القمع "الناعم" في المغرب للناشطين في مجال حقوق الإنسان

لا تزال السلطات المغربية تستخدم الأساليب القديمة في قمع المعارضين. بدون الدعم الشعبي، هل تستطيع جماعات حقوق الإنسان المقاومة والصمود؟ 


By: Zine El Abidine Meknassi 
September 29, 2015

Available in:
English | Français


بينما كان المغرب يستعرض إنجازاته في مجال حقوق الإنسان في مقر الأمم المتحدة في جنيف في يونيو الماضي، كان الصحفي علي المرابط مضرباً عن الطعام خارج الأبواب الأمامية. لقد كان محتجاً على رفض السلطات  المغربية تسليمه وثيقة إدارية بسيطة لتجديد إقامته في المغرب. فقد رفضت السلطات في البداية (على الرغم من رضوخها في وقت لاحق)، مدعية أنه لم يستكمل الإجراءات الإدارية اللازمة. ومع ذلك في الواقع، لقد تم رفضه لأسباب سياسية. لقد عاش المرابط خارج المغرب لمدة عشر سنوات بعد فرض حظر الكتابة عليه لمدة عشر سنوات، وبعد مرور هذه المدة أعلن عن نيته العودة إلى المغرب وإطلاق صحيفة معارضة.

قبل عام مضى، حظرت وزارة الداخلية أنشطة عديدة نظمتها المنظمات غير الحكومية لحقوق الإنسان التي تنتقد  نظام الحكم، ومن المفارقات زعمها أن هذه الأنشطة تشكك في مصداقية جهود الدولة لتحسين أوضاع حقوق الإنسان. وجاء الحظر بعد خطاب ألقاه وزير الداخلية في البرلمان في يونيو 2014، حيث ربط بين الإرهاب ونقد المنظمات غير الحكومية لحقوق الإنسان لجهود الدولة لمحاربة هذا الإرهاب.

من المهم أن نلاحظ وجود تحسن إيجابي، وإن كان بطيئاً، على مستوى حقوق الإنسان وممارسة حرية التعبير في المغرب. ولكن هذا التحسن يتأرجح صعوداً وهبوطاً لأن المسؤولين يترددون في اتخاذ إجراءات صارمة ضد بعض الممارسات القمعية. المغرب لديه مجتمع مدني ضعيف نسبياً من حيث النشاط في مجال حقوق الإنسان، ولا يوجد ما يكفي من الضغط الشعبي على المسؤولين لاتخاذ الإجراءات اللازمة. ونظراً لأن النشطاء المغاربة في مجال حقوق الإنسان لا يملكون قاعدة شعبية قوية لمخاطبة الرأي العام أو التأثير عليه، فإنهم ببساطة لا يمكنهم التأثير على صانعي القرار. وكما لاحظ جيمس رون وزملاؤه، يجب أن يكون لدى الجماعات المحلية لحقوق الإنسان مستوى معين من الدعم المحلي لتحقيق النجاح.


Demotix/alessandro parente (All rights reserved)

The Moroccan state strategically employs various techniques to limit freedoms within the scope of law, and journalists and human rights activists are often the target.


بعد أن هدأت وتيرة الاحتجاجات السياسية عام 2011، بدأت الدولة في سن سياسات صارمة ضد المعارضين لنظام الحكم. وقد طال ذلك عدد من نشطاء حقوق الإنسان والصحفيين من كلا التيارين العلماني والإسلامي. وبالإضافة إلى المعارضين المعتادين لنظام الحكم من خارج مؤسسات الدولة، مثل البرلمان والحكومة، فقد قامت الدولة أيضاً بقمع شخصيات بارزة من حزب العدالة والتنمية، الحزب الحاكم في المغرب، وبعض مسؤولي الدولة السابقين.

يوجد شكلان مميزان للقمع تستخدمهما السلطات عادة: القمع "الناعم" (الإغراءات والضغوط النفسية) والقمع "القاسي" (التهم الجنائية والاعتقالات والسجن). تلقى الناشطون في حركة 20 فبراير نصيب الأسد من هذه  الاعتقالات، وكانت التهم (ولا تزال) غالباً لا علاقة لها بنشاطهم السياسي. قد يتم ضبط أي ناشط بسبب تعاطيه المخدرات (غالباً الحشيش)، التورط في علاقات جنسية خارج الزواج، أو تهمة الإشادة بالإرهاب. على سبيل المثال، تم اعتقال معاذ بلغوات (الملقب بالحاقد) وهو مغني راب معروف في حركة 20 فبراير، بسبب شجار بسيط مع مواطن آخر، وحكم عليه بالسجن لمدة سنة، في حين أن السبب الحقيقي وراء اعتقاله كان هو نشاطه السياسي وبسبب أغانيه التحريضية ضد النظام.

 تقوم الدولة استراتيجياً باستخدام تقنيات مختلفة للحد من الحريات في نطاق القانون، وغالباً ما يكون الصحفيون ونشطاء حقوق الإنسان هم المستهدفون.

