التقاضي على حقوق الإنسان تحت نير الاحتلال

الاحتلال الإسرائيلي هو السبب الجذري للمعاناة الفلسطينية. لن يغير التقاضي من هذا الواقع، لكنه أثبت كونه وسيلة تكتيكية ناجحة للدفاع عن حقوق الفلسطينيين. 


By: Jessica Montell
March 12, 2019

Available in:
English | Español | עברית


Photo: Praying in Defiance/Al Jazeera English/Wikipedia


مع مرورأكثر من 50  عامًا على احتلال إسرائيل للأراضي الفلسطينية، ومع تزايد عداء المجتمع الإسرائيليّ لقضية الحقوق الفلسطينية، فالعديد من المعنيين بحقوق الإنسان يئسوا من إمكانية إحداث أي تغيير حقيقي عن طريق المؤسسات الإسرائيلية، لا سيما التقاضي للمطالبة بهذه الحقوق في المحاكم.

تعرضت محكمة العدل الإسرائيلية العليا لانتقادات في محلها، على دورها في الحفاظ على الاحتلال الإسرائيلي. فسجل المحكمة رديء فيما يخص قضايا الاحتلال. فلطالما أعطت المحكمة الضوء الأخضر للحكومة كلما نظرت قضايا تخص مكونات الاحتلال الأساسية، من المستوطنات الإسرائيلية إلى الإخلاء الجبريّ للفلسطينيين، واستغلال إسرائيل للموارد الفلسطينية. وكان هذا هو الوضع القائم حتى من قَبل تعيين وزير العدل الإسرائيلي اليميني المتشدد لقضاة بالمحكمة العليا وبالمحاكم الأدنى درجة ممن يشاركونه نفس القناعات المتطرفة.

لكن لا يزال التقاضي من الأدوات الفعالة القليلة التي يمكن من خلالها إعمال حقوق الفلسطينيين. وبالقياس على ما قاله تشرشل عن الديمقراطية، فالتقاضي المحلي أسوأ استراتيجية للدفاع عن حقوق الفلسطينيين، لكن الاستراتيجيات الأخرى أسوأ منها.

يقود مركز "هاموكيد" جهود المساعدة القانونية للفلسطينيين تحت الاحتلال، إذ يساعد المركز في مئات القضايا أمام المحاكم الإسرائيلية كل عام دفاعًا عن حرية الفلسطينيين في التنقل وفيما يخص الحق في السكن، وحقوق السجناء، والطعن على قانونية العقاب الجماعي. ونظرًا للمناخ المجتمعيّ والقانونيّ العدائيّ السائد في إسرائيل حاليًا، فمن المدهش أن هذه القضايا قد لاقت معدلات عالية من النجاح. في واقع الأمر، فإن أغلب القضايا التي ساعد فيها المركز خرجت بنتائج طيبة، وأغلبها عن طريق تسوية القضايا خارج المحاكم، وأيضًا من خلال أحكام المحاكم أحيانًا.

بالإضافة إلى النجاحات الفردية، شارك "هاموكيد" أيضًا في جهود التقاضي الاستراتيجي الرامية إلى تغيير  السياسات على مستوىً أكثر اتساعًا.  فنحن نقوم برفع سلسلة دعاوى فردية، كل منها بالنيابة عن شخص يطالب بالانصاف. وفي العادة، تجد المحكمة طريقة لإنصاف الشخص المعني، ثم آخر، ثم آخر، حتى لا يبقى بإمكانها أن تتجاهل إصدار حُكم مبدئي حول الأمر. كان هذا هو ما حدث عام 1999، بعدما رفع "هاموكيد" ومحامين آخرين أكثر من 100 دعوى قضائية نيابة عن فلسطينيين تعرضوا للتعذيب أثناء الاستجواب. وأخيرًا قضت المحكمة العليا بأن "شين بيت"، جهاز الأمن الداخلي الإسرائيلي، لا يمكنه استخدام العنف البدني في استجواب الفلسطينيين.

وفي قضايا أخرى قد تلجأ الدولة مثلًا إلى استحداث سياسة "في ظل" القضايا المرفوعة. هذا هو ما حدث بعدما رفع "هاموكيد" سلسلة دعاوى نيابة عن مواطنين أجانب تزوجوا من فلسطينيين وفلسطينيات بالضفة الغربية، دون أن يُتاح لهم وضع قانوني. وفي أعقاب تلك الدعاوى، في 2008، منحت إسرائيل حق لم شمل الأسرة لـ 32 ألف شخص.

