تحوّل البنية التحتية للاتصالات في فلسطين إلى أداة للقمع

سبب القيود المفروضة على شركات شبكات الهواتف الخلوية الفلسطينية، تحصد الشركات الإسرائيلية أرباحًا من مستخدمي الاتصالات الفلسطينيين، في حين تستفيد إسرائيل من قدرات المراقبة وأدوات الدعاية والترويج التي تتيحها هذه القيود.


By: Who Profits Research Center
November 13, 2018

Available in:
English | Français


Photo: Anna/Flickr


لا تتوفر شبكة للهواتف الخلوية لدى نقطة تفتيش قلنديا، أكبر حاجز أمني عسكري إسرائيلي في الضفة الغربية المحتلة. ولا يُسمَّح لشركات الشبكات الخلوية الفلسطينية بتثبيت معدات بالمنطقة المحيطة بالنقطة الأمنية، وليس لدى الشركات الإسرائيلية دافع لهذا. ومن ثَمَّ، فإن الفلسطينيين الذين يتنقلون عبر نقطة التفتيش المذكورة – وهو من مواقع انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان المتكررة – يجدون أنفسهم وسط ما أسمته الباحثة الإعلامية هلجا طويل الصوري "منطقة محظورة هاتفيًا".

ولفهم هذه المنطقة المحظورة هاتفيًا، فمن الضروري فهم الآليات التي تعمل في ظلّها شركات الشبكات الخلوية، والتي تشمل وجود بنية تحتية قد تكون أي شيء بخلاف كونها مُتَنقلة مناسبة للهواتف الخلوية. تعمل شبكات الهواتف الخليوية عن طريق مكونين اثنين: الأجهزة الخلوية والهوائيات الثابتة. ولكي تعمل الشبكة، يتم تقسيم المنطقة الواحدة إلى آلاف "الخلايا" الجغرافية، وكل خلية منها مُجهزة بهوائي مركزيّ، وهو جهاز مادي له حيز يغطي منطقة محدودة. وتتداخل الخلايا لتهييء ما يُشار إليه عمومًا بمسمى "التغطية الخلوية"، وتقوم الهواتف الخليوية بإرسال واستقبال الإشارات اللاسلكية المرسلة إلى جهاز الهوائي الثابت والواردة منه. وفي المناطق التي ليس بها تداخل بين الخلايا المذكورة – وعادة ما يكون هذا بسبب عوائق مادية مثل التضاريس الجبلية – تتعرض التغطية للاضطراب ويكون الاستقبال محدودًا أو غائبًا تمامًا. لكن وجود مناطق خالية تمامًا من الإشارة مثل قلنديا هو نتاج سياسات، لا تضاريس جغرافية، وهو الأمر الذي يثير تساؤلات جدّية حول التقاطع بين تكنولوجيا الاتصالات الخلوية وحقوق الإنسان. فهذه المناطق المعطل بها الإشارة تسلط الضوء على قضايا مثل البنية التحتية المادية، واللامساواة الهيكلية وأوجه الاستضعاف والهشاشة التي تخلقها البنية التحتية، لا سيما في ظل الاحتلال العسكري.

إنّ المناقشات ذات الطابع الانتقادي المحيطة بمخاطر حقوق الإنسان ذات الصلة بتكنولوجيا الاتصالات، تدور حول قضايا مثل الآثار السلبية على البشر جراء سلسلة إمداد وإنتاج الهواتف الخلوية، ومخاطر تطبيقات مواعدة مجتمع الميم التي لا تراعي الأمان، وقضايا الحق في الخصوصية، ومراقبة الدول للاتصالات الخلوية. لكن ثمة حاجة إلى مزيد من البحث حول التداعيات السياسية والاقتصادية والحقوقية للسيطرة على البنية التحتية للشبكات الخلوية في حالات الاحتلال، بما يشمل القدرة على استخدام البنية التحتية كسلاح من قِبَل القوى المُحتلة، واستغلالها في سياق اقتصادٍ أسير ومُخضَع.

