دور الولايات المتحدة في الهجرة القسرية من الشرق الأوسط

السياسة الخارجية الأمريكية هي قلب وبذرة الهجرة القسرية من مختلف أنحاء العالم، وعلى مناصري حقوق الإنسان معالجة أصل المشكلة نفسها دون فروعها.


By: Azadeh Shahshahani
October 18, 2017

Available in:
English | العربية


على مناصري حقوق الإنسان ورؤساء منظماتها في الولايات المتحدة أن يتبعوا منهجاً واسع الأفق في مناصرتهم، فضلاً عن التركيز بشكل أحادي الاتجاه على حقوق الإنسان بعد نجاحهم في الوصول إلى هناك. وحيث أن دونالد ترامب يقوم حالياً  بالاقتصاص من حقوق المهاجرين  بالإضافة إلى تصاعد حدة النقاشات حول أوضاع اللاجئين وأزمتهم فلا مجال للشك أننا أمام مشكلة ضخمة. يتعرض حالياً حوالي 24 شخصاً  للتشريد من بلدانهم في كل دقيقة. وما يقرب من 66 مليون شخصاً حول العالم تم تشريدهم بالقوة من منازلهم. فمنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا تتعرض للتشريد على نحو لم يسبقهم إليه أحد. فقد تعرض 6 ملايين سورياً للتشريد داخل  بلادهم، وما يزيد عن 4.8 مليون لاجئ خارج سوريا- أكثر من نصف تعداد سوريا قبل الحرب. وأسفرت حرب العراق عن تشريد 4.4  مليون عراقياً داخل بلادهم وأكثر من ربع مليون لاجئاً عراقياً، علاوة على الحرب الأهلية باليمن والتي أسفر عنها تشريد 2.5 مليون شخصاً. وفي ليبيا، أكثر من نصف مليون شخص اضطروا لهجرة بيوتهم ومنازلهم هرباً من الحرب.  

ولمواجهة أسباب الهجرة الجماعية القسرية في الشرق الأوسط من جذورها، على المناصرين والحقوقيين تفهم واستيعاب الجوانب المتعددة لهذه الأزمة، ومن بين هذه الجوانب دور السياسة الخارجية الأمريكية والتي تخلق ظروفاً من شأنها زعزعة الأفراد وتشريدهم من أوطانهم. ولكن هذا الجانب عادة ما يتم إغفاله من التغطية الإعلامية وغض الطرف عنه في الخطاب السياسي.

By Mstyslav Chernov (Own work) [CC BY-SA 4.0], via Wikimedia Commons (Some Rights Reserved).

Six million Syrians have been internally displaced, and over 4.8 million are refugees outside of Syria—around half of Syria’s pre-war population.


منذ أغسطس 2016، قامت الولايات المتحدة بالتخصيص أو بالإنفاق أو بالالتزام بصرف ما يزيد عن 3.6 تريليون دولار أمريكياً على الحرب في العراق وأفغانستان وباكستان وسوريا والأمن الوطني (2001 حتى السنة المالية في عام 2016).  أضف إلى هذا ما يُقدر بحوالي 65 مليار دولار مخصصة لتكاليف الحرب قامتا وزارة الدفاع ووزارة الخارجية بطلبهم من  الميزانية في عام 2017،  بالإضافة إلى ما يقرب من 32 مليار دولار قامت وزارة الأمن الوطني بطلبها في عام 2017، وما يُقدر بنحو مماثل لنفقات الجنود في السنوات المقبلة، ليكون إجمالي ما أنفقته الولايات المتحدة على الحروب ما يزيد عن 4.8 مليار دولار.