 أما بالنسبة للمضايقات "الناعمة"، تقوم الدولة استراتيجياً باستخدام تقنيات مختلفة للحد من الحريات في نطاق القانون، وغالباً ما يكون الصحفيون ونشطاء حقوق الإنسان هم المستهدفون. تلجأ الدولة غالباً للتشهير في وسائل الإعلام، وتثير حالة من الخوف أو الذعر بين العائلات من خلال الاعتقالات وخلق اتهامات باطلة تتعلق بالفساد  الأخلاقي والسلوكي.

مثلاً، تم شن حملة تشهير ضد المعارضين اليساريين، ضمنهم معطي منجب، مدير مركز ابن رشد، وذلك عقب ندوة أقيمت سنة 2014 بغرض إيجاد تقارب بين الإسلاميين والعلمانيين بالمغرب، كما اعتقلت السلطات أحدالصحفيين المقربين من منجب بتهمة الخيانة الزوجية بهدف  ترهيبه وإجباره على التوقف عن انتقاد نظام الحكم.

أما بالنسبة لرجال الأعمال المعارضين، فبالإضافة إلى استخدام التشهير، تلجأ الدولة أيضاً إلى آلية المراجعة الضريبية والتضييق على النشاط التجاري. رجل الأعمال البارز كريم التازي هو أحد الأمثلة: بسبب دعمه لحركة 200 فبراير، قامت  إدارة الضرائب بمراجعة الضرائب  المتراكمة على شركاته على مدى سنوات، وألزمته بتسوية الوضع القانوني للعاملين لديه. هذه الأنواع من عمليات التدقيق هي على الأرجح مدفوعة باعتبارات سياسية، وليست بالرغبة في تطبيق القانون.

ومن المثير للاهتمام، تم إطلاق حملات التشهير والاضطهاد القانونية أيضاً ضد شخصيات تابعة لحزب العدالة والتنمية، أو بعض مسؤولي الدولة السابقين. وكان هذا بالتأكيد هو الحال مع حسن أوريد، وهو زميل دراسة سابق للملك، وقد تولى العديد من المناصب الرفيعة في الدولة، وخصوصاً أول متحدث باسم القصر، ووالي جهة (محافظ) جهة مكناس، ومؤرخ المملكة. وبعد أن أظهر دعمه لحركة 20 فبراير، أصبح مستهدفاً. وتقاضيه وزارة الداخلية حالياً بتهمة الحصول على  ضيعة فلاحية الذي هو في الواقع ملك للدولة، وذلك عندما كان محافظ مكناس.  وتطالبه وزارة الداخلية بإعادة العقار، وقد تم حرمان أوريد من جميع الامتيازات التي كان يتمتع بها عندما كان مقرباً من النظام.

وبالمثل، كان عبدالعالي حامي الدين ، القيادي في حزب العدالة والتنمية، هدفاً لحملة تشهير واسعة النطاق أطلقتهاصحف مقربة من الأجهزة الأمنية. وقد حدث هذا بعد أن نشر مقالاً ينتقد ما وصفه إساءة استخدام الملك لسلطاته  الدستورية وخرق صلاحيات رئيس الحكومة.

ولكن لا يرتبط كل شيء بالعقاب. غالباً ما تحاول الدولة في البداية أن تستميل المعارضين إلى جانبها من خلال بعض الحوافز والمغريات، مثل دفع تمويل رحلات وأسفار ، أو منح الامتيازات الأعمال التجارية، أو تقديم الوعود بتوظيف الأقارب، من بين أمور أخرى. وقد استخدمت الدولة هذه الاستراتيجيات بنجاح مع بعض نشطاء حركة 20 فبراير، حيث تم منحهم فرص عمل أو ترقيات في العمل.

استراتيجية "العصا والجزرة" التي تستخدمها السلطات لإسكات المنتقدين تؤدي إلى إضعاف قاعدة التأييد الشعبي لحقوق الإنسان والتي هي ضعيفة في الأصل . بالمحصلة، يبدو أن الأمل بأن  تغيرات عميقة ستحصلبعد احتجاجات عام 2011 أمر بعيد المنال على المدى المنظور، لهذا تحتاج الجمعيات المحلية لحقوق الإنسان الآن إلى تحول هائل في التأييد الشعبي اذا كانت تريد محاربة قمع النظام المتواصل. ويبقى التحدي هو كيف ستحصل على هذا التأييد.

 


The author is a political sociologist whose work focuses on Moroccan politics. He has worked for European and American think tanks, and published extensively on Morocco.

 
 


 

COMMENTS

[ X ] Create your own user feedback survey

Morocco’s “soft” repression of human rights activists

Moroccan authorities still use old methods of oppressing opponents. Without popular support, can human rights groups fight back? 


