منظمات للاجئين في لندن تقدم خدمات عبر الإنترنت، لكن تواجه مشاكل وتفاوت في توفر الاتصال بالشبكة

مع مواجهة الملايين من طلاب العالم حالياً للتعليم عن بُعد لفترات مطولة، تكشف متطلبات الوصول للإنترنت – والأجهزة المناسبة للتعلم – عن أوجه لامساواة هائلة.




كون المرء لاجئ يعني وجود قدر كبير من العزلة الاجتماعية. وفي مدن عديدة مغلقة بسبب الجائحة العالمية، يواجه اللاجئون حالياً – لا سيما شباب البالغين والأطفال الملتحقين بالمدارس – عزلة مزدوجة. من الضروري كل الضرورة النظر في العلاقة بين هؤلاء الأطفال وتوفر التكنولوجيا اللازمة للتعليم، بحيث لا ننساهم أثناء الأزمة.

في المملكة المتحدة الآلاف من اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء الذين وفدوا مؤخراً. تُظهر الإحصاءات الحكومية منح المملكة المتحدة حق اللجوء لأكثر من 20 ألف شخص تقدموا بطلبات لجوء في 2019، وهي زيادة بواقع 64% مقارنة بالعام الماضي. إضافة إلى هذا، فهناك سبعة آلاف طلب لم شمل أسري لمن حصلوا على اللجوء في الأعوام الماضية. وهناك برنامج مخصص للمواطنين السوريين، مطبق منذ عام 2014، وقد أعاد نحو 19 ألف سوري التوطين في المملكة المتحدة، وهناك نحو 1700 من الصغار غير المصحوبين ببالغين من سوريا. الآن، يواجه هؤلاء اللاجئون تحديات معقدة تتصل بقدرة الوصول واللغة والقدرة على الاتصال، في مواجهة أزمة كوفيد-19.

أعيد وبشكل بطيء فتح المدارس في المملكة المتحدة مرة أخرى بدءاً من 1 يونيو/حزيران. ولقد خططت بعض المدارس لاستمرار الإغلاق حتى العام المدرسي 2020-2021 الذي يبدأ في سبتمبر/أيلول. والاختبارات السنوية التي يدخلها الطلاب – مثل اختبارات GCSE واختبارات A-Levels التي تُنظم في مايو/أيار قد تم إلغاؤها. تعتمد الدرجات النهائية لهذه الاختبارات الآن على الفروض المنزلية المستقلة التي يتم عملها من البيت. وفي ظل الظروف الطبيعية، يمكن للشاب اليافع أن يعتمد على قدرة الوصول إلى الكتب والحواسب الآلية والمعدات الأخرى المتوفرة بالمدرسة. لكن مع الإغلاق، يمكن أن يرتبط نجاح الطالب، بشكل غير منصف، بجودة تلك المعدات والخدمات وتوفرها منزلياً، وهو الأمر الخارج عن سيطرة الطالب في بعض الحالات.

على سبيل المثال، فإن الأسر اللاجئة والمهاجرة التي تعاني بالفعل من مصاعب اقتصادية، قد تواجه صعوبة خاصة في تشارك الحواسب بين البالغين والأطفال في المنزل. هذا يعني لا محالة أن هؤلاء الطلاب سيعتمدون على قدرة استخدام الإنترنت المتاحة لهم على هواتفهم الخلوية. الهواتف الذكية بالغة الأهمية لهذه الفئات، ورغم أن المدارس تكيفت مع التعلم عبر الإنترنت، فإن تكنولوجيا الهواتف مقتصرة فيما يتعلق بالتعلم الإلكتروني.

لكن مع الإغلاق، يمكن أن يرتبط نجاح الطالب، بشكل غير منصف، بجودة تلك المعدات والخدمات وتوفرها منزلياً، وهو الأمر الخارج عن سيطرة الطالب في بعض الحالات.

