تحرك منظمة العفو الدولية على نحو أقرب إلى أرض الواقع هو أمر ضروري ولكنه ليس بسيطاً

سرعة تغيرالنظام العالمي وصعود القوى الناشئة يتطلبان من منظمة العفو أن تعمل بأكثر من طريقة انطلاقاً من القاعدة إلى الأعلى. الآن، وللمرة الأولى على الإطلاق، توجد إمكانية فعلية لتقوم بذلك.


By: Salil Shetty
January 20, 2015

Available in:
English | Español | Français


منذ أكثر من 50 عاماً، أطلق مؤسس منظمة العفو الدولية بيتر بينينسون هذا التحذير، "الشيء المهم هو تعبئة الرأي العام بسرعة، وعلى نطاق واسع. وحتى تكون قوة الرأي فعالة، ينبغي أن تكون مستندة إلى قاعدة واسعة ودولية وغير طائفية ومعبرة عن كافة الأطراف. الحملات التي تدعو إلى الحرية التي تطلقها دولة معينة أو طرف معين ضد دولة أخرى أو طرف آخر، غالباً لا تحقق أي نتائج سوى زيادة الاضطهاد".

هذه الكلمات لا تزال تتحقق في عالم اليوم. يمكن لجميع الحملات التي تدعو إلى أي شيء، مثل معاهدة تجارة الأسلحة والصراع في سوريا، أن تحقق نتائج أكثر بكثير إذا كانت دعوتها على نطاق عالمي ولا تقتصر على عدد قليل من البلدان، مما يمكن في الواقع أن يضعف أهداف الحملة أو يصيبها بالانتكاس.

في سنواتها الأولى، افتتحت منظمة العفو الدولية بشكل سريع فروعاً محلية في عدد من الدول الأخرى، وخاصة في أوروبا الغربية وأمريكا الشمالية. ولكن إنشاء فروع في دول جنوب العالم كان أمراً صعباً لأسباب متنوعة ربما يكون أهمها هو الفكرة المبسطة عن نقل النموذج الغربي إلى بقية دول العالم.


Flickr/Amnesty International (Some rights reserved)

An Amnesty International event in Morocco.


بالإضافة إلى ذلك، المنظمات القائمة على عضوية الأفراد ودفع الاشتراكات والتي تنظمها الجماعات المحلية ليس لها تقريباً أي سابقة خارج الدول الغربية. لقد كان المفهوم نفسه عن إنشاء المنظمات غير الحكومية بشكل رسمي أمراً جديداً نسبياً. وكثيرا ما أدى انتخاب الأعضاء في أي إدارة إلى خلافات داخلية ومشاكل مع هذه الإدارة. لقد انتشر عدد كبير من الفروع المحلية بدون أن تتمكن الحركة العالمية من تقديم الدعم الفعلي لمعظمها خلال سنواتها الأولى.

ومع ذلك، فقد نمت منظمة العفو الدولية بقوة مع ملايين الأعضاء. لقد أدى الجمع بين التحقيقات عالية المستوى وتقصي الحقائق من المركز وعضوية القاعدة الشعبية، وخاصة في الغرب، إلى نتائج مثيرة للإعجاب في مجموعة من السياقات–الإفراج عن السجناء السياسيين، مكافحة التعذيب، مكافحة عقوبة الإعدام، وإنشاء المحكمة الجنائية الدولية.

ولكن مهمة منع وإنهاء الانتهاكات الجسيمة لحقوق الإنسان هي أبعد ما تكون عن الاكتمال. التحديات الجديدة في مجال حقوق الإنسان آخذة في الظهور والتغطية على التحديات القديمة.

اليوم، تسعى منظمة العفو الدولية جاهدة لبناء حركة شعبية عالمية فعلية لحقوق الإنسان حتى تصبح المنظمة صالحة في القرن الحادي والعشرين. وعلى النقيض من عام 1961 عندما تأسسنا، يوجد الآن منظمات فعالة وحركات محلية لحقوق الإنسان في أجزاء كثيرة من العالم. انتشار الهواتف المحمولة والإنترنت ووسائل الإعلام، يعزز ذلك نمو الديمقراطية، مكن الناس وخاصة الشباب للدفاع عن حقوقهم على نحو لم يحدث من قبل.

