[ X ]

فيما يخص مكتب منظمة العفو الدولية بالهند، جمع التبرعات محلياً يتوقف تماماً علي العضوية

يركز مركز مكتب منظمة العفو الدولية بالهند جهود جمع التبرعات في جمع المساهمات المحلية، مواجهاً تحديات تختلف في طبيعتها اختلاف فصول السنة عن بعضها وتحيل بينه وبين تحقيق مكاناً بارزاً علي الساحة.


By: Aakar Patel
April 28, 2016

Available in:
English | Español


كما أوضحت سيما جوها سابقاً في هذا النقاش المطروح، المنظمات غير الحكومية أصبحت محط اهتمام وعلينا  جميعاً أن نكون أكثر حذراً وإبداعاً فيما يخص موارد جمع التبرعات. ولذلك فمكتب منظمة العفو الدولية بالهند يتطور ويسعي لتوسيع استراتيجية جمع التبرعات المحلية.

هناك ثلاث أقسام تتألف منها استراتيجية جمع التبرعات الخاصة بمكتب منظمة العفو الدولية بالهند. أول قسمين هما جمع التبرعات من الصناديق الاستئمانية الخيرية والمؤسسات، ومن الأثرياء. ولكن القسم الأكثر أهمية هو الثالث، والذي يعمل فيه فريق عملنا وجهاً لوجه لجمع التبرعات – وهو ما نطلق عليه "المنح المنتظمة"- هذا الجزء مركزي في عملياتنا.

حتي شهر مارس لهذا العام، كانت عملية التماس الدعم من المانحين تتم من خلال مكتبي بنغالور وتشيناي. هذا الشهر قمنا ببدء عمليات في ثلاث مدن إضافية- بيون ومومباي وحيدر أباد- لجمع التبرعات من خلال المنح المنتظمة. في هذه العملية، نقوم بالوقوف في الشارع خلال ساعات العمل (ويشمل هذا قبل و بعد ساعات العمل بقليل). نطلب من المارة التوقف ونعرفهم بمنظمة العفو الدولية وبرنامج عملنا في الهند. تستغرق هذه المحادثة حوالي 15 دقيقة وتشمل التعريف بمشاريعنا السبعة الحالية في الهند: المحتجزين تحت المحاكمة، والحقوق القبلية في مناطق تعدين الفحم، وحق المرأة في الإبلاغ عن العنف الجنسي، والمشاريع الأخري.

وجودنا هنا في الهند لم يمر عليه أكثر من أربع سنوات، ولذلك لم يسمع الكثيرون عن مكتب منظمة العفو الدولية، "فمكانتنا على الساحة" ليست بارزة. بأخذ هذا فى الاعتبار، نعمل علي تعريف الناس بعملنا المستمر منذ عقود على النطاق الدولي في مجال حقوق الإنسان وحصولنا علي جائزة نوبل للسلام.

في نهاية المحادثة، نتحدث عن كيف يتم تمويلنا ونسأل ما إذا كان هذا الشخص يود أن يكون مساهم بشكل منتظم. من يرد المشاركة، يملىء استمارة ببياناته البنكية ويختار القيمة الشهرية– بين 400 إلى 1000 روبية هندية - التي يريد المساهمة بها. قمنا بتحديد أدني قيمة للتبرع بناءً علي خبرتنا في العثور علي نقطة متوسطة مناسبة للمواطن الهندي العادي، ومعرفتنا بسعر السوق (ونعني بهذا الحد الأدني للتبرع في المنظمات الأخري). أكثر من ثلث المتبرعين المنتظمين لدينا من النساء، وهذه النسبة في تزايد مستمر بمرور الوقت. إلي جانب وقوفنا في الشارع  لجمع التبرعات، نحاول التعاون مع منظمات مثل الشركات الكبرى ليسمحوا لنا بمساحة داخل مكاتبهم لعدة أيام نقوم بها بإشراك الموظفين في التبرع.  

هذا الأمر مهم لأن الاشتراك مرتبط مباشرة بساعات العمل التطوعية في الشوارع.

تعد عملية جمع التبرعات هذه عمل شاق، ومليئة بالتحديات. الطقس بحد ذاته يقف عائقاً أمامنا. ففي الأجواء الحارة لا نملك إلا ساعات محدودة في عدة مدن (في مدينة تشيناي الجنوبية الساحلية ذات الحرارة القائظة علي سبيل المثال، نبدأ في العمل في وقت متأخر ونظل حتي ساعات متأخرة من الليل). موسم الرياح يعني أن بعض الأيام ستغرق مومباي بأمطار غزيرة ولا يمكننا العمل فيها إطلاقاً. هذا العام، خسرنا شهر كامل من العمل نتيجة للفيضانات الأخيرة في تشيناي، والتي أجبرت المدينة بأكملها علي التوقف. هذا الأمر مهم لأن الاشتراك مرتبط مباشرة بساعات العمل التطوعية في الشوارع.

