هل تزيد جائحة الكورونا من معدلات العداء والتمييز الديني؟

قد تضر جائحة فيروس الكورونا (كوفيد-19) وآثارها ببعض الأٌقليات الدينية بصورة غير متناسبة وإلى حد بعيد، بما يؤدي إلى تفاقم اللامساواة الاقتصادية في أوساط هذه الأقليات والمعاناة من العداء الاجتماعي والتمييز.



Piyal Adhikary/EFE


"الفيروس لا يميز، لكن آثاره تفعل ذلك"، هذه هي كلمات الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة أنطونيو غوتيريس، ضمن مقدمة تقريره الصادر مؤخراً بعنوان "جميعنا في قارب واحد" حول حقوق الإنسان في سياق التصدي لجائحة كوفيد-19. فمن كانوا من قبل الجائحة فئات معرضة للضرر والتهميش، تأثروا بشكل غير متناسب بالجائحة، ويشمل هذا الكثير من الأقليات الدينية.

في جميع أنحاء العالم، تنتمي الأقليات الدينية في أغلب الحالات – لكن ليس في الحالات كافة – إلى أفقر شرائح المجتمع، ويُتاح لهم تعليم ورعاية صحية أقل، ويعانون من تدهور المساكن، وموقفهم من العمل أقل استقراراً ودخلهم أقل من الأغلبية. فيما يتعلق بالجائحة، فهذا يعني أنهم ومعهم فئات مهمة ومستضعفة أخرى، أمامهم فرص أقل للوقاية من العدوى والحصول على العلاج إذا مرضوا. في باكستان على سبيل المثال، ينتمي أغلب عمال النظافة والصرف الصحي إلى الأقليات المسيحية والهندوسية بالبلاد. مع تنظيفهم المستشفيات والشوارع والمجارير، يواجهون ظروف عمل صعبة للغاية، وفي سياق الوضع الحالي، فهم لا يحصلون على معدات الحماية الشخصية اللازمة.

تعاني الأقليات الدينية النازحة في مخيمات اللاجئين بصورة خاصة. مخيم "كوكس بازار" في بنغلادش على سبيل المثال يستضيف أكثر من مليون من الروهينغا، الذين فروا من القمع العسكري في ميانمار. تؤدي الكثافة السكانية العالية في المخيم، مقترنة بعدم توفر النظافة بالقدر الكافي وغياب الماء النظيف، واقتصار عدد المرافق الصحية لدرجة كبيرة، إلى جعل المنطقة بؤرة قوية لانتشار الفيروس. على الدول التزامات حقوقية بضمان حق الجميع في الصحة والحصول على الرعاية الصحية الأساسية. هذا بدوره، وربما بصورة خاصة، يسري على الأزمات من النوع القائم.

على أن كوفيد-19 ليس أزمة صحية فقط. فهو أيضاً أزمة "تفاقم من كراهية الأجانب والكراهية الاجتماعية والإقصاء"، كما أوضح مقرر الأمم المتحدة الخاص المعني بالأقليات، فرناند دي فارانيس. فالأزمات تؤدي في أحيان كثيرة إلى زيادة المضايقات، والتمييز والوصم، وليست جائحة كوفيد-19 بالاستثناء على هذه القاعدة. إن انعدام الأمان الاقتصادي والمشكلات الصحية والخوف والإحباط تمثل مجتمعة بيئة خصبة للبحث عن كبش فداء، وكثيراً ما يتم العثور على كبش الفداء هذا من صفوف المهمشين، الذين يتم استهدافهم. وفي أكثر من نصف دول العالم، تعاني أقليات دينية بالفعل من أنواع مختلفة من العداوة الاجتماعية. في هذه السياقات، يمكن أن يتعرضوا لأخطار استثنائية، مما يمكن تصنيفه تحت مسمى "وصم فيروس الكورونا". مؤخراً، أعرب مقرر الأمم المتحدة الخاص المعني بحرية الدين والمعتقد، أحمد شهيد، عن عميق قلقه إزاء "زيادة التحريض على الكراهية واتهام بعض المجتمعات الدينية، بما يشمل المسيحيين واليهود والمسلمين، بنشر الفيروس".

