الحقوق بصفتها الردّ المطلوب للتعامل مع الانهيار البيئي الوشيك

الإقرار بالحق الإنساني في الحياة في بيئة صحية – وبحقوق الطبيعة ذاتها – ضروري لمستقبل الإنسانية وكوكب الأرض على السواء.


By: David R. Boyd
March 20, 2019

Available in:
English | Français | Español


Photo: BringByBoringBrick/DeviantArt


ها هي البشرية تمضي كالسائرين نيامًا نحو كارثة إيكولوجية كبرى. تراجعت أعداد مختلف الكائنات في البرّية بنسبة مذهلة، بلغت ستين بالمئة على مدار السنوات الخمسين، ما يؤدي إلى تسارع الانحسار المتسارع في درجة تنوع ووفرة أشكال الحياة التي نشاركها هذا الكوكب البهي الذي طالت معاناته معنا. وها هو التغير المناخي يُطلق أضراره على البشر والكائنات الأخرى، من موجات الحرّ والجفاف إلى العواصف والفيضانات الشديدة والمتكررة. إننا نقترب بسرعة كبيرة من نقاط التحول التي لا رجعة عنها، الكفيلة بجعل كوكب الأرض غير قابل للحياة بالنسبة إلى البشر ولكائنات أخرى كثيرة. وفي الوقت نفسه، يقتل التلوث بوتيرة متسارعة أفراد أكثر كل عام، بأعداد تفوق قتلى الحروب وحوادث القتل وحوادث الطرق ومرض السل والإيدز والملاريا مجتمعين.

كما قالت الهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ في تقريرها الخاص الخريف الماضي، فإن العالم بحاجة إلى "تغيرات سريعة بعيدة المدى وغير مسبوقة من كافة أوجه المجتمع" لدرء الكوارث الإيكولوجية الكفيلة بإنزال قدر هائل من المعاناة والانتهاكات الحقوقية، لا سيما على الأشخاص الأفقر والأكثر هشاشة بيننا.

ونظرًا لخطورة وإلحاح التحديات البيئية التي تواجه البشرية، فإن علينا الاستفادة من أقوى الأدوات والنُهُج المتوفرة لنا للحفاظ على ما تبقى من التنوع الحيوي للكوكب، ومن ثم إعادته إلى مجده القديم. ومن السبل الواعدة – بناء على سلسلة من السوابق التاريخية الهامة – الاستفادة من النُهُج المستندة إلى حقوق الإنسان.

يزخر التاريخ بأمثلة ملهمة على قدرة الحقوق على إحداث تحولات كبرى، من تمكين الحركات الشعبية من التغلب على مقاومة الأطراف النافذة لمطالبها وتغيير الوضع القائم. استطاع المطالبون بإنهاء العبودية تحقيق مطالبهم في معركة غير متكافئة ولا تصب في صالحهم، ضد ملاك الأراضي الأثرياء والشركات التي استفادت من استغلال الأشخاص معدومي الحقوق. واستفاد المطالبون بتمكين المرأة من الحق في التصويت من الإطار الحقوقي. وخاضت حركة الحقوق المدنية في الولايات المتحدة معركة حثيثة لكفالة الحقوق الدستورية للأمريكيين من أصول أفريقية في صورة تشريعات وأحكام محاكم، وعبر احتجاجات الشوارع، فثوّرت المجتمع الأمريكي. ثم إن هناك النشطاء ضد الأبارتيد، والمطالبين بحقوق الشعوب الأصلية والمطالبين بحقوق مجتمع الميم.. فقائمة الحركات الحقوقية التي أنجزت مكتسبات استثنائية طويلة ومبهرة.

هناك مقاربتان واعدتان تستندان إلى حقوق الإنسان، يمكنهما أن تغيرا كثيرًا من حالة صحة وسلامة البشر والنظم البيئية. المقاربة الأولى هي الاعتراف العالمي بالحق الإنساني في بيئة صحية ومستدامة. والثانية تخص مد مظلة الحقوق بما يتجاوز البشر إلى الكائنات الأخرى، والنظم البيئية، والطبيعة في حد ذاتها.

