كيف يمثل عدم المساواة خطراً على تطبيق جميع حقوق الإنسان

لا يهدد عدم المساواة تطبيق الحقوق الاقتصادية والاجتماعية فقط، ولكنه يهدد أيضاً تطبيق جميع أشكال الحقوق في كل مكان. مساهمة في النقاش على


By: Radhika Balakrishnan & James Heintz
October 29, 2015

Available in:
English | Español | Français


على الصعيد العالمي، الأزمات الاقتصادية والنزاعات المسلحة وحالات الطوارئ الصحية العامة وعدم الأمن الغذائي وتغير المناخ كل ذلك يهدد تطبيق حقوق الإنسان. ضمن هذه الكوكبة من العوامل، برزت مغالاة منذرة بالخطر في عدم المساواة في الدخل والثروة كمجال آخر للقلق المتزايد. يوفر إطار حقوق الإنسان إرشادات جزئية عن تأثير مجتمعاتنا المستقطبة على نحو متزايد، مع استمرار وجود الفجوات. ونظراً للمغالاة الشديدة في عدم المساواة خلال العقود الأخيرة، فمن الأهمية بمكان أن نفهم تماماً العلاقة بين تطبيق حقوق الإنسان وعدم المساواة، كيف نفكر في عدم المساواة ونقيسها، وإلى أي مدى التصعيد في عدم المساواة يهدد تطبيق الحقوق الأساسية، وماذا يقول إطار حقوق الإنسان عن عدم المساواة ، وما الذي لا يقوله.

يمارس الناس عدم المساواة في عدة مجالات، على سبيل المثال في مجال التحصيل العلمي والصحة وتوزيع السلطة. فتوزيع وقت الفراغ بين الرجال والنساء غير متساوي، حين يتم أخذ متطلبات كل من العمل المأجور وغير المأجور بعين الاعتبار. ويتم قياس عدم المساواة أيضاً بين الأفراد، وبين الأسر، وبين الفئات الاجتماعية (على سبيل المثال الأصل العرقي أو نوع الجنس أو الطائفة) وبين البلدان.

عند تحديد أنواع عدم المساواة، يوجد تمييز مهم بين عدم المساواة "الأفقية" وعدم المساواة "الرأسية". تحدث عدم المساواة الأفقية بين جماعات محددة ثقافياً أو اجتماعياً، مثل نوع الجنس أو الأصل العرقي أو الطائفة أو الدين أو الميول الجنسية. تحدث عدم المساواة الرأسية بين الأفراد أو بين الأسر، مثل توزيع الدخل العام أو الثروة الاقتصادية.

التمييز بين عدم المساواة الأفقية والرأسية واضح بشكل خاص في إطار حقوق الإنسان، لأنه يتم دمج قضايا عدم المساواة الأفقية بقوة أكبر. على سبيل المثال، مبادئ حقوق الإنسان المتمثلة في عدم التمييز والمساواة، والتي تنص على أن تطبيق الحقوق لا ينبغي أن يختلف بين الأفراد على أساس نوع الجنس أو الأصل العرقي أو الطائفة أو نوع الجنسية أو الفئات الاجتماعية المماثلة.

وينبغي أن يحظى الناس بتكافؤ الفرص للمطالبة بحقوقهم وبتطبيق مبادئ حقوق الإنسان على جميع الأشخاص على قدم المساواة. وذلك لأن الآثار المترتبة على عدم المساواة الرأسية هي أقل وضوحاً، وهذا لا يعني بالضرورة التوزيع المتساوي للدخل والثروة بشكل مثالي. وقد أكدت التوضيحات الصادرة عن هيئات معاهدات حقوق الإنسان بأن عدم التمييز والمساواة يشيران إلى المساواة الحقيقية والدائمة، سيوجد دائماً بعض المصادر الهيكلية لعدم المساواة وأشكال غير مباشرة من التمييز. ولذلك، يجب أن يكون مفهوم المساواة مرتبطاً بالمعيشة والنتائج بالإضافة إلى الفرص والإجراءات. وإذا ركزنا على المساواة في المعيشة، فربما يكون مطلوباً معاملة مختلفة تجاه مختلف الأشخاص أو الجماعات.