وفي سياق الأراضي الفلسطينية المحتلة، ما زالت البنية التحتية للاتصالات محتلة، رغم كونها مستقلة رسميًا وتسيطر عليها السلطة الفلسطينية والشركات الفلسطينية منذ عام 1995. ويتحقق إخضاعها للاحتلال من خلال البروتوكولات الاقتصادية الملحقة باتفاقات أوسلو. فالقيود الإسرائيلية المستمرة على سعة روابط الموجات متناهية الصغر (ميكرويف)، تعني أن شركة بالتل (شركة الاتصالات الفلسطينية) مُضطرة لأن تُمرر جميع الاتصالات بين الضفة الغربية وغزة – والعديد من الاتصالات داخل غزة والضفة الغربية – عبر شركات اتصالات إسرائيلية. تجني هذه الشركات عمولة على جميع الأرباح الناتجة عن الاتصالات بين الخطوط الأرضية والهواتف الخلوية الفلسطينية، ومن المكالمات بين الهواتف الخلوية التي تستخدم خطوطًا فلسطينية وتلك التي تُشغّل خطوطًا إسرائيلية. وتقوم إسرائيل بمنع بالتل من إدارة قناتها الدولية الخاصة بها، إذ تطالب جميع شركات الاتصالات الخلوية الفلسطينية بالمرور عبر شركة مسجلة في إسرائيل حتى تُجري اتصالات دولية. تؤدي هذه الممارسات إلى أرباح سهلة لشركات الاتصالات الإسرائيلية، التي تُحَصّل رسومًا على الاتصالات المحلية والدولية.

إنّ اعتماد البنية التحتية الفلسطينية على البنية التحتية الإسرائيلية في جميع اتصالات الشبكة الدولية للمعلومات (الإنترنت) والخطوط الأرضية والخلوية، يمنح سلطة الاحتلال أيضًا قدرات مراقبة هائلة، وهي القدرات التي يمكن استخدامها ليس فقط في تعميم رسائل  الدعاية و الترويج (البروباغاندا)، وإنما أيضًا في التجسس على السكان المحتلين. فعن طريق السيطرة على الترددات اللاسلكية، يمكن للجيش الإسرائيلي قرصنة وتعطيل وقطع موجات الأثير اللاسلكيّ. وأثناء العمليات العسكرية الإسرائيلية الموسعة ضد غزة في 2008 و2009 و2014، استعانت إسرائيل بهذه القدرات في الاتصال بسكان غزة وإرسال رسائل نصّية إليهم، قبل قصف بيوتهم وأحيائهم. ولقد تزايد أيضًا خضوع الفضاء الإلكترونيّ الفلسطينيّ –وتحديدًا مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي – للمراقبة، حيث تذرعت القوات الإسرائيلية بتدوينات على فيسبوك وتويتر لاعتقال أفراد على جانبيّ الخط الأخضر.

يمكن لشركات الاتصالات الخلوية الإسرائيلية استغلال تبعية وضعف مستوى تطور قطاع الاتصالات الفلسطيني، مع عدم خضوعها على الإطلاق لأي قدر من المحاسبة. فمع تواجد هذه الشركات على الأرض في المستوطنات غير القانونية – ومع تنصيبها لمئات الهوائيات في الضفة الغربية – فإن بإمكانها ضمّ كم كبير من المكالمات إلى شبكاتها. وبمساعدة من التفضيلات الهندسية للاحتلال التي تُفضل تنصيب الهوائيات أعلى التلال وضمن المُنشآت العسكرية، فإن إشارة الشبكات الخلوية الإسرائيلية تخترق المراكز السكانية الفلسطينية بقوة. والحقّ أن الإشارة الخلوية الإسرائيلية تخترق بعمق لدرجةٍ تدفع المرء للتساؤل ما إذا كان هذا التطوير المفرط للشبكة متعّمد، كآلية خبيثة لاختراق السوق الفلسطينية عبر تركيبات وإنشاءات للبنية التحتية للاتصالات الخلوية المدعومة بقوة من الدولة الإسرائيلية، والمتواجدة بكثرة في مستوطنات معزولة مأهولة بعدد ضئيل من السكان.

إذن ورُغم وجود حظر رسميّ على عمل شركات الاتصالات في السوق الفلسطينية، فإن أنشطة شركات الخدمة الخلوية الإسرائيلية غير المصرح بها تمثل ما يُقدر بـ 20 إلى 40 بالمئة من حجم سوق الاتصالات الفلسطينية. وعلى ضوء القيود المفروضة على الشركات الفلسطينية – بما يشمل عدم القدرة على إتاحة خدمات اتصالات الجيل الرابع G4 (وعدم إمكانية إتاحة الجيل الثالث حتى وقت قريب) من قدرات وإمكانات التغطية الخلوية – تبدو هذه الأرقام غير مدهشة بالمرة. يُقدر البنك الدولي أنه في الفترة من 2013 إلى 2015 كان فاقد أرباح شركات الشبكات الخلوية الفلسطينية يُعزى بصورة مباشرة إلى غياب خدمات الجيل الثالث، وقُدر الفاقد بما يتراوح بين 339 مليون و742 مليون دولار أمريكيّ. فضلًا عن المذكور، وبما أن أنشطة الشركات الإسرائيلية غير مصرح بها، فهي لا تسدد رسوم تراخيص أو ضرائب للسلطة الفلسطينية على أرباحها متذرعة بالازدواج الضريبي. لذلك لا يحصل الاقتصاد الفلسطيني ولو على النذر اليسير من الأرباح الطائلة التي يتم تحصيلها من اتصالات المستخدمين الفلسطينيين.