من المنظمات التي تحاول تقديم المساعدة "سالزبيري وورلد"، وهي منظمة محلية في شمال غرب لندن تتعاون مع المدارس والأحياء في مساندة الأطفال والأسر من المهاجرين واللاجئين. مثل العديد من المنظمات أثناء الإغلاق، فإن سالزبيري وورلد تقدم خدمات محدودة حالياً وتعتمد على الاتصال عبر الهواتف الخلوية، بما يشمل استخدام تطبيق الرسائل النصية المجاني واتس-آب. من بين الأنشطة الخاصة بالمنظمة لدعم اللاجئين أثناء هذه الفترة، توجيه الأفراد عبر الهاتف لكيفية استخدام الخدمات الحكومية، عبر تطبيق Citizens Advice وتقديم الترجمة للأدلة الإرشادية الخاصة بفيروس كوفيد-19.

هناك منظمة أخرى هي "مسرح فوسفوراس"، وهي شركة مسرح في لندن تنظم جولات في المملكة المتحدة للفنانين حول تجارب اللاجئين. تتكون الجولة من شباب جاءوا إلى المملكة المتحدة وهم قصر غير مصحوبين ببالغين. في الظروف العادية، في الفترات التي لا يتم خلالها تنظيم الجولات، تستضيف المجموعة ورش عمل دراما للشباب اللاجئين تطور أيضاً من مهارات الكتابة والحديث بالإنكليزية.

لكن منذ بدء الإغلاق، انتقلت المجموعة إلى استضافة ورش العمل عبر الإنترنت، مع تنظيم فعاليات قليلة من الأداء المسرحي، عبر البث الحي. في أبريل/نيسان دشنت المجموعة سلسلة من مقاطع الفيديو القصيرة بعنوان "لكن لكل شيء نهاية" تناولت فيه العزلة المزدوجة للاجئ أثناء أزمة كوفيد-19. وفي الفيديو يقول الممثل محمد أبو فهمي "هذه الأزمة ستنتهي بدورها، وسوف نصبح أحراراً ثانية".

تصف ماريان سبيرس من "دوست" في جنوب لندن تحد مشابه يتعلق بالقدرة على استخدام التكنولوجيا. جزء من خدمة "دوست" كان تنظيم نادي للهوايات بعد ساعات المدرسة يمكن للطلاب خلاله الاسترخاء ولعب الرياضة وألعاب الطاولة وأداء الفروض المدرسية. تعقد "دوست" منذ مارس/آذار عدة جلسات بشكل أسبوعي، ولكل منها تيمة مختلفة، لصالح مئات الطلاب الذين يمكنهم الانضمام إلى الجلسة عبر الهاتف.

 لكن قالوا إن الحواسب الشخصية قليلة في المجتمعات التي تساعدها تلك المنظمات، دون وجود مؤشر على قدرة الطلاب اللاجئين على الوصول بقدر كافٍ للإنترنت و/أو إمكانية حصولهم على برامج شهرية للإنترنت بلا حدود للاستهلاك.

العديد من الطلاب في مجتمع "دوست" منتظمون في برنامج الرعاية الاجتماعية، وبينما يجب نظرياً أن يتاح لهم جميعاً معدات لعمل الفروض المدرسية، فمن حيث الممارسة يعد الأمر غير منتظم وهي مسألة حظ. بعض الطلاب يكون حظهم حسن فيحصلوا على لاب-توب، وبعضهم يضطرون للبحث بأنفسهم عن سبل لاستخدام الحاسب والإنترنت.

لكن حتى لو أتيح للطلاب المعدات الحاسوبية، تبقى مشكلة الوصول إلى الإنترنت. في حين أن بعض شركات الاتصالات في المملكة المتحدة اتخذت خطوات لضمان قدرة شبكاتها على التعامل مع أعداد قياسية من المستخدمين للهاتف وشبكات الإنترنت، فلم تظهر بعد أية خطط لضمان قدرة الطلاب المستضعفين على الوصول للشبكات. أدت هذه المسألة إلى تجدد دعوة الباحثين والممارسين إلى ضرورة إتاحة الإنترنت كحق من حقوق الإنسان.

