在进步与反弹之间:性权利以及生育权的保护

人权在当前对于提升性相关权利的保护具有何种价值?



"数字女性在巴拿马城的一条主要街道上演象征行动剧。" 巴拿马的空盆"是巴拿马女性主义运动,其抨击巴拿马政府在与COVID-19相关的措施中忽视性别、性及生育权。 " EFE / Bienvenido Velasco


近几年,全球的性与生育权在社会与法律层面都获得前所未有的进展。 过去数十年间,从先前全面的社会污名及漠视,进展到公共能见度增加以及对于权利的保护,这些出现在世界各国的改变都相当令人惊艳。 值得注意的是,将同性恋除罪化的国家数目创下纪录;越来越多人意识到性侵犯不论侵害发生地点以及对象皆为重大犯罪;对于年满18岁者婚姻外的异性性行为除罪化;放宽对于获得避孕以及堕胎服务的限制;国际疾病与相关健康问题统计分类将跨性别健康从心理及行为障碍章节移出,并置于新增的性健康章节之中。

于此同时,庞大且增长中的反弹有时也形同潮水。 横跨各大陆的反弹,这包含政府认可或容忍人们基于真实或感受到的性取向或性别认同所生的暴力、政府官员公开表示对于同性恋或是跨性别的恐惧,以及削减对于完整性教育,堕胎及其他生育权的承诺。 这些政府的作为还伴随了对于性别平等与性表现的更广泛意识形态攻击、保守主义的蔓生、对于多边主义的信任或支持下降,以及法西斯主义倾向的增长与更普遍的民粹主义。

正是这样的脱节,以及合作的机会促成了这个系列。 在此时此刻,提升对于性相关权利的保护有什么样的人权价值? 正如同接下来会提到的,法律确实很关键,但是在法治之上,人权呼声的组织与集结基于其凝聚不同社会运动的潜力,走得更为超前。 一如作者们所强调的,人权─透过全球的理论化与实践所建立—以基于法律的实践,与激进的政治想象两种方式发挥作用。

性表现以及个人自愿展现的性表现,如今被广泛地理解为人权议题,尽管如此,其仍与各式各样的文化规范、态度与价值紧紧相系,而同时也作为经济、社会、法律,与政治现实的人质。 本系列文清楚指出,有必要对于能够支持生育与性权利的全整社会结构进行更深刻的思考,并且充分参与那些藏在抽象权利文字之下经济、社会、文化及政治情境。

当前,人权对于提升性相关权利的保护具有什么价值?

特别在近几个月,前述的现实以新的方式被揭露。 即使在COVID疫情之下,性与生育权似乎仍是右翼运动及政府所反对的目标,即使他们持续处于扩大理解全球以及人权保护的前线。 如同作者们在这个系列所提醒我们的,COVID-19不只挑战了全世界的健康,也挑战了权利,包含性与生育权,以及我们必须承认并强调此一事实,即便有近期的进展,这些权利特别容易出现发展上的衰退。

即使几乎世界上所有的国家在国际法及国内法层面都已有充足的法律保护,试想:为了执行封锁而增加警力的使用,其代价竟是被预期将支持此政策的人民往往要面对家庭暴力的增加;避孕、孕期照护与堕胎的近用受到更多限制,因为这都被视为"非必要"的服务;此外COVID-19被威权政府采,作为权利缩减政策的借口。

考虑到匈牙利使用COVID-19正当化其拒绝不认同自己出生性别者改变法律上性别注记以符合自身性别认同的立法。 或是在美国,全国最大的堕胎服务提供商以及基督教反堕胎游说组织都收到数百万美元的COVID-19纾困金—──基督教倡议团体的贷款免偿还,但是提供生育健康照护者则必须归还贷款

加蓬最近的改变特别能说明这些紧张关系,在7月初加蓬议会将同性性关系除罪化,成为那些不再动用刑法针对男女同性恋施以差别待遇的国家清单一员。 但要厘清的是,原本将同性性关系入罪的刑法第402条第5款—六个月以下有期徒刑以及五百万中非法郎—,其实是2019年7月才新增于加蓬刑法的条款。 既然并非历史悠久,这也就提供了一个清楚的例子显示法律、政治和其他因素之间的相互作用,会导致关于性表现的权利保护受到任意地并且经常未假思索的授予和剥夺,这对人民的生活产生了非常真实的冲击。

这都支持了性与生育权是一个重要视角的想法,能用以审视人权如何更广泛的在机构空间之内和其上发展(例如:将公民与政治连结经济 、社会与文化),此外,现实与法律、技术和政治领域间的互动使人权规范及标准可得发展并改变。 这可能是因为性与生育权在不同的背景下,为不同行为者提供截然不同的元素,而这说明了对于特定议题的关注(范围从堕胎到性工作),本质上是如何持续影响其发展,其程度甚至达到同一行为者对于更扩张或是限缩方法的选择。

