مطلوب في إسرائيل: القيادة الديمقراطية

لا يتعارض الرأي العام الإسرائيلي مع مفهوم الديمقراطية كما يوصف بذلك غالباً.


By: Tamar Hermann 
October 7, 2015

Available in:
English | עברית


في السنوات الأخيرة، تناولت كتابات كثيرة سلبيات الثقافة السياسية الإسرائيلية. غالباً ما يواجه الإسرائيليون، ولا سيما عامة الأغلبية اليهودية، تهماً في وسائل الإعلام المحلية والأجنبية –وكذلك في بعض التحليلات الأكاديمية والسياسية– بأنهم يجاهرون بآراء ومشاعر غير ديمقراطية إن لم تكن مناهضة للديمقراطية. وأحياناً يتم تصوير هذه الآراء والمشاعر على أنها "عنصرية"، وتحديداً فيما يتعلق بالأقليات غير اليهودية في البلاد.

لقد تأثرت هذه التفسيرات بشدة –ولأسباب مفهومة تماماً– بأكثر من بضع هجمات لفظية وجسدية مزعجة للغاية، في الغالب (وليس حصر) ضد العرب. وقد تجسدت هذه الهجمات بشكل أوضح ما يكون خلال صيف عام 2014، خلال عملية الجرف الصامد (زوك إيتان). وقد تعمق هذا الانطباع مع الإدانات السائدة في إسرائيل من خلال المواقف الليبرالية والمبادرات القانونية والاقتراحات السياسية التي طرحها السياسيون ونشطاء المجتمع المدني من اليسارىين. وبطبيعة الحال، فإن الصورة العامة عن الإسرائيليين المناهضين للديمقراطية و/أو العنصريين قد احتضنها بكل سرور وإلى حد بعيد خصوم إسرائيل، وأيضاً بعض من "عشاق الإحباط" من داخل وخارج البلاد.

ومع ذلك، واستناداً إلى بعض النتائج الإرشادية المستخلصة من الاستطلاع الإسرائيلي السنوي عن مؤشر الديمقراطية الذي تم إجراؤه في شهر مايو عام 2015، فقد كان حكم النقاد في بعض النواحي قاسياً جداً ومتسرعاً جداً. وكما ذكرت داليا شيندلين من قبل في هذا النقاش، على مستوى المفاهيم، فإن الغالبية العظمى من اليهود  الإسرائيليين على دراية بحقوق الإنسان الأساسية والحقوق المدنية، وفي الواقع هم أيضاً مؤيدون لهذه الحقوق. ولكن تنشأ الصعوبة عندما يتعلق الأمر بترجمة هذه المفاهيم المجردة إلى التفضيلات السياسة. وهذا صحيح بشكل خاص عندما تتصادم حقوق الإنسان والحقوق المدنية مع المخاوف الأمنية أو مع تعريف إسرائيل (المبهم جداً) كدولة يهودية وديمقراطية. وبسبب دعوة المواطنين العرب إلى تحويل إسرائيل إلى دولة لجميع مواطنيها، فإن هذا التعريف اليهودي لدولة إسرائيل لا يمثل فقط مشكلة، ولكن الإسرائيليين اليهود ينظرون إليه على نطاق واسع على أنه مهدد.


Flickr/Israel Defense Forces (Some rights reserved)

Israeli President Reuven Rivlin visits IDF forces. Rivlin has been outspoken for Palestinian human rights; unfortunately, he is the exception rather than the rule of Israeli political leadership.