وفي تركيا، انتشرت نظريات المؤامرة المعادية للسامية على مواقع التواصل. وفي المملكة المتحدة، هناك مجموعات من اليمين المتطرف تلوم المهاجرين المسلمين على انتشار الفيروس، وفي الصومال، تدعي جماعات مسلحة إسلامية أن من نشر الفيروس هم "القوى الصليبية". والتطورات في الهند مقلقة بصورة خاصة. بعدما تعقبت السلطات الهندية عدة حالات إصابة بالكوفيد-19 ووجدت أن مصدرها منظمة تبشيرية إسلامية، بدأت أنباء كاذبة وملفقة تدور على مواقع التواصل، تدعي أن أعضاء هذه المنظمة فضلاً عن مسلمين آخرين، قد تعمدوا نشر الفيروس، بما يشمل مثلاً البصق على الناس. تتم الاستعانة بهاشتاغ "جهاد الكورونا" لاتهام المسلمين باستخدام كوفيد-19 كسلاح ضد السكان الهندوس. حتى أعضاء الحزب الهندوسي القومي الحاكم أسهموا في نشر هذه المعلومات المغلوطة. وعلى امتداد الهند، ظهرت تقارير عن انتشار هجمات عنيفة على المسلمين وأعمال تخريب بحق المساجد، ومقاطعة للأعمال التجارية الصغيرة الخاصة بمسلمين، وحرمان مرضى من العلاج بالمستشفيات.

يمكن أن تؤدي الجائحة أيضاً إلى زيادة التمييز الحكومي ضد أقليات دينية. فالأزمات كثيراً ما تزيد من القوى والسلطات في يد الحكومات، فتستعين بها في تبرير التحركات والتدابير التي ما كان بالإمكان تصور حدوثها. لمنع انتشار الكوفيد-19، فعّلت الحكومات في شتى أنحاء العالم جملة من التدابير المشددة، بما يشمل العزل وحظر التجوال، وتقييد التجمعات الكبيرة، وحظر السفر. هذه المبادرات كانت لها عواقب اقتصادية صعبة على الجميع. لكن الفقر وعدم الاستقرار في العمل يعنيان أن بعض الأقليات الدينية – ومعها فئات مستضعفة ومهمشة أخرى – قد عانت بصورة غير متناسبة. من ثم جاء الكوفيد-19 ليفاقم من أوجه لامساواة اجتماعية واقتصادية قائمة بالفعل.

هنالك أيضاً بوادر مقلقة على أن بعض الدول تستعين بالتدابير الاحترازية كذريعة لمزيد من التمييز ضد فئات معينة. فالقيود الحكومية على الشعائر الدينية واقع تعاني منه أقليات دينية كثيرة. أكثر من نصف الأقليات الدينية في العالم عانت من قيود، على سبيل المثال قيود على الاعتراف القانوني، وإنشاء دور عبادة أو إقامة شعائر دينية. وفي بعض الدول التي تعاني فيها حقوق الأقليات في حرية المعتقد من التضييق، هناك خطر بأن تزيد التدابير المتصلة بكوفيد-19 من التضييق على هذا الحق.

وفي بعض الأماكن فإن ما يبدو بمثابة إجراءات معقولة ومتناسبة، يُطبق بشكل تمييزي. في نيبال، هناك تقارير بأن الشرطة تعاملت بصرامة أكثر مع الأقلية المسيحية حال قيام أفراد منها بخرق حظر التجمعات الكبيرة، قياساً إلى رد فعلها إزاء خرق السكان من الأغلبية الهندوسية لنفس القواعد. وفي كوريا الجنوبية، طلبت السلطات المحلية من الادعاء فتح تحقيق في قتل قيادي بكنيسة شينشيونجي التي تم تعقب الكثير من أولى حالات كوفيد-19 في البلاد إليها. وفي دول أخرى، تبدو التدابير نفسها تمييزية. في سريلانكا، أمرت السلطات الصحية بأن من يموت بالكوفيد-19 يجب أن يُحرق جثمانه، حتى رغم توجيهات منظمة الصحة العالمية الصريحة بأن الدفن مقبول. لهذا عواقب على الأقلية المسلمة تحديداً، إذ أن التقاليد الإسلامية لا تسمح بالحرق. حتى الآن، تم حرق 3 جثامين لضحايا كوفيد-19 مسلمين، ضد رغبة عائلاتهم.

كما أعطت جائحة كوفيد-19 السلطات ومواقع التواصل الاجتماعي وشركات التقنية "بطاقة خضراء" لمراقبة تحركات السكان، وحالتهم الصحية ودوائر معارفهم، حتى دون أي شكل من أشكال الموافقة من قبل الأفراد. لقد بررت الجائحة هجر الكثير من حقوق الخصوصية، أو كلها، لصالح هزيمة الفيروس. سوف يجعل هذا أي عضو مضطهد أو مستضعف في المجتمع عرضة لخطر مفرط بأن تضايقه الدولة أو أطراف أخرى أو تعتدي عليه، إذا تمت إساءة استخدام بيانات متوفرة عن الأفراد، على المدى البعيد. الزمن وحده هو الذي سيخبرنا إن كانت هذه التدابير ستنتهي وإن كان سيتم تدمير البيانات التي تم جمعها بعد انتهاء الظرف الطارئ.

