منتجو الوقود الأحفوري والمناخ: المسؤوليات والفرص

يمكننا تعقب أغلب الانبعاثات التي تبدل من حال المناخ إلى شركات بعينها نشطة في صناعات الوقود الأحفوري، ولديها المهارات والموارد والالتزام الأخلاقي للمساعدة في حل المشكلة التي كانت لها يد في خلقها.




من الواضح أن شركات الوقود الأحفوري تستخرج وتكرر وتسوق أصناف من الوقود الأحفوري تسهم لدى استخدامها بالشكل المقصود أن تُستخدم فيه، بنصيب 87% من إجمالي انبعاثات ثاني أوكسيد الكربون الناتج عن الوقود والأسمنت واستخدام الأراضي (ونحو 62% من جميع انبعاثات الاحتباس الحراري) التي تؤدي إلى احترار الغلاف الجوي والتغير المناخي.

فيما يتعلق بالنظرية القائلة بأن منتجي الوقود الأحفوري يتحملون مسؤولية كبيرة عن الآثار السلبية لمنتجاتهم، يحقق معهد المحاسبة على التغير المناخي في حجم الإسهام – الكمي – لأكبر شركات النفط والغاز والفحم في التغير المناخي. ضمن بيانات صدرت في أكتوبر/تشرين الأول 2019، توصلنا إلى أن أكبر 20 شركة أنتجت مجتمعة وقوداً أدى إلى إطلاق 480 مليار طن من ثاني أوكسيد الكربون والميثان (MtCO2e) في الفترة من 1965 إلى 2017. يعد هذا 35% من إجمالي انبعاثات الوقود الأحفوري العالمية على مر التاريخ (تبلغ 1.35 تريليون طن من ثاني أوكسيد الكربون والميثان). أكبر الأطراف المساهمة في هذه الانبعاثات هي شركة أرامكو السعودية، وشيفرون وغازبروم، وإكسون موبيل، وبريتش بتروليوم، ورويال داتش شيل (انظر الجدول أدناه).

الجدول 1: انبعاثات أكبر 20 شركة نفط وغاز وفحم للفترة 1965-20172017.

انبعاثات الوقود الأحفوري والأسمنت العالمية مذكورة أيضاً في الجدول، ونصيب الشركة منها يظهر كنسبة من الانبعاثات العالمية عن الفترة نفسها.

 

إن نسبة 87% تقريباً من الانبعاثات المنسوبة إلى الشركات المنتجة للكربون سببها منتجاتها: جازولين وديزل ووقود طائرات وغاز طبيعي وفحم، والـ 13% المتبقية من الانبعاثات مبعثها الاستخراج والتكرير والتسليم للوقود الناتج عن عمليات الإنتاج.

لقد استفادت شركات النفط والغاز الطبيعي والفحم لعقود من مئات المليارات من الدولارات التي حصلت عليها في صورة مساعدات حكومية للتشجيع على تطوير قطاع الوقود الأحفوري، فضلاً عن المعاملة التفضيلية فيما يخص القوانين، مثل التساهل في قوانين وقرارات الحد من التلوث، وشروط ورسوم استخراج الموارد التفضيلية على الأراضي العامة (المملوكة للدولة) وغير ذلك من التكاليف المخصومة من جيوب دافعي الضرائب، مثل الحماية العسكرية لممرات النقل البحري. إجمالاً، تستفيد الشركات المذكورة مما أسماه الاقتصادي نيكولاس شتيرن "أكبر فشل للسوق شهده العالم" إذ تتم خصخصة الأرباح وتأميم التكاليف والخسائر المالية. علينا أن نلغي تدريجياً أشكال الدعم المختلفة الممنوحة للشركات المذكورة، وما تحصل عليه من معاملة تفضيلية في القانون، وأن نُسعّر الكربون بالشكل الذي يستوعب التكاليف الهائلة من ضرر لاحق بالمناخ يدفع أغلب ثمنه الآن أناس لم يتسببوا في المشكلة، مثل المزارعين حالياً، وأطفال الغد.