By: Zine El Abidine Meknassi 
September 29, 2015

Available in:
Français | العربية


While Morocco was showcasing its human rights accomplishments at the UN headquarters in Geneva last June, journalist Ali Mrabet was on a hunger strike outside the front doors. He was protesting against the Moroccan Authorities’ refusal to hand him a simple administrative document to renew his residence in Morocco. The authorities initially refused (though later acquiesced), claiming that he did not complete the required administrative procedures. In reality, however, he was declined for political reasons. Mrabet had been living outside Morocco for a decade after receiving a ten-year writing ban, after which he declared his intention to return to Morocco and launch an opposition newspaper.

One year earlier, the Ministry of Interior banned several activities organized by human rights NGOs that criticize the regime, ironically claiming that such activities discredit the state’s efforts in improving human rights conditions. The ban came after the Minister of Interior’s speech at the Parliament in June 2014, where he made a correlation between terrorism and human rights NGOs’ criticism of state efforts to fight that terrorism.

It’s important to note that there has been a positive, yet slow, improvement in the level of human rights and the freedom of expression in Morocco. But this improvement fluctuates back and forth as officials are reluctant to take firm action against some oppressive practices. Morocco has a fairly weak community of human rights activism, and there is not enough push from the public for officials to take action. Because Moroccan human rights activists don’t have a strong popular base to appeal to or influence public opinion, they simply cannot sway decision markers. As James Ron and his colleagues have noted, local human rights groups must have some level of local support to succeed.


Demotix/alessandro parente (All rights reserved)

The Moroccan state strategically employs various techniques to limit freedoms within the scope of law, and journalists and human rights activists are often the target.


After the storm of political protests in 2011 calmed down, the state began to enact harsh policies against opponents to the regime. This affected a number of human right activists and journalists from both the secular and Islamist ends of the spectrum. In addition to the usual opponents to the regime from outside state institutions, such as the parliament and government, the state also cracked down on leading figures from the party of Justice and Development (PJD), the ruling party in Morocco, and former state officials.

There are two distinct forms of oppression that the authorities commonly use: “soft” oppression (temptations and psychological pressure) and “tough” oppression (criminal charges, arrests and prison time). Activists in the 20 February Movement (M20F) received the lion’s share of these arrests, but the charges laid were (and still are) often not connected to their political activity. An activist may be caught using drugs (often hashish), or cheating on his/her spouse, or charged with supporting terrorism. Mouad Belaghouat (also known as El Haqed) for example—a famous rapper in the M20F—was arrested because of a brawl with another citizen and sentenced to one year in prison. But in reality, he was shut down for his political activity and his songs protesting against the regime.

The state strategically employs various techniques to limit freedoms within the scope of law, and journalists and human rights activists are often the target. 

In terms of “soft” harassment, the state strategically employs various techniques to limit freedoms within the scope of law, and journalists and human rights activists are often the target. The state frequently resorts to slander in media, causing fear or panic among families by making arrests and creating accusations of moral and behavioral corruption.

For example, a slander campaign was launched against left-wing opponents, including Maâti Monjib, the director of Ibn Rochd Center, following a seminar that was organized about finding a common ground between Islamists and seculars in Morocco. The authorities also arrested a journalist close to Monjib on charges of marital infidelity, to scare him and force him to stop criticizing the regime.

For businessmen—in addition to using slander—the state also uses tax auditing and restriction of business activity. Prominent businessman Karim Tazi is one example: due to his support of the M20F, the Ministry of Finance and the Tax Department audited the taxes accumulated by his firms for years and obliged him to settle the legal status of his workers. These kinds of audits are most likely instigated by political considerations, rather than a desire to apply the law.

Interestingly enough, slander and legal persecution campaigns were also launched against figures affiliated with the PJD, or former state officials. This was certainly the case with Hassan Aourid—a former classmate of the king who assumed several high-level positions in the state, notably the first Palace Spokesman, the Governor of Meknes, and the Kingdom’s historian. After he showed his support for the M20F, he became a target. He is currently being prosecuted by the Ministry of Interior on charges of obtaining a rural estate when he was Governor of Meknes that is actually the property of the state. The Ministry of Interior is demanding that he returns the estate, and Aourid has been stripped of any privileges he enjoyed when he was close to the monarchy.

Similarly, Addelali Hamiedine, a leader in the PJD, was the target of a wide-scale slander campaign by newspapers close to security services. This happened after he published an article criticizing what he described as the king’s abuse of his constitutional powers and breach of the powers of the head of government.

But it’s not all about punishment. The state often initially tries to win the opponents with incentives, by paying for trips, granting privileges and business connections, or promising to employ relatives, among other things. They used such strategies successfully with some of the 20 February Movement activists, where they were granted job opportunities or promotions at work.

These “carrot and stick” approaches used by authorities to silence critics are eroding an already weak public support base for human rights. In sum, the hope that Morocco might radically change after the 2011 protests is far from realization. Local human rights groups need to garner public support now if they want to fight against the regime’s ongoing repression. How they will get that support remains the challenge.

 

 


The author is a political sociologist whose work focuses on Moroccan politics. He has worked for European and American think tanks, and published extensively on Morocco.

 
 


 

COMMENTS