本系列文的共同点在于它们都说明了权利框架是如何帮助揭露、评估并且挑战关于性、性表现、生育,以及最终与所有人健康与福祉相关的系统性不平等

在许多案例中,抵制往往来自于人们对于 "性权利"或"生育权"范围的相异主张,乃至于极端的不同理解(与恐惧),因此,如何认定就可能会拘束国家与其他的行为者。 或许正是这个原因,对于性与生育权的抵制不只是来自"一般的嫌疑人",更包含了传统的人权学者。 当前论争中显而易见的是,即使在某些领域采取明显扩张观点者,在其他议题中不一定会采用相同的标准。

本系列文中的一个例子,阿根廷,正处于将跨性别者与其相关的健康照护纳入法律规范的行动最前缘,也提供了法律上性别与姓名变更的选项,然而,人工流产仍然构成刑法上的罪名。 这限制了更广泛的支持不同面向的性权利、生育权与人权的工作间有意义的互动,也显示不同的政治运动领域间仍缺乏信任或参与,包含女权、跨性别者权利、身心障碍权利、女同性恋与男同性恋权,以及生育健康权利运动。

受此系列作者的启发,本文将人权标准总结为一个试金石,但若相关的基本条件仍远未能满足时,人权标准仅仅形同宣言。 更坚决的、积极且有组织地对抗政府领头的权利紧缩至为关键,特别是在所有认同之间关于性别、族裔以及平等的面向。 本系列文章都说明了权利框架是如何帮助揭露、评估并挑战与性、性表现、生育以及最终与所有人健康与福祉相关的系统性不平等。 导向最终问题是:如何才能够借由生育权与性权利的不同工作方法促进人权机构、学者以及工作者进一步地理解,并且强调当前论述以及对所有人的保护,其实仍存在限制?

 


这份文件是已刊出系列文章的一部分,与西方学院(Occidental College's杨约翰全球政治经济倡议亚利桑那州立大学社会科学系,以及南加州大学全球卫生不平等机构为伙伴关系。 系列文源起于20199月在西方学院举办的"交错的全球人权对话:跨领域、交织与不可分割"座谈会。

 

 

ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED: September 15, 2020

苏菲雅·格鲁斯金为南加州大学全球卫生不平等机构(Institute on Inequalities in Global Health)主任,同时为南加州大学医学院及法学院(Keck School of Medicine and Gould School of Law)教授,推特账号@SofiaGruskin


 

COMMENTS
Stay connected! Join our weekly newsletter to stay up-to-date on our newest content.  SUBSCRIBE

Between progress and backlash: protecting sexual rights and reproductive rights

What value do human rights have for advancing protections related to sexuality in the current moment?



 "Several women make a symbolic presentation during a protest on a main avenue in Panama City. The "Empty Pots of Panama" is a feminist movement critical of the Panamanian state's negligence towards gender, sexuality, and reproductive rights in their COVID-related measures." EFE / Bienvenido Velasco


The last few years have seen unprecedented progress towards sexual and reproductive rights around the globe, at both societal and legal levels. The change from complete social stigma and invisibility to increasing public visibility and rights protections over the course of a few decades in countries across the globe has been nothing short of amazing. One need consider only the record number of countries that have decriminalized homosexuality; the growing recognition of sexual assault as a serious crime regardless of where it takes place and against whom; the decriminalization of heterosexual sex outside of marriage for persons over 18; the loosening of restrictions limiting access to contraception and abortion services; as well as the recent change to the International Classification of Diseases moving transgender health out of the chapter on mental and behavioural disorders into a new chapter on sexual health.  

At the same time, the huge and growing backlash sometimes feels like a tidal wave. This includes government sanctioned, or tolerated, violence because of people’s real or perceived sexual orientation or gender identity, openly expressed articulations of homophobia and transphobia by government officials, as well as retrenchment on commitments to comprehensive sexuality education, access to abortion and other reproductive rights across every continent. Alongside these actions by governments, sit broader ideological attacks against gender equality and sexuality, increased conservatism, a lack of trust or support for multilateralism, and a growth in fascist tendencies and populist anger more generally.  

It is this disconnect, and opportunities for synergy, that motivates this series. What is the value of human rights for advancing protections related to sexuality in the current moment? As the pieces will show, the law is critical but the organizing and rallying cry of human rights, beyond the rule of law, goes much further with the potential to bring different social movements together. As highlighted by these authors, human rights—built through theorization and practice globally—function in two ways: as a law-based practice and as an act of radical political imagination.  

Sexuality, and a person’s ability to manifest their sexuality consensually, is by now generally understood to be a matter of human rights, but it is nonetheless enmeshed in a wide variety of cultural norms, attitudes and values, as well as hostage to economic, social, legal and, in particular, political realities. This collection makes clear the need to think more deeply about the full social architecture that can support reproductive and sexual rights, and the need to fully engage with the economic, social, cultural, and political contexts that lie beneath the abstract expression of rights.