 
Demotix/Ronny Adolof Buol (All rights reserved)

Volunteers provide free education in Indonesia. Evidence shows that income inequality often is associated with poorer outcomes with regard to health, education and other economic and social rights.


تشير الأدلة إلى أن عدم المساواة في الدخل يصاحبها غالباً معيشة أكثر فقراً فيما يتعلق بالصحة والتعليم والحقوق الاقتصادية والاجتماعية الأخرى. وليس من المستغرب أن الأسر الأكثر ثراءاً تتمتع بمعيشة أفضل من الأسر الأكثر فقراً. ومع ذلك، يمكن أن تؤدي عدم المساواة في حد ذاتها إلى معيشة أسوأ بغض النظر عن مستوى الدخل. على سبيل المثال، قد يكون مستوى معيشة الأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض في مجتمع غير متكافئ للغاية أسوأ من مستوى معيشة الأسر ذات الدخل المتطابق في مجتمع أكثر مساواة.

في إطار حقوق الإنسان، الدولة لديها التزام أساسي باحترام الحقوق وحمايتها وتطبيقها، ولكن هذا يعتمد على وجود دولة تؤدي دورها مع توافر مشاركة ديمقراطية وشفافية كاملتين. ومع ذلك، تؤثر عدم المساواة في الدخل والثروة على العمليات السياسية الرسمية وغير الرسمية بطريقة تحدد حصول الناس على التعليم والرعاية الصحية وفرص العمل والضمان الاجتماعي.

عندما تتوسع السلطة السياسية للنخبة حيث يصبح توزيع الدخل والثروة أكثر استقطاباً، فإن ذلك يضر بالمجموعة الكاملة لحقوق الإنسان. يقول بعض أساتذة العلوم السياسية أن أي عملية ديمقراطية قادرة على تعويض أثر عدم المساواة في الدخل والثروة. على سبيل المثال، تشير "نظرية الناخب الوسطي" إلى أنه ستتولد ضغوط لإعادة التوزيع في المجتمعات غير المتكافئة طالما توجد ديمقراطية تؤدي دورها بصورة جيدة. وذلك لأن غالبية الشعب –من هم في منتصف توزيع الدخل فما أقل– سوف يصوتون لصالح إعادة التوزيع عندما يتركز الدخل والثروة في أيدي عدد قليل نسبياً. ولكن هذا الأسلوب يؤدي إلى افتراضات قوية جداً: أن الناس قادرون على المطالبة بحقوقهم، وأن الدولة هي عرضة للمساءلة ديمقراطياً، وأن السياسات التي تدعمها الأغلبية لا تقوض حقوق فئات الشعب الأخرى، وأن الاندماج العالمي لا يضع أي قيود على الخيارات السياسية للحكومات الوطنية، وأن المصالح الاقتصادية للنخبة ليست قادرة على التأثير بشكل غير ملائم على السياسة الاقتصادية.

في الواقع، تؤدي عدم المساواة في الدخل والثروة إلى عدم مساواة في توزيع الطاقة. عندما تتوسع السلطة السياسية للنخبة حيث يصبح توزيع الدخل والثروة أكثر استقطاباً، فإن ذلك يضر بالمجموعة الكاملة لحقوق الإنسان. وقد أظهرت الدراسات –التي تدرس الاختلافات بين مجموعة من البلدان وخلافاً لـ"نظرية الناخب الوسطي"–  أن عدم مساواة أكبر يصاحبها إنفاق حكومي على إعادة توزيع أقل، مقاساً من خلال الإنفاق على الضمان الاجتماعي والرعاية الاجتماعية كنسبة من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي. وبالمثل، توجدأدلة على أن النفقات الاجتماعية تقل عندما تتسع الفجوة بين الطبقة الوسطى والطبقة العليا (وهم يمثلون أعلى 10% فقط). ومن المرجح أن تقاوم النخبة الاقتصادية أشكال الضرائب التصاعدية، مما يحد من قدرة الحكومة على تعبئة الموارد اللازمة لتطبيق الحقوق.