إننا نركز على منتجي الوقود الأحفوري والأسمنت لأن هذه الصناعة اكتسبت معرفة في وقت مبكر بأن منتجاتها ستؤدي إلى قلقلة استقرار المناخ، بما يهدد نشاطها التجاري المعتمد على استمرار نمو الإنتاج وتسويق الوقود الكربوني. إنها إذن تتحمل مسؤولية أخلاقية عن التصدي للآثار الخاصة بمنتجاتها واستخدامها. لكن بدلاً من اتخاذ تدابير لتخفيف الأضرار، استمرت الشركات في الاستثمار في المزيد من الإنتاج، وفي تمويل الحملات لتضليل الجمهور وإرجاء التحركات التشريعية وسعت إلى توسيع وتعميق الاقتصادي الكربوني، وكأن عواقبه لا تهم.

تشكل معهد المحاسبة على التغير المناخي في 2011 للاضطلاع بالعمل العلمي اللازم لمواجهة شركات الوقود الأحفوري، و(كما نأمل) الضغط لإلزامها بجعل الإنتاج في المستقبل، والانبعاثات، متسقة مع الأهداف المنصوص عليها في اتفاق باريس وبحسب تقارير الهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ (IPCC).

ويُظهر الشكل التالي نشاط وأعمال معهد المحاسبة على التغير المناخي، من نسب الانبعاثات إلى منتجي الكربون، إلى توضيح تأثيرهم على المناخ، ونشر الأوراق العلمية، والإسهام في جهود محاسبة الشركات على الأضرار اللاحقة بالمناخ.

 

 

تسير أعمال المعهد على مسارين رئيسيين:

  • أولاً، نسب الانبعاثات إلى مصدرها: يشمل هذا التحليل الكمّي للانبعاثات المنسوبة إلى شركات الوقود الأحفوري، من مرحلة الاستخراج والتكرير إلى النقل والتسليم والحرق، بناء على الإنتاج التاريخي للنفط والغاز الطبيعي والفحم لكل كيان على حدة، منذ ستينيات القرن التاسع عشر وحتى أخر تاريخ لتحديث البيانات لدينا، وهو 2017 (انظر المراحل 1 و2 من الشكل أعلاه، والجدول 1).

  • ثانياً، عملية نسب الانبعاثات إلى مصدرها كمسعى علمي لتحليل الآثار المناخية للانبعاثات الخاصة بكل منتج كبير للكربون. هذه النماذج المناخية تقدم تحليلاً كمياً لتزايد تركز ثاني أوكسيد الكربون والميثان في الغلاف الجوي وما يؤدي إليه هذا من زيادة في القسر الإشعاعي ودرجات حرارة سطح الأرض وارتفاع مستوى البحار وزيادة حمضية مياه المحيطات (انظر المراحل 3 و4 و5 و6 أعلاه). القسر الإشعاعي مصطلح يشير إلى انحسار ارتداد الطاقة الحرارية من أشعة تحت حمراء في الغلاف الجوي، إلى الفضاء، بسبب تزايد ثاني أوكسيد الكربون في الغلاف الجوي. زيادة حمضية المحيطات تشير إلى امتصاص ثاني أوكسيد الكربون في طبقات المحيط السطحية، ما يؤدي إلى زيادة حمضية مياه المحيطات، وهو ما يؤثر سلباً على نمو الشعب المرجانية ويؤدي إلى تبييض وتصحر الشعب المرجانية على نطاق واسع، وقتل حضانات الأحياء المائية اللازمة لتجدد نظم المحيط البيئية، ويؤثر على معاش الصيادين وفرص كسبهم للرزق.

 

هذه النتائج تزداد أهمية في نظر المشرعين المعنيين بالمناخ، ولجان حقوق الإنسان، والمحللين الماليين وحملة الأسهم والمستثمرين والمنظمين والعلماء ونشطاء الطاقة والمناخ.

