عقاب ماليزيا لشريكتين مثليتين يُسلّط الضوء على رفض منظمة التعاون الإسلامي لحقوق مجتمع الميم

حبس ماليزيا مؤخرًا لشريكتين مثليتين يعكس مشكلة أكبر تخص دعم منظمة التعاون الإسلامي المستمر للممارسات التمييزية التي تعرّض حياة الآلاف للخطر وتنتهك المعايير الدولية لحقوق الإنسان.


By: Robert C. Blitt
October 3, 2018

Available in:
English


Photo: EFE/EPA


يُعدّ العقاب البدني الذي أنزلته السلطات الماليزية مؤخرًا بامرأتين مثليتين دالّاً على مشكلة أكبر، هي الدور الداعم الذي تلعبه منظمة التعاون الإسلامي. ففي حين تستمر العديد من الدول – ومنها روسيا والصين – في شنّ حملة دولية ضدّ حقوق الإنسان الخاصة بمجتمع الميم (المثليون والمثليات ومزدوجو الميل الجنسي ومغايرو الهوية الجنسانية وأحرار الهوية الجنسية LGBTQ)، إلّا أنّ منظمة التعاون الإسلامي تتبوأ موقعها في طليعة هذه الحملة. هذه المنظمة المكونة من 57 دولة أغلبها بها أغلبيات مُسلمة، ومنها ماليزيا، تُعدّ أكبر تجمّع من الدول – وأعلى تلك التجمّعات صوتًا – يتحرّى رفض حماية حقوق الإنسان بناء على التوجه الجنسي والهويّة الجنسانية؛ إذ لا يقتصر الأمر على أنّ موقف تلك المُنظمة يُجرّئ على الممارسات التمييزية مثل تلك التي ارتكبتها ماليزيا، إنّما يؤدي موقفها أيضًا إلى تعريض حياة الآلاف للخطر، وهو موقف مناوئ للوعد القائم منذ سبعين عامًا بإتاحة حقوق الإنسان العالمية للجميع في كل مكان.

لقدّ وعد الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان – الصادر عام 1948 بأنه "يولد جميع الناس أحرارًا ومتساوين في الكرامة والحقوق". وضمنت مواثيق حقوق الإنسان الصادرة من بعده المساواة في الحماية من التمييز، لصالح الأفراد جميعًا، سواء على أساس من العرق أو الدين أو وضعيات "أخرى". ومع مرور الوقت، أدّى هذا إلى التمكين من مدّ مظلة الحماية من التمييز إلى وضعيات لم تكن موضع اعتراف فيما سبق، بما يشمل الحماية من التمييز بناء على السنّ والإعاقة. وبالبناء على هذه المبادئ التأسيسية، قررت الأمم المتحدة وهيئات مماثلة أخرى أنّ على الدول حماية الأفراد من مجتمع الميم من التمييز ومن العنف.

وبصفة شكلية، تُعدّ منظمة التعاون الإسلامي قابلة بمبدأ حماية حقوق الإنسان العالمية للجميع. إلا أنها – موضوعًا – ساقت مبررات عديدة للدفع بعدم مدّ هذه الحماية إلى التوجه الجنسي أو الهويّة الجنسانية. ففي عام 2012، عندما عقدت الأمم المتحدة اجتماعها الرسمي الأول حول هذه القضية، كان ردّ فعل مندوبي الدول أعضاء منظمة التعاون الإسلامي هو الخروج غاضبين من قاعة الاجتماع. وكانت الحُجج التي قدّمتها المنظمة لتبرير هذا الرفض هي حُجج ثقافية ودينية، للدفع بعدم الاعتراف بالتوجهات الجنسية المُغايرة، في ظلّ الزعم الواهن بأن التوجّهات الجنسية "تقع خارج نطاق إطار عمل القانون الدولي لحقوق الإنسان".

ورغم أن دعاوى منظمة التعاون الإسلامي المنبثقة عن الإسلام تنبع من تفسير نافذ واحد فحسب للدين يعتبر المثلية الجنسية من المُحرّمات، فإن هذا الرأي تردّ عليه وتدحضه تفسيرات أخرى. ومن المُقلق بنفس الدرجة أن إشهار هذه الحُجّة الدينية في وجه التزامات حقوق الإنسان الدولية يخدم غرض إخفاء ما وصفته إليزابيث شاكمان هُرد في سياق آخر بأنه "الأصول الزينوفوبية للتمييز".

إنّ موقف منظمة التعاون الإسلامي ممّا تسمّيه بطريقة تحقيرية "ما يُدعى بـ" التوجّه الجنسي والهوية الجنسانية، هو موقف عام وشامل. ففي الأمم المتحدة تُطالب مسوّدات القرارات المُقدمة برعاية منظمة التعاون الإسلامي بفرض الحماية الدولية لصالح "الأسرة التقليدية". وفي هذه المبادرة مُخاطرة بإجازة الحماية الحكومية الانتقائية لبعض الأسر دون غيرها، مع القبول بالمعاملة التمييزية بحقّ أسر أخرى "غير تقليدية"، بما يشمل الأسرة القائمة بين أفراد من مجتمع الميم، والأسرة المكوّنة من أفراد من ديانات مختلفة، والأسرة غير القائمة على الزواج. إنّ إعلاء أولوية الأسرة على هذه الشاكلة يعني أيضًا المخاطرة بإزاحة الحقوق الشخصية، ومنها حقوق الشباب والنشء من مجتمع الميم داخل الأسرة.

كما طفت إلى السطح عدوانية منظمة التعاون الإسلامي تجاه المساواة لصالح مجتمع الميم في سياق قضية الصحّة العامّة؛ إذ رفضت الدول أعضاء منظمة التعاون الإسلامي بندًا في الإعلان السياسي لعام 2016 حول الإيدز يقضي بالإقرار بفئات أساسية، منها الرجال الذين يقيمون علاقات جنسية مع رجال، ومتحولي الجنس، مع مُطالبة البند المذكور بتحسين إتاحة الخدمات الصحية لهذه الفئات. إنّ إعلاء أولوية الاختلافات الاجتماعية والثقافية والدينية على الأدلة العلمية المتصلة بعلم الأوبئة يعني حرمان الفئات الأكثر تضررًا من الإيدز من الحقوق، كما يُجيز ممارسات الدول المناوئة لحقوق الإنسان، بما يشمل التعامل مع المثلية الجنسية كمرض واللجوء إلى العلاج المنطوي على الإيذاء والعلاج بالإكراه، ومن أصنافه العلاج التحويلي.

ويُعدّ تجاهل أهمية الحياة جزءًا لا يتجزأ من حملة منظمة التعاون الإسلامي ضدّ مجتمع الميم. ولعل أبرز الأمثلة في هذا الصدد مُعارضة المنظمة القائمة منذ زمن طويل لجهود الأمم المتحدة الرامية إلى دعوة الدول إلى الاعتراف بأعمال القتل التي تستهدف أفراد مجتمع الميم تحديدًا والتصدّي لها. وبرفضها لهذا الالتزام، زعمت منظمة التعاون الإسلامي أن مطالبة الدول بالتنديد بقتل المثليين ومتحولي الجنس قد يؤدي إلى "تمييز إيجابي" ويخرق مبادئ عدم التمييز والمساواة. هذا المنطق المُختل يقلب حقوق الإنسان رأسًا على عقب لسببين. فهو أولًا يستند إلى مقارنة زائفة بين فئتين متمايزتين، أولاهما معروفة بكونها فئة مُعرضة للخطر والأخرى ليست كذلك. ثانيًا، فهو يدفع بأن عدم تحرّك الحكومة لمواجهة العنف الذي يستهدف فئة معروفة بعرضتها للخطر يمكن – بشكل ما – أن يؤدي إلى استيفاء التزام الدولة الأساسي بحماية الحياة البشرية.

وبعد مرور ستّ سنوات على مُناقشة الأمم المتحدة الأولى المُكرّسة للتوجه الجنسي والهويّة الجنسانية، تستمر الدول أعضاء منظمة التعاون الإسلامي جميعًا – باستثناء ألبانيا – في حملة ممنهجة ضد حقوق مجتمع الميم. لقدّ حاولت منظمة التعاون الإسلامي إعاقة عملية تعيين خبير الأمم المتحدة المستقل المعني بالتوجّه الجنسي والهويّة الجنسانية، ورفضت أي تعاون مع ولايته، واستخدمت هيئة حقوق الإنسان الدائمة المستقلة خاصتها في تشجيع المسلمين المقيمين في الغرب على التذرّع بحرية المعتقد الديني كسند لرفع قضايا ضدّ حقوق مجتمع الميم.

إنّ الردّ على الظلم الواقع في ماليزيا يتطلب الطعن – بشكل مُباشر وعلني – على اعتداء منظمة التعاون الإسلامي القائم على المعايير الدولية لحقوق الإنسان. فعلى الدول الداعمة لحقوق مجتمع الميم أن تبدأ هذه العملية عن طريق التأكيد على ولاية الخبير الأممي المستقل، ومن مقتضيات ولايته حصوله على دعوات مفتوحة بإجراء زيارات للدول وبرفع التقارير طوعًا إلى آليات الأمم المتحدة الحقوقية كافّة حول التطورات القانونية المتصلة بمجتمع الميم. ولابد من كشف سردية منظمة التعاون الإسلامي المناوئة – لا سيما تأكيدها على الحجج الدينية الشاملة ضدّ مجتمع الميم – عن طريق الحوار مع الدول الممتنعة أو المعارضة لجهود مدّ مظلة الحماية بالتساوي من التمييز إلى جميع الفئات. يجب أن يحدث هذا الحوار في سياق العلاقات الثنائية وفي المحافل متعددة الأطراف، مثل عملية أهداف التنمية المستدامة.

الأمر الأخير، ولعله الأكثر أهمية، هو ضرورة تشجيع ودعم الأصوات التقدّمية في منظمة التعاون الإسلامي وفي العالم الإسلامي أجمع، عن طريق التمويل وإتاحة مكانة أبرز لهذه الأصوات على طاولة الدبلوماسية العلنية. هؤلاء العلماء والنشطاء والقانونيون يمكن أن يُبصّروا المناقشات الداخلية في أروقة منظمة التعاون الإسلامي وأن يُحسّنوا من نتائجها. لكن الأهم، أن تمكينهم قد يُجسّد التنوع الحقيقي للإسلام وتنوع المسلمين كأفراد. هذا بدوره يُمكِن أن يمثّل ردًا فعالًا على سياسات ماليزيا وعلى تأكيد منظمة التعاون الإسلامي بأنها وحدها تمثل "الصوت الجامع للعالم الإسلامي".


روبرت س. بليتّ يشغل منصب أستاذ قانون في جامعة تينيسي نوكسفيل.


 

مقالات ذات صلة:

قيم السلام والعدل الإسلامية: هل أغفلنا شيئاً؟

By: Hakan Altinay
English

شركاء في الصلاة: حقوق المرأة و التدين في المغرب

By: Meriem El Haitami & Shannon Golden & James Ron
Français

الدين يوحي بطرق لا يوحي بها القانون الدولي

By: Abadir M. Ibrahim
English

يهود الجزائر.. الوطن يقع في مكان آخر

By: Farah Souames
English

 

COMMENTS

Malaysia’s punishment of lesbian couple highlights OIC rejection of LGBTQ rights

Malaysia’s recent caning of a homosexual couple reflects a larger problem with the Organization of Islamic Cooperation’s (OIC) continued support for discriminatory practices that endanger the lives of thousands and violate international human rights norms.


By: Robert C. Blitt
October 3, 2018

Available in:
العربية


Photo: EFE/EPA


Malaysia’s recent corporal punishment of two gay women is emblematic of a larger problem: the enabling role of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC). While a variety of states, including Russia and China, continue to mount an international campaign against LGBTQ human rights, the OIC stands at the vanguard of this campaign. Made up of 57 mostly Muslim-majority countries, including Malaysia, the OIC is the biggest and most vocal block of states committed to denying human rights protection based on sexual orientation and gender identity. Not only does this organization’s position embolden discriminatory practices like Malaysia’s, but its persistence endangers the lives of thousands and is antithetical to the seventy-year old promise of universal human rights for everyone, everywhere.

The 1948 Universal Declaration of Human Rights pledges “that all human beings are born free and equal in dignity and rights.” International human rights treaties that followed guaranteed equal protection against discrimination for all persons based on specified grounds like race and religion, and based on “other” status. Over time, this enabled extending protection to previously unrecognized statuses, including age and disability. Tapping into these foundational principles, the United Nations and similar institutions have resolved that states must protect LGBTQ individuals against discrimination and violence.

Nominally, the OIC endorses the protection of universal human rights. But it has raised various justifications why such protection cannot extend to sexual orientation or gender identity. In 2012, when the UN held its first formal meeting dedicated to this subject, OIC member states literally fled the room. In walking out, the organization summoned culture and religion-based arguments against recognition, and also raised the untenable claim that sexual orientation “lay outside of the framework of international human rights law.”

Although the OIC’s contentions around Islam assert a single authoritative interpretation of the religion that considers homosexuality anathema, this view is subject to challenge by others. Equally problematic, claiming this religious trump card in the face of international human rights obligations serves to mask what Elizabeth Shakman Hurd elsewhere has called “the xenophobic foundations of the discrimination.”

The OIC’s opposition to what it derisively labels “so-called” sexual orientation and gender identity is ubiquitous. At the UN, OIC-sponsored resolutions advocate international protection for the “traditional family”. This initiative risks validating a government’s selective protection of certain families while authorizing discriminatory treatment against other “non-traditional” families, including LGBTQ-headed, interfaith, and unwedded families. Prioritizing the family unit in this manner also risks supplanting individual rights, including those of LGBTQ youth within the family. 

OIC hostility to LGBTQ equality has also surfaced in the context of public health. OIC member states rejected a provision in the 2016 Political Declaration on HIV acknowledging that key populations, including men who have sex with men and transgender people, require better access to services. Putting social, cultural and religious differences ahead of epidemiological evidence denies the rights of those most impacted by HIV. It also invites state practices antithetical to human rights, including pathologizing homosexuality and the use of abusive or forced treatment, such as conversion therapy.

The disregard for life and death is a persistent part of the OIC’s anti-LGBTQ campaign. Perhaps most vividly, this organization has long opposed UN efforts to have states recognize and prevent killings specifically targeting LGBTQ individuals. In rejecting this obligation, the OIC has claimed that requiring governments to denounce murders of gay and transgendered people could result in “positive discrimination” and contravene the principles of nondiscrimination and equality. This faulty reasoning turns human rights on its head in two ways. First, it draws a false parallel between distinct groups, the first explicitly identified as vulnerable and the other not identified as such. Second, it suggests that government inaction in the face of violence targeting a recognized vulnerable group can somehow fulfill a state’s basic obligation to protect human life.

Six years after the UN’s first dedicated discussion on sexual orientation and gender identity, OIC members, save for Albania, continue to advance a systematic campaign against LGBTQ rights. The OIC has attempted to derail the appointment of a UN independent expert on sexual orientation and gender identity, refused any possible cooperation with its mandate, and has used its own Independent Permanent Human Rights Commission to encourage Muslims living in the West to invoke freedom of religion claims as a basis for lawsuits opposing LGBTQ rights.

Responding to the injustice meted out in Malaysia requires contesting—directly and publicly—the OIC’s ongoing assault on international human rights norms. States supporting LGBTQ rights should begin this task by reaffirming the UN independent expert’s mandate, including extending standing invitations to undertake country visits and voluntary reporting to all UN human rights mechanisms on LGBTQ-related legal developments. Flaws inherent in the OIC’s counter narrative, and particularly its monolithic assertion of religious privilege, should be unequivocally exposed in dialogue with those states abstaining on or opposing efforts to secure equal protection against discrimination. This dialogue should occur in bilateral relations as well in multilateral forums like the Sustainable Development Goals.

Finally, and perhaps most importantly, progressive voices within OIC states and the larger Muslim community should be championed through funding and a more prominent seat at the public diplomacy table. These scholars, activists and jurists can potentially better inform and moderate OIC internal deliberations. But more importantly, their empowerment can manifest the genuine diversity within Islam and among individual Muslims. This in turn can provide a stark rejoinder to Malaysia’s policies and the OIC’s assertion that it alone represents the “collective voice of the Muslim world.”


Robert C. Blitt is a professor of law at the University of Tennessee Knoxville.


 

COMMENTS