health information. Research also indicates that the Internet provides safe spaces for members of minority communities to connect, share resources, and form strong social bonds. In the absence of such avenues, many LGBTQ individuals find themselves further isolated in systems that might criminalize their very existence. And on a larger scale, blocking access to diverse media outlets that offer differing views ensures that societal conversations about sexual orientation and gender identities remain stagnant, thereby stunting wider societal acceptance.

From a legal perspective, the use of Netsweeper technology to block access to LGBTQ content raises concerns about violations of a number of internationally protected rights, including the right to freedom of opinion and expression; the freedom to seek, receive and impart information and ideas of all kinds; and the right to non-discrimination.

States have a legal obligation to safeguard freedom of expression for all LGBTQ persons and to ensure that any restrictions on these rights are not discriminatory. As a part of the UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights, all governments, including Canada, additionally have an obligation to protect against human rights abuse by the private sector, including to “set out clearly the expectation that all businesses enterprises domiciled in their territory and/or jurisdiction respect human rights throughout their operations”, including extraterritorially. In the case of Netsweeper, however, the government of Canada has provided financial support and promoted the company on government-organized trade missions, and continues to provide trade support.

Further, under the same Guiding Principles, companies such as Netsweeper have an independent responsibility to respect internationally-recognized human rights. While the 10 countries we highlighted may have legal frameworks which permit such Internet censorship, that does not absolve private companies operating in a given jurisdiction from complying with international law. The Guiding Principles state that the responsibility of private companies exists “over and above compliance with national laws and regulations protecting human rights”.

Our research has demonstrated that the use of Netsweeper’s products and services have significant adverse impacts on the freedom of expression of LGBTQ persons and their access to information. However, it does not appear that Netsweeper has fulfilled its responsibility to respect human rights in the course of its activities. The company has no visible public policy commitment, due diligence process, or remedial measures in place regarding human rights.

There is a precedent for companies that develop Internet censorship technology taking concrete actions to limit the impact their products and services have on LGBTQ communities. In 2011 Lightspeed Systems, a company which develops web filtering services for educational settings, announced it would remove the “education.lifestyles” content category that blocked access to educational LGBTQ-related information. Similarly, in 2013 Blue Coat Systems announced they would remove the ‘LGBTQ’ content category from their WebFilter product. Other companies which develop Internet filtering technology have made public statements about their own corporate social responsibility practices, including Juniper Networks, Symantec, and Forcepoint.

Given the impact that this technology has on LGBTQ communities and other groups affected by such censorship, states should ensure that financial and trade support is conditioned upon a company’s commitment to human rights.  Further, companies should adopt processes for evaluating and mitigating the human rights impacts of their products and services. 


Ronald Deibert is Director, Adam Senft is Operations Manager, and Miles Kenyon is Communications Specialist, all of the Citizen Lab, at the Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy, University of Toronto.


 

COMMENTS