إن العالم يعتمد بالفعل على الإنترنت، وهذا من قبل أن تصبح الشبكة العنكبوتية هي وسيلة العمل والتعلم الأساسية، لكننا في عصر يتعارض فيه اعتمادنا الكامل على التكنولوجيا مع المصاعب العملية المتصلة بضمان توفر التكنولوجيا لتلبية مختلف احتياجات جميع أفراد الأسرة في كل الأوقات. المنظمات الثلاث التي تحدثت معها أعربت عن الامتنان لكثرة خيارات الفيديو والرسائل النصية المتوفرة لها، لكن قالوا إن الحواسب الشخصية قليلة في المجتمعات التي تساعدها تلك المنظمات، دون وجود مؤشر على قدرة الطلاب اللاجئين على الوصول بقدر كافٍ للإنترنت و/أو إمكانية حصولهم على برامج شهرية للإنترنت بلا حدود للاستهلاك.

لقد أدت جائحة كوفيد-19 في شتى أنحاء العالم إلى تسليط الضوء على مختلف أنواع اللامساواة وإلى تعقدها، من الرعاية الصحية، إلى الإسكان والأمن الغذائي، إلخ، وكان التعليم من بين القطاعات التي احتاجت لإعادة تنظيم المنظومة بالكامل. في أبريل/نيسان توقع مكتب الميزانية بالحكومة البريطانية أن المنتج التعليمي للمملكة المتحدة سيتقلص بواقع 90%. حتى في ظل إرخاء القيود حالياً، فمن غير المؤكد أن طلاب المدارس الثانوية سيتمكنون من العودة إلى الفصول قبل 2021. إذا استمرت أزمة الشباب المهاجرين واللاجئين في دول العالم الأكثر ثراء، فمن غير المرجح أن يكونوا الفئة الوحيدة التي ستعاني. فالوصول إلى التعليم يحتاج لإعادة تنظيم جذري، وقد تكون تكنولوجيا الهواتف الذكية مقوماً أساسياً في هذا التخطيط.

 

ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED: June 12, 2020

كريستا بلاكمون هي باحثة أمريكية معنية بحقوق الإنسان ومُعلمة، وتعمل في لندن حالياً. تخرجت كريستا في معهد SOAS بدرجة ماجستير في الأنثروبولوجيا الاجتماعية عام 2016. حساب كريستا على تويتر: @TheOdalisque


 

COMMENTS
Stay connected! Join our weekly newsletter to stay up-to-date on our newest content.  SUBSCRIBE

London refugee groups offer online services but face disparities in connectivity

With millions of the world’s students now facing extended learning at home, the required access to the internet—and to the right devices—is exposing drastic inequalities.




There is already a significant level of social isolation in being a refugee, and with many cities on lockdown during the global pandemic, refugees, particularly young adults and children enrolled in school, are now facing a double isolation. It is imperative to consider the relationship between these children and the available technology for education so that they do not slip through the cracks.

The United Kingdom is home to thousands of newly arrived refugees and asylum seekers. Government statistics show that the UK granted asylum to over 20,000 applications in 2019, a 64% increase from the previous year. Additionally, a further 7,000 applications were issued for family reunification of those granted asylum in previous years. A scheme specifically for Syrian nationals has been in place since 2014, and some 19,000 Syrians have been resettled in the UK, with an additional 1,700 unaccompanied minors from Syria. Now, these refugees are facing compounded challenges of access, language, and connectivity in the face of the COVID-19 crisis.