وعادة ما قامت هذه الحروب بزعم الدفاع عن قضايا إنسانية: فعندما قام جورج دبليو بوش بإعلان شن هجماته على طالبان في أفغانستان في عام 2001، تحدث بلهجة تعالي وعجرفة عن الشعب الأفغاني: "سيدرك الشعب الأفغاني المقموع كرم الولايات المتحدة وحلفائها. فعندما نقوم بضرب الأهداف العسكرية، سنقوم أيضاً بإسقاط الطعام والدواء والمؤن للنساء والرجال والأطفال من الجوعى والمعذبين."

ولكن، التدخل العسكري الذي بدأ بـ"عملية الحرية الدائمة" في أفغانستان أصبح اليوم أطول الحروب في تاريخ الولايات المتحدة، وأسفر عن مقتل 111 ألف شخصاً، بالإضافة إلى تشريد 1.4 مليون لاجئ داخلياً و 2.5  مليون لاجئ خارجياً. فبدلاً من تحرير الشعب الأفغاني من قبضة طالبان، أدى غزو العراق وإضعاف هيكل الدولة في كل من العراق وأفغانستان إلى تفاقم حركة المجموعات المتطرفة، وفتح الطريق لنمو داعش وغيرها من الحركات الإرهابية المنشقة والذي أدى بدوره إلى تهجير وتشريد أعداد ضخمة من سكان هذه البلاد ومواطنيها. ومن المساهمين بقوة في هذه الأزمة من الجانب الغربي، بريطانيا والتي لعبت دوراً رئيسياً أيضاً في دعم مهمة الولايات المتحدة.

"قامت الولايات المتحدة بغزو العراق عام 2003، بزعم العثور على أسلحة الدمار الشامل، ولكن."

قامت الولايات المتحدة بغزو العراق عام 2003، بزعم العثور على أسلحة الدمار الشامل، ولكن، الغزو الأمريكي للعراق دفع بها إلى هوة الحرب الأهلية والتي أسفرت عن نزوح وتشريد الملايين كما وضحنا سابقاً، بالإضافة إلى ما يزيد عن 178,317 حالة وفاة من العراقيين المدنيين على أدنى تقدير (يصل أحياناً التقدير إلى 199,694 حالة وفاة).

وفي ليبيا، في 28 مارس2011، أعلن باراك أوباما أن الولايات المتحدة ستدعو إلى تحالف دولي لحماية المدنيين من أمن قوات معمر القذافي. وبعد سقوط معمر القذافي، تفتت الدولة إلى أشلاء، ودار الصراع بين القبائل والميليشيات المتنافسة على السلطة، مما أدى بدوره إلى نزوح جماعي للمدنيين ممن زعمت الولايات المتحدة القيام بحمايتهم، ليصبح إجمالي كلفة العمليات العسكرية للولايات المتحدة في ليبيا  1.1 مليار دولار.

و تبعاً لمجلس العلاقات الخارجية (CFR)، قامت الولايات المتحدة بإسقاط 26,172 قنبلة على العراق وسوريا وأفغانستان وليبيا واليمن والصومال وباكستان في عام 2016، بمعدل 72 قنبلة في اليوم. كما أوضح المجلس أن هذه التقديرات "منخفضة بلا شك" نظراً لعدم وجود مصدر بيانات معتمد بالإضافة إلى أن في الغارة الواحدة يتم إسقاط  قنابل متعددة. كما أن هذه الأرقام لا تشمل القنابل التي قامت دول أخرى من حلفاء الولايات المتحدة أو معارضيها بإسقاطها أيضاً.

ما الذي يحمله لنا المستقبل

فاز دونالد ترامب بحملة انتخابية شعارها طرد المهاجرين وزيادة نفقات الدفاع، وبالفعل قام بإضافة 30 مليار دولار إلى ميزانية الإنفاق العسكري في السنة المالية من عام 2017. وستقوم ميزانيته في السنة المالية لعام 2018 بزيادة 96.5 مليار دولار لميزانية الدفاع العسكري.