التحدى الثاني هو أمر غير معتاد بعض الشىء ويتعلق بقواعد ملء الأفراد لاستمارات بياناتهم البنكية وتوقيعها. في كثير من الأحيان تقوم البنوك بإرجاع هذه الاستمارات، لوجود اختلاف في التوقيع. هذا الأمر يمكن حله ولكن يتطلب وقتاً لأننا نحتاج إلى التواصل شخصياُ مع صاحب التوقيع مرة أخرى.

التحدى الثالث، هو أن تعيين أفراد فى حملة التبرع يكون أيسر في بعض المدن من أخري . بالرغم من أن لغة العمل لدينا هي الإنجليزية، إلا أن طبيعة المحادثات في الطرقات تتطلب منا أن نكون طلقاء في اللغة المحلية. وجودنا في عدة مدن سيعني أن نقوم بتغيير طريقة توزيع فريق عملنا.  


Aijaz Rahi/Press Association Images (All rights reserved)

As part of their campaign in Bangalore, India, an Amnesty international official explains the use of a 'virtual reality instrument' that takes the user step by step through the process of reporting sexual violence at a local police station.


التحدى الأخير كما ذكرنا سابقاً، هو أن مكانة منظمة العفو الدولية في الهند ليست بنفس أهميتها في بعض دول أوروبا علي سبيل المثال، حيث بدأت نشاطها في الستينات. هذا الأمر يتحسن بمرور الوقت، ولكن في الوقت الحالي علينا أن نجذب الأفراد إلي "المنتج" فضلا ً عن العلامة التجارية. فالأهم هى البرامج التي نقدمها وليس اسمنا الذي سيجذب المساهمين.

نظام المنح المنتظمة هو الطريقة التي تتبعها الكثير من المؤسسات الخيرية حول العالم لجمع التبرعات. فهي طريقة يسهل إعادة تطبيقها في مدن أخري كما أنها تجعل المنظمة أقل اعتماداً علي التبرعات الضخمة سواء كانت من الصناديق الاستئمانية الخيرية والمؤسسات أو من الأثرياء.

بالتنفيذ الجيد، يمكن للمنح المنتظمة أن تنتج ريعاً يتزايد بشكل متضاعف كل عام. مثلاً، يمكن أن يشترك 100 مانح منتظم في المؤسسة في عام 2015 وفي عام 2016 يشترك 100 مشترك آخر، ولكن قد انسحب 20 مشتركاً من العام الماضي. إذن أغلق عام 2016 بوجود 180 مانح منتظم. في عام 2017 هذا الرقم في الغالب سيصل إلي 240 وهكذا. هذا النوع من النمو المتضاعف يصعب تحقيقه فى استراتيجتي جمع التبرعات الأخريتين.

علاوة علي ذلك، فعادة ما تقوم الصناديق الاستئمانية الخيرية والمؤسسات بتخصيص تمويلها، مما يحدد مساهمتها لمشروعات بعينها. فحديثاً القانون الهندي بخصوص المسئولية الاجتماعية للشركات يطالب جميع الشركات الهادفة للربح والتي يفوق ربحها حداً معيناً أن تخصص 22% من أرباحها للتبرعات،هذا فتح مورداً جديدة للمنظمات غير الهادفة للربح. ولكن الحكومة  تحصر وجهات صرف هذه التبرعات.

أما الأفراد علي الجانب الآخر، فيميلون للانجذاب نحو أشياء مختلفة. فالعديد منهم يريدون أن يروا تغيراً في مناطق معينة، علي سبيل المثال حالة السجناء المحتجزين في انتظار المحاكمة، أو العنف الجنسي تجاه المرأة. كما أن جمع التبرعات الفردية يوفر عاملي الاستقرار والتنبؤ اللذين يجعلانه أكثر تفضيلاً  في جمع التبرعات على عدد أصغر من الموارد، مثل الصناديق الاستئمانية الخيرية والأثرياء. أفضل ما يميز جمع التبرعات الفردية أنه بطريقة ما يفوق الدافع المالي تماماً. ليمثل شيئاً جامعاً للأفراد الذين يستثمرون في هدف واحد: خلق مجتمعاً يحترم الحقوق المدنية. مكتب منظمة العفو الدولي بالهند ليس مهمة بيروقراطية تعنى فقط بمراقبة ومعايرة مستويات حقوق الإنسان بالهند. نحن حركة ناشطة من الهند وبابنا مفتوح للمشاركة.

 


آكار باتل هو المدير التنفيذي لمكتب منظمة العفو الدولية بالهند.


 

COMMENTS

For Amnesty’s India office, raising local funds is all about membership

Amnesty International’s India hub focuses most of its fundraising efforts on domestic contributions, facing challenges as diverse as the weather to brand recognition


By: Aakar Patel
April 28, 2016

Available in:
Español | العربية


As Seema Guha noted earlier in this debate, NGOs in India have been put on notice, and we all have to be more careful—and creative—about our funding sources. As such, Amnesty International India is developing and hoping to expand its local fundraising strategy,

There are three parts to AI’s local funding strategy. The first two are raising money from charitable trusts and foundations, and from wealthy individuals. But the most important is the third part, where the majority of our staff work: face-to-face fundraising—what we refer to as “regular gifts”—is crucial to our operations. 

Until March this year, this donor solicitation was done out of two of our offices, Bangalore and Chennai. This month, we have started operations in three additional cities—Pune, Mumbai and Hyderabad—for raising money through regular gifts. In this process, we stand on the street during office hours (including slightly before and slightly after). We stop individuals and talk to them about Amnesty International and our program of work in India. This conversation usually lasts about 15 minutes and also includes a run through of our seven active projects in India: under-trial detention, tribal rights in coal mining areas, and women’s right to report sexual violence, among others.

We have only been in India for about four years, and so not everyone has heard of the organization—Amnesty’s “brand recognition” is not particularly high. With that in mind, we work to familiarize people with our decades of work internationally in human rights, and our Nobel Peace Prize.

At the end of the conversation, we speak about how we are funded and ask if the individual would like to become a regular contributor. Those who want to sign up then fill out a form with bank details and choose a monthly sum—between Rs 400 and Rs 1000—that they wish to contribute. We established the minimum amount based on our experience in finding a sweet spot for the average Indian contributor, and our knowledge of the market rate (i.e., the donation threshold in other charities raising funds). Over a third of our regular gift donors are women, and this ratio is increasing over time. Besides being fundraising on streets, we also approach organizations, such as corporate companies, to allow us to set up a space inside their offices for a couple of days where we can sign up employees.

Sign-ups are linked directly to volunteer hours on the street.

This process of fundraising is hard work, and there are many challenges. The weather is one particular obstacle. The heat means that the number of hours we have available in many cities is limited (in the sweltering southern coastal city of Chennai, for instance, we start later and work into the late evening). The monsoon season means that some days of torrential rain in Mumbai are completely written off. This year, we lost an entire month because of the recent floods in Chennai, which brought the city to a standstill. This is important because sign-ups are linked directly to volunteer hours on the street.

The second is an unusual issue, and has to do with the fact that the rules require us to get individuals to fill out a form and then sign it. Banks often return the forms, citing a signature mismatch. This is resolvable but requires additional time, because the individual needs to be contacted in person yet again.

Third, hiring fundraisers in some cities is easier than in others. Though the language of our work is English, the nature of street conversations means that we must be fluent in the local language. A multi-city presence means that this affects how we relocate staff.


Aijaz Rahi/Press Association Images (All rights reserved)

As part of their campaign in Bangalore, India, an Amnesty international official explains the use of a 'virtual reality instrument' that takes the user step by step through the process of reporting sexual violence at a local police station.


Finally, as mentioned earlier, the recognition of Amnesty in India is not as high as it might be in European nations, where the organization has been active since the 1960s. This is improving with time, but for now it means that we must be able to attract the individual to the “product” rather than the brand. It is our programs, rather than our name, which must attract the contributor.  

Regular gifts are the way in which, the world over, many of the big charities raise most of their money. It is replicable in other cities and it makes the organization less dependent on large donations, whether from trusts and foundations or from wealthy individuals.

If done well, regular gifts can result in revenue that increases exponentially each year. For example, an organization might sign up 100 regular gift donors in 2015 and in 2016 it signs up another 100, but 20 from the previous year drop out. It ends 2016 with 180 donors. In 2017 that number is likely to be 240, and so on. This sort of exponential growth is difficult to achieve in the other two fundraising strategies.

In addition, trusts and foundations often earmark their funding, limiting their contribution to certain specific projects. A new Indian law on Corporate Social Responsibility, requiring all profitable companies above a certain size to donate 2% of their profit, has opened up another source for non-profits. However, the government restricts the areas where such money may be spent. 

Individuals, on the other hand, tend to gravitate towards different things. Many want to see work done in particular areas, for example the condition of prisoners who are facing trial, or the sexual violence against women. Individual fundraising also brings an element of stability and predictability that makes it preferable to raising money from a smaller number of sources, such as trusts and wealthy individuals. The best part of individual fundraising is, in a way, not about finances at all. It brings together individuals who are invested in a common purpose: the creation of a rights respecting society. Amnesty International India is not a bureaucracy tasked with monitoring and calibrating the levels of human rights in India. We are a movement of Indian individuals, and we are open for membership.


Aakar Patel is the Executive Director of Amnesty International India.


 

COMMENTS