وبما أن قطاع الاتصالات الإسرائيلي تديره شركات القطاع الخاص بالكامل، فإن الشركات الإسرائيلية والدولية الهادفة للربح مثل شركة Altice (ومقرها هولندا) وشركة Bezeq الإسرائيلية، هي التي تستغل مجال الاتصالات الفلسطيني وتتربح منه. وخلال السنوات الأخيرة، اعتمدت عدة شركات اتصالات كبرى المبادئ التوجيهية لحرية التعبير والخصوصية، التابعة لإطار عمل حقوق الإنسان والأعمال التجارية الصادر عن الأمم المتحدة "حماية واحترام وإنصاف". وفي عام 2017 أصبحت العديد من شركات الاتصالات عضوة في المبادرة العالمية للشبكات (GNI). وفي حين تُعد هذه خطة تستحق الترحيب والإشادة، فلابد من التوسع كثيرًا في هذه الجهود إذا كان المطلوب هو التصدي لاعتبارات تخص حقوق الإنسان والتي– مثل تلك المذكورة بالتفصيل أعلاه – لا تعتبر ضمن نطاق الحق في الخصوصية وحرية التعبير. فطالما أن شركات الاتصالات مصمِّمَة على تجاهل واجبها باحترام حقوق الإنسان والقانون الدوليّ، مع استمرارها في العمل في إطار الاحتلال العدوانيّ والمُطول، سوف تبقى البنية التحتية للاتصالات أداة للسيطرة الاجتماعية والاستغلال الاقتصادي والقمع.

 

* يستند هذا المقال إلى تقرير صدر مؤخرًا عن مركز بحوث "من المستفيد"، بشأن الاتصالات في ظل الاحتلال الإسرائيليّ. يمكن الاطلاع على التقرير الكامل هنا.

This article is part of a series on technology and human rights co-sponsored with Business & Human Rights Resource Centre and University of Washington Rule of Law Initiative


المؤلف هو منسق البحوث في مركز بحوث "من الرابحون" (Who Profits Research Center) وهو مركز بحثي يكرس جهوده لكشف دور القطاع الخاص في اقتصاد الاحتلال الإسرائيلي.


 

COMMENTS

Communications infrastructure in Palestine has become a tool of repression

Restrictions on Palestinian mobile companies mean that Israeli companies reap profits from Palestinian customers, while Israel benefits from the resulting surveillance capacity and propaganda tools.


By: Who Profits Research Center
November 13, 2018

Available in:
العربية | Français


Photo: Anna/Flickr

Passing the Qalandiya Checkpoint, Ramallah


In Qalandia Checkpoint, the largest Israeli military checkpoint in the occupied West Bank, there is no cell phone signal. Palestinian providers are not allowed to install equipment in its vicinity, and Israeli providers have little incentive to do so. The result is that Palestinians traveling through the checkpoint, a site of recurring human rights abuses, find themselves in what media researcher Helga Tawil Souri calls “a telephonic no-man’s-land.”

To understand this cellular no-man’s-land, it is necessary to understand that mechanisms under which mobile telephony operates involve infrastructure that is anything but mobile. A cellular network operates through two key components—mobile devices and fixed base antennas. In order to function, a given territory is divided into thousands of geographic “cells”, each equipped with a base station antenna, a physical installation that covers a limited range. The cells overlap to create what is commonly referred to as cellular coverage, and the mobile phone transmits and receives radio signals to and from the base site. In areas where there is no cellular overlap, typically due to physical barriers such as a mountainous terrain, coverage is interrupted and there is limited or no reception. Yet the existence of dead zones like Qalandia is the product of policy rather than topography, which raises important questions around the intersection of mobile technology and human rights. These dead zones bring to the fore issues of physical infrastructure, and the structural inequalities and vulnerabilities generated by infrastructure, particularly under military occupation.