إن الحق في بيئة صحية ومستدامة يتمتع بالفعل بعمق وقبول كبيرين في شتى أنحاء العالم، لكن يجب بذل مزيد من الجهود لجعل هذا الحق معترف به من الكافة وقابل للإنفاذ. هناك أكثر من 120 دولة، من أفريقيا وأمريكا اللاتينية وأوروبا وبعض مناطق آسيا، والشرق الأوسط، والكاريبي، صدقت على معاهدات إقليمية لكفالة الحق في البيئة الصحية. يتمتع هذا الحق بضمانات دستورية في أكثر من 100 دولة، من الأرجنتين إلى زامبيا، وهناك أيضًا قوانين لحماية البيئة في أكثر من 100 دولة. إجمالًا، تعترف 155 دولة باحترام وحماية وإعمال الحق في بيئة صحية ومستدامة، وهي ملتزمة قانونًا بهذا. لقد حان الوقت لأن تعترف الأمم المتحدة بهذا الحق بصفته حقًا إنسانيًا أصيلًا مُستحق للجميع في الأماكن كافة.

تُظهر الأدلة الإمبريقية التي خرج بها عدد بلا حصر من الباحثين أن الحماية الدستورية للحق في البيئة الصحية يؤدي إلى أداء بيئي أفضل، من زيادة إتاحة مياه الشرب الآمنة إلى تسريع عجلة تقليل معدلات تلوث الهواء. وفي عشرات الدول، استخدم المواطنون والنشطاء الحقوق البيئية في قضايا انتهت بأحكام محاكم هامة، وفي بعض الحالات أدت إلى امتيازات غير مسبوقة للناس والنظم البيئية. على سبيل المثال، فإن حكم قضية ميندوزا الصادر عن المحكمة الأرجنتينية العليا في عام 2008 أطلق شرارة عملية تنظيف هائلة لحوض نهر رياتشويلو، فضلًا عن إنفاق مليارات الدولارات على بنية تحتية جديدة لمعاجلة مياه الشرب والصرف التي تخدم مجتمعات يسود فيها الفقر.

يمكن للاعتراف بحقوق الطبيعة أن يحوّل من القوانين والثقافات السائدة على السواء. يعترف دستور الإكوادور بحقوق "الباتشا-ماما" ("الأرض الأم") منذ عام 2009، ما أدى إلى إطلاق تغييرات في أكثر من 75 قانونًا وسياسة عامة، مع التمكين من رفع قضايا لحماية الطبيعة، من الغالاباغوس إلى نهر فيلكابامبا. كما تم تفعيل قوانين في بوليفيا والمكسيك ونيوزيلاندا وعلى المستوى المحلي في عشرات البلديات بالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. في نيوزيلاندا صدرت قوانين استثنائية جديدة تعكس حكمة وثقافة شعب الماوري، فتم منح حقوق لنهر وانغانوي ولنظام بيئي كان يُعرف سابقًا بمسمى "حديقة تي أوريويرا الوطنية". هذه القوانين الفارقة شاعرية وقوية، وقد أعطت الشخصية القانونية للطبيعة. أي أن الغابات والجبال والبحيرات والأنهار أصبحت شخصيات اعتبارية، لها حقوق تدافع عنها هيئات وصاية يقودها شعب الماوري. ولقد صدرت أحكام محاكم مبتكرة إزاء حقوق الطبيعة من كولومبيا إلى الهند، وإن كان تنفيذها في بعض الحالات لم يرق بعد إلى المستوى المأمول.

لتحسين احتمالات إقرار وإنفاذ وإعمال الحقوق للأفراد وللطبيعة، فعلى المعنيين بالبيئة والمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان أن يتعاونوا أكثر من أي وقت سبق. فالحقوق البيئية وحقوق الإنسان التي ظلت يُنظر إليها بصفتها مفاهيم منفصلة بل ومتعارضة أحيانًا، يجب في القرن الحادي والعشرين أن نراها متواشجة ولا يمكن فصل أحدها عن الآخر.

