يعتبر قانون الناجيات الأيزيديات في العراق قانوناً رائدًا لكنه غير كاف

محفز شبكات التواصل الاجتماعية: 
يعتبر "قانون الناجيات الإيزيديات" الجديد رائدًا ولكنه ضيق جدًا بحيث لا يلبي احتياجات بعض المجتمعات الأكثر ضعفًا في العراق.




أدت جائحة كوفيد -19 إلى تفاقم عدم المساواة القائمة في العراق ، مما زاد من تعرض فئات ضعيفة من السكان للخطر ، بما في ذلك ضحايا العنف الجنسي والناجين منه. هؤلاء الناجون معرضون للخطر بشكل خاص مع عودة ظهور الدولة الإسلامية في العراق ، مما يجعل تعويض الضحايا والناجين من العنف الجنسي المرتبط بالنزاع أمرًا عاجلاً  لمنع إعادة إيذائهم وتكرار هذه الجرائم 

رفعَ النزاع المسلح الذي انتشر في أنحاء العراق بعد ظهور الدولة الإسلامية العنف القائم إلى مستوى غير مسبوق. حيث 
تم استخدام العنف الجنسي كتكتيكٍ حربي إضافة الى القمع والتدمير التي ميزت عهد الإرهاب للدولة الإسلامية ، ولا سيما العنف الجنسي المنهجي ضد الأقليات ، بما في ذلك النساء والفتيات الإيزيديات. حيث أفادت منظمة العفو الدولية أن مقاتلي الدولة الإسلامية استهدفوا بشكل منهجي آلاف النساء والفتيات الإيزيديات، وأجبروهن على العبودية الجنسية. كما وجدت لجنة التحقيق الدولية لحقوق الإنسان الخاصة بسوريا التابعة للأمم المتحدة أن الدولة الإسلامية أظهرت "نيتها لتدمير الإيزيديين كليًا أو جزئيًا" ، وأن هذه الجرائم كانت أعمال إبادة جماعية. وعلى الرغم من التوثيق الهائل والأدلة على الجرائم الفظيعة ، لم يُعرض على الضحايا والناجين من العنف الجنسي المرتبط بالنزاع في العراق طريقًا رسميًا إلى العدالة أو المساءلة حتى الآن. 

في آذار 2019 ، قدم الرئيس العراقي برهم صالح "قانون الناجيات الإيزيديات" إلى البرلمان لننم مراجعته. يقدم مشروع القانون عددًا من إجراءات التعويض المهمة للنساء الأيزيديات اللائي تم أسرهن من قبل الدولة الإسلامية ، بما في ذلك التعويض وإعادة التأهيل والعلاج الطبي والفرص الاقتصادية.  كما يعتبر مشروع القانون الجرائم المرتكبة ضد الأيزيديين جرائمة إبادة جماعية وينص على عدم إدراج مرتكبي "الاختطاف والأسر" في أي "عفو عام أو خاص". 

مشروع القانون هذا ، رغم كونه رائدًا ، إلا أنه أضيق من أن يلبي احتياجات بعض المجتمعات الأكثر ضعفًا في العراق. حيث 
يبدو أن مشروع القانون تمت صياغته بمساهمة قليلة من المجتمعات المتضررة ، أين تم استثناء عدد من المطالب الأساسية للضحايا. يقترح تقرير جديد صادر عن مركز ABA لحقوق الإنسان  مجموعة من المراجعات لجعل تعويضات هذا القانون أكثر استجابة للاحتياجات الفريدة لضحايا مجموعة فرعية معينة من الجرائم الفظيعة: العنف الجنسي. 

من بين أبرز الانتقادات الرئيسية لمشروع القانون هو تركيزه المحدود على الاختطاف وعلى مجموعة محدودة من الضحايا واستثنائه للعديد من الجرائم المرتكبة ضد الرجال والفتيان ، وكذلك ضد النساء والفتيات من مجموعات دينية أو عرقية أخرى. 
إن توسيع نطاق تركيز مشروع القانون ليشمل جميع ضحايا العنف الجنسي والناجين منه من شأنه أن يوفر بداية نحو التزام العراق الأكبر تجاه جميع ضحايا انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان من خلال تلبية احتياجات مجموعة ضعيفة ومستهدفة بشكل خاص ومجموعة فرعية من الجرائم التي  لا يتم الإبلاغ عنها ولا تتم المقاضاة فيها في الكثير من الأحيان. 

والأهم من ذلك ، أن التعويضات الشاملة يمكن أن تلبي أيضًا الاحتياجات الفورية للضحايا والناجين من خلال توفير الرعاية الطبية والنفسية ، واستعادة الولوج إلى التعليم والفرص الاقتصادية ، وحل الوضع الأبوي ، وتحديد مكان أفراد الأسر المفقودين. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يجب أن يتيح نظام التعويض لعائلات الضحايا المختفين إمكانية الوصول إلى تدابير التعويض المتاحة وأن معالجة حقهم في الحصول على معلومات حول التعويضات والانتهاكات التي حدثت. يمكن للتعويضات التي تمكن الضحايا وأسرهم من لعب دور هام في إحداث تغيير اجتماعي ،أن تكون تحويلية ، ومقاومة للتفاوتات الهيكلية في المجتمع. 

لا يغطي مشروع القانون جميع الجرائم التي يُزعم ارتكابها ، على الرغم من أن القانون الدولي لحقوق الإنسان يتطلب تطبيق الحق في الانتصاف دون تمييز. وردا على ذلك ، أوصى المركز بمراجعة مشروع القانون ليشمل جميع الضحايا والناجين من العنف الجنسي. أفادت وكالات الأمم المتحدة في العراق أن النساء التركمانيات والمسيحيات والشبك تعرضن للعنف الجنسي أثناء وجودهن في أسر الدولة الإسلامية. كما أفادت هيومن رايتس ووتش أن مقاتلي الدولة الإسلامية احتجزوا تعسفيا ، وعذبوا ، وتزوجوا قسرا من نساء العرب السنة. قد يؤدي تقديم تعويضات لمجموعة عرقية أو دينية مع استبعاد أخرى إلى تفاقم التوترات الطائفية بين الطوائف وردع جهود المصالحة في ظل ظروف أمنية حساسة بالفعل
ومن التوصيات الأخرى لتحسين مشروع القانون إضافة تدابير حماية الخصوصية والسرية في جميع جوانب برنامج التعويضات. بدون وسائل الحماية هذه ، قد لا يرغب الضحايا والناجون في المشاركة خوفًا على سلامتهم أو سلامة أفراد الأسرة أو الوصمة الاجتماعية. لم تنجح الجهود السابقة لمكافحة العنف ضد المرأة ، على سبيل المثال ، في حماية الضحايا وأسرهم من هذه المخاطر 

لا يوجد في العراق تشريعات محلية تجرم جرائم الحرب والجرائم ضد الإنسانية والإبادة الجماعية. بدلاً عن ذلك ،اعتمدت على قوانين مكافحة الإرهاب لمحاكمة أعضاء مشتبه بانتمائهم إلى الدولة الإسلامية. على الرغم من عدم تطبيق المحاكم له بشكل متكرر ، قد يحق لأعضاء الدولة الإسلامية الإفراج بموجب قانون العفو العام لعام 2016 في ظل ظروف معينة. لذلك ، يوصي المركز بأن يدرج العراق بندًا في مشروع القانون يوضح أن قانون التقادم يجب ألا يطبق على الجرائم الفظيعة (بما في ذلك أعمال العنف الجنسي عندما تشكل إبادة جماعية أو جرائم ضد الإنسانية أو جرائم الحرب) وأنه لا ينبغي تطبيق قرارات العفو لمرتكبي جرائم العنف الجنسي. 

لكي تكون التعويضات فعالة حقًا ، يجب على الحكومة العراقية استخدام نهج شامل لحماية السكان المعرضين للخطر ، وقد تم توضيح تحديات القيام بذلك من خلال التحديات السابقة في معالجة العنف المنزلي ، والذي يتزايد عالميًا نتيجة أزمة  COVID-19 مع ذلك ، لا يتصدى القانون العراقي للعنف الأسري ، ويوفر القانون الجنائي دفاعات وعقوبات مخففة في حالات العنف الأسري.قدم المركز توصيات رئيسية لمشروع قانون الحماية من العنف المنزلي المعلق
لقد أوضح الخوف من العنف الأسري المتزايد أثناء إغلاق العراق بسبب فيروس كورونا أنه يجب على الحكومة التحرك لتمرير القانون

علاوة على ذلك ، فإن الغموض السياسي لا يبين ما إذا كانت المنظمات غير الحكومية المسجلة في العراق بإمكانها توفير المأوى للضحايا ، وتستمر الحكومة العراقية في تجريم الملاجئ للهاربين من العنف القائم على الجنس والعنف المنزلي. حيث 
اتهمت الأمانة العامة لمجلس الوزراء العراقي منظمة حرية المرأة في العراق (OWFI) بإيواء النساء الهاربات من العنف الأسري بشكل غير قانوني. يعرِّض التجريم المستمر للملاجئ التي تقدم خدمات منقذة للحياة  النساء والفتيات لخطر أكبر العنف المنزلي أو التعذيب أو الموت وسط الوباء. 

إن اعتماد مشروعي القانونين وإجراء مراجعة شاملة لأحكام العنف الجنسي في القانون الجنائي العراقي من شأنه أن يساعد في حماية النساء والأطفال من العنف في المستقبل ، ولكن لا يزال هناك المزيد الذي يتعين القيام به. 
كما أن المساءلة عن جرائم الماضي ضرورية لتغيير المناخ السائد للإفلات من العقاب. 
للقيام بذلك ، يجب معاقبة الجرائم الفظيعة صراحة في القانون الجنائي العراقي ، إلى جانب التغييرات الإجرائية الأخرى لضمان المساءلة عن الجرائم الفظيعة. تظهر المشاورات مع الضحايا الإيزيديين على سبيل المثال أن العدالة (بما في ذلك المساءلة الجنائية) بالنسبة للكثيرين هي أولوية قصوى ، لكن عدم وجود إطار قانوني وعدم مقاضاة جرائم العنف الجنسي على هذا النحو يوضح الحاجة إلى تغييرات هيكلية كبيرة. 

سيكون مشروع القانون ، إذا تمت الموافقة عليه من قبل البرلمان ، خطوة مهمة في إنشاء سجل شامل للجرائم المرتكبة أثناء النزاع والذي يمكن أن يسمح للمجتمعات المتضررة بالتعافي وإعادة التأهيل. سيساعد إشراك مجتمعات الضحايا والناجين في العملية على ضمان أن يلبي برنامج التعويض احتياجاتهم الفريدة والأكثر إلحاحًا مع البناء أيضًا نحو أهداف أكبر من الحقيقة والمصالحة والعدالة والمساءلة. سيكون إنشاء برنامج تعويضات شامل وتحويلي حقًا أمرًا صعبًا ، لكنه استثمار مهم في استقرار العراق على المدى الطويل

 

ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED: October 13, 2020

السيرة الذاتية: كريستين ج. سميث هي مديرة  مبادرة نقابة المحامين الأمريكية للجرائم الفظيعة  وهي مجموعة من المشاريع (بما في ذلك مشروع المحكمة الجنائية الدولية)  التي تركز على منع الفظائع والاستجابة والمساءلة بدعم مشترك من قسم العدالة الجنائية التابع لجمعية نقابة المحامين الأمريكية ومركز حقوق الإنسان. قبل انضمامها إلى جمعية المحامين الأمريكية ، عملت في قضايا المساواة بين الجنسين والحقوق الإنجابية والعدالة للجرائم الجنسية وجرائم القائمة على الجنس كزميلة قانونية في مركز العدالة العالمية في نيويورك. تويت: @kristinjpsmith  

سونالي داوان هي منتسب برنامج ABA Justice Defenders Program  وتدعم أقسام الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا وجنوب شرق آسيا وأوراسيا. قبل انضمامها إلى البرنامج ، تدربت السيدة داوان في منظمة إنقاذ الطفولة وهيومن رايتس ووتش  ومنظمة العفو الدولية في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. كانت حاصلة على زمالة مركز دراسة اللغة العربية في الخارج (CASA) بتنسيق من جامعة هارفارد في عمان ، الأردن ، حيث تطوعت أيضًا في المشروع الدولي لمساعدة اللاجئين. تويتر: @sonalidhawan_.


 

COMMENTS
Stay connected! Join our weekly newsletter to stay up-to-date on our newest content.  SUBSCRIBE

“Yazidi Female Survivors Law” in Iraq is groundbreaking but not enough

The new “Yazidi Female Survivors Law”, while groundbreaking, is too narrow to address the needs of some of Iraq’s most vulnerable communities.



Yazidi ethnic mourners cry in front of pictures of victims, during the fifth anniversary of Yazidi genocide by Islamic State in Baadre, 25 km south east of Duhok Kurdistan region in Iraq on 03 August 2019.  EFE/EPA/GAILAN HAJI


The COVID-19 pandemic has exacerbated existing inequalities in Iraq, further endangering vulnerable populations, including sexual violence victims and survivors. These survivors are particularly vulnerable with the reported resurgence of the Islamic State in Iraq, making reparations for victims and survivors of conflict-related sexual violence urgent to prevent their re-victimization and the recurrence of these crimes.  

The armed conflict that spread across Iraq after the emergence of the Islamic State raised existing violence to an unprecedented level. Sexual violence was used as a tactic of war, oppression, and destruction during Islamic State’s reign of terror, particularly systematic sexual violence inflicted against minority groups, including Yazidi women and girls. Amnesty International reported that Islamic State fighters systematically targeted thousands of Yazidi women and girls, forcing them into sexual slavery. The UN Human Rights Council’s Commission of Inquiry for Syria found that the Islamic State demonstrated “intent to destroy the Yazidi in whole or in part,” and that these crimes were acts of genocide. Despite overwhelming documentation and evidence of atrocity crimes, victims and survivors of conflict-related sexual violence in Iraq have not been offered a formal path to justice or accountability to date. 

In March 2019, Iraqi President Barham Salih submitted the “Yazidi Female Survivors Law” to Parliament for review. The draft law introduces a number of significant reparation measures for Yazidi women captured by the Islamic State, including compensation, rehabilitation, medical treatment, and economic opportunities. The draft law recognizes the crimes against the Yazidis as genocide and stipulates that perpetrators of “abduction and captivity” not be included in any “general or special amnesty.” 

The draft bill, while groundbreaking, is too narrow to address the needs of some of Iraq’s most vulnerable communities. The bill appears to have been drafted with little input from affected communities, excluding a number of the victims’ primary demands. A new report by ABA Center for Human Rights proposes revisions to make the bill’s reparations more responsive to the unique needs of victims of one particular subset of atrocity crimes: sexual violence.

Despite overwhelming documentation and evidence of atrocity crimes, victims and survivors of conflict-related sexual violence in Iraq have not been offered a formal path to justice or accountability to date.  

A primary critique of the draft bill is its narrow focus on kidnapping and on a limited group of victims, excluding many crimes committed against men and boys, as well as women and girls of other religious or ethnic groups. Broadening the draft bill’s focus to all victims and survivors of sexual violence would provide a start toward Iraq’s larger obligation to all victims of human rights violations by addressing the needs of a particularly vulnerable and targeted group and subset of crimes that are often under-reported and under-prosecuted. Importantly, comprehensive reparations can also address the immediate needs of victims and survivors by providing medical and psychological care, restoring access to education and economic opportunities, resolving parental status, and locating missing family members. Furthermore, the reparation regime should provide the families of disappeared victims with access to available reparation measures and address their right to information about both reparations and the violations that occurred. Reparations that give victims and their families a role in creating social change can be transformative, countering structural inequalities in society. 

The draft bill does not cover all the crimes that were allegedly committed, even though international human rights law requires that the right to a remedy be applied without discrimination. In response, the Center has recommended that the draft law be revised to include all victims and survivors of sexual violence. United Nations agencies in Iraq reported that Turkmen, Christian, and Shabak women were subject to sexual violence while in Islamic State captivity. Human Rights Watch also reported that Islamic State fighters arbitrarily detained, tortured, and forcibly married Sunni Arab women. Providing reparations to one ethnic or religious group while excluding others may exacerbate sectarian and inter-community tensions and deter reconciliation efforts under already sensitive security conditions. 

One further recommendation to improve the draft bill would be the addition of privacy and confidentiality protections in all aspects of the reparations program. Without these protections, victims and survivors may be unwilling to participate, fearing for their safety or that of family members or social stigma. Past efforts at combatting violence against women, for example, have been unsuccessful in protecting victims and their families from these risks.

Reparations that give victims and their families a role in creating social change can be transformative, countering structural inequalities in society.

Iraq does not have domestic legislation criminalizing war crimes, crimes against humanity, or genocide. Instead, it has relied on counterterrorism laws to prosecute suspected members of the Islamic State. Though not frequently applied by courts, Islamic State members may be entitled to release under a 2016 general amnesty law under certain circumstances. The Center therefore recommends that Iraq include a provision within the draft bill clarifying that no statute of limitations should apply to atrocity crimes (including acts of sexual violence when they constitute genocide, crimes against humanity, or war crimes) and that amnesties should not be applied to perpetrators of sexual violence crimes.  

For reparations to be truly effective, the Iraqi government must employ a holistic approach to protecting vulnerable populations, and the challenges of doing so have been made clear through past challenges in addressing domestic violence, which is on the rise globally as the result of the COVID-19 crisis. However, Iraqi law does not address domestic violence, and the criminal code provides defenses and mitigated sentences in domestic violence situations. The Center has provided key recommendations to the pending Protection from Domestic Violence Bill. Fear of increasing domestic violence during Iraq’s coronavirus lockdown has made it clear that the government must act to pass the bill. 

Moreover, policy ambiguity makes it unclear as to whether Iraqi-registered NGOs can even provide shelter to victims, and the Iraqi government continues to criminalize shelters for those escaping gender-based and domestic violence. The Organization of Women’s Freedom in Iraq (OWFI) has been accused by the General Secretariat of the Iraqi Council of Ministers of illegally sheltering women fleeing domestic violence. The ongoing criminalization of shelters that provide life-saving services puts women and girls at even greater risk of domestic violence, torture, or death amid the pandemic.  

Adoption of both bills and undertaking a comprehensive review of sexual violence provisions in Iraq’s criminal code would help protect women and children from future violence, but more remains to be done. Accountability for past crimes is also needed to alter the prevailing climate of impunity. To do so, atrocity crimes should be expressly penalized in Iraq’s criminal code, along with other procedural changes to ensure accountability for atrocity crimes. Consultations with Yazidi victims for example show that for many, justice (including criminal accountability) is a top priority, but the lack of a legal framework and failure to prosecute sexual violence crimes as such demonstrates the need for significant structural changes.  

The draft law, if approved by Parliament, would be a significant step in establishing a comprehensive record of the crimes committed during the conflict that can allow affected communities to heal and rehabilitate. Involving communities of victims and survivors in the process will help to ensure that the reparation program meets their unique and most urgent needs while also building toward larger goals of truth, reconciliation, justice, and accountability. Establishing a truly comprehensive and transformative reparations program will be difficult, but it is an important investment in the long-term stability of Iraq

 

ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED: October 13, 2020

Kristin J. Smith directs the Atrocity Crimes Initiative, a joint ABA Criminal Justice Section and Center for Human Rights initiative focused on atrocity prevention, response and accountability. Prior to the ABA, she worked on issues of gender equality, reproductive rights and justice for sexual and gender-based crimes at the Global Justice Center in New York. She tweets from @kristinjpsmith.

Sonali Dhawan is a program associate with the ABA Justice Defenders Program, supporting the Middle East & North Africa, South and Southeast Asia, and Eurasia divisions. Prior to joining the Program, Sonali interned at Save the Children, Human Rights Watch, and Amnesty International USA. She was a recipient of the Harvard University-coordinated Center for Arabic Study Abroad (CASA) fellowship in Amman, Jordan, where she also volunteered with the International Refugee Assistance Project. She tweets from @sonalidhawan_ 


 

COMMENTS
Stay connected! Join our weekly newsletter to stay up-to-date on our newest content.  SUBSCRIBE