ثم في أبريل 2017، أعلن ترامب قيامه بهجمات جوية ضد سوريا بدون تصريح أو موافقة الكونجرس، فقام بإرسال 56 من القذائف الانسيابية الموجهة إلى سوريا رداً على هجمات الأسد الكيميائية الأخيرة على مواطنيه السوريين. و في تناقض تام مع زعم الدفاع عن المدنيين السوريين، حاول ترامب حظر دخول اللاجئين السوريين إلى الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.

إلى جانب أن تصريحات ترامب التي سبقت تنصيبه رئيساً فيما يخص الشرق الأوسط تميزت بلهجة استعمارية، قد وجدت دراسة تم إجراؤها حديثاً أن ترامب كرر أكثر من مرة "أن الولايات المتحدة لابد أن تحتفظ بالبترول في العراق وليبيا بعد التدخل عسكرياً هناك". هذا النوع من الخطاب بالإضافة إلى تضخم ميزانية الدفاع العسكري يعني أن علينا توقع المزيد من السير على نفس النهج، بل ربما يكون أسوء من السياسة الخارجية الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط.

دور مناصري حقوق الإنسان

التزامنا الأكبر هو نشر الوعي حول جذور الهجرة القسرية المنبثقة عن السياسة الخارجية الأمريكية. ولا يمكننا أن نفصلها عن مناقشات حقوق المهاجرين. فمناصرو حقوق الإنسان ومنظماتها عليهم مسؤولية تنظيم ندوات تعليمية مخصصة لمناقشة جذور الهجرة القسرية ودعوة المهاجرين المتضررين بشكل مباشر واللاجئين للتحدث فيها. وعلى أصحاب المصلحة الاستمرار في مناقشة هذا الأمر بتعمق في أي منتدى أو مناقشة حول حقوق المهاجرين، بالإضافة إلى المناصرة النيابية والتشريعية.

وعلينا بذل قصارى جهدنا في مساءلة ومحاسبة الحكومة الأمريكية على قرارات سياستها الخارجية التي أسفرت عن كوارث وعواقب إنسانية تقدر بالملايين حول العالم- و أن نحاول أن نمنع نشوب المزيد من الحروب والنزاعات. وهذا ليس اقتراحاً نظرياً، فالولايات المتحدة عادت مرة أخرى إلى نبرتها العدوانية ولكن هذه المرة ضد إيران وكوريا الشمالية وفنزويلا. وعلينا أيضاً مساءلة ومحاسبة ممثلينا في الكونغرس ومطالبتهم بالتوقف عن تمويل الحروب. فإذا ألقينا نظرة على التاريخ، سنجد أن توقف التدخل العسكري الشائن والكارثي في فيتنام ما كان ليتحقق دون معارضة الشعب الأمريكي الجماعية والدؤوبة للحرب في  فيتنام.  

وعلى مواطني الدول الأخرى مساءلة ومحاسسبة حكوماتها من خلال المطالبة بعدم المشاركة بأي صورة أو دعم تكتيكي للحروب التي تشنها الولايات المتحدة. وكمثال على هذا، يمكن للدول الأخرى رفض استخدام الولايات المتحدة لأراضيها أو مجالها الجوي.

كما بدأنا بالفعل في جورجيا  خلال صراعنا لإغلاق مراكز حجز المهاجرين من خلال التوثيق والكشف عن الانتهاكات التي يتعرضون لها، علينا أيضاً العمل عن قرب مع منظمات مثل مدرسة مراقبة الأمريكتين لمحاولة ربط حقوق المهاجرين بالسياسة الخارجية الأمريكية ومواجهة كلا الأمرين بشكل متكامل وشامل.  فمن خلال هذه الروابط  والتكاتف الجماعي لمكافحة السياسة الأمريكية الخارجية غير العادلة وسياسة قمع المهاجرين عندها فقط يصبح هناك أمل في مواجهة جذور الهجرة القسرية.


تعمل آزاده شهشهاني كمديرة قانونية ومناصرة بمنظمة بروجيكت ساوث، كما عملت سابقاً بمنصب رئيس نقابة المحامين الوطنية.