ويُظهر نشاطنا الخاص بالمقاضاة في القدس الشرقية مردود التقاضي الاستراتيجي وحدوده أيضًا في سياقنا القائم. فلدى الحكومة الإسرائيلية سياسة تقضي بالحفاظ على "التوازن السكاني" بين اليهود والفلسطينيين بالمدينة، وهي تترجمه إلى جهود للحد من تعداد الفلسطينيين هناك. في عام 1998 كشف "هاموكيد" عمّا وصفه بـ "النقل الهادئ للفلسطينيين" من المدينة، بعد سحب إقاماتهم. فقد سحبت إسرائيل تصاريح الإقامة الدائمة من أكثر من 14 ألف فلسطيني كانوا يعيشون بالخارج لبعض الوقت، بعضهم لم ينتقل إلا بضعة أميال على الطريق إلى الضفة الغربية. وبالتعاون مع منظمات حقوقية أخرى، رفعنا دعوى بالنيابة عن 15 فلسطينيًا متضررًا. وردًا على الدعوى، في عام 2000، أعلنت وزارة الداخلية الإسرائيلية أنه سيتم الكف عن سحب الإقامات إذا حافظ الشخص على "صلة معقولة" بالقدس. يمكن للفلسطينيين الذين فقدوا الإقامة أن يتقدموا بطلب باسترداد الإقامة الدائمة، وتتم الموافقة عليه بعد أن يعودوا للمدينة ويعيشوا فيها عامين.

ليست هذه نهاية القصة بالطبع. فكل عام يمثل "هاموكيد" مئات الفلسطينيين الذين يكافحون لاسترداد إقاماتهم، أو لتسجيل أطفالهم كسكان مُقيمينَ في القدس، أو للحصول على إذن بلمّ شمل الأسرة مع القرين أو القرينة، أو للحصول على خدمات اجتماعية مستحقة لهم. وكل قضية هي في حدّ ذاتها معركة قد تطول لسنوات. ولقد كللت جهودنا بنجاح كبير في عام 2017 عندما أشارت المحكمة العليا إلى فلسطينيي القدس في حُكمَينِ منفصلين بأنهم "سكان أصليين لهم وضع خاص". ولقد أعطانا هذا أدوات سوف نستخدمها في المستقبل في التقاضي للطعن على السياسات الإسرائيلية.

وفي الوقت نفسه، وفيما يتصل بالقيود على الإقامة، تقيد السلطات الإسرائيلية أيضًا حق الفلسطينيين في إنشاء المساكن، وتهدم بيوت الفلسطينيين وتتجاهل تشييد البنية التحتية والمرافق الخاصة بالفلسطينيين في المدينة في حين تستثمر موارد مهولة في توسعة المستوطنات الإسرائيلية في القدس الشرقية، وكل هذا لمنع أي مظاهر  من شأنها تقويض السيادة الإسرائيلية على المدينة.

يعيدني هذا إلى النقطة التي بدأت بها: الاحتلال هو السبب الجذري لانتهاكات حقوق الإنسان الإسرائيلية ضد الفلسطينيين. لن يُنهي التقاضي الاستراتيجي في المحاكم الإسرائيلية هذا الاحتلال. في الواقع الأمر فقد يكون أثره في الاتجاه المعاكس. فالمحاكم قادرة على تنفيس بعض الضغوط التي يتسبب فيها الاحتلال، وفي الوقت نفسه فهي تسمح للمستوطنات الإسرائيلية بالاستمرار، فضلًا عن قمع واستلاب الفلسطينيين، مع استمرار التمييز البيّن ضدهم، بل وحتى تضفي عباءة من الشرعية على هذه التدابير القمعية. ونظرًا لهذا الوضع، فهناك بعض الضغوط باتجاه مقاطعة المحاكم الإسرائيلية تمامًا، وتتعرض منظمات مثل "هاموكيد" لانتقادات جراء مشاركتها فيما يُوصف بكونه ورقة توت العدالة التي تخبئ عورة الاحتلال.

إن المقارنة بين حماية حقوق الأفراد من استراتيجيات التغيير السياسي، في مواجهة السعيّ لإعمال الحقوق الجماعية، هي مسألة فلسفية شائكة. لكن بالنسبة لنا فهي ليست كذلك. "هاموكيد" مركز للمساعدة القانونية وطالما أن فلسطينيين يلجأون إلينا طلبًا للمساعدة القانونية، فنحن مُلزَمون بتقديمها. يجب على نشطاء حقوق الإنسان استخدام كافة الأدوات التي في جعبتهم لمكافحة التمييز وانتهاك الحقوق. ولا شك أن التقاضي الاستراتيجيّ أداة قوية ضمن صندوق أدوات حقوق الإنسان.


جيسيكا مونتيل هي المديرة التنفيذية لـ "هاموكيد"، مركز الدفاع عن حقوق الأفراد في إسرائيل.

 
 


 

COMMENTS

[ X ]

Litigating rights under occupation

Israeli occupation is the root cause of Palestinian suffering. Litigation won’t change that, but it has nevertheless proven a successful tactic to defend Palestinian rights.


By: Jessica Montell
March 12, 2019

Available in:
Español | עברית | العربية


Photo: Praying in Defiance/Al Jazeera English/Wikipedia


With Israel's occupation of the Palestinians having passed the 50-year mark, and Israeli society increasingly hostile to issues of Palestinian rights, many in the human rights community despair of the possibility of making any change through domestic Israeli institutions; and particularly through litigating these rights in court.  

The