توفر حقوق الإنسان إرشادات جزئية عن تأثير التوسع في عدم المساواة على تطبيق الحقوق. ومع ذلك، يقف إطار حقوق الإنسان عاجزاً عن إعلان توزيع محدد عادل ونزيه للدخل أو الثروة. ويرجع هذا جزئياً إلى أن حقوق الإنسان ترتبط بالمعيشة الفعلية التي تشكل الخيارات والحريات التي يتمتع بها الناس. ولذلك، فإن التوزيع العادل للدخل هو الذي يسمح بأقصى تطبيق ممكن للحقوق بما يتفق مع مبادئ عدم التمييز والمساواة.

وتنص المادة 28 من الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان على أنه "لكل إنسان الحق في التمتع بنظام اجتماعي ودولي يمكن أن تتحقق بمقتضاه بشكل كامل الحقوق والحريات المنصوص عليها في هذا الإعلان". توزيع الدخل والثروة، والديناميكية السياسية المصاحبة له، يمثلان بعداً هاماً لهذا النظام الاجتماعي والدولي. يوجد التزام ضمني في إطار حقوق الإنسان على الدول لتأخذ بعين الاعتبار تأثير عدم المساواة على الحقوق، وتتخذ عند الضرورة الإجراءات اللازمة نحو توزيع أكثر عدلاً للدخل.

 

تظهر نسخة أطول من هذه الحجج في ورقة عمل PERI وفصل من كتاب سيصدر قريباً من تأليف بالاكريشنان وهاينز وألسون (2016): إعادة النظر في الاقتصاد لتحقيق العدالة الاجتماعية: إمكانات جذرية لحقوق الإنسان. مطبعة روتليدج


راديكا بالاكريشنان هي المديرة التنفيذية لمركز القيادة العالمية النسائية وأستاذة في دراسات المرأة ونوع الجنس في جامعة روتجرز.

جيمس هاينز هو أستاذ أندرو جلين للاقتصاد ومدير مشارك في معهد بحوث الاقتصاد السياسي في جامعة ماساتشوستس أمهرست


 

COMMENTS

How inequality threatens all human rights

Inequality is not only a threat to economic and social rights—it threatens the realization of all forms of rights everywhere.


By: Radhika Balakrishnan & James Heintz
October 29, 2015

Available in:
Español | Français | العربية


At the global level, economic crises, armed conflict, public health emergencies, food insecurity and climate change have all threatened the realization of human rights. Within this constellation of factors, the alarming intensification of inequality in income and wealth has emerged as another area of growing concern. The human rights framework offers partial guidance on the implications of our increasingly polarized societies, but gaps remain. Given the sharp rise in inequality in recent decades, it is critical to more fully understand the connections between the realization of human rights and inequality—how we think about and measure inequality, the degree to which growing inequality threatens basic rights, and what the human rights framework says, and does not say, about inequality.

People experience inequalities across a number of dimensions, for example in educational attainment, health and in the distribution of power. The free time men and women have is unequally distributed, once demands for both paid and unpaid work are taken into account. Inequalities are also measured between individuals, between households, between social groups (e.g., race, gender, and ethnicity) and between countries.

In defining inequality, one important distinction is between “horizontal” and “vertical” inequality. Horizontal inequality occurs between culturally defined or socially constructed groups, such as gender, race, ethnicity, religion, caste and sexuality. Vertical inequality occurs between individuals or between households, such as the overall income or wealth distribution of an economy.

The distinction between horizontal and vertical inequality is particularly salient within the human rights framework, since issues of horizontal inequality are more strongly incorportated. Consider, for example, the human rights principles of non-discrimination and equality, which states that the realization of rights should not differ across individuals based on gender, race, ethnicity, nationality or similar social groupings.