إن مكافحة كوفيد-19 يجب أن تشتمل أيضاً على مكافحة اللامساواة والوصم والتمييز، وهي المشاكل التي تزيد وتتفاقم. يتطلب هذا نهج حقوقي قوي. كما أوضح الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة: "ردود الفعل التي تتشكل انطلاقاً من حقوق الإنسان وتحترمها تؤدي إلى نتائج أفضل فيما يتعلق بالانتصار على الجائحة، وضمان الرعاية الصحية للجميع، وحفظ الكرامة الإنسانية".

في بيانه الأخير، دعا المقرر الخاص المعني بحرية الدين أو المعتقد الدول ودعا أيضاً القيادات الدينية والمجتمع المدني والإعلام والجمهور العام إلى: "رفض الكراهية والإقصاء وتقديم الدعم والتضامن لمن يمكن أن يصبحوا ضحايا أثناء هذه الفترة الصعبة". وهناك عدة أمثلة على من يفعلون هذا بالتحديد. هناك رجال دين يطالبون بالتخلص من خطاب الكراهية، في مخاطبتهم لأتباع طوائفهم الدينية. هناك شركات مواقع تواصل اجتماعي تسعى لحذف الأنباء الكاذبة. وهناك مجتمعات محلية تبينت أن الاختلافات القائمة أيا كانت ليست بأهمية النجاح في اختبار إنسانيتنا المشتركة وتضامننا معاً، في مواجهة هذا الفيروس.

علينا جميعاً أن نحترس من كيف يمكن استخدام الفيروس في تقسيمنا والتمييز ضد البعض واعتبارهم كبش فداء. علينا أن نتضامن معاً لحماية أكبر قدر ممكن من الناس، سواء من المرض، أو من آثار تدابير احتواء الفيروس، بغض النظر عن مدى قلقنا وتوترنا وخوفنا جميعاً.

 

ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED: June 4, 2020

ساجاد حسن هو مدير "ساوث آسيا كولكتيف".

 

كلير توماس هي نائبة رئيس مجموعة حقوق الأقليات الدولية.

ساجاد حسن هو مدير "ساوث آسيا كولكتيف".


 

COMMENTS
Stay connected! Join our weekly newsletter to stay up-to-date on our newest content.  SUBSCRIBE

Will COVID-19 increase religious hostilities and discrimination?

COVID-19 and its impacts may hit  some religious minorities disproportionately hard, exacerbating economic inequalities, social hostilities and discrimination.



Piyal Adhikary/EFE


“The virus doesn’t discriminate—but its impacts do.” These are the words of the UN Secretary General, Antonio Guterres, at the presentation of his recent report, We are all in this together, on human rights responses to COVID-19. Those who are already vulnerable and marginalised are disproportionately affected by the pandemic, and this includes many religious minorities.

Throughout the world, religious minorities often—although far from always—belong to the poorest segments of the population; they have less access to education and healthcare, their housing situation is inadequate, their job situation is more insecure and their income lower than the majority population. In relation to COVID-19, this means that they, together with other vulnerable and marginalised groups, have fewer possibilities for prevention and less access to treatment if they get sick. In Pakistan, for instance, sanitation workers are largely from the country’s Christian and Hindu minorities. Cleaning hospitals, streets and sewers, they have long faced appalling working conditions, and in the current situation they are not being provided with personal protective equipment.

Displaced religious minority groups living in refugee camps are particularly vulnerable. Cox’ Bazar in Bangladesh, for instance, houses more than a million Rohingyas who have fled military crackdowns in Myanmar. The population density of the camp, the unhygienic conditions, the lack of clean water and the severely limited number of health facilities makes this a “tinderbox” for the spread of the virus. States have a human rights obligation to ensure everybody’s right to health and access to basic healthcare. This also, and perhaps especially, applies in situations of crisis such as this.

