香港,争取权利不止于法庭更在街头

香港抗议运动早已对仅通过司法途径维护香港法治不抱希望。



Roman Pilipey/EFE


香港正深陷政治危机泥淖,而这危机的中心则是一场关于人权、民主和法治的交战。2019年6月,两百万香港市民(占香港总人口四分之一)走上街头和平游行,抗议一部即将通过的法案。该法案将使向名声不佳的中华人民共和国刑事司法体系引渡嫌疑人的行为得以合法化。尽管香港政府最终在10月底撤回法案,游行却并未停止。当前的这些抗议活动前承2014年已然失败的“雨伞运动”。彼时的运动旨在渐进达成香港民主化。有鉴于此,尽管1984年《中英联合声明》曾承诺香港民主化,且香港基本法的实施也立足于该声明,但此次双方就此达成让步却显得不太可能。

虽说香港法制属自由体制,但它受中国共产党威权政权控制。早在英国向中国移交香港政权之前,北京方面曾经承诺“一国两制“原则,但这一原则如今却危在旦夕。中国共产党总书记习近平决计不会放弃对香港的政治控制。香港的民主化发展将危及他的统治,而他则会不惜一切代价加以阻止。2019年11月14日,他声称 抗议者在损害“一国两制”原则,以此暗示不能保证一国两制原则的继续贯彻。那么,为了确保他对香港的控制,习近平会走多远?

游行发生后的数月内,香港警察已经数次使用过激武力,而缺乏明显组织化运作的年轻抗议者则越来越多地采取一些灵活、难以预测的行动。去年11月,暴力升级,香港理工大学遭到全面围攻。由于抗议运动缺乏领导,缺少民主机制,以及香港政府实际决策权力有限,各方都没能使暴力降温。11月24日,民主派赢得了压倒性胜利,证实了林郑月娥当局以及中国大陆在香港不受欢迎。但考虑到特区立法会的作用有限,民主派还没能改变实际权力平衡关系。

根据香港基本法,受北京方面控制的香港政府可以“请求” 大陆武警协助。北京方面甚至可以下令中国人民解放军镇压香港抗议活动,而实际上,驻港部队早已介入一些清场行动。有些观察者担心北京方面会故意放任香港 “失控”再借机暴力镇压。不过,中国中央政府可能倾向于采取一些更隐蔽的政治镇压手段,一些让国际人权组织更难以追踪的方式

《公民及政治权利国际公约》规定了紧急情况下限制人权所需满足的重要限制条件,并且对何种情况可以宣布进入紧急状态也规定了严格的条件。这些规定不得违反。但是,又有谁来执行这些规定呢?

另外一种可能是宣布进入紧急状态。紧急状态下将暂时实施大陆“相关” 法律,进而导致香港引以为傲的法制解体,香港公民社会的空间进一步缩减。中央政府已在催促香港根据基本法第23条制定新的 “国家安全”立法,这可能危及人权,也可能滥用殖民时期遗留下来的紧急立法。以上这些情形都涉及到香港如何将其在《公民及政治权利国际公约》(the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights , 简称ICCPR)下承担的义务转化吸纳进本地立法。《公民及政治权利国际公约》规定了紧急情况下限制人权所需满足的重要限制条件,并且对何种情况可以宣布进入紧急状态也规定了严格的条件。这些规定不得违反。但是,又有谁来执行这些规定呢?

香港司法机构还在作出一些重要的裁决,其中包括高等法院关于禁止蒙面违宪的判决。自2020年1月上诉开庭后,该案还未作出判决。但一个更大的疑问是,香港法院是否有能力遏制对基本人权的侵蚀行为,这一点在很大程度上是存疑的。针对高等法院的判决,令人担忧的是,全国人大常委会立法委于去年11月发表意见称,“香港特别行政区法律是否符合香港基本法,只能由全国人大常委会作出判断和决定,任何其他机关都无权作出判断和决定。” 北京方面,中央政府显然试图剥夺香港解读基本法的司法自治权。这与基本法第158条及该条相关判例直接相悖。这些判例虽然有争议地削弱,但并没有完全取消高等法院的解释权