في نفس الوقت، لقد أصبحت القوة الاقتصادية والسياسية بشكل واضح الآن متعددة الأقطاب أكثر. وهذا يعكس جزئياً النمو السريع للصين، ولكنه يعكس أيضاً العديد من البلدان –من البرازيل إلى الهند وإندونيسيا، ومن المكسيك إلى نيجيريا– التي أصبحت مؤثرة على نحو متزايد داخل مناطقها وخارجها.

تهدف مبادرة منظمة العفو الدولية "التحرك على نحو أقرب إلى الأرض " إلى العمل بشكل وثيق مع المنظمات المحلية والمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان، والاستجابة بسرعة وفعالية أكبر لانتهاكات حقوق الإنسان، والتعاون لبناء مجتمعات تحترم حقوق الإنسان.

 هذه العوامل تتطلب التغيير للعمل بأكثر من طريقة انطلاقاً من القاعدة إلى الأعلى. الآن، وللمرة الأولى على الإطلاق، توجد إمكانية حقيقية للقيام بذلك. تهدف مبادرة منظمة العفو الدولية "التحرك على نحو أقرب إلى الأرض " إلى العمل بشكل وثيق مع المنظمات المحلية والمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان، والاستجابة بسرعة وفعالية أكبر لانتهاكات حقوق الإنسان، والتعاون لبناء مجتمعات تحترم حقوق الإنسان.

هذه التغييرات تتم الآن على قدم وساق. لقد كانت الخطوة الأولى الأساسية هي الانتقال من مركز واحد مقره لندن إلى نظام أكثر توزيعاً من خلال المراكز التنظيمية المنتشرة في العواصم الإقليمية الرئيسية في جميع أنحاء العالم.

لقد نفذنا بالفعل المرحلة الأولى مع مراكز الخدمة الكاملة بالحملات، البحوث، الدعوة، وسائل الإعلام والحركات لبناء القدرات. لقد انتقلت معظم برامجنا الأفريقية من لندن إلى داكار ونيروبي وجوهانسبرج. علاوة على ذلك، نؤدي عملنا في شرق آسيا الآن بالكامل من هونغ كونغ، وبالنسبة لأمريكا اللاتينية على وشك الانتقال إلى المكسيك وجنوب شرق آسيا على نحو أقرب إلى الأرض. في السنوات القليلة الماضية، أكدنا أيضاً حضورنا بشكل قوي في الهند والبرازيل، مع عمل مماثل في نيجيريا على وشك أن يبدأ.

النهج الذي نسير عليه الآن في إنشاء فروع محلية وطنية جديدة هو أكثر ملاءمة بكثير للسياق والتعلم من القيود المفروضة على النموذج السابق. سوف يقوم المركز العالمي في لندن، تحت إشراف المجلس الدولي (الذي لا يزال ينتخب من قبل المجالس الوطنية )، بتوفير الاستراتيجية الشاملة والتماسك وضمان الجودة. كما ستقوم المراكز العالمية أيضاً بدفع كافة الأعمال على المستوى العالمي، بما في ذلك الحملات العالمية والقانون والسياسة والدعوة. لا يزال معظم تمويلنا للعمل على المستوى العالمي والعمل في المراكز الإقليمية والمكاتب الوطنية يأتي من الملايين من أعضائنا الأفراد والداعمين لنا. أيضاً، الدعم –الذي نتلقاه من بضع المؤسسات الكبرى لتغطية بعض التكاليف الانتقالية– أيضاً لا يقدر بثمن.

كما هو متوقع، كانت بعض المنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية قلقة بشأن تأثير مجموعة دولية كبيرة قامت فجأة بإعداد متجر في العاصمة. الآن، هؤلاء الناس قادرون على رؤية الطريقة التي تعمل بها منظمة العفو، العمل بطريقة الدعم المتبادل وعدم مزاحمة الأفراد والمنظمات التي تكافح من أجل العدالة وحقوق الإنسان على مدى عقود، لقد أنشأنا وعززنا التعاون القوي على أرض الواقع.

وللأهمية، بدأنا في بناء استراتيجياتنا ونهجنا بطريقة أكثر واقعية انطلاقاً من القاعدة إلى الأعلى للعمل مباشرة مع أولئك الذين تنتهك حقوقهم، والجمع بين هذا والتضامن والنفوذ الدولي، حيثما كان ذلك مناسباً.