But COVID-19 is not only a health crisis. It is also a crisis “that exacerbates xenophobia, hate and exclusion,” as the UN Special Rapporteur on Minority Issues, Fernand de Varennes, recently said. Crises often lead to an increase in harassment, discrimination and stigmatisation, and the COVID-19 pandemic is no exception. Economic insecurity, health concerns, fear and frustration are fertile grounds for scapegoating—and it is often those who are already marginalised or vilified who are targeted. In more than half of the world’s countries, religious minorities are already experiencing different kinds of social hostilities. In these contexts, they can come under special risks of what some have referred to as “coronavirus-stigma”. Ahmed Shaheed, the UN Special Rapporteur on Freedom of Religion or Belief, recently expressed his deep concern over “the upsurge in incitement to hatred, scapegoating religious or belief communities, including Christians, Jews, and Muslims, for the spread of virus.”

In Turkey anti-Semitic conspiracy theories circulate on social media; in the UK, far-right groups blame Muslim immigrants for the virus; in Somalia, militant Islamists claim it is spread by “[Christian] crusader forces”. Developments in India are particularly worrisome. After Indian authorities traced several cases of COVID-19 to a Muslim missionary organisation, fake news began circulating on social media, claiming that members of the organisation, as well as other Muslims, engaged in deliberate spread of the virus by, for example, spitting on people. Under the hashtag “corona jihad” Muslims are accused of using COVID-19 as a weapon against the Hindu population. Even members of the ruling Hindu-nationalist party BJP have contributed to spreading such mis-information. Throughout India, reports speak to violent attacks on Muslims and vandalism against mosques; boycotts of small businesses; and sick people being denied treatment in hospital.

COVID-19 can also result in heightened government discrimination against religious minorities. Crises will often accord greater leverage to governments, justifying actions that would otherwise be unthinkable. To prevent spread of COVID-19, governments around the world have introduced a range of drastic measures, including isolation and curfews, restrictions on larger gatherings, and travel bans. Such initiatives have severe economic consequences for all. But poverty and job insecurity mean that some religious minorities, along with other vulnerable and marginalised groups, are hit disproportionately hard. The COVID-19 emergency thus accentuates existing social and economic inequalities.

There are also worrying signs that some states use precautionary measures as a pretext for more direct discrimination against certain groups. Government restrictions on religion are everyday occurrences for many religious minorities. More than half of the world’s religious minorities experience restrictions on e.g. legal recognition, establishment of places of worship, or religious practices. In countries where minorities’ right to freedom of religion or belief is already under pressure, there is a risk that COVID-19-related measures will further limit this right.

In some places, what seem to be proportionate measures are enforced discriminatorily. In Nepal, there are reports that the police have reacted more severely against minority Christians who have broken the ban on larger gatherings, than on illegal gatherings among the Hindu majority population. In South Korea, local authorities have asked prosecutors to begin a murder investigation of the leadership in the Chincheonji Church, to which many of the country’s first COVID-19 cases have been traced. Elsewhere, the measures in themselves appear discriminatory. In Sri Lanka, health authorities have ruled that people who have died from COVID-19 must be cremated, even though WHO guidelines explicitly state that burial is acceptable. This has consequences for the country’s Muslim minority in particular, insofar as Islamic traditions do not allow for cremation. So far, three Muslim victims of COVID-19 have been cremated against their families’ will.

COVID-19 has also given authorities, social media and technology companies carte blanche to monitor populations’ movements, health, and contacts—often without any form of consent. The pandemic has justified the abandonment of many or all privacy rights in the interest of beating the virus.  This will make any persecuted or vulnerable members of society at increased risk of state or other harassment or attack if data exists which can be misused over the longer term. Only time will tell if these measures are reversed and the collected data destroyed when the emergency is over.

Fighting COVID-19 must also be about fighting the inequalities, stigmatisation, and discrimination that it exposes and exacerbates. This requires a strong human rights approach. As noted by the UN Secretary General: “Responses that are shaped by and respect human rights result in better outcomes in beating the pandemic, ensuring healthcare for everyone and preserving human dignity.”

In his recent statement, the Special Rapporteur on Freedom of Religion or Belief urged not only states but also faith leaders, civil society, media, and the general public “to reject hate and exclusion and provide support and solidarity to those who could be victimised at this difficult time”. And there are many examples of people doing exactly that. Clerics are calling out hate speech by members of their own religious community. Social media companies are taking down fake news. Local communities are seeing that whatever differences exist are less important than meeting the test of common humanity and solidarity that this virus sets for us.

We all need to guard against the virus being used to divide, scapegoat, and discriminate. We must join together to protect as many people as possible from both the disease and the effects of containment measures, no matter how stressed and afraid we may all feel.

 

ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED: June 4, 2020

Marie Juul Petersen is a senior researcher at the Danish Institute for Human Rights.

Claire Thomas is the deputy director at Minority Rights Group International.

Sajjad Hassan is the director at the South Asia Collective.


 

COMMENTS