Schools in the UK have slowly started to reopen as of June 1st. Some individual schools have been planning to stay closed until the 2020-2021 academic year beings in September. Yearly exams that secondary students take, such as the GCSE and A-Levels, would normally have taken place in May but have now been cancelled. The final grades for these exams now depend on independent coursework done at home. Under normal circumstances, a young teenager could possibly rely on access to books, computers, and other equipment at school. Under lockdown, a student’s success may be unfairly tied to the quality of their home, something they have no control over.

For example, refugee and migrant families who already experience financial hardship may struggle to share computers among adults and children in the household. This inevitably means that these students will have to depend on the connections they can access on their mobile phones. Smartphones are a lifeline for these communities and although schools have adapted to online learning, mobile technologies have limited compatibility with an online curriculum.

Under lockdown, a student’s success may be unfairly tied to the quality of their home, something they have no control over.

One of the organisations trying to help is Salusbury World, a local Northwest London organisation that works in schools and neighbourhoods to support migrant and refugee children and families. Like many organisations during the lockdown, Salusbury World now operates on a reduced service and is relying more on mobile phone communication, including the free texting service WhatsApp. Among their activities supporting refugees during this time are talking through access to government services via Citizens Advice and providing translations of COVID-19 guidelines.

Another organisation is Phosphoros Theatre, a London-based theatre company that tours the UK with performances about refugee experiences. Their company is made up of young men who came to the UK as unaccompanied minors. Under normal circumstances, when not touring, the group hosts drama workshops for refugee youth that develop writing and speaking skills in English.

Since the lockdown began, Phosphoros moved into hosting their workshops online and even has live-streamed some performances. In April, they debuted a series of digital shorts, called “But Everything Has an Ending”, which addressed the double isolation of being a refugee during the COVID-19 crisis. “This time will end too,” says actor Mohamed Abdu Fahmi, “And we will be free again.”

Marian Spiers of Dost in South London describes a similar challenge with access to technology. Part of Dost's service was an afterschool clubhouse where students could come to relax, play sports, play board games and get homework help. Since March, Dost has been holding multiple weekly sessions, each with a different focus, for their hundreds of students, who are often joining via smartphones.

With laptops in short supply among their community, there was no indication that refugee students would have adequate internet access.

Many of the students in Dost's community are in social care, and while they should, in theory, all have the equipment needed for schoolwork, in practice it is more about luck. Some students will have been fortunate enough to have been given a laptop, but others have to scrounge for access to a computer.

But even if the students have the right hardware, the question of being able to connect to the internet remains. While many telecommunication companies in the United Kingdom have taken steps to ensure that their networks can handle the record numbers of people using their mobile and broadband networks, there has not yet been any scheme implemented to ensure that vulnerable students have access to these networks. This issue has led for a renewed call by both scholars and practitioners that access to the internet must be considered a human right.

The world was already dependent on the internet before it became the primary mode of work and education, but we are in an era where our complete dependence on technology is at odds with the logistics of ensuring access for the various needs of all members in a household at all times. All three organisations I spoke to were grateful for the many video and texting options available, but they lamented that with laptops in short supply among their community, there was no indication that refugee students would have adequate internet access and/or might be provided with unlimited data plans.

Around the world, COVID-19 has highlighted and exacerbated various types of inequality—healthcare, housing, food security, and so on—and education is among the sectors that are rethinking their system as a whole. In April, the British government’s Office of Budget Responsibility projected that the UK’s education output would be reduced by 90%. Even with the current relaxing of restrictions, it is uncertain that secondary school students will be returning to physical classrooms before 2021. If migrant and refugee youth in some of the world’s most prosperous countries are allowed to flounder, it is unlikely that they will be alone. Access to education must be reconsidered as a whole and smartphone technology could be the key.

 

ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED: June 12, 2020

Christa Blackmon is an American human rights researcher and educator currently based in London. She graduated from SOAS with an MA in Social Anthropology in 2016. Find her on Twitter: @TheOdalisque.


 

COMMENTS
Stay connected! Join our weekly newsletter to stay up-to-date on our newest content.  SUBSCRIBE