北京方面,中央政府显然试图剥夺香港解读基本法的司法自治权。

在迫不得已的情况下,抗议运动参加者将走上法庭去为自己辩护。类似的在先事例已有: 对“占中” 抗议者的审判,即将对抗议者戴耀廷举行的上诉审,以及2019年抗议运动的一些参加人即将面临的审判。然而,仅通过司法程序捍卫香港法治的希望早已破灭。香港的抗议者通过采取街头行动来反对侵犯权利的行为,吸引了所有利益相关者——包括其他国家政府——的关注。他们呼吁其他民主国家的支持,导致美国国会通过了《香港人权与民主法案》,但除此之外别无他国响应。欧盟迄今为止回避表明支持和平抗议者及其民主吁求的清晰立场,尽管欧盟高级代表Joseph Borell在去年十二月到访时曾经强调这场危机对人权可能造成的影响。另外,欧盟正在审议“马格尼茨基法” ,该法将允许欧盟对香港官员颁发旅行禁令。

香港的遭遇有两方面更广泛的教训:

首先,我们必须重申人权的政治属性及其与民主的内在联系。法律保障很重要,法律保障也常为人权捍卫者提供支持。但是,当人权反对者掌控法院时,法律保护是不够的。各地的人权活动家应当监测并尝试预测政治权力的变化,作为法律防卫的补充,还应当提高其他维权行动战术。

其次,所有重视人权价值的人都应当正视中国日益提升的国际影响力。共产党中国的势力所及远不止香港。譬如,一名明尼苏达大学的中国学生近期就因其在美国时在推特上的言论而被关押。人权学者和人权活动家应当更加积极地调查新威权主义以及中国共产党在全球范围内与日俱增的势力,揭露其违法行为,提高我们对人权运动、政治抗议、抵抗权利的理解。

 

 

ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED: March 5, 2020

珂萃·金策巴赫(Katrin Kinzelbach),德国埃尔朗根-纽伦堡大学教授,主讲国际人权政治学,同时主管一个跨学科人权硕士项目。

艾华(Eva Pils),英国国王学院法学教授,美国纽约大学亚美法研究中心访问研究员,主讲人权法。


 

COMMENTS

Fighting for rights in the streets—not just the courts—of Hong Kong

The Hong Kong protest movement has long given up hope that Hong Kong’s rule of law can be protected with judicial means only.



Roman Pilipey/EFE


Hong Kong is in a deep political crisis, and at the heart of this crisis is a battle about human rights, democracy, and the rule of law. In June 2019, two million Hong Kong citizens (a quarter of the population) peacefully demonstrated against a bill that would have legalized the extradition of suspects into the People’s Republic of China’s notorious criminal justice system. Even though the Hong Kong government withdrew the bill at the end of October, there appeared to be no end in sight for the demonstrations. The coronavirus virus soon changed that scenario, as a combination of government action to address it and citizen' anxiety created a substantial lull in protest activity. The current protests build on the aborted 2014 Umbrella Movement, which had aimed to achieve a gradual democratization of Hong Kong. On this front, concessions remain highly unlikely, even though democratization was promised in China’s 1984 treaty with the United Kingdom, and the Hong Kong Basic Law was enacted on this basis.

While Hong Kong’s legal system is essentially liberal, it falls under the control of the authoritarian Chinese party-state. Prior to the handover of Hong Kong from the UK to China, Beijing promised a “one country – two systems” principle, but this principle is now under threat. Xi Jinping, the general secretary of the Chinese Communist Party, is determined not to lose political control over Hong Kong. Such a development would threaten his hold on power, and he will do anything to prevent that from happening. On 14 November 2019, he indicated that the continuation of the one country – two systems principle was not guaranteed, claiming that it was the protestors who undermined it. How far will Xi go to secure his control over Hong Kong?

In the months since the demonstrations began, the Hong Kong police have repeatedly used excessive force, while young protestors—operating without visible organization—have developed an increasingly flexible and unpredictable protest repertoire. Last November saw an escalation in violence and the Hong Kong Polytechnic University came under a full-blown siege. Attempts at de-escalation were hindered by the lack of leadership within the protest movement, the absence of democratic structures, and the limited real decision-making power of the Hong Kong government. The pro-democracy political wing won a landslide victory on 24 November, confirming the deep unpopularity of Carrie Lam’s administration and the Chinese mainland. But considering the very limited role of district councils, they have not changed the actual balance of power.