إن علوم التحقق من معدلات الكربون ونسب الانبعاثات إلى مصادر محددة يتحسن سريعاً، وبينما يمكننا وبقدر متصاعد من الثقة ربط الانبعاثات بارتفاع مستويات الخطر وتزايد درجات الضرر جراء التدخلات البشرية في النظام المناخي – بصمة البشر وإسهامهم في تزايد الأضرار المناخية – فمن الأصعب بشكل مطرد ربط الانبعاثات بمنتجين بعينهم للوقود الأحفوري وبأضرار مناخية بشرية بعينها. ليست بالعملية الحسابية البسيطة، أن يُستخدم نصيب كل شركة نفط وغاز وفحم من الانبعاثات – تاريخياً (مثال: نصيب شيفرون هو 3.2% من الانبعاثات العالمية لثاني أوكسيد الكربون والميثان منذ 1965) في توزيع التكاليف على شركات الوقود الأحفوري. كما أن ثمة أطراف أخرى تسهم في الانبعاثات ومن ثم تتحمل بعض المسؤولية عن التغير المناخي، بما يشمل المستهلكين من الأفراد للوقود الأحفوري، والشركات التي تُطلق عملياتها انبعاثات، فضلاً عن الحكومات والخطوط الجوية والشركات بالمجالات المختلفة ومرافق الكهرباء، وهذه ليست إلا بعض الأمثلة القليلة.

إن بعض الكيانات أكثر مسؤولية من كيانات أخرى، ونحن نرى أن منتجي النفط والغاز والفحم يتحملون شق كبير من المسؤولية، ليس فقط عن الأضرار اللاحقة بالمناخ والتشارك في تحمل تكاليف التكيف، إنما هناك أيضاً مسؤولية أخلاقية (وربما قانونية) فيما يخص التسريع بعجلة إنهاء اعتماد اقتصاد الطاقة العالمي على الكربون. بعض الشركات تتصرف بشكل إيجابي في هذا الصدد: ريبسول، شركة النفط والغاز الإسبانية الكبرى، التزمت مؤخراً بتحقيق صفر انبعاثات بحلول عام 2050 على امتداد سلسلة إمدادها بالكامل، وهناك شركات كبرى أخرى تتحرك في هذا الاتجاه، منها بريتش بتروليوم ورويال داتش شل وإكوينور.

في تقديري يعد هذا التحول نتيجة لعدة عوامل: إعادة تقييم المسؤوليات الاجتماعية المترتبة على الشركات، وتصاعد وعي الناس، والمظاهرات والاحتجاجات، والمخاطر اللاحقة بسمعة الشركات، ومستقبل تحرك الحكومات في المستقبل (مثل فرض ضريبة كبيرة على الكربون) وضغوط المستثمرين، توقع الأرباح في الطاقة المتجددة قليلة التكلفة.

الأمر واضح. إذا كنا نريد الحفاظ على الحضارة البشرية كما نعرفها، فلابد أن تتراجع الانبعاثات الكربونية سريعاً لتصل إلى صفر بحلول منتصف القرن. يتطلب هذا تحول عملاق بواقع عدة تريليونات من الأطنان، في منظومة الطاقة العالمية، وإنهاء العمل بالمنشآت والمنصات والمناجم وخطوط الأنابيب ومعامل التكرير والغلايات والمركبات التي تمثل مجتمعة كافة أشكال البنية التحتية للكربون، وبناء بنية تحتية جديدة (أقل ضخامة) لجمع وتخزين ونقل واستخدام النظم الجديدة من الطاقة المتجددة. لكن هذا يتطلب أيضاً استثمار تريليونات الدولارات، ونشر نظم جديدة مبتكرة وفعالة. هذا التحول يجب ألا يكون عبء مترتب على دول العالم فحسب، وعلى دافعي الضرائب فيها، إنما يجب أن تتحمل جزء كبير منه شركات الوقود الأحفوري التي أطالت متعمدة من أمد هذا التحول.