 

مقالات ذات صلة:

يستمر نزيف الدم فى سوريا بينما يغلق العالم العربي أبوابه فى وجهها

BY: Susan M. Akram
English

حل عالمي لأزمة السوريين الدولية

BY: James C. Hathaway 
English | Français | Español

الأنظمة الديموقراطية غير الليبرالية وحقوق الإنسان: كتاب قواعد جديد

BY: César Rodríguez-Garavito & Krizna Gomez
English | Español

ترسيخ الأمن الرقمي في بنية الحركة النسوية

BY: Jennifer Radloff
English | Français | Español

 

COMMENTS

The US role in forced migration from the Middle East

American foreign policy is at the root of forced migration from different parts of the world, and human rights advocates must address the problem at its heart.

Azadeh Shahshahani
October 18, 2017

Human rights advocates and organizers working on immigrants’ rights in the US must take a broader approach in our advocacy, rather than solely focusing on the rights of people once they get here. As Donald Trump rolls back immigrants’ rights, and debates on the refugee crisis intensify, there is no doubt as to the immense scale of the problem. Nearly 24 people are displaced per minute. About 66 million people around the world have been forced from their homes. The Middle East and North Africa region accounts for more displacement than any other. Six million Syrians have been internally displaced, and over 4.8 million are refugees outside of Syria—around half of Syria’s pre-war population. The Iraq conflict displaced 4.4 million people internally and created more than a quarter of a million refugees. Yemen’s civil war displaced 2.5 million people. In Libya, almost half a million people were forced to flee their homes.  

To address the root causes of this massive forced migration from the Middle East, advocates need to understand the various facets of this issue, including the role of US foreign policy that creates conditions that impel people to flee their countries. But this aspect of the issue is often left out of mainstream media coverage and political rhetoric.

By Mstyslav Chernov (Own work) [CC BY-SA 4.0], via Wikimedia Commons (Some Rights Reserved).

Six million Syrians have been internally displaced, and over 4.8 million are refugees outside of Syria—around half of Syria’s pre-war population.


As of August 2016, the US had appropriated, spent, or taken on obligations to spend more than $3.6 trillion on the wars in Iraq, Afghanistan, Pakistan, and Syria and on Homeland Security (2001 through fiscal year 2016). Add to this an estimated $65 billion in dedicated war spending that the Department of Defense and State Department requested for 2017, along with nearly $32 billion requested for the Department of Homeland Security in 2017, and estimated spending on veterans in future years. Total US spending on the wars will easily reach $4.8 trillion.

These wars often have a pretense of humanitarianism: when George W. Bush announced strikes against the Taliban in Afghanistan in 2001, he also spoke condescendingly to the Afghan people: “The oppressed people of Afghanistan will know the generosity of America and our allies. As we strike military targets, we will also drop food, medicine and supplies to the starving and suffering men and women and children of Afghanistan.”

However, the military engagement that began as Operation Enduring Freedom in Afghanistan is now the longest war in America’s history, producing a death toll of 111,000 people, plus 1.4 million refugees internally and 2.5 million externally.Rather than freeing people from the Taliban, the invasion of Iraq and the weakening of the state in both Afghanistan and Iraq exacerbated the mobilization of extremist groups, facilitating the growth of ISIS and other offshoots, whose violence has produced refugees in large numbers. Other Western actors, specifically the UK, also had a role to play by taking part in and actively supporting the US mission.

"In Iraq in 2003, the US intervened with the purported goal of finding weapons of mass destruction."

In Iraq in 2003, the US intervened with the purported goal of finding weapons of mass destruction. Yet, the US invasion of Iraq catapulted the country into a civil war, leading to widespread internal displacement, as noted earlier, in addition to at least 178,317  deaths of Iraqi civilians (estimates reach as high as 199,694).

