[ X ]

نشاط المحكمة الجنائية الدولية والآثار المحلية للإجرام العابر للحدو

مناقشات صاخبة في السياق الإسرائيلي/الفلسطيني قلّلت من شأن دور المحكمة الجنائية الدولية في التأثير على علاقات إسرائيل مع دول أخرى، وخاصة في أوروبا.


By: Valentina Azarov
June 16, 2015

Available in:
English


يُسلّط القانون الجنائي الدولي الضوء على دور أفراد معينين وعلى الآليات القانونية والإدارية المحلية المسؤولة عن الجرائم الدولية. لكنه لا يعمل في عزلة، بل يتفاعل مع هيئات قانون محلية وإقليمية. وبالتالي، عندما تقوم المحكمة الجنائية الدولية بالتحقيق مع مسؤولين وهيئات في دولة ما، فإن القانون الداخلي في دول أخرى قد يؤثر على العلاقات مع الخاضعين للتحقيق (حتى قبل إقرار أي ملاحقات قضائية في بعض الحالات). وهناك معايير ينطوي عليها عامل القانون الإنساني والجنائي الدولي في التقييمات المستندة على القانون الداخلي للتعاون العسكري بين الدول وتجارة السلاح وقدرة الأفراد (أو الهيئات) على السفر وإدارة الأموال والأصول في الخارج.  

وهذا يعني أن الإجراءات التي تتخذها المحكمة الجنائية الدولية قد تؤدي إلى آثار طارئة تصل إلى ما هو أبعد من الملاحقات القضائية الجنائية الفردية. وتنجم مثل هذه الآثار عن الالتزامات القانونية الداخلية لدول أخرى باحترام  القانون الدولي والحفاظ على التساوق بين مواقفها في السياسة العامة ونظامها القانوني الداخلي.

فإن معاينة المحكمة الجنائية الدولية للوضع في فلسطين يعني أن دولاً خارجية وجهات خاصة قد بدأت تتنبه للمخاطر القانونية المترتبة على علاقاتها مع إسرائيل.

 وبالتالي، فإن معاينة المحكمة الجنائية الدولية للوضع في فلسطين يعني أن دولاً خارجية وجهات خاصة قد بدأت تتنبه للمخاطر القانونية المترتبة على علاقاتها مع إسرائيل، ويُرجَّح أن تصبح واعية بشدة لهذه المخاطر. وينشأ ذلك جزئياً عن "أثر تجسيد" القانون الجنائي الدولي: حقيقة أنه يلاحق أسماء وأفراد وهيئات خاصة من المتورطين بسلوك إجرامي. فعلى سبيل المثال، إذا قامت المحكمة الجنائية الدولية أو جهات أخرى بإبداء قلقها من أن مسؤولين عسكريين أو سياسيين إسرائيليين، أو هيئات خاصة كشركات إدارة الأراضي وتمليكها للمستوطنين متورطون بجرائم دولية، فقد تجد الدول الخارجية أن من الضروري أن تقوم بالحد من أنشطتهم وتحويلاتهم للأموال وسفرهم.

وكان الاتحاد الأوروبي قد اتخذ خطوات مماثلة بشأن ضم  روسيا غير الشرعي لشبه جزيرة القرم—مُظهراً أن المخاوف بشأن القانون الدولي والشرعية يمكن أن يكون لها آثار قانونية محلية. منهاعلى سبيل المثال، قرار مجلس الاتحاد الأوروبي بفرض قيود على السفر وتجميد الأصول لـ 150 شخصاً و37 هيئة—وهو قرار ساري المفعول في كافة الدول الأعضاء في الاتحاد الأوروبي. ووفقاً للمجلس الأوروبي، فإن الأساس في هذه التدابير—المتبناة "بالتمشي الكامل مع مقتضيات قانون الاتحاد الأوروبي"—هو المسؤولية الفردية لهؤلاء الأشخاص، بمن فيهم المسؤولين السياسيين والعسكريين الروس الذين تم تعيينهم لتعزيز وإدامة الضم غير الشرعي و التحويل لمنطقة أوكرانية ذات سيادة.

وتستند التقييدات على أهداف السياسة الخارجية للاتحاد الأوروبي، ولكنها تستند أيضاً على حاجة الدول الأعضاء في الاتحاد الأوروبي لضمان الأمن الداخلي في منطقة شنغن من خلال منع دخول أفراد متورطين في جرائم جنائية منظمة. وبموجب قانون حدود شنغن، فإن الدول الأعضاء يُمكنها أن ترفض دخول أشخاص معينين إذا  صدر تحذير ضدهم لكونهم "يُشكّلون تهديداً على السياسة العامة والأمن الداخلي والصحة العامة، أو على العلاقات الدولية لأي من الدول الأعضاء."

وقرار آخر صادر عن مجلس الاتحاد الأوروبي، يعطي توجيهاً للدول الأعضاء بأن تردّ على الممارسات الروسية التي تزعزع استقرار أوكرانيا، بفرض حظر كامل على الأسلحة. إن الحظر الذي يلتزم  بـ مدونة قواعد السلوك للاتحاد الأوروبي بشأن تصدير الأسلحة، يتماشى أيضاً مع المعايير الدولية المنصوص عليها في معاهدة تجارة الأسلحة. وسيتم استخدام الحظر على نقل الأسلحة من أجل "تأكيد المطالبة الإقليمية بالقوة" عند وجود "خطر أسمى"، أو عند ارتكاب مخالفات جسيمة لاتفاقيات جنيف.

وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن العقوبات التي تفرضها الولايات المتحدة على أوكرانيا وروسيا، تشمل تقييدات مماثلة على  السفر والتجارة، وتهدف أيضاً إلى "توجيه رسالة قوية للحكومة الروسية بأن هناك عواقب لممارساتها التي تهدد سيادة أوكرانيا وسلامتها الإقليمية.


Demotix/Kate Nye (All rights reserved)

A protest against an Israeli arms supplier in Brighton, UK. The personification of criminality pursued by the ICC will force state institutions and private entities to reevaluate their relationships with Israel as allegations of crimes against humanity develop.


وفي حالة إسرائيل، فإن التحقيقات والملاحقات القضائية الدولية للأفراد لا تلوح في الأفق حتى الآن. ولكن، إن كان على المحكمة الجنائية الدولية أن تتخذ هذه الخطوات، فقد تكون هناك تداعيات إضافية لممارسات إسرائيل غير المشروعة دولياً وممارساتها الإجرامية المزعومة. ومثل هذه التحقيقات تعني أنه سيكون لدى دول خارجية—وبعضها تأخذ بعين الاعتبار منذ الآن آثار اعتداءات إسرائيل على نظامها القانوني الداخلي—حيز إضافي لتبنّي تدابير تقييدية من أجل استبعاد الإجرام الإسرائيلي المشبوه العابر للحدود من نطاقها المحلي.

وعلى المستوى المؤسساتي، على سبيل المثال، من الواضح أن بعض الدول الخارجية قد درست مبيعاتها للأسلحة وتعاونها العسكري مع إسرائيل، مقابل المخاطر المرتبطة بسجلّ الجيش الإسرائيلي السيئ بالامتثال للقانون الإنساني الدولي وقانون حقوق الإنسان. وعلى أثر الاعتداءات على غزة في صيف 2014، والتي أسمتها إسرائيل بعملية الحافة الواقية، قامت إسبانيا بحظر كافة صادرات السلاح إلى إسرائيل (وكانت قد باعت إسرائيل في عام 2013 أسلحة بقيمة 4.99 مليون يورو شملت صمامات قنابل يدوية ونظم بصرية وأسلحة أخرى)، وبدأت المملكة المتحدة بمراجعة مبيعاتها من الأسلحة والمعدات العسكرية لإسرائيل (والتي بلغت 77 مليارات باوند ما بين يناير/كانون الثاني ويونيو/حزيران من عام 2014). وفي أغسطس/آب من عام 20144 وجدت إدارة المملكة المتحدة للأعمال والابتكار والمهارات (BIS) أن ما يصل إلى 12 رخصة تصدير نشطة لأسلحة بريطانية ربما استُخدمتفي الاعتداءات على غزة. وتم اتخاذ قرار بتعطيلها في حال استئناف الاعتداءات. وفي أوكتوبر/تشرين الأول، يبدو أنه قد تم استبعاد إسرائيل من تدريبات القوى الجوية متعددة الجنسيات في إيطاليا.

ومن جهتها، أطلقت إسرائيل سلسلة من التحقيقات حول اعتداءات 2014 على غزة، تهدف غالباً إلى قطع الطريق على تحقيقات المحكمة الجنائية الدولية. وكجزء من محاولاتها للاستفادة من امتيازات دولة تحترم القانون، فإنها تصرّ على أن تحقيقاتها العسكرية بشأن المخالفات المزعومة تتماشى مع القانون الدولي.ولية.

غالباً ما يتم انتقاد التطبيق الانتقائي للقانون الدولي؛ ومع ذلك، فإن العلاقات الوثيقة بين القانون الدولي والنظام القانوني الداخلي للدول التي تمتثل للقانون والملتزمة بمشروع القانون الدولي، تقدّم فرصاً للتطبيق. وكما يؤكد جينس أولين بقوة، "المصلحة الذاتية هي مصدر الالتزام بالنظام الدولي، وليس نقيضها." وحتى مع عدم وجود ملاحقات قضائية، فمن المرجح أن الآثار القياسية المضاعفة المترتبة على معاينة المحكمة الجنائية الدولية الدقيقة للمخالفات الإسرائيلية من خلال عدسة "الإجرام الدولي" ستعزز عمليات التطبيق الداخلية القائمة والتي تتمحور حول الشرعية الدولية.

 


فالنتينا أزاروف هي محاضِرة في حقوق الإنسان والقانون الدولي في جامعة بير زيت في فلسطين، وهي عضوة سياسة في الشبكة.

 
 


 

COMMENTS

ICC action and the domestic effects of transnational criminality

Noisy discussions in the Israeli/Palestinian context have obscured how the ICC’s role may impact Israel’s relations with other states, especially in Europe. 