في رأيي، لطالما كان هذا التحول حتمياً، منذ عقود، وكنا نعرف أنه كذلك منذ عقود، وأضعنا وقتاً ثميناً وقمنا بالالتفاف حول مسؤولياتنا ونقلنا الثمن والتكاليف إلى أطفالنا. إن شركات الوقود الأحفوري الكبرى تفهم دورها والأهمية الوجودية لقيادة عملية التحول إلى اقتصاد به نسبة منخفضة من الكربون. آمل أن تزدهر الشركات – والدول – التي ستقود هذه العملية، وأن تبتعد عن الطريق الأطراف المماطلة.

 

ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED: July 23, 2020

ريتشارد هييد هو مدير معهد المحاسبة على التغير المناخي ومُشارك في تأسيسه.


 

COMMENTS

Fossil fuel producers and the climate: responsibilities and opportunities

We can trace the majority of climate-altering emissions to individual fossil fuel companies that have the skills, resources, and moral obligation to help fix the problem they willfully helped create.




It is clear that fossil fuel companies extract, refine, and market the carbon fuels that, when used as intended, contribute 87% of all CO2 from fuels, cement, and land use (and ~62% of all greenhouse gas emissions) that drive atmospheric warming and climate changes.

On the theory that fossil fuel producers bear substantial responsibility for the adverse impacts of their products, the Climate Accountability Institute investigates how much, quantitatively, the largest oil, gas, and coal companies contribute to climate change. In a dataset released in October 2019, we found that the top 20 companies have collectively produced the fuels that led to 480 billion tonnes of carbon dioxide and methane (GtCO2e) being emitted from 1965 to 2017. This amounts to 35% of all global fossil fuel emissions in that time (1.35 trillion tCO2e). The largest contributors include Saudi Aramco, Chevron, Gazprom, ExxonMobil, BP, and Royal Dutch Shell (see table below).

Table 1: Top twenty oil, gas, and coal companies’ emissions for the period 1965 to 2017.

Global fossil fuel and cement emissions are also listed, and company emissions are shown as a percent of global emissions over the same period.

Seven-eighths of emissions attributed to carbon producers is from use of their products—gasoline, diesel, jet fuel, natural gas, and coal—and one-eighth from extracting, refining, and delivering finished fuels. 

Oil, natural gas, and coal companies have benefited for decades from hundreds of billions of dollars in government subsidies incentivizing fossil fuel development, as well as regulatory preferences such as lax pollution controls, favorable leasing for resource extraction on public lands, and other taxpayer-funded costs, such as military protection for shipping lanes. Overall, companies are the beneficiaries of what economist Nicholas Stern has called the “greatest market failure the world has seen,” by privatizing the profits and externalizing the costs and damages. We must gradually eliminate subsidies and regulatory preferences, and to price carbon so as to “internalize” the vast costs of climate damages now mostly paid by people who did not cause the problem, such as today’s farmers and tomorrow’s children.

We focus on fossil fuel and cement producers because the industry had early knowledge that their products would destabilize climate, which threaten their business model reliant on continued growth in production and marketing of carbon fuel. They thus bear a moral responsibility to address the impacts caused by the use of their products. But rather than take action to ameliorate the harms, the companies continued to invest in additional production, funded campaigns to disinform the public and delay legislative action, and sought to expand and perpetuate the carbon economy—as if the consequences didn’t matter.

The Climate Accountability Institute was formed in 2011 to do the scientific work needed to confront fossil fuel companies and (we hoped) to leverage their commitment to align future production and emissions with targets embodied in the Paris Agreement and work of the IPCC.

The arc of CAI’s work from attributing emissions to carbon producers, modeling their impact on global climate, publishing scientific papers, and contributing to efforts to hold companies accountable for climate damages, are illustrated in the figure below.