In Libya, on March 28, 2011, Barack Obama announced that the US would pursue the formation of an international coalition to protect civilians from the security forces of Muammar al Qaddafi.  After Qaddafi was overthrown, the country disintegrated as tribal and rival militias feuded over power, leading in turn to mass displacement of the same civilians that the US was purporting to protect. The entirety of US military operations in Libya cost the US $1.1 billion.

According to the Council on Foreign Relations (CFR), the United States dropped 26,172 bombs on Iraq, Syria, Afghanistan, Libya, Yemen, Somalia and Pakistan in 2016—an average of 72 per day. CFR also notes that these estimates are “undoubtedly low” considering the lack of reliable data that the fact that a single “strike” can include multiple bombs. These numbers also do not include bombs dropped by other actors who were either aligned with the United States or against it.

What the Future Holds

Trump campaigned on keeping immigrants out while increasing defense spending, and quickly added $30 billion in military spending to the FY 2017 budget. His FY 2018 budget will add another $96.5 billion to the military budget.

Then, in April 2017, Trump announced airstrikes against Syria without Congressional authorization, sending 59 cruise missiles into Syria in response to Assad’s latest chemical weapons usage against his own citizens. Yet, in apparent contradiction to this claim of defending Syrian citizens, Trump has attempted to ban Syrian refugees from the United States.

Trump’s pre-inaugural pronouncements regarding the Middle East also sounded a colonialist note, with one study noting his repeated insistence “that the US should 'keep the oil' in Iraq and Libya after intervening there.” This rhetoric, along with ramping up of defense spending, means that we should expect more of the same, if not worse, in US policy towards the Middle East.

The Role of Human Rights Advocates

Our most important obligation is to create public awareness about the roots of forced migration as steeped in US foreign policy. We cannot and should not divorce this issue from broader discussions around immigrants’ rights. Rights activists and organizations should hold educational forums specifically on roots of forced migration and invite directly affected migrants and refugees to speak. Stakeholders should continue to discuss this issue in-depth in any forums about immigrants’ rights, as well as in Congressional and state legislative advocacy.

We should also do our utmost hold the US government accountable for its foreign policy decisions that have led to disastrous consequences for millions around the world—and try to prevent additional wars. This is not a theoretical proposition as the US government is once again sounding out a belligerent tone, this time towards Iran, North Korea, and Venezuela. We must hold our Congressional representatives accountable and demand that they stop funding the wars. Looking to our history, it was only through massive and sustained mobilization of the American public against the war in Vietnam that the US government was finally forced to end its disastrous military intervention there.

Citizens of other countries can also hold their governments accountable by demanding that they not participate in any form or lend tacit support to US wars. As just one example, other countries can refuse the US military the use of their land or air space.

As we have begun to do in Georgia in our fight to shut down immigration detention centers through documenting and exposing the abuses, we must work closely with organizations such as School of the Americas Watch in tying immigrants’ rights with US foreign policy and addressing both issues in a more holistic manner. It is only through making these linkages and collectively fighting against an unjust US foreign policy and repressive immigration policy that we can have any hope of finally addressing the roots of forced migration.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Azadeh Shahshahani

Azadeh Shahshahani is the Legal & Advocacy Project Director at Project South and a past president of the National Lawyers Guild.

 

Creative Commons LicenseThis OpenGlobalRights Perspectives article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License. Photos, images, and logos are excepted from this license, except where noted. Please contact our team for re-publication queries.

 

Write for
OpenGlobalRights

 

RELATED ARTICLES:

Fascism rising

BY: Stephen Hopgood
EspañolFrançais

Statelessness as forced displacement

BY: Kristy A. Belton

Syria continues to bleed while the Middle East closes its doors

BY: Susan M. Akram
العربية

A global solution to a global refugee crisis

BY: James C. Hathaway 
FrançaisEspañolالعربية

Refugee politics from the local to the international

BY: Sarah Stroup

MORE ON: