السخرية سلاح المقاومة في مصر

في البلدان التي يكون فيها الخوف سلاح لمحاربة حرية التعبير، تصبح السخرية أقوى وسائل المقاومة. 

M. B.
December 20, 2016

ذات مساء في شهر مايو، أثناء تصفحي لتحديثات صفحتي على موقع فيسبوك للتواصل الاجتماعي، قفز أمامي منشور أصابني بالذعر لأحد أصدقائي يدعى عادل - وهو أحد طلاب المسرح في مركز الجوزيت للفنون- : "تم إلقاء القبض على عز. وهو الآن محتجز في قسم شرطة هليوبوليس، وقريباً سيلقون القبض على المتبقين منا".

عز المذكور هنا، صديق لي كنا نرتاد نفس صفوف المسرح معاً، وعرفت مؤخراً من خلال صفحته على موقع فيسبوك أن اعتقاله كان بتهمة نشر فيديوهات مسيئة ومحاولة قلب نظام الحكم. وقد كنت شاهدت من قبل بعض مقاطع الفيديو الخاصة بهذه المجموعة والتي قاموا بتصويرها على طريقة السيلفي - باستخدام كاميرا الهاتف المحمول - ونشروها على موقع يوتيوب، قاموا في هذه الفيديوهات بأداء مسرحي هزلي يسخرون فيه من مواضيع شتى تخص المجتمع المصري مثل برامج الراديو الدينية أو أغاني الأطفال أو النظام العسكري. هذه المجموعة والمكونة من 6 فنانين صغار السن (تتراوح أعمارهم من 19-25 سنة)، قابلت معظمهم من خلال صفوف المسرح ويملئهم شغف بالمسرح والفنون. ظنت هذه المجموعة أن بإمكانهم مناقشة أي شيء والتعرض لأي موضوع – وربما حتى المواضيع التي يصعب عليهم مناقشتها بشكل مفتوح في حياتهم اليومية – من خلال المسرح أو الأداء المسرحي. فكونوا فرقة مسرحية وأطلقوا عليها اسم "أطفال شوارع"، وأنشئوا صفحة لهم على موقع فيسبوك ولهم أكثر من 300،000 معجب يتابعون فيديوهاتهم المنشورة على الصفحة.   

عقب نشر عادل لهذا المنشور بيوم أو يومين، تم القبض عليه  بالفعل كما تنبأ وتوقع بنفسه – بالإضافة إلى أعضاء الفريق الأربعة الآخرين – وحُبسوا 15 يوماً على ذمة التحقيق بتهمة استخدام فيديوهات يوتيوب للتحريض على العنف وأعمال الإرهاب. وعلى مدار الخمسة أشهر الماضية تم تجديد الحبس على ذمة التحقيق بشكل متواصل، ليصل مجموع الأيام التي قضوها في الحبس الاحتياطي 105 يوماً. وحيث أن قانون التظاهر قد منع نزول المظاهرات إلى الشوارع لجأ النشطاء إلى مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي لدعم الفرقة. فأطلقوا حملة على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي بعنوان "كاميرا التليفون بتهزّك؟" قام فيها الداعمون بنشر صورهم على طريقة السيلفي باستخدام هواتفهم المحمولة للاستهزاء بخوف النظام من الفن الساخر. وشارك في هذه الحملة العديد من فناني مصر المعروفين والصحفيين والسياسيين.

حقيقة الأمر أن الفن الساخر في مصر له دور هائل وجوهري في الحركات الاجتماعية الحالية والنشاط السياسي في مصر.

حقيقة الأمر أن الفن الساخر في مصر له دور هائل وجوهري في الحركات الاجتماعية الحالية والنشاط السياسي في مصر، وبشكل خاص أثناء تصعيدات 2011 وما تلاها من أحداث. وكان الساخر الأكثر شهرة وبروزاً على الساحة في حينها باسم يوسف، والذي يُعرف بلقب "جون ستيورات مصر". بدأت شهرة باسم يوسف في عام 2011 بعد نشره لفيديوهات سياسية ساخرة على موقع يوتيوب كرد فعل ونتيجة للغياب التام لحرية التعبير في وسائل الإعلام الرئيسية. واستخدم باسم يوسف في فيديوهاته التي حققت ملايين المشاهدات الكوميديا لانتقاد المشهد السياسي في مصر والشرق الأوسط. وقد امتدت واتسعت شهرته حتى حصل على برنامج خاص له على قناة ONTV (أون تي في) وأطلق عليه اسم "البرنامج"، ليكون بذلك باسم يوسف أول من نجح في الانتقال ببرنامجه من شبكة الانترنت إلى شاشة التليفزيون في العالم العربي. حقق برنامجه نجاحاً ساحقاً واستمر عرضه لثلاثة مواسم متتالية، موسمين منهما تمت إذاعتهما مباشرة على الهواء بحضور الجمهور. وشهد البرنامج تغير الوضع السياسي في مصر ومروره بتحولات مختلفة، بالإضافة لصعود وسقوط الأنظمة السياسية في مصر، ومن ضمنها الإخوان المسلمين ولاحقاً عودة الحكم العسكري لمصر. ولكن في أبريل 2014، قامت قناة MBC (إم. بي. سي مصر) بوقف عرض البرنامج بحجة أن البرنامج قد يؤثر على تصويت المصريين في الفترة السابقة للانتخابات الرئيسية لعام 2014. في يونيو 20144، أعلن باسم يوسف وقف البرنامج نهائياً نتيجة للضغوط التى تمت ممارستها عليه شخصياً وعلى أسرته والقناة المذيعة للبرنامج. وأعلن في مؤتمر صحفي أقامه في الاستديو الخاص به أنه استمراره في البرنامج أصبح يمثل خطراً عليه وعلى سلامة أسرته. وفي نهاية المطاف، اضُطر  باسم يوسف لمغادرة مصر. وعلى الرغم من اضطرار باسم يوسف لمغادرة مصر إلا انه ألهم جيلاً بأكمله ليطالبوا بالعدالة. فبرنامجه دفع الناس للتفكير النقدي واتخاذ خطوات بناءة نحو التغيير. كما ألهم نجاح باسم يوسف الكثير من الفنانيين الصاعدين في أن يحذوا حذوه. ولكن للأسف، هذه البرامج الساخرة في مصر والعالم العربي تمثل أرض بكر للبحث لم يسبق دراستها لنصل لدليل بيّن على حجم تأثيرها في الانخراط السياسي والوعي العام  للمواطنين.


Flickr/Al Ibrahim (Some rights reserved)

In societies where dissent is repressed, the consumption of satire can be one of the strongest tools of resistance.


اعتدت أنا وأصدقائي مشاهدة برنامج باسم يوسف بانتظام لنتعرف على الآراء والتعليقات السياسية بدلاً من مشاهدة البرامج السياسية المتخصصة – فمشاهدة برنامج ساخر قدم لنا منفس من المشهد السياسي وثقل وطأته، ولكن في نفس الوقت أبقانا على وعي بمختلف وجهات النظر السياسية والأحداث الهامة. ولكن هذا ليس دوره الوحيد فقط، فمثل هذه البرامج الساخرة ترسل رسالة غير مباشرة مفاداها أن لا أحد يعلو فوق الفن الساخر وصوته العادل غير التمييزي، ولا حتى الرئيس نفسه. مشاهدة برنامج باسم يوسف جعلني أشعر بالشجاعة والقوة وعلى أقل تقدير سمح لي باقتناص بعض الضحكات.   

فلطالما كان الفن الساخر وسيلة مقاومة ليس في مصر وحدها ولكن في العديد من الدول حول العالم. فأول ما علمت من بشاعة وضراوة حكم هتلر والنظام النازي كان من خلال الأفلام الصامتة والتي قدمها الأسطورة "تشارلي شابلن" فصمدت وخُلدت في أذهان الناس متفوقة على أي أخبار وتعليقات سياسية من زمنها. جون ستيورات في الولايات المتحدة وعلي فرزات في سوريا وإبراهيم نبافي في إيران هم أمثلة قليلة من الساخرين المتحدين للسلطة بسلاح الكوميديا، وربما يصل الأمر بهم إلى حد إلقاء القبض عليهم وحبسهم.  فالفن الساخر لم يسلم من المنتقدين المتزمتين. فقد رُفعت العديد من القضايا ضد باسم يوسف من قٍبل الإسلاميين يتهمونه فيها "بإفساد الذوق العام وانتهاك المبادئ الدينية والأخلاقية"، ولاحقاً خلال الحكم العسكري قام كبار ممثلي المدعي العام بإتهام باسم يوسف بالتشويه والتشهير في حق المؤسسة العسكرية. في بحث قامت به دينا يوسف في كلية الإعلام بالجامعة الأمريكية في القاهرة، وجدت تغيراً ملحوظاً في رد فعل الجمهور واستجابتهم نحو برنامج باسم يوسف منذ انتخاب عبد الفتاح السيسي وخاصة في الشريحة العمرية للجيل الأكبر عمراً ممن يزعموا أن باسم يوسف يريد غزو المجتمع المصري بالأفكار الغربية.    

في البلدان التي يكون فيها الخوف سلاح لمحاربة حرية التعبير، تصبح السخرية أقوى وسائل المقاومة.  فالسخرية أو الفن الساخر صناعة تستحق الانتباه والدراسة والاستثمار لكي تزدهر وتصبح قوة يافعة تكفي لتحرير الناس. وأقتبس هنا ما قاله باسم يوسف في منتدى الإعلام العالمي الذي تنظمه إذاعة دويتشة فيلة (Deutsche Wellee)  "الفن الساخر والكوميديا ربما يكونان آفضل وسيلة لمجابهة الخوف. فالضحك يحرر العقول ويخلصها من الأحكام المسبقة. ولهذا فهو يمثل خطراً... فالعالم الآن يحتفي بالفاشية ويحكم بالخوف. ولكن الفن الساخر جاء ليحطم هذه المعادلة، فبالضحك تمحي خوفك، ولذا يعمل النظام السياسي للقضاء على سلاح الضحك، حتى يتثنى له بث الخوف وغرسه في النفوس".

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

M. B.

 م. بهجت من نشطاء حقوق الإنسان من مصر وتقيم حالياً في الولايات المتحدة.

 
 

 

Creative Commons LicenseThis OpenGlobalRights Perspectives article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License. Photos, images, and logos are excepted from this license, except where noted. Please contact our team for re-publication queries.

 

اكتب لدى openGlobalRights

 

المزيد عن:

Satire as a tool of resistance in Egypt

In countries where fear is employed as a weapon against freedom of speech, satire is one of the strongest tools of resistance.

M. B.
December 20, 2016

One evening in May, I was scrolling through my Facebook page to find an alarming status update from a friend, Adel, from one of our theatre classes at the Jesuit community centre: “They captured Ezz. He is now detained in Heliopolis police station, and soon they will get the rest of us.”

Ezz was another friend of mine that went to the same theatre class, and I soon learned through his Facebook page that he was arrested over charges of publishing offensive videos and attempts to topple the regime. I had seen a few of their YouTube selfie-style videos—shot using a mobile phone camera—that the group used as satirical theatrical performances to make fun of different things in Egyptian society, such as religious radio shows, childhood songs, or the military regime. This group is made up of six young artists (19-25 years), most of whom I’ve met through the theatre classes, who were passionate about arts and theatre. They believed they could discuss anything—even things they can’t normally discuss in everyday life—on stage or through performance. They formed a troupe, called themselves street children, and had a Facebook page with over 300,000 followers, where they posted their videos.

A day or two after I saw that Facebook post, Adel was indeed detained as predicted—along with the other four group members—for 15 days pending investigations into charges of using YouTube videos to incite violence and acts of terrorism. Over the next five months, their detention was continuously renewed, with a total number of 105 pre-trial detention days. Activists took to social media to support the troupe, since protesting in the streets was prohibited at that time. A social media campaign soon took off, called, “Does this phone camera scare you?” Supporters posted selfie photos on social media with their mobile phones to ridicule the regime’s fear of satire. Many well-known Egyptian artists, journalists, and politicians participated in the campaign.

Satire has in fact played a tremendous role in the current social movements and activism in Egypt.

Satire has in fact played a tremendous role in the current social movements and activism in Egypt, especially during and after the 2011 uprising. One of the most prominent modern satirists was Bassem Youssef, known as the Jon Stewart of Egypt. Youssef became widely famous in 2011 onwards after he began posting satirical political videos on YouTube due to the absence of freedom of speech on mainstream media. His videos, which attracted millions of viewers, used comedy to criticize the political scene in Egypt and the Middle East. He later became so popular that he was contracted by ONTV channel to host a program called “Al-Barnameg” as the first internet-to-TV program conversion in the Middle East. The program gained tremendous success and ran for three consecutive seasons, and two of them were broadcast free-to-air with a live audience. The program ran through different political transformations, as well as the rise and fall of political regimes in Egypt, including the Muslim Brotherhood, and later the comeback of military ruling. However, in April 2014, the MBC Egypt TV channel suspended the show with the claim that it might influence the Egyptian voters opinions in the run-up of the 2014 presidential elections. In June 2014, Youssef announced the termination of the program due to the pressure on him, his family, and MBC channel.  He declared in a press conference at his studio that it was no longer safe for him or his family to continue on with the show. He eventually had to leave the country. Even though he was forced to terminate his program, Youssef inspired a whole generation to speak out for justice. His program influenced people to think critically and take action. He also inspired younger satirists to emerge and follow his lead. Unfortunately, such satirical programs in Egypt and the Middle East are under-researched to be able to provide evidence of their impact on political engagement and awareness of citizens.


Flickr/Al Ibrahim (Some rights reserved)

In societies where dissent is repressed, the consumption of satire can be one of the strongest tools of resistance.


My friends and I used to watch Youssef’s TV show regularly for political opinions and commentaries instead of the regular political shows—watching a satirical show provided the emotional release we needed along with a break from the heavy political situation, while still keeping us aware of the different viewpoints and events. It also sent the subtle message that no one is above the non-discriminating voice of satire, not even the president himself. Watching Youssef’s show made me feel courageous and empowered, and at the very least, it allowed me to laugh.

Satire has been as a tool of resistance not only in Egypt, but also in many countries all over the world. I first learned about the brutality of Hitler and the Nazi regime through the legendary Charlie Chaplin’s silent movies that outlived any political news or commentaries of that time. Jon Stewart of the US, Ali Farzat of Syria, and Ebrahim Nabavi of Iran are only but few examples of satirists who challenged authorities using comedy, sometimes taking it so far that some were jailed for speaking out. Satire has always had its share of hard critics. Numerous lawsuits were filed against Bassem Youssef by Islamists for “corrupting morals and violating religious principles”, and later during the military ruling by the top prosecutors, accusing him of defaming the military. In research done by Dina Youssef at the School of Mass Communication at the American University in Cairo, it was found that there was a significant shift in the audience’s attitude towards Bassem Youssef after the election of Abdel-Fattah El-Sisi, especially among the older generation, who claimed that he was trying to invade the Egyptian society with western ideas.

In countries where fear is employed as a weapon against freedom of speech, satire is one of the strongest tools of resistance. Satire is a craft that needs attention, studying, and investment to flourish and be powerful enough to liberate the people. As Youssef said in his speech at the Deutsche Welle Global Media Forum, “Satire and comedy might be one of the very few antidotes against fear. It liberates your minds. It sets your judgment free. And that is why it is a threat…. [This] is a world where fascism is celebrated and where fear rules. But satire comes to disrupt such an equation, because when you laugh, you cannot be afraid anymore, because—and thus the system will make sure to eliminate that powerful weapon of laughter, in order for fear to set in.”

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

M. B.

M.B. is a human rights fellow from Egypt currently based in the U.S.

 

Creative Commons LicenseThis OpenGlobalRights Perspectives article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License. Photos, images, and logos are excepted from this license, except where noted. Please contact our team for re-publication queries.

 

Write for
OpenGlobalRights

 

RELATED ARTICLES:

Breaking the fourth wall: theater as human rights activism

BY: Christa Blackmon

The 1967 Convention on Religious Intolerance—the treaty that might have been

BY: Steven L. B. Jensen
العربية

Rethinking strategies of child protection

BY: Rachel Schmidt
Français

The UN shakes up Guatemala with the Commission Against Impunity

BY: Christian Medina-Ramirez , Luis Mack 
Español

Should funding agencies also share in the sacrifice of social change?

BY: Michael Edwards
EspañolFrançaisPortuguês

MORE ON: