الاختبار الهومو-كولونيالي لاستراتيجيات حقوق مجتمع الميم والتوعية بالتوجه الجنسي والهوية الجندرية

هناك ثغرة كبيرة في افتراض أن الدول الأخرى عليها أن "تلحق بالركب" ببساطة من خلال التوسع في أطر التوعية بالتوجه الجنسي والهوية الجندرية 



في الآونة الأخيرة، بلغت حقوق مجتمع الميم وحقوق التوعية بالتوجه الجنسي والهوية الجندرية (SOGIE) مسامع المجتمع الدولي، فأدت إلى مقاومة عريضة من عدة حكومات ومنظمات حكومية وحركات اجتماعية ودينية مُحافظة. هذا التقدم المحرز، وردود الفعل السلبية تجاهه داخل عدة دول، أسفر عمّا أصفه بمصطلح "هومو-كولونيالية": عملية سياسية تنتشر بموجبها حقوق الإنسان الخاصة بمجتمع الميم وتلقى المقاومة. 

شهد يوليو/تموز 2016 تعيين أول مسؤول بالأمم المتحدة معني بقضايا مجتمع الميم والتوعية بالتوجه الجنسي والهوية الجندرية، كنتيجة مباشرة لتقرير "ولدنا أحراراً ومتساوين" الصادر عام 2012. هذه الحقوق لا تزال موضع خلاف في الأمم المتحدة، لكنها توسعت وتمددت تدريجياً عبر مختلف الدول منذ التسعينيات، رغم أن الاتحاد الأوروبي لا يزال هو المنظمة الحكومية الوحيدة التي دمجت التوعية بالتوجه الجنسي والهوية الجندرية في إطار عمل حقوق الإنسان الخاص بها. كما أن التوعية بحقوق مجتمع الميم أصبح جزءاً من السياسة الخارجية الرسمية للكثير من الأطراف في الاتحاد الأوروبي، مثل هولندا، فضلاً عن دول أخرى مثل كندا والمملكة المتحدة. قد يبدو أن القبول العالمي لحقوق مجتمع الميم قد أوشك على التحقق. والحق أن المنظمات السياسية المعنية بمجتمع الميم مثل ILGA (الجمعية الدولية للمثليات والمثليين ومزدوجي الميول الجنسية ومتحولو الجنس وثنائيو الجنس)، والحكومات الغربية التي تروج لحقوق مجتمع الميم دولياً فضلاً عن الهيئات بين الحكومية مثل مجلس حقوق الإنسان بالأمم المتحدة، كثيراً ما تصوّر هذا البروز للاستراتيجيات الحقوقية الدولية بصفته الخطوة المنطقية التالية في التوسع التاريخي لتدابير حماية مجتمع الميم. وعلى مستوى التجربة اليومية، فالأمر منطقي أيضاً، إذ انتقلنا من الوصم الاجتماعي والخفاء الكاملين إلى تزايد الظهور العلني وتوفر الحقوق على مدار عقود قليلة، في عدد من الدول. 

لكن هناك انقسام عالمي حول تقبل حقوق وهويات مجتمع الميم، إذ يبدو أن الكثير من الدول غير الغربية متأخرة عن الركب (انظر هنا أيضاً). هناك في رأيي قصور كبير في افتراض أن الدول الأخرى عليها ببساطة أن "تلحق بالركب" من خلال التوسع في أطر عمل التوعية بالتوجه الجنسي والهوية الجندرية. المقاربة التي تعتمد على الإحساس بالحتمية أو بالتقدم المنطقي يمكن في حقيقة الأمر أن تحول دون أن تصبح أطر عمل حقوق الإنسان الخاصة بمجتمع الميم موارد نافعة لضمان المساواة، حيثما لم يتم بعد تطبيع التنوع الجنسي ثقافياً وسياسياً. أصف هذا الخطر بمصطلح "هومو-كولونيالية". 

أولاً، كما ورد في تقرير الأمم المتحدة، تم عرض حقوق مجتمع الميم مفاهيمياً بصفتها حقوق عالمية، مما يعني الفهم العابر للتاريخ والثقافات للهويات الجنسية وتنظيمها اجتماعياً. في مقابل هذا التأطير، فإن تدويل حقوق الإنسان الخاصة بمجتمع الميم أمر تنتقده حكومات كثيرة، عادة بالتحالف مع حركات دينية واجتماعية محافظة، بصفة هذا التدويل يعتمد على تجارب الغرب، من حيث تشكل هويات مجتمع الميم، ومن حيث التنظيم غير التقليدي للعلاقات الجندرية، ما يؤدي إلى تأطير حقوق مجتمع الميم بصفتها "كولونيالية جديدة" مفروضة من الخارج. 

مفهوم "هومو-كولونيالية" إذن يتناول مأزق إعمال حقوق مجتمع الميم في ظل إمكانية فرض الكولونيالية الجديدة للسياسة الغربية، عن طريق اعتماد الفهم الغربي للجنسانية في الحقوق الدولية. هذا واضح في حالة الأمم المتحدة والاتحاد الأوروبي والسياسات الخارجية للدول التي تروج لحقوق مجتمع الميم وتوفر مسارات لجوء لأفراد مجتمع الميم. فعلياً، فإن الحقوق المفترض أنها "ملحقة" بالهويات الجنسية المعلنة (أو التي يجب أن تكون معلنة قبل المطالبة بتدابير الحماية هذه) والفردية والثابتة عبر اختلاف الأفراد والزمن والمكان هذه السمة العالمية للتنوع الجنسي تُنشر وتُبث في فضاء من العلاقات الدولية، وتعمل بشكل ديالكتيكي ومبدئي على ثقافات "تقليدية" (أقل نصيباً من "النمو"، في الجنوب العالمي، دول مسلمة، القارة الأفريقية، وهذه بعض الأهداف) وأيضاً على الفضاء الذي نبعت منه الفكرة، في الغرب. 

يحصل الغرب على طمأنة إزاء سموه الحضاري عبر توفر حقوق المواطنة المنحازة إلى نسخٍ قيمية أكثر وأكثر بشكل مطرد من المثلية الجنسية (مثل زواج المثليين، وتزايد ظهور المثليين في المجال العام، في الإعلام والثقافة) ويتم وضع هذا جنباً إلى جنب مع غياب هذا الظهور في المجتمعات غير الغربية في مختلف أنحاء العالم، بما يشمل المجموعات المهاجرة من الأقليات في الغرب، ما يعني خلق "آخر" في الداخل والخارج، وهو تكنيك كولونيالي كلاسيكي لتهيئة وتكريس قيم الغرب المحترمة والآخر الأجنبي في المقابل. هذه المثلية الاستعمارية (هومو-كولونيالية) إذن تشجع المقاومة الثقافية المحلية وعبر الوطنية لحقوق مجتمع الميم، إذ تعزز فكرة أنها "غربية" ومن ثم غير متسقة بشكل ما مع السياسات المعارضة للكولونيالية ومع الاستقلال الثقافي. 

هذا التأطير للمقاومة ظاهر في الحملات السياسية من مختلف مناطق العالم، وانطلاقاً من العديد من مجتمعات المهاجرين، من الأقليات، في الغرب، وفي مختلف دول الكاريبي، حتى بولندا وروسيا (بما يشمل الشيشان) وأوغندا وإيران، وليست هذه إلا بعض الأمثلة. وفي إطار عملية "الهومو-كولونيالية" هذه، يقبل طرفا الخلاف بأن حقوق مجتمع الميم غربية، لكن هناك طرف من الطرفين يراها استعمارية، ما يجعل من الصعب للغاية الدعوة لتقبل إطار حقوقي يعترف بحقوق مجتمع الميم العالمية ويحمي الأفراد ويقر بالاختلافات في كيفية فهم وتنظيم الهويات الجنسية اجتماعياً. إن أي انتشار لحقوق مجتمع الميم يجب إذن أن يقر بهذه الديناميكية، لا سيما عندما يكون نشر الحقوق من حيث المبدأ يستفز التركيز على أفراد مجتمع الميم، بما يضر قدرتهم على التماس الأمان من التحرش والعنف والموت. انظر على سبيل المثال موجة القمع الأخيرة ضد رفع أعلام قوس قزح لدى سفارات كندا والمملكة المتحدة بالعراق، في مايو/أيار 2020. 

كيف لنا إذن أن نتحرك بشكل عملي لتفعيل هذا الفهم المفاهيمي المعقد؟ في سياق عملي السابق حول الثقافات الإسلامية والمثلية الجنسية، اقترحت "اختبار الهومو-كولونيالية" لسياسات مجتمع الميم الغربية، كطريقة للتفكير في كيف يمكن للأطر الحقوقية أن تعزز أو تقوض معادلة التنوع الجنسي في الغرب، ومن ثم تقوض أو تدعم محاولات تسليط الضوء على قضايا مجتمع الميم من قبل الأطراف المحلية وليس انطلاقاً من أجندة كولونيالية. الفكرة الأساسية في "الاختبار" أن يكون مرناً ونقدياً حول التحيزات والافتراضات المسبقة في تعزيز الغرب لحقوق مجتمع الميم. على سبيل المثال، هل تفترض المنظمات أن هناك "نموذج" لحقوق مجتمع الميم بناء على التجربة الغربية؟ لعل من الأفضل أن نعرف من المجموعات المحلية ما هي الخصائص المحلية لحركات مجتمع الميم وهويات مجتمع الميم المحلية، وما أوجه الاعتراض التي يواجهها المجتمع المذكور عبر فضاءات الثقافة والسياسة. على سبيل المثال، شهدنا حدوث تقدم فيما يخص حقوق متحولات الجنس في جنوب آسيا على مدار السنوات الأخيرة، في حين ظلت قوانين وسلوكيات معاداة المثلية كما هي. هذا هو عكس أغلب التجارب الغربية ويمكن فهمه فقط من خلال تقاليد الحَجَرة، أو الجنس الثالث في جنوب آسيا، التي "ترجمت" إلى فكرة "متحولات الجنس" الغربية، ومن خلال هذه الترجمة تمت رؤية الهويات المحلية المذكورة على ضوء كونها ثرية ثقافياً وأصيلة، وليست "أجنبية".  

كما أن مقاومة انتشار حقوق مجتمع الميم تتباين في حدتها بين الخطابات السياسية والتشريع والعنف المنظم. ففي هذه المجالات المختلفة، من المهم تقييم ما إذا كان طلب كفالة الحقوق لمجتمع الميم مورد يمكّن الحركات المحلية أم لا، وما إذا كان قد يؤدي إلى تحقق مستويات من المقاومة قادرة على شل الحركة. لعل المجموعات المحلية تفضل التركيز على بناء التوافق المجتمعي حول القضية عبر الخدمات والعيادات التي تركز على الصحة الجنسية أو عبر منصات مجتمعية على الإنترنت، بدلاً من تعريف أنفسهم علناً بصفتهم يطالبون بالحقوق، مما قد يستفز رداً قاسياً، مختبئاً وراء عباءة الغضب إزاء "الهومو-كولونيالية". في حين أن المذكور يذكرنا بمناقشات شبيهة في مجال التنمية، وتوفيرها كخدمات مقابل انتهاج مقاربات إنمائية تستند إلى كفالة الحقوق، فربما كان من أكثر المجالات فعالية لعمل حكومة خارجية أو منظمة مجتمع مدني، هو بناء البنية التحتية لحقوق الإنسان عموماً، بدلاً من التركيز على حقوق مجتمع الميم تحديداً.  

لقد قادت الكثير من الدول والمجموعات غير الغربية النشاط في الآونة الأخيرة حول حقوق مجتمع الميم، على المستوى الدولي، لكن في أحيان كثيرة للغاية، تعلق المطالبات بهذه الحقوق في حالة من الانتكاس لأنها يُنظر إليها بصفتها تفرض رؤى الغرب حول الهويات الجنسية. من المهم أن نتقدم نحو صوغ مفاهيم ضد-كولونيالية فيما يتعلق بالتنوع الجنسي، بحيث تصبح هذه الحقوق مصدراً حقيقياً للمساواة. وإلا فسوف تبقى حبيسة عملية الاتهام بالهومو-كولونيالية التي تقوض من تمكين حقوق مجتمع الميم عالمياً، ومن نسخ التنوع الجنسي المحلية غير الغربية المختلفة.

 

ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED: October 6, 2020

مومن رحمان هو أستاذ السوسيولوجيا في جامعة ترينت في كندا. كتب الكثير عن المسلمين الكويريين وعرض بحوثه في اجتماعات خاصة بمجلس الأمم المتحدة لحقوق الإنسان، وأمام الحكومة الكندية.


 

COMMENTS
Stay connected! Join our weekly newsletter to stay up-to-date on our newest content.  SUBSCRIBE

The “homocolonialist” test for global LGBTQ+ & SOGIE rights strategies

There is a major pitfall in assuming that other countries simply need to “catch up” through an expansion of SOGIE rights frameworks.



A woman who covers her face with the rainbow flag participates in the LGBT Pride march at the Central American University (UCA), in Managua (Nicaragua).  EFE / Jorge Torres


LGBTQ+ and SOGIE (sexual orientation and gender identity education) rights have recently reached a threshold of international attention, provoking widespread resistance from many governments, IGOs, and socially conservative and religious movements. This progress, and the negative reactions to it from within many countries, has resulted in what I call “homocolonialism”: a political process through which LGBTQ+ human rights are deployed and resisted.    

July 2016 saw the appointment of the UN’s first dedicated human rights official for LGBTQ+ and SOGIE issues, a direct result of the 2012 report Born Free and Equal. These rights remain contentious at the UN but have gradually expanded across many countries since the 1990s, although the European Union (EU) remains the only intergovernmental organization to incorporate SOGIE within its human rights framework. Furthermore, the promotion of LGBTQ+ rights has become part of the official foreign policy of many within the EU, such the Netherlands, as well as countries like Canada and the UK. It may seem that the global acceptance of LGBTQ+ rights is on the horizon. Indeed, LGBTQ+ political organizations such as ILGA (International Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Trans, and Intersex Association), Western governments that now promote LGBTQ+ rights internationally, as well as inter-governmental bodies such as the UN Human Rights Council, often portray this recent emergence of international rights strategies as the logical next stage in the historic expansion of LGBTQ+ protections. At the level of everyday experience, it also makes sense—we have gone from complete social stigma and invisibility to increasing public visibility and rights over the course of a few decades in many countries. 

There remains, however, a global divide on the acceptance of LGBTQ+ rights and identities, with many non-Western countries seen as lagging behind (see here also).  There is, I suggest, a major pitfall in assuming that other countries simply need to “catch up” through an expansion of SOGIE rights frameworks. An approach that is based on the sense of inevitable or logical progress of the current understanding of SOGIE could actually prevent LGBTQ+ human rights frameworks from serving as effective equality resources where sexual diversity is yet to be culturally and politically normalized. I describe this danger as one of homocolonialism.  

First, as in the UN report, LGBTQ+ rights are conceptualized as universal, implying a trans-historical and trans-cultural understanding of sexual identities and their social regulation. In opposition to this framing, the internationalization of LGBTQ+ human rights is criticized by many governments, often in alliance with conservative/religious social movements, as being based on Western experiences of both the formation of LGBTQ+ identities and the non-traditional organization of gender relations, leading to a framing of LGBTQ+ rights as a neo-colonialist imposition from outside. 

Homocolonialism thus represents a dilemma for LGBTQ+ rights by potentially replaying the neo-colonialism of Western politics in adopting Western understandings of sexuality for international rights. This is evident in the UN, EU and foreign policies of those countries that both promote LGBTQ+ rights and provide refugee pathways for LGBTQ+ peoples.  Effectively, the rights are assumed to “attach” to sexual identities that are public (or need to be to claim those protections), individual, and stable across biography, time, and location. This universal characterization of sexual diversity is being deployed in the space of international relations and operates dialectically and definitionally towards “traditional” cultures (less economically “developed” countries, the Global South, Muslim countries, the African continent, to name the primary targets) but also towards the originating space of the West.

Homocolonialism represents a dilemma for LGBTQ+ rights by potentially replaying the neo-colonialism of Western politics in adopting Western understandings of sexuality for international rights.   

The West is provided with a reassurance of its civilizational superiority through the presence of citizenship rights allied to increasingly normative versions of homosexuality (such as same-sex marriage and increasing public visibility in media and culture) which are then contrasted with their absence in non-Western communities worldwide, including minority immigrant groups in the West, creating “others” at home and abroad: a classic colonial tactic of creating a respectable Western norm and foreign others. This homocolonialism then encourages local and transnational cultural resistance to LGBTQ+ rights by reinforcing the notion that they are “Western” and, therefore, somehow incompatible with anti-colonialist politics and cultural autonomy.   

This framing of resistance is evident in political campaigns from across the globe, within many minority immigrant communities in the West, various Caribbean nations, to Poland, Russia (including Chechnya), Uganda, Iran, to name but a few examples. Within this homocolonialist dynamic, both sides of the divide accept the premise that LGBTQ+ rights are Western, but one side sees it as colonialist, making it profoundly difficult to argue for a rights framework that both recognizes and protects the universal rights of LGBTQ+ individuals and recognizes differences in how sexual identities are understood and socially regulated. Any deployment of LGBTQ+ rights must, therefore, acknowledge this dynamic, particularly when the very deployment could provoke a focus on LGBTQ+ individuals that harms their ability to stay safe from harassment violence and death.  See, for example, the recent backlash against raising rainbow flags at the embassies of Canada and the UK in Iraq in May 2020. 

How then, do we proceed in practical terms to operationalize this complex conceptual understanding?  In previous work on Muslim cultures and homosexualities, I proposed a “homocolonialist test” for Western LGBTQ politics as a way of thinking through how rights strategies could either reinforce or disrupt the equation of sexual diversity with the West, and thus undermine or support attempts to identify LGBTQ issues with a local, rather than neo-colonialist agenda. The main encouragement of the “test” is to be reflexive about biases and assumptions in the promotion of LGBTQ+ rights by the West. For example, do organizations assume that there can or should be a “model” of LGBTQ+ rights based on Western experiences?  Perhaps it is better to learn first from local groups what the national specificities of LGBTQ+ movements and identities have been, and what opposition they face across cultural and political realms.  For example, we have seen rights advances for trans* identities in South Asia in the last few years, while anti-homosexual laws and attitudes have often remained. This is the reverse of most Western experiences and can only be explained by local traditions of hijra or third gender in South Asia, that has “translated” the Western idea of trans* into local identities that are seen as culturally resonant and authentic, rather than “foreign”.

The main encouragement of the “test” is to be reflexive about biases and assumptions in the promotion of LGBTQ+ rights by the West.

Furthermore, resistance to LGBTQ+ varies from political discourses to legislation and organized violence. Across all these realms it is important to assess whether a demand for LGBTQ+ rights is an enabling resource for local movements or whether it creates disabling levels of resistance.  Perhaps local groups would rather focus on community building through services and clinics that focus on sexual health or online community platforms, rather than publicly identify themselves through rights claims that might provoke a harsh response, cloaked in homocolonialist outrage.  While this certainly echoes debates in development on service-based versus rights-based approaches, it may be that one of the most effective areas an outside government or NGO can work in is to build the infrastructure for human rights overall, rather than focus on LGBTQ+ specifically. 

Many non-Western nations and groups have led the recent activism on LGBTQ+ rights internationally, but too often, these rights claims are caught up in a regressive dynamic because they are seen as imposing a Western view of sexual identities. Crucially, we must move towards some decolonial reformulations of the concepts of sexual diversity, if such rights are to be a genuine resource for equality. Otherwise, they are held hostage by this homocolonial dynamic that disempowers both universal LGBTQ+ rights and local, non-Western, versions of sexual diversity.

 


"This piece is part of a series published in partnership with Occidental College’s Young Initiative on the Global Political Economy, the division of Social Sciences at Arizona State University, and USC’s Institute on Inequalities in Global Health. It flows out of a September 2019 workshop held at Occidental on “Cross-cutting Global Conversations on Human Rights: Interdisciplinarity, Intersectionality, and Indivisibility.”

 

ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED: October 6, 2020

Momin Rahman is a professor of sociology at Trent University in Canada. He has written extensively about queer Muslims and has presented his research at private meetings at the UN Human Rights Council and with the Canadian government.


 

COMMENTS
Stay connected! Join our weekly newsletter to stay up-to-date on our newest content.  SUBSCRIBE