Under the Basic Law, the Beijing-controlled Hong Kong government could ​“request” assistance from the mainland’s paramilitary police. Beijing could even order the People’s Liberation Army—which was already involved in clean-up operations—to crush protests in Hong Kong. Critical observers fear a deliberate decision was made to let Hong Kong ​“burn” in order to justify a violent crackdown. Even so, the Chinese central authorities would prefer more covert forms of political repression that are much harder for international human rights organizations to track.

The ICCPR sets important limits to human rights restrictions in emergencies and imposes stringent requirements for the proclamation of a state of emergency, must not be violated. But who can enforce those rules?

A further possibility would be the declaration of a state of emergency. This would risk the disintegration of the city’s prized rule of law through the temporary application of ​“relevant” mainland laws—leading to a further shrinking of space for Hong Kong’s civil society. The central authorities are already pushing Hong Kong to introduce new “national security” legislation in accordance with Article 23 of the Basic Law, which could undermine human rights, as could problematic uses of colonial-era emergency legislation.  All of these scenarios engage Hong Kong’s obligations under legislation incorporating the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (ICCPR). The ICCPR sets important limits to human rights restrictions in emergencies and imposes stringent requirements for the proclamation of a state of emergency, must not be violated. But who can enforce those rules?

The Hong Kong judiciary continues to make important decisions, including the High Court decision on the unconstitutionality of a ban on face masks. After the appeal hearings in January 2020, the decision in this case is pending. But the wider question of whether the Hong Kong courts can limit the erosion of fundamental rights remains very much in doubt. In a concerning reaction to the High Court’s decision , the Legislative Affairs Commission of the National People’s Congress Standing Committee opined last November that ​“whether laws created by the Special Administrative Region conform to standards set in the Hong Kong Basic Law can be judged and decided only by the National People’s Congress Standing Committee. No other organ has the authority to make a judgment and decision.” The central authorities in Beijing are apparently trying to strip Hong Kong’s to-date autonomous judiciary of the power to interpret the Hong Kong Basic Law. This is in direct contradiction with both Article 158 of the Basic Law and case law on this provision, which has arguably reduced, but certainly not annihilated the High Court’s powers of interpretation.

The central authorities in Beijing are apparently trying to strip Hong Kong’s to-date autonomous judiciary of the power to interpret the Hong Kong Basic Law.

The protest movement will defend its case in court when forced to do so, as in the trials of the “Occupy” protesters, the upcoming appeal hearing of one of them, Benny Tai, and the upcoming trials of some of those involved in the 2019 protests. But it has long given up hope that Hong Kong’s rule of law can be protected with judicial means only. By taking their resistance against the encroachment of rights onto the streets, Hong Kong’s protesters have raised the political stakes for all stakeholders, including governments abroad. Their calls for support from democratic foreign countries have resulted in the US Hong Kong Human Rights and Democracy Act, but apart from that have yet to be answered. The European Union (EU) has so far avoided a clear stance in favour of the peaceful protesters and their demand for democracy, although the EU High Representative Joseph Borell at least emphasised the human rights implications of the crisis in his visit last December. Also, as EU-based “Magnitsky legislation” is now underway, that would allow the EU to impose travel bans and other sanctions on Hong Kong officials. It is unclear what, if any, impact the coronavirus crisis will have on all these initiatives.

The wider lessons to be learned from the Hong Kong experience are twofold:

Firstly, we must reaffirm the political nature of human rights and the inherent connection of human rights with democracy. Legal protections are important and often support human rights defenders, but they are not enough when opponents of human rights seize control over the courts. Human rights activists everywhere should monitor and try to anticipate shifts in political dynamics, as well as increase their tactical repertoire to complement legal defence with other forms of rights activism.

Secondly, China’s growing international influence raises serious concerns for all who value human rights. The arm of the party state is much longer than Hong Kong, as the recent case of a Chinese student at University of Minnesota jailed for tweets made while in the US illustrates. Human rights scholars and activists should make a greater effort to investigate the neo-totalitarian and increasingly global reach of the Chinese party-state, expose its violations of the law, and improve our understanding of human rights activism, political protest, and the right of resistance.

 

ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED: March 5, 2020

Katrin Kinzelbach is a professor at FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg (Germany) where she teaches international politics of human rights, and co-directs an interdisciplinary MA Human Rights program.

Eva Pils is a professor of Law at King’s College London (UK) and an affiliated scholar at the NYU US-Asia Law Institute. She teaches human rights law.


 

COMMENTS