أجرينا مؤخراً استطلاع رأي واستمعنا لأكثر من 25,000 شخصاً في كل بلد تقريباً في العالم، وذلك فيما يتعلق بأهدافنا الاستراتيجية الجديدة المزمعة. معظم ما جاء في استطلاع الرأي هذا هو أن الناس يريدون منا أن نسعى جاهدين لأن نجعل حقوق الإنسان فعلية في حياتهم، وأن نستجيب للأزمات.

هل جميع هذه التغييرات بسيطة؟ بالتأكيد لا. كان لدينا عمل كثير للقيام به داخلياً داخل الحركة لتطوير الفهم المشترك لسياق التغييرات وكيف ينبغي لنا أن نستجيب. حتى بعد حصولنا على هذا الاتفاق، كانت توجد عدة تحديات للتنفيذ بما في ذلك شرح التغييرات لشركائنا والجهات الفاعلة الرئيسية الأخرى لحقوق الإنسان على أرض الواقع.

كما هو متوقع، تحديات عديدة كانت أيضاً ذات طابع عملي لوجستي، تأمين التأسيس والأذونات القانونية الصحيحة، توفير المساحات المكانية التي تلبي متطلبات تأميننا، الحصول على تصاريح العمل، توفير اتصالات الهاتف والإنترنت، إلخ. نحن ما زلنا على مسافة من الحصول على جميع النظم والعمليات الملائمة للعمل بطريقة التوزيع على المستوى العالمي بدلاً من نمط أكثر تقليدية هو من أعلى إلى أسفل. ونحن لا نزال في عملية بناء الثقة، زيادة الثقة المتبادلة، توظيف ذوي الكفاءات المناسبة، تدريبهم ومحاربة العادات القديمة.

بدون شك، تستغرق هذه التحولات الكثير من الوقت والجهد. ولكن هل هذه التغييرات ضرورية، بالنسبة لمنظمة حقوق الإنسان العالمية في القرن الحادي والعشرين؟ نعم، بالتأكيد.

أنا واثق من أننا سوف نرتكب بعض الأخطاء. ولكن الشيء المهم هو أن نعترف بها، نتعلم منها، وقبل كل شيء نحافظ على مصالح الناس الذين ندافع عنهم في طليعة كل ما نقوم به.


Salil Shetty became the eighth Secretary General of Amnesty International in 2010. Before joining Amnesty International, he was Director of the United Nations Millennium Campaign from 2003 to 2010. He played a key role in building the global advocacy campaign for the achievement of the Millennium Development Goals. From 1998 to 2003, he was chief executive of the international development NGO, ActionAid.

 
 


 

COMMENTS

Moving Amnesty closer to the ground is necessary, not simple

The rapidly changing global structure and the rise of emerging powers require Amnesty to work in a more bottom-up manner. Now, for the first time ever, there is a real possibility of doing so. 


By: Salil Shetty
January 20, 2015

Available in:
Español | Français | العربية


Over 50 years ago, Amnesty’s founder Peter Benenson, warned, “The important thing is to mobilise public opinion quickly, and widely…. The force of opinion, to be effective, should be broadly based, international, non-sectarian and all-party. Campaigns in favour of freedom brought by one country, or party, against another, often achieve nothing but an intensification of persecution.”

Those words remain relevant today. Campaigns on everything from an Arms Trade Treaty to Syria can achieve much more if they have global reach and are not confined to a few countries, which can indeed weaken or set back the campaigning aims.

In its early years, Amnesty International quickly opened chapters in a number of other countries, especially in western Europe and North America. But seeding sections in the global south was difficult for a variety of reasons, the main one probably being the simplistic idea of transposing a western model on the rest of the world.


Flickr/Amnesty International (Some rights reserved)

An Amnesty International event in Morocco.


In addition, membership-based organisations with individual paid subscriptions organised by local groups had almost no precedent outside of the west. The concept of formally organised NGOs was itself relatively new. Membership-elected governance often resulted in internal squabbles and problems with governance. A large number of local chapters sprung up without the capacity for the global movement to really support most of them during their early years.

Still, Amnesty International grew in strength with millions of members. The combination of high-quality investigations and fact-finding from the centre and grassroots membership, mainly in the west, produced impressive results in a range of contexts—releasing political prisoners, fighting torture, combating the death penalty, and creating the International Criminal Court.