What is the value of human rights for advancing protections related to sexuality in the current moment?  

The last few months in particular have exposed these realities in new ways. Even in this time of COVID, it seems sexual and reproductive rights remain the target of backlash from right wing movements and governments, even as they continue also to be at the forefront of expanding understanding and human rights protections across the globe. As authors in this series remind us, COVID-19 has challenged not only health but rights worldwide, including sexual and reproductive rights, and we must recognize and address the fact that despite recent advances, these rights in particular are vulnerable to regression.

Despite adequate pre-existing legal protections at international and domestic levels in almost all countries of the world, consider: the increased use of police power to enforce lockdowns often at the expense of the very people they are expected to support resulting in an upwelling of  domestic violence; increasingly limited access to contraception, prenatal care and abortion services because they are not deemed “essential services”; and the ways in which COVID -19 is serving as the excuse for rights-regressive policies to be adopted by authoritarian governments.  

Consider Hungary’ use of COVID-19 to justify passage of a law making it impossible for anyone who doesn’t identify with the sex they were assigned at birth to change their legal gender marker to correspond to their identity. Or the United States, where the nation’s largest provider of abortion services and Christian anti-abortion lobbying organizations both received millions in Coronavirus stimulus money—loans are forgiven for Christian advocacy groups, but must be paid back by those providing reproductive health care

Particularly illustrative of these tensions is the recent change in Gabon, where in early July the Gabon Senate decriminalized same-sex sexual relations, joining the growing list of countries to remove criminal laws that target and discriminate against lesbians and gay men. But to be clear, paragraph 5 of Article 402, the article which criminalized same-sex sexual relations—with a maximum penalty of six months in prison and a five million central African CFA franc fine—was only inserted into the new Gabonese Penal Code in July 2019. There is no long history here, providing a particularly clear example of the interplay between law, politics and other factors that result in the arbitrary and often cavalier granting and withdrawing of rights protections related to sexuality, with very real impacts on people’s lives.  

All of this supports the idea that sexual and reproductive rights are an important lens for thinking about how human rights more generally evolve within and beyond institutional spaces (i.e., in linking the civil and political to the economic, social and cultural), as well as the ways in which the interactions  between lived realities and the legal, technical, and political spheres allow human rights norms and standards to develop and change. This may be because sexual and reproductive rights denote very different things to different actors in different contexts, showing how the nature of the concern with specific topics (ranging from abortion to sex work) continues to influence the extent to which even the same actor will engage in expansive or restrictive approaches.

What brings these pieces together is that all show how rights frameworks can help expose, assess and challenge systematically the inequalities connected to sex, to sexuality, to reproduction, and ultimately to health and well-being for all people.  

Resistance in many cases stems from claims to radically different understandings (and fears) of what “sexual rights” or “reproductive rights” include and, therefore, how recognition might bind states and other actors.  It is perhaps for this reason, more than any other, that resistance to sexual and reproductive rights comes not only from the “usual suspects” but even from some traditional human rights scholars. What is apparent in current debates is the way in which even those with an ostensibly expansive view in one domain may not have that same expansive perspective when it comes to other issues.  

In a particularly telling example, illustrated in one piece in this series, Argentina is at the forefront of putting into law gender-transition related healthcare for trans people as well as options for legal gender and name changes, but induced abortion remains a criminal offense. All of this limits meaningful interaction between work to support different aspects of sexual rights, reproductive rights, and human rights more broadly, and stokes the lack of trust or engagement that still exists among different areas of movement politics; including between women’s rights, transgender rights, disability rights, lesbian and gay rights, and reproductive health and rights movements.   

Inspired by this collection and the work of these authors, I close by noting human rights standards provide a touch stone, but their mere articulation, while essential is far from sufficient. Stronger, active and organized resistance to state sponsored regression is fundamental, and specifically with respect to gender, race, and equality across all identities. What brings these pieces together is that all show how rights frameworks can help expose, assess and challenge systematically the inequalities connected to sex, to sexuality, to reproduction, and ultimately to health and well-being for all people. Leading then to the ultimate question: in what ways can these different approaches to reproductive and sexual rights push human rights bodies, scholars, and activists not only to better understand but to address the limits of current discourse and protections for all people?   

 


This piece is part of a series published in partnership with Occidental College’s Young Initiative on the Global Political Economy, the division of Social Sciences at Arizona State University, and USC’s Institute on Inequalities in Global Health. It flows out of a September 2019 workshop held at Occidental on “Cross-cutting Global Conversations on Human Rights: Interdisciplinarity, Intersectionality, and Indivisibility.

 

ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED: September 8, 2020

Sofia Gruskin directs the USC Institute on Inequalities in Global Health. She is a professor in the Keck School of Medicine and Gould School of Law at the University of Southern California. She tweets @SofiaGruskin.


 

COMMENTS
Stay connected! Join our weekly newsletter to stay up-to-date on our newest content.  SUBSCRIBE