ففي السيناريو الكارثي الذي قد يؤدي إليه الاحتباس الحراري، مع تدمير هائل في التنوع الحيوي يشتمل على حادث الانقراض الجماعي السادس عبر مليارات السنين، لن تكون حقوق الإنسان سوى ذكرى بعيدة، مع تركيز البشر المتبقين حصرًا على البقاء أحياء. اليوم، نحن بحاجة لكل الجهود الممكن تخيلها لمنع هذا السيناريو الظلامي والكارثي الذي قد يبتلي الإنسانية على مدار هذه الألفية. ومن أفضل تدابيرنا الدفاعية الممكنة في مواجهة سيناريو يوم القيامة هذا، هو أن نكافح بشكل مبدع وبلا كلل وبكل إخلاص من أجل أن تشمل حقوق الإنسان البيئة الصحية والمستدامة، وأن نطالب في الوقت نفسه بحقوق الطبيعة، الكفيلة بحماية أشكال الحياة التي أتاح لنا حظنا الحسن أن نحيا معها وبها.

إننا ورغم جهود العلماء الرائعة التي استعانوا فيها بتكنولوجيا القرن الحادي والعشرين، ما زلنا لم نصل إلى كوكب آخر ازدهرت فيه وتطورت عجائب الحياة التي نراها في كوكب الأرض. الحق أن علينا بذل قصارى جهودنا لتحويل البشرية من سبب للدمار إلى قوة بناءة تدعم صحة وسلامة كوكب الأرض، هذا المكان الفريد الذي أتاحه لنا حظنا المدهش. ويمكن أن تقودنا الحقوق نحو مستقبل مستدام لجميع أشكال الحياة.

 


ديفيد ر. بويد هو مقرر الأمم المتحدة الخاص المعني بحقوق الإنسان والبيئة، ويشغل منصب أستاذ مساعد في معهد الموارد والبيئة والاستدامة في جامعة بريتش كولومبيا


 

COMMENTS

Rights as a response to ecological apocalypse

Recognizing the human right to live in a healthy environment, and the rights of nature itself, are both essential to securing humanity and the planet’s future.


By: David R. Boyd
March 20, 2019

Available in:
Français | العربية | Español


Photo: BringByBoringBrick/DeviantArt


Humanity is sleep-walking towards an ecological apocalypse. Global populations of wildlife have declined a mind-boggling sixty percent in the past fifty years alone, accelerating an already precipitous decline in the diversity and abundance of life forms with who we share this beautiful but beleaguered planet. Climate change is already inflicting a cascade of harms on humans and other species, from heat waves and droughts to more intense and frequent storms and flooding. We are hurtling towards tipping points that could make Earth unlivable for humans and many other species. Meanwhile, pollution quietly kills more people every year than all of the ongoing wars, murders, road accidents, tuberculosis, HIV/AIDS, and malaria, combined.

As the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change concluded in its special report last fall, the world needs “rapid, far-reaching and unprecedented changes in all aspects of society” in order to stave off ecological catastrophes that would inflict immense human suffering and rights violations, particularly on the poorest and most vulnerable among us.

Given the magnitude and the urgency of the environmental challenges facing humanity, we need to harness the most powerful tools and approaches available in order to conserve what remains of this planet’s biodiversity and eventually restore it to its former glory. One of the most promising avenues, based on a series of remarkable historical precedents, is to employ the power of human rights-based approaches.

History is full of inspiring examples of the transformative power of rights, enabling grassroots movements to overcome powerful opposition and overturn the status quo. The abolitionists used rights to end slavery in a David and Goliath battle against wealthy landowners and corporations who profited from the exploitation of right-less people. The suffragettes successfully harnessed rights to propel women towards equality. The civil rights movement in the United States relentlessly championed the constitutional rights of African-Americans in legislatures, courtrooms, and on the streets, revolutionizing American society. Anti-apartheid activists, Indigenous people, LGBTQ advocates—the list of rights movements that have achieved extraordinary gains is long and impressive.