But the task of preventing and ending grave human rights abuses is far from complete. Newer human rights challenges are emerging on top of the old ones.

Today, Amnesty's push to build a truly global people's movement for human rights is all about making the organisation fit for the twenty-first century. In contrast to 1961, when we were founded, there are now effective human rights organisations and local movements in many parts of the world. The spread of mobile phones, internet and media, reinforced by the growth of democracy, has empowered people—especially youth—to stand up for their rights as never before.

At the same time, economic and political power is now clearly more multipolar. That partly reflects the rapid growth of China, but it also reflects the many countries—from Brazil to India and Indonesia,  from Mexico to Nigeria—that are becoming increasingly influential in their own region and beyond.

Amnesty International's “Moving Closer to the Ground” initiative is aimed at working more closely with local organisations and human rights defenders and joining together to build rights-respecting societies. 

These factors require change to be driven in a more bottom-up manner. Now, for the first time ever, there is a real possibility of doing so. Amnesty International's “Moving Closer to the Ground” initiative is aimed at working more closely with local organisations and human rights defenders, responding more quickly and effectively to human rights violations, and joining together to build rights-respecting societies.

These changes are now well under way. A key first step has been to move from a single London-based centre to a more distributed system with organizational hubs dispersed across key regional capitals worldwide.

We have already implemented the first phase with full service hubs with campaigning, research, advocacy, media and movement building capacity. Most of our Africa programme has moved from London to Dakar, Nairobi and Johannesburg. Our East Asia work, moreover, is now fully run from Hong Kong, with Latin America about to move to Mexico and South and South East Asia getting closer to the ground. In the last few years, we have also established a significant presence in India and Brazil, with similar work in Nigeria about to commence.  

The approach we are taking now in building new national chapters is much more customised to the context and learning from the limitations of the previous model. The global hub in London will, under the guidance of the International Board (who continue to be elected by national Boards), provide overall strategy, coherence and quality assurance. All global level work—including global campaigns, law, policy and advocacy—will also be driven from the global hubs. The vast majority of our funding for both the global work and the work in the regional hubs and national offices continue to be from our millions of individual members and supporters. The support we receive from a few major foundations to cover some of the transition costs has also been invaluable.

As one would expect, some local NGOs were anxious about the impact of a large international group suddenly setting up shop in the capital city. Now that people are able to see the way in which Amnesty is operating—working in a mutually supportive manner and not crowding out individuals and organisations that have struggled for justice and human rights for decades—we have created and reinforced powerful collaborations on the ground. 

As importantly, we are starting to build our strategies and approaches in a more ground-up manner—working directly with those whose rights are being violated, and combining this with international solidarity and leverage, where appropriate.

We recently conducted a survey and heard from more than 25,000 people, in almost every country in the world, regarding our planned new strategic goals. What came through most strongly is that people want us to be pushing to make human rights real in people's lives, and to respond to crises.

Are all these changes simple? No, clearly not. We had a lot of work to do internally within the movement to develop a shared understanding of the changing context and how we should respond. Even after we gained this agreement, there have been several implementation challenges including explaining the changes to our partners and other key human rights actors on the ground.

Many of the challenges, as expected, have also been of a practical, logistical nature—securing the right legal incorporation and permissions, finding the physical spaces that meet our security requirements, getting work permits, phone and internet connections, and so on. We are still some distance from getting all the systems and processes in place to work in a globally distributed manner rather than the more traditional top-down style. And we are still in the process of building confidence—increasing mutual trust, hiring people with the right competencies, training them and fighting old habits.

Without doubt, these shifts take a lot of time and effort. But are these changes necessary, for a global human rights organization in the twenty-first century? Yes, absolutely.

I am sure we will make some mistakes. But the important thing is to acknowledge them, learn from them and above all, keep the interests of the people for whom we are advocating at the forefront of all we do.


Salil Shetty became the eighth Secretary General of Amnesty International in 2010. Before joining Amnesty International, he was Director of the United Nations Millennium Campaign from 2003 to 2010. He played a key role in building the global advocacy campaign for the achievement of the Millennium Development Goals. From 1998 to 2003, he was chief executive of the international development NGO, ActionAid.


 

COMMENTS