Critical conversations on the human rights risks surrounding communications technology have encompassed issues as diverse as the human costs exacted along the smartphone supply chain, the perils of poorly thought out queer dating apps, issues of privacy rights and state surveillance. Yet more work needs to be done on the political, economic and human rights implications of the very control of cellular infrastructure in situations of occupation, including the potential for infrastructure to be weaponized by a belligerent occupying power and exploited in a captive, subjugated economy.

In the context of the occupied Palestinian territory, telecommunications infrastructure, though formally independent and controlled by the Palestinian Authority (PA) and Palestinian companies since 1995, remains occupied, its subjugation crafted into the economic protocols annexed to the Oslo Accords. Continued Israeli constraints on the bandwidth of microwave links mean that Paltel—the Palestine Telecommunication Company—is forced to route all calls between the West Bank and Gaza, and many intra-Gaza and West Bank calls, through Israeli providers. These providers collect a percentage surcharge on all interconnection revenues from calls between Palestinian landlines and cellular phones, as well as calls between cellular phones of Palestinian operators and Israeli operators. Israel prevents Paltel from operating its own international gateway, requiring that Palestinian operators go through an Israeli-registered company to access international links. Such practices generate easy profits to Israeli telecommunication corporations, who collect termination fees for both domestic and international calls.

The dependence of Palestinian infrastructure on the Israeli backbone for all internet, landline and cellular activity also endows the occupying power with massive surveillance abilities, abilities that can be used not only to circulate propaganda, but also to spy on the occupied population. Through its control over radio frequencies, the Israeli army is able to hack into, disrupt and cut off radio broadcasts. During the large-scale Israeli military assaults on Gaza in 2008-9 and 2014, it used this ability to call and text Gazans whose homes or neighborhoods were about to be bombed. Palestinian cyber space, in particular social media space, has also become increasingly surveilled, with tweets and Facebook posts serving as pretext for arrests by Israeli forces on both sides of the Green Line.

Israeli cellular corporations are able to exploit the dependency and de-development of the Palestinian telecommunications sector with zero accountability. Already present on the ground as service providers to illegal settlements, with hundreds of antennas littered throughout the West Bank, Israeli companies are well placed to absorb illicit traffic into their networks. Aided by an occupation architecture that favors hilltop outposts and military installations, Israeli cellular signals penetrate deep into Palestinian population centers. In fact, signals penetrate so deep that one wonders if the excessive deployment may be deliberate, as illicit access to the Palestinian market effectively subsidizes the installation and maintenance of telecommunications infrastructure in remote and sparsely populated settlements.

Thus, though formally prohibited from operating in the Palestinian market, unauthorized activity of Israeli cellular companies accounts for an estimated 20% to 40% of the Palestinian telecommunications market. In light of the restrictions imposed on Palestinian operators, including the inability to offer 4G (and until recently 3G) capabilities and comprehensive cellular coverage, these figures are hardly surprising. The World Bank estimated that in the period of 2013 to 2015, revenue loss for Palestinian mobile operators directly attributable to the absence of 3G was between $339 and $742 million US dollars. Additionally, as their activities are unauthorized, Israeli mobile operators do not pay licensing fees or taxes to the Palestinian Authority, citing issues of double taxation. Therefore, not a fraction of the sizable profits generated from Palestinian users makes its way back to the Palestinian economy.

Since the Israeli telecommunications sector is fully privatized, it is for-profit Israeli and international corporations such as the Netherlands-based Altice and the Israeli Bezeq that carry out the exploitation of the Palestinian telecommunications sphere and that reap the profits. In recent years, several prominent telecommunications companies have adopted Guiding Principles on freedom of expression and privacy, guided by the United Nations “Protect, Respect, and Remedy” business and human rights framework. In 2017, seven telecom corporations became members of the Global Network Initiative (GNI). While welcomed, such efforts need to be greatly expanded if they are to address human rights concerns that, like the ones detailed above, fall outside the scope of privacy rights and freedom of opinion. As long as communications corporations persist in neglecting their duty to respect human rights and international law and continue to operate in the framework of a belligerent and prolonged occupation, communications infrastructure will remain a vehicle of social control, economic exploitation and repression.

 

*This article is based on a recent report by Who Profits Research Center on telecommunications under the Israeli occupation. The full report can be found here.

*** This article is part of a series on technology and human rights co-sponsored with Business & Human Rights Resource Centre and University of Washington Rule of Law Initiative.


The author is a research coordinator at Who Profits Research Center, a research center dedicated to exposing the role of the private sector in the Israeli occupation economy.


 

COMMENTS