ومع ذلك، فإن مثل هذا الصدام بين الالتزامات العقائدية الديمقراطية ومخاوف الدفاع العملية ليس الأول من نوعه بالنسبة لإسرائيل. على سبيل المثال، كان ذلك واضحاً جداً في الولايات المتحدة في أعقاب أحداث 11 سبتمبر 2001، عندما لم يحتج معظم الأمريكيين بشكل صريح وواضح على الإجراءات غير الديمقراطية التي اتخذتها الإدارة الأمريكية من أجل "الحرب على الإرهاب". التصادم بين القيم الديمقراطية واعتبارات الهوية الوطنية هو أيضاً عامل مشترك إلى حد ما. على سبيل المثال، في أوروبا اليوم، وخاصة في تلك البلدان حيث يشكل الانتماء العرقي عنصراً أساسياً في مفهوم الهوية الوطنية، في أعقاب تدفق اللاجئين بأعداد كبيرة من دول منطقة شمال أفريقيا والشرق الاوسط والصدامات الثقافية التي تلت ذلك. وبعبارة أخرى، وعلى الرغم من جوانبه السلبية، والتي يجب معالجتها بجدية، فإن الشعب الإسرائيلي اليهودي لا يظهر بوصفه استثناءً صارخاً بين الدول الديمقراطية الأخرى.

في الواقع، حافظت بعض النتائج التجريبية الأخيرة على الحجة القائلة بأن اليهود الإسرائيليين ليسوا خارج المسار بشأن العقيدة الديمقراطية الأساسية: عارضت أغلبية كبيرة (71.3%) ممن شملهم الاستطلاع في عينة تمثيلية وطنية منح مزيد من الحقوق في إسرائيل لمواطنيها اليهود؛ عارضت نسبة 69.2% تقييد القانون حق المواطنين في انتقاد سلطات الدولة علانية وبقسوة؛ وافقت نسبة 54.9% على أنه يجب على الدولة أن تضمن التمثيل النسبي في الخدمة المدنية للعرب الإسرائيليين. أما بالنسبة لمعارضة التقارب الاجتماعي، والذي يؤخذ عادة كمعيار صحيح للعنصرية، فإنه يبدو أن أكثر اليهود الإسرائيليين بعيدون عنه: لا تمانع نسبة 55.8% في وجود أسرة عربية جيراناً مباشرين ولا تمانع نسبة 77.8% أن يعالجهم طبيب عربي.

الإلمام بالمبادئ الديمقراطية والدعم المجرد لها هما شرطان ضروريان ولكن غير كافيين من أجل ثقافة ديمقراطية مستقرة.

 ومن المسلم به، أن هذه المؤشرات الإيجابية لا ينبغي أن تجعلنا نغمض أعيننا عن الجانب المظلم من العقلية اليهودية الإسرائيلية: على سبيل المثال، وافقت نسبة 59.1% على أنه لأغراض الأمن يجب أن يكون للدولة سلطة مراقبة على مراسلات الإنترنت الخاصة لـ (جميع) المواطنين. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، وافقت نسبة 60.8% على أن المواطنين الذين يوافقون على الولاء لدولة إسرائيل كدولة يهودية، ولرموزها وسيادتها وإعلان استقلالها، هم فقط لهم حق التصويت والترشح للهيئات التمثيلية. مرة أخرى في عام 2015، وافقت نسبة 73.6% على أنه يجب اتخاذ القرارات الحاسمة للشؤون الخارجية والأمنية فقط استناداً إلى الأغلبية اليهودية؛ وتعتقد نسبة 53.6% نفس الشيء فيما يتعلق بالقرارات الحاسمة الوطنية الاقتصادية والمرتبطة بالحكومة. وأخيراً وليس آخراً، عارضت نسبة 56.6% إدراج الأحزاب العربية في الائتلاف الحاكم وترشيح وزراء عرب.

ماذا يمكن أن نستخلص من النتائج المذكورة أعلاه؟ الإلمام بالمبادئ الديمقراطية والدعم المجرد لها هما شرطان ضروريان ولكن غير كافيين من أجل ثقافة ديمقراطية مستقرة. في الواقع، يبدو أنه يوجد إمكانية ديمقراطية كبيرة في الرأي العام الإسرائيلي اليهودي، ولكن ذلك يحتاج إلى الكثير من العمل، وخير البر عاجله. وإذا لم يعالج القادة الصراعات المذكورة أعلاه بشكل صحيح، يمكن لهذه الإمكانية الديمقراطية أن تتآكل بسرعة. وينبغي بذل جهود مكثفة لتعميق الوعي الديمقراطي القائم وتحريكه بشكل أكبر في الاتجاه العملي.

وبطبيعة الحال، تقع هذه المسؤولية أساساً على عاتق النخب السياسية. وللأسف، لا يقوم معظم كبار القادة السياسيين الإسرائيليين بأداء رسالتهم باعتبارهم مفسرين وناشرين للأفكارالديمقراطية. لقد أعطى رئيس إسرائيل، رؤوفين ريفلين، مؤخراً مثالاً مشجعاً ولكن غير اعتيادي لكيفية القيام بذلك وضرورة ذلك. ريفلين هو من أكبر أنصار البرنامج القومي اليميني. بطريقة غير مسبوقة وشجاعة، أعرب ريفلين مراراً وعلناً عن التزامه التام بحقوق الإنسان والحقوق المدنية للمواطنين العرب. وبعدم الاكتراث بالردود الوقحة، بما في ذلك الصفحة الرئيسية الرسمية لموقع الرئيس، والتصريحات اللاذعة من زملائه السابقين في حزب الليكود، بما في ذلك رئيس الوزراء بنيامين نتانياهو، فقد تمسك الرئيس بمواقفه.

للأسف، ريفلين هو الاستثناء. وفي الواقع، غالباً ما تتنافس المناصب السياسية العليا الحالية في إسرائيل مع بعضها البعض في الوعظ بأن الأمن فوق كل اعتبار والتأكيد على القيم اليهودية الخاصة وفي نفس الوقت خفض القيم الديمقراطية العالمية. وفي مقابل خلفية هذه الإشارات الهابطة غير الديمقراطية، قد لا تزدهر آراء الشعب ومشاعره عن الديمقراطية الوليدة. وبدون التزام قوي وتوجيه ديمقراطي، فإن مصير القاعدة الشعبية الإسرائيلية أن تنمو فقط كأزهار الشر.


تمار هيرمان هي عالمة سياسية متخصصة في تشكيل وقياس الرأي العام. وهي تجري أبحاثها في الجامعة المفتوحة في إسرائيل وفي المعهد الإسرائيلي للديمقراطية.


 

COMMENTS

Wanted in Israel: democratic leadership

Israeli public opinion is not nearly as anti-democratic as is often depicted. Israeli leadership, however, is another story.


By: Tamar Hermann 
October 7, 2015

Available in:
العربية | עברית


In recent years, much has been written about the downsides of the Israeli political culture. Israelis, in particular the general Jewish majority, have often been accused in the local and foreign media—as well as in some academic and political analyses—of professing non-democratic if not anti-democratic views and sentiments. Sometimes these views and sentiments have even been depicted as "racist", specifically concerning the non-Jewish minorities in the country.

These readings were heavily—and quite understandably—influenced by more than a few highly disturbing verbal and physical attacks, mostly (but not only) against Arabs. These attacks were most notable during the summer of 2014, during the Protective Edge (Zuk Eitan) operation. The impression deepened with the prevalent condemnations in Israel of liberal positions, legislation initiatives and policy proposals tabled by politicians and civil activists of the left. Of course, the overall picture of anti-democratic and/or racist Israelis was quite gladly embraced by Israel's rivals, and also by some of its "disappointed lovers" from both inside and outside the country.

Yet, based on some indicative findings of the annual Israeli Democracy Index survey conducted in May 2015, the critics' verdict was in certain respects too harsh and too hasty. As Dahlia Scheindlin previously noted in this debate, on the conceptual level, the majority of Jewish Israelis are familiar with basic human rights and civil rights, and also rather supportive of them. But the difficulty arises when it comes to translating these abstract concepts into policy preferences. This is particularly true when human and civil rights clash with either security concerns or with the (far too opaque) definition of Israel as Jewish and democratic. Because of Arab citizens calling to transform Israel into a state of all its citizens, this Jewish definition of Israel is not only problematic, but Jewish Israelis widely perceive it as threatened.


Flickr/Israel Defense Forces (Some rights reserved)

Israeli President Reuven Rivlin visits IDF forces. Rivlin has been outspoken for Palestinian human rights; unfortunately, he is the exception rather than the rule of Israeli political leadership.


However, such a clash between democratic ideological commitments and practical defense concerns is not unique to Israel. For example, it was highly visible in the United States following the September 11, 2001 tragedy, when most Americans did not protest against clearly undemocratic measures taken by the administration to fight the “War on Terror”. The collision between democratic values and national identity considerations are also fairly common. For example, in today's Europe, particularly in those countries where ethnicity stands at the bottom of the national identity, following the massive refugee outpouring from the MENA countries and the ensuing culture clashes. In other words, despite its negative sides, which must be seriously addressed, the Jewish Israeli public does not stand out as a stark exception amongst other democratic nations.

In fact, some recent empirical findings sustain the argument that Jewish Israelis are not off track regarding the basic democratic creed: a large majority (71.3%) of the respondents in a national representative sample opposed granting more rights in Israel to its Jewish citizens; 69.2% opposed that the right of citizens to harshly criticize the state authorities in public would be limited by the law; 54.9% agreed that the state should guarantee proportional representation in the civil service to Israeli Arabs. As for opposition to social proximity, which is usually taken as a valid criterion of racism, most Jewish Israelis seem far from it: 55.8% did not mind having an Arab family as their immediate neighbors and 77.8% did not mind being treated by an Arab doctor.

Familiarity with and abstract support for democratic principles are necessary yet insufficient conditions for a stable democratic culture. 

Admittedly, these positive indicators should not make us blind to the darker side of the Jewish Israeli mindset: for example, 59.1% agreed that for security purposes the state should have the authority to monitor (all) citizens private Internet correspondence. In addition, 60.8% agreed that only citizens who agree to pay allegiance to the state of Israel as a Jewish state, and to its symbols, sovereignty and declaration of independence, would be eligible to vote and be elected to the representative bodies. Again in 2015, some 73.6% maintained that critical decisions on foreign and security affairs should be taken only based on the Jewish majority, and 53.6% thought the same regarding economic and government related critical national decisions. Last but not least, 56.6% opposed the inclusion of Arab parties in the ruling coalition and the nomination of Arab ministers.

What can be made of the above findings? Familiarity with and abstract support for democratic principles are necessary yet insufficient conditions for a stable democratic culture. Indeed, there seems to be significant democratic potential in Jewish Israeli public opinion, but it needs a lot of work, and the sooner the better. If leaders do not properly address the abovementioned conflicts, this democratic potential could erode quite quickly. Intensive efforts should be made to deepen the existing democratic conscience and to move it further in a practical direction.

This responsibility, of course, rests mainly on the shoulders of the political elites. Unfortunately, most Israeli top political leaders do not fulfill their mission as democratic ideas interpreters and disseminators. The president of Israel, Reuven Rivlin, has recently given an encouraging—but anomalous—example of how this can and should be done. Rivlin is a devotee of the rightist, nationalist agenda. Yet in an unprecedented, courageous manner, Rivlin repeatedly and publically expressed his utter commitment to Arab citizens' human and civil rights. Overlooking the nasty talkbacks, including on the president's official homepage, and the acidic comments by his former colleagues of the Likud party, including PM Netanyahu, the president held his ground.

Unfortunately, Rivlin is the exception. In fact, Israel's present upper political echelons often compete with each other in preaching security above all and emphasizing particularistic Jewish values while downgrading universal democratic ones. Against the background of such non-democratic top-down signals, the public's nascent democratic views and sentiments cannot possibly flourish. Without strongly committed, democratic guidance, the Israeli grassroots is doomed to grow only les fleurs du mal.


Tamar Hermann is a political scientist specializing in shaping and measuring public opinion. She researches at The Open University of Israel and the Israel Democracy Institute.

 
 


 

COMMENTS