The work has two main tracks: 

  • First, source attribution: this involves quantifying emissions attributable to the fossil fuel companies from extraction and processing to transportation, delivery, and combustion, based on the historical production of oil, natural gas, and coal by each entity from as early as the 1860s to our latest update to 2017 (see phases 1 & 2 in the figure above, and Table 1);

  • Second, attribution as a scientific endeavor to model the of climate impacts flowing from the emissions traced to each major carbon producer. These climate models quantify the increase in atmospheric concentration of CO2 and CH4 and the resulting rise in radiative forcing, surface temperatures, sea level and acidification of the world's oceans (see phases 3, 4, 5, and 6 above). Radiative forcing refers to the CO2-enriched atmosphere ‘s lower radiation of infrared heat energy into space. Ocean acidification refers to the absorption of carbon dioxide in the ocean’s surface layers that acidify the waters, which then impacts the building of coral reefs, cause coral bleaching events, decimate critical marine nurseries, and impacts the livelihoods of fisherfolk.

These results are of rising interest to climate litigators, human rights commissions, financial analysts, shareholders, regulators, scientists, and energy and climate activists.

The science of detection and attribution is improving rapidly, and while we can with increasing confidence link emissions to higher degree of risk and higher incidence and degree of damages to human interference with the climate system—the human fingerprint on rising climate damages—it is more challenging to link the emissions traced to individual fossil fuel producers to anthropogenic climate damages. It is not simply a proportional exercise in which each oil, gas, and coal company’s historical emissions (e.g., Chevron’s 3.2% of global CO2 and CH4 emissions since 1965) are used to allocate adaption costs among fossil fuel companies. Furthermore, other parties contribute to emission and thus bear some responsibility for climate change, including individual consumers and corporate emitters, as well as nations, airlines, corporations, and electric utilities, to name a few. 

Some entities are more responsible than others, and it is our contention that oil and gas and coal producers bear the preponderance of responsibility, not only for climate damages and sharing the cost of adaption, but also a moral (and perhaps legal) mandate to accelerate decarbonization of the world energy economy. Some companies are reacting positively to this challenge: Repsol, the Spanish oil and gas major, recently committed to net zero emissions by 2050 across its full supply chain, and other majors are moving in that direction, e.g., BP, Royal Dutch Shell, and Equinor

Carbon emissions must—if we are to preserve global civilization as we know it—decline rapidly toward net zero by mid-century.

In my opinion, this shift is due to multiple contributing factors: reassessment of their fiduciary and social responsibilities, the rise in public awareness, public demonstrations, reputational risk of being laggards, the future cost of government action (such as a substantial carbon tax), investor pressure, and seeing profitability in low-cost renewables.

The writing is on the wall. Carbon emissions must—if we are to preserve global civilization as we know it—decline rapidly toward net zero by mid-century. This requires a massive trillion-tonne transformation of the global energy system, decommissioning of plants, drilling platforms, mines, pipelines, refineries, boilers, vehicles, all manner of carbon infrastructure, and the construction of a new (though less massive) infrastructure to capture, store, transport, and use the emerging renewable energy systems. But it also requires the investment of trillions of dollars, and the deployment of ingenious, efficient new systems. This transition should not only be the burden of the nations of the world, and their taxpayers, but also in substantial part the fossil fuel companies that have willfully prolonged this transformation. 

In my view, this transition has been inevitable for decades, we have known this for decades, and we have squandered precious time, skirted our responsibilities, and shifted the costs to our children. Leading fossil fuel companies understand their role and the existential importance of leading the transition to a low-carbon economy. It is my hope that the companies—and countries—that lead will prosper, and that the laggards will get out of the way.

 

 

ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED: July 23, 2020

Richard Heede is the co-founder and director of the Climate Accountability Institute.

 


 

COMMENTS
Stay connected! Join our weekly newsletter to stay up-to-date on our newest content.  SUBSCRIBE