中国模式会是各种民间社会组织募资效仿的榜样吗?

对中国民间社会组织的国外资助日益枯竭不足为奇,真正令人惊讶的是中国民间社会组织很快就适应了这种情况,并通过自我改造来撬动本地资源。




自2013年习近平上台以来,中国民间社会组织(civil society organizations ,简称CSOs)蓬勃发展的态势就不复存在了。原因大致可以归结于权益组织、活动家和人权律师遭受到大范围、持续无情的打压,以及2016年外国NGO法通过。

打压行动导致许多活动家和律师被关押,权利组织被关闭,活动家及律师的家人和支持者受到骚扰。而没有被关押的权利人士则转到地下,受到警察和安全部门的严密监视。后者的高科技装备日趋先进,预算经费则已超军费预算

外国NGO法的实施使得国际NGO在中国的运营以及对中国民间社会组织的支持变得举步维艰。如今,国际NGO必须将其在中国大陆从事的所有活动,包括培训、会议、资助等,报备公安部(中国的警察部门)审查。这使得除政府或大使馆以外的其他国际资助者根本无法与中国民间社会组织、活动家和律师开展合作和资助工作,尤其是那些在没有获得中国政府批准的领域活动的机构。

如此一来,对中国民间社会组织的国际支持日益枯竭也就没什么好吃惊的了。然而, 出人意料的是,中国民间社会组织很快就适应了这种情况,并进行自我改造,撬动本地资源,来取代不复存在的国际资助。这是我们去年进行的一个研究项目中的部分主要发现。在这个项目中,我们研究了亚洲权利组织为实现财务可持续性而采取的各种替代措施。

我们采访了亚太地区多位尝试通过各种方式撬动当地资源的民间社会组织领导人。这些组织中,有的是拥有20到30位全职员工的相对较大的民间社会组织,也有的是只有几名员工和志愿者运营的小组织。而这些组织所在的国家,包括中国和越南这样的封闭社会,也包括马来西亚和印尼这类相对比较开放的国家。在挑选受访民间社会组织时,我们更倾向于选择那些之前依赖国外资助、采用基于权利框架工作方法的组织。

中国民间社会组织很快就适应了这种情况,并进行自我改造,撬动本地资源,来取代不复存在的国际资助。

我们发现,中国的民间社会组织,尽管身处世界上最受压抑的国家(之一),却在探寻撬动本地资源的创新方式方面走在了其他亚洲同侪的前面。有些人可能会觉得这只不过是不得已而为之罢了。这么说当然有一定的道理。但是,也应该看到,这也表明了在过去十年中,中国民间社会组织的资助生态已经发生了变化,包括:富有的企业家和公司成立了成千上万的私人基金会,中央和地方政府花钱购买民间社会组织提供的服务,腾讯、阿里巴巴这样的科技公司开发了各种慈善产品和平台供亿万拥有智能手机的中国人在线参与慈善捐赠活动;而地方政府则通过政策倾斜来鼓励社会企业的发展。2016年,中国通过并实施《慈善法》,以澄清慈善组织和资助人的角色和责任,加强慈善捐赠的公信力。

这些变化导致中国民间社会组织获得资助的方式发生了根本的变化。十年前,我采访的诸多权利型民间社会组织中,有百分之八九十都是从国际组织获得资助。而如今,这些社会组织中有百分之八九十是从中国国内获得资助的。我所采访的中国民间社会组织获得当地资助的来源也是多样的,包括地方慈善组织,政府服务采购经费,公司金主,社会企业,以及众筹。相比之下,亚洲其他地区的民间组织获得资助的途径要狭窄得多,主要通过公司金主和社会企业。

举例来说,中国历史最久的环保组织之一”自然之友”就是个实现财务持续的典型例子。自然之友通过发起公益诉讼来追究污染企业的责任。早在2015年外国NGO法起草阶段,自然之友就未雨绸缪地注册了一家基金会来协助募款,并和一家公司合作组建了开展环保教育的社会企业——“盖亚自然学校”。同时,自然之友还于2015年组建募款团队,开始进行网上众筹,并获得了约1500位长期赞助人的支持。自然之友的募款行动获得了回报: 其2018年的收入几乎达到了2015年的三倍。

而如今,这些社会组织中有百分之八九十是从中国国内获得资助的。

另一个有意思的模式是LGBT协会(化名)采用的方法。该协会致力于通过推动社群对话、组织会议、向LGBT青少年提供咨询服务的方式,增进中国社会对LGBT群体的接受度,并为LGBT人群创造平等的社会环境。协会实际上是一个由各地协助组织活动和募款的志愿小组和成员组成的非正式网络。他们通过众筹获得大约一半的收入,另一半则通过国内基金会和在线售卖商品和服务获得。

最后一个例子是为残疾人提供求职和领导力技能培训的残障创新中心(化名)。该中心的发起人是一位民间社会组织从业者,此前曾接受外国资助,开展培训民间社会活动家的工作。直到2014年,其所在的组织迫于政府压力不得不停止接受国外资助,并关停了培训中心。该从业人士转而开办了目前的这家中心,培训残疾人领导力和生存技能,并帮助他们就业。中心收到了来自中国国内基金会及当地政府的资助,但在争取大众和商业公司资助时却遇到了困难。经过几年的摸索,他们发现,接受培训的视力受损学员很喜欢做咖啡,于是他们开始培训这些学员做咖啡师。之后,他们开办了一家咖啡店形式的社会企业。这些盲人咖啡师经过媒体报道以后,吸引了一些商业公司的注意,这些公司希望和中心合作来拓展这一商业模式。在这个过程中,大众在与残疾人接触交流中的态度发生了变化,转而支持他们的生意。

这些例子当然不能掩盖中国许多权利组织面临的困境。这些组织时时受到监控和骚扰。事实上,以上两个受访组织要求采用化名就很能说明问题,他们很怕自己的工作被曝光。获得以上谈到的这些资助资源本身也充满了挑战。环保组织和LGBT组织可能还能依靠中产阶级和有钱金主的支持,而劳工组织的日子就很不好过了。此外,民间社会组织在探索营利模式的同时,还要做好机构治理和防范利益冲突风险。以盖亚自然学校为例,自然之友通过与一家由自然之友会员开办的的咨询公司合作的方式,组建了一个由自然之友和这家公司员工组成的管理委员会来共同管理学校,并规定学校所有收入必须再投资于学校建设,唯一的例外是利润的一部分可以捐赠给自然之友。

总而言之,通过案例研究我们发现,在中国威权统治的长城之内,越来越多富有创业精神的民间社会组织正在努力获得多样化的资助生态系统的支持,而他们所获得的成就令其他亚洲国家同行无法望其项背。

 

 

ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED: May 11, 2020

谢世宏是中国劳工通讯(China Labour Bulletin)前副主任,社会创新咨询公司(Social Innovations Advisory, Ltd.)负责人,以及权利实验室(Rights CoLab)的供稿人。


 

COMMENTS

Is China the future for hybrid CSO funding models?

As foreign funding dries up, Chinese CSOs have quickly adapted and reinvented themselves to mobilize local funding.




China has not been fertile territory for civil society organizations (CSOs) since Xi Jinping came to power in 2013, thanks to a wide-ranging and unrelenting crackdown on rights-based CSOs, activists and human rights lawyers, and the passage of a Foreign NGO Law in 2016.

The crackdown has led to the detention of many activists and lawyers, closure of rights-based CSOs, and harassment of their family members and supporters. Those who are not in detention have gone underground and are under constant surveillance by an increasingly high-tech police and security force whose budget now surpasses that of the military.

The Foreign NGO Law has made it increasingly difficult for international NGOs to operate in China and support Chinese CSOs. International NGOs must now have all activities that take place in mainland China—trainings, conferences, funding—vetted by the Ministry of Public Security (China’s police). This has made it almost impossible for international funders—unless they are governments or embassies—to partner with and fund Chinese CSOs, activists and lawyers, particularly those working in areas not sanctioned by the Chinese government.

It comes as little surprise, then, that international funding for Chinese CSOs is drying up. What did come as a surprise, however, was how quickly Chinese CSOs adapted to this situation and reinvented themselves to mobilize local funding to replace the international funding that was no longer coming in. This was one of the major findings of a research project we carried out last year on alternative pathways taken by rights-based CSOs in Asia to achieve financial sustainability.

The project involved interviewing leaders of CSOs in the Asia-Pacific region that had explored different ways to mobilize local resources. They ranged from relatively large CSOs with 20-30 full-time staff to small ones run by several staff and volunteers, operating in countries ranging from closed societies such as China and Vietnam to relatively more open ones such as Malaysia and Indonesia. In selecting the CSOs, we leaned towards those with a rights-based approach that had previously relied on foreign funding.

Chinese CSOs adapted to this situation and reinvented themselves to mobilize local funding.

What we found was that CSOs in China, one of the most repressive countries in the world, were ahead of their Asian counterparts in terms of finding innovative ways to tap into local resources. Some might think this is a measure of their desperation, and there is some truth to that. But it is also a measure of how much the funding ecosystem for CSOs in China has changed over the last decade. During that time, thousands of private foundations have been started by wealthy entrepreneurs and companies; central and local governments have opened up their deep pockets to contract CSO services; technology companies such as Tencent and Alibaba have created products and platforms to bring charitable online giving to millions of Chinese armed with a smartphone; and local governments have issued preferential measures to encourage social enterprises. In 2016, China passed a Charity Law to clarify the roles and responsibilities of charitable organizations and donors and strengthen public trust in charitable giving.

The result has been a sea change in the way Chinese CSOs are resourced. Ten years ago, many rights-based CSOs I spoke with had 80-90% of their funding coming from international sources. Now, some of these CSOs have 80-90% coming from Chinese sources. The Chinese CSOs I interviewed had tapped into many of these local sources—local philanthropy, government fees-for-service, corporate partnerships, social enterprise, and crowdfunding. In contrast, their Asian counterparts had fewer options and mainly focused on corporate partnerships and social enterprise.

For example, Friends of Nature, one of China’s oldest environmental CSOs and a leader in using public interest litigation to hold polluting companies accountable, is a poster child for financial sustainability. Alerted to the drafting of the FNGO Law in 2015, FON registered a foundation to help with fundraising, and partnered with a company to form the Gaia Nature School, a social enterprise delivering environmental education. It also set up a fundraising team to start an online crowdfunding campaign in 2015 that has enlisted around 1500 regular donors. FON’s fundraising efforts paid off: their revenues nearly tripled from 2015 to 2018.

Some of these CSOs have 80-90% coming from Chinese sources.

Another interesting model is a CSO that we will call The LGBT Association (a pseudonym). The Association works to expand acceptance of, and create an equal environment for, LGBT people in China by facilitating community dialogues and conferences and providing counseling to LGBT youth. The Association is essentially an informal network of volunteer groups and members around China who help organize activities and fundraising events. Crowdfunding brings in about half of their revenue with the rest coming from Chinese foundations and online sales of goods and services.

The last example is the Disability Innovation Center (also a pseudonym), which trains people with disabilities on job and leadership skills. The Center was founded by a CSO practitioner who received foreign funding for training civil society activists until 2014, when they were pressured by the government to stop their funding and close their center. The practitioner then started a center to train people with disabilities on leadership and life skills to prepare them for employment. The Center received support from Chinese foundations and the local government but struggled with getting the public and companies to support the Center. After a few years, they discovered that their visually impaired trainees enjoyed working with coffee and started training them to be baristas, eventually opening up a social enterprise in the form of a coffeeshop. The blind baristas attracted media coverage and the attention of companies who wanted to partner with the Center to expand their business model. The Center also saw a change in the way the public interacted with people with disabilities and supported their business.

These cases should not diminish the hardships many rights-based CSOs face in China. They are constantly being monitored and harassed. The fact that two of the CSOs discussed here did not want their real names revealed speaks volumes about their fear of drawing attention to their work. There are also challenges to tapping into these funding sources. Environmental and LGBT groups can count on middle class and wealthy patrons, but labor groups have a more difficult time. In addition, CSOs exploring for-profit models need to manage governance and conflict of interest risks. In the case of the Gaia Nature School, FON settled on a partnership model with a consultancy company set up by FON members, formed a governing board for the school consisting of staff from both FON and the company, and required all income to be re-invested in the school with one exception: a portion of any profits would be donated to FON.

Nevertheless, the cases we found revealed that behind China’s authoritarian Great Wall, there are a growing number of entrepreneurial CSOs tapping into a vibrant funding ecosystem with results that CSOs in other Asian countries can only hope to emulate.

 

ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED: May 11, 2020

Shawn Shih-hung Shieh is the former Deputy Director of China Labour Bulletin, Principal of Social Innovations Advisory, Ltd. and a Contributor to Rights CoLab.


 

COMMENTS