By: Valentina Azarov
June 16, 2015

Available in:
العربية


International criminal law puts the spotlight on the role of specific individuals, and on the domestic legal and administrative mechanisms responsible for international crimes. But it doesn’t operate in isolation; it interacts with domestic and regional bodies of law. Thus, if the ICC is investigating state officials and entities, domestic law in other countries may impact relationships with those under investigation (in some cases even before any prosecutions). Criteria enshrined in international humanitarian and criminal law factor into domestic law-based assessments of inter-state military cooperation, arms trade, and individuals’ (or entities’) ability to travel or manage funds and assets abroad.  

This means the actions of the International Criminal Court (ICC) could trigger incidental effects far beyond individual criminal prosecutions. Such effects follow from other states’ internal legal obligations to respect international law, and to maintain consistency between their public policy positions and their internal legal order.

The ICC examination of the situation in Palestine means third party states and private actors, which have already begun to awaken to the legal risks entailed by their relations with Israel, are likely to become even more acutely aware of these risks. 

Thus, the ICC examination of the situation in Palestine means third party states and private actors, which have begun to awaken to the legal risks entailed by their relations with Israel, are likely to become even more acutely aware of these risks. This arises, in part, due to international criminal law’s “personification effect”: the fact that it pursues and names individuals and private entities involved in criminal conduct. If, for instance, the ICC or other actors raised concerns that Israeli military or political officials, or private entities such as settler land acquisition and management companies, were involved in international crimes, foreign states might find it necessary to restrict their activities, their transfers of funds, and their travel.

The European Union (EU) has already enacted similar steps with regards to Russia’s unlawful annexation of Crimea—showing that concerns over international law and legality can have domestic legal effects.  For example, an EU Council Decision imposes travel restrictions and asset freezes on 150 people and 37 entities—valid in all EU Member States. The basis for these measures—adopted “in full compliance with the requirements of EU law”, according to the European Council—is the individual responsibility of these persons, including Russian-appointed political and military officials, for furthering and maintaining the illegal annexation and transformation of sovereign Ukrainian territory.

The restrictions are based on the EU’s foreign policy aims, but also on EU Member States’ need to ensure internal security in the visa-free Schengen Area by prohibiting the entry of individuals involved in organized criminal offenses. Under the Schengen Border Code, Member States may refuse entry to specific persons if an alert has been issued against them for being “considered a threat to public policy, internal security, public health or the international relations of any of the Member States.”

Another EU Council Decision directs Member States to respond to Russian actions that are destabilizing Ukraine by imposing a complete arms embargo. The ban, which follows the EU Code of Conduct on Arms Export, is also in line with international standards enshrined in the Arms Trade Treaty. These prohibit arms transfers when there is an “overriding risk” they will be used to “assert by force a territorial claim” or commit grave breaches of the Geneva Conventions.

Notably, the Ukraine and Russia sanctions imposed by the US include similar travel and trade restrictions, and are also intended to “send a strong message to the Russian government that there are consequences for their actions that threaten the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine.”


Demotix/Kate Nye (All rights reserved)

A protest against an Israeli arms supplier in Brighton, UK.


In the case of Israel, international investigations and prosecutions of individuals are not, as yet, on the horizon. However, should the ICC take these steps, there could be additional repercussions for Israel’s internationally illegal and allegedly criminal conduct. Such investigations would mean third party states—some which are already considering the effects of Israeli wrongdoing on their domestic legal orders—would have additional scope for adopting restrictive measures to exclude suspect Israeli transnational criminality from their domestic domain.

At the institutional level, for instance, some third party states have apparently measured their arms sales and military cooperation with Israel against the risks associated with the Israeli military’s poor record of compliance with international humanitarian and human rights law.  Following the summer 2014 hostilities in Gaza, which Israel code-named Operation Protective Edge, Spain banned all arms exports to Israel (it sold €4.9 million of grenade fuses, optical systems, and other arms to Israel in 2013), and the UK initiated a review of its sales of arms and military equipment to Israel (worth £7 billion annually from January to June 2014). In August 2014, the UK Department of Business, Innovation and Skills (BIS) found that there were up to 12 active export licenses for UK arms that may have been used in the Gaza hostilities. It decided to suspend them in the event that hostilities recommence. In October, Israel was apparently excluded from multinational air force drills in Italy.

For its part, Israel has launched a series of inquiries into the 2014 hostilities with Gaza, largely aimed at heading off ICC investigations. As part of its attempts to benefit from the privileges of a law-abiding state, it insists that the military’s investigation of its own alleged wrongdoing is in line with international law.

The selective enforcement of international law is often criticized. Yet the close ties between international law and the domestic legal order of law-abiding states committed to the project of international law, present opportunities for enforcement. As Jens Ohlin forcefully affirms, “self-interest is the source of obligation in the international system, not its antithesis.” Even short of prosecutions, the normative ripple effects of the ICC’s close examination of Israeli wrongdoing through the lens of ‘international criminality’ are likely to further existing domestic enforcement processes hinged on international legality.


Valentina Azarova is a lecturer in human rights & international law, Birzeit University, Palestine, and policy member, Al-Shabaka.

 
 


 

COMMENTS