People should have equal opportunity to claim their rights and human rights principles apply to all persons equally. Yet because the implications for vertical inequality are less clear, this does not necessarily imply a perfectly equal distribution of income and wealth. Clarifications by human rights treaty bodies have stressed that non-discrimination and equality refers to substantive equality—there will always be some structural sources of inequality and indirect forms of discrimination. Therefore, equality has to be understood in relation to outcomes and results in addition to opportunities and conduct. If we focus on equality of outcomes, different treatment towards different people or groups might be required.

 
Demotix/Ronny Adolof Buol (All rights reserved)

Volunteers provide free education in Indonesia. Evidence shows that income inequality often is associated with poorer outcomes with regard to health, education and other economic and social rights.


Evidence shows that income inequality often is associated with poorer outcomes with regard to health, education and other economic and social rights. It is not surprising that richer households enjoy better outcomes than poorer ones. However, inequality itself can lead to worse outcomes regardless of income level. For example, low-income households in a very unequal society may do worse than households with the identical income in a more equal society.

In the human rights framework, the state has the primary obligation to respect, protect and fulfill rights, but this depends on a functioning state with full democratic participation and transparency. Yet, inequality in income and wealth affects formal and informal political processes in ways that determine people’s access to education, healthcare, jobs and social security.

When the political power of the elites expands as the income and wealth distribution becomes more polarized, this compromises the entire range of human rights.

When the political power of the elites expands as the income and wealth distribution becomes more polarized, this compromises the entire range of human rights. Some political scientists argue that a democratic process is able to offset the impact of inequalities in income and wealth. For instance, the “median voter theorem” suggests there will be pressures for redistribution in unequal societies as long as a well-functioning democracy exists. This is because the majority of the population—those in the middle of the income distribution and below—will vote for redistribution when income and wealth is concentrated in relatively few hands. But this approach makes very strong assumptions: that people are able to claim their rights, that the state is democratically accountable, that the policies supported by the majority do not undermine the rights of other groups, that global integration places no limits on the policy choices of national governments, and that elite economic interests are not able to unduly influence economic policy.

In reality, inequalities in income and wealth produce inequalities in the distribution of power. When the political power of the elites expands as the income and wealth distribution becomes more polarized, this compromises the entire range of human rights. Studies that look at variations across a range of countries have shown that, contrary to the median voter theorem, greater inequality is associated with less redistributive government spending, as measured by expenditures on social security and welfare as a share of GDP. Similarly, there is evidence that social expenditures fall when the gap between the middle class and the top 10% widens. Economic elites are likely to resist progressive forms of taxation, which limits the ability of the government to mobilize resources for the fulfillment of rights.

Human rights provide partial guidance on the implications of widening inequalities on the realization of rights. However, the human rights framework stops short of declaring a particular distribution of income or wealth as fair or just. This is partly because human rights are about realized outcomes that shape the choices and freedoms people enjoy. Therefore, a just distribution of income is one that allows for the fullest realization of rights possible, consistent with the principles of non-discrimination and equality.

Article 28 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights states that “everyone is entitled to a social and international order in which the rights and freedoms set forth in this Declaration can be fully realized.” The distribution of income and wealth, and the associated political dynamics, represents an important dimension of this social and international order. There is an implicit obligation within the human rights framework for states to consider the impact of inequality on rights and—where necessary—to take steps towards a more just distribution of income.

 

A longer version of these arguments appear in a PERI working paper and a chapter of a forthcoming book by Balakrishnan, Heintz, and Elson (2016): Rethinking Economics for Social Justice: The Radical Potential of Human Rights. Routledge Press.


Radhika Balakrishnan is Faculty Director of the Center for Women's Global Leadership and Professor in Women's and Gender Studies at Rutgers University. She is also a Public Voices fellow of the OpEd Project.

James Heintz is the Andrew Glyn Professor of Economics and Associate Director of the Political Economy Research Institute at the University of Massachusetts Amherst.


 

COMMENTS