There are two promising rights-based approaches that could dramatically enhance the health and wellbeing of both humans and ecosystems. The first is global recognition of the human right to a healthy and sustainable environment. The second involves the more radical extension of rights beyond humans to other species, ecosystems, and Nature herself.

The right to a healthy and sustainable environment already enjoys a surprising depth of acceptance around the world, but more needs to be done to make this right globally recognized and enforced. Over 120 States in Africa, Latin America, Europe, parts of Asia, the Middle East, and the Caribbean have ratified regional treaties that incorporate the right to a healthy environment. This right enjoys constitutional protection in more than 100 States, from Argentina to Zambia, and is also included in environmental laws in more than 100 States. In total, 155 States recognize and are legally obligated to respect, protect, and fulfill the right to a healthy and sustainable environment. It is time for this right to be recognized by the United Nations as a fundamental human right belonging to everyone, everywhere.

Empirical evidence from numerous scholars demonstrates that constitutional protection of the right to a healthy environment leads to superior environmental performance, from increased access to safe drinking water to faster reductions in air pollution. In dozens of countries, citizens and activists have employed environmental rights in lawsuits that have produced remarkable court decisions, in some cases resulting in substantial on-the-ground benefits for people and ecosystems. For example, the Mendoza decision of Argentina’s Supreme Court in 2008 sparked a massive clean-up of the Riachuelo River watershed, as well as billions of dollars in spending for new drinking water and wastewater treatment infrastructure serving predominantly poor communities.

Recognition of the rights of nature could transform both laws and cultures. Ecuador’s constitution recognized the rights of Pachamama (‘mother Earth’) in 2009, spurring changes to more than 75 laws and policies and enabling lawsuits to protect Nature, from the Galapagos to the Vilcabamba River. Laws have also been enacted in Bolivia, Mexico, New Zealand and at the local level in dozens of municipalities in the United States. In New Zealand, extraordinary new laws reflect the Indigenous wisdom and culture of the Maori people, granting rights to the Whanganui River and an ecosystem formerly known as Te Urewera National Park. These path-breaking laws are poetic and powerful, transferring title to the legal persons established to represent Nature. In other words, the forests, mountains, lakes, and riverbeds now own themselves, with their rights defended by stewardship bodies led by Maori. Innovative court decisions regarding the rights of nature have been made from Colombia to India, although in some contexts implementation has not yet lived up to aspiration.

To maximize the probability that rights for people and nature will be recognized, implemented, and fulfilled, environmentalists and human rights advocates need to work hand in hand, more closely than ever before. Long viewed as separate and even opposing concepts, the reality of the 21st century is that environmental rights are irrevocably intertwined with human rights.

On a future Hothouse Earth, where the miraculous diversity of life has been devastated by the sixth mass extinction in billions of years, human rights would be but a distant memory, as the focus of surviving humans would be limited to survival. Today, we need to make every effort imaginable to prevent an extended era of darkness and disaster from plaguing humanity over the course of the next millennium. One of our best defenses against such a doomsday scenario is to creatively, relentlessly, and passionately fight for the human right to live in a healthy and sustainable environment, and to simultaneously advance the rights of Nature to safeguard the rest of the community of life among whom we are so fortunate to live.

Despite the best efforts of scientists deploying 21st century technologies, we have not yet identified another planet where the wonders of life have blossomed and evolved. Surely, we must do everything in our power to transform humanity from an agent of destruction into a constructive force supporting the health and well-being of the Earth, this unique place that we are so profoundly fortunate to call home. Rights can help propel us in the direction of a sustainable future for all forms of life.


David R. Boyd is UN Special Rapporteur on human rights and the environment, and Associate Professor, Institute for Resources, Environment and Sustainability, University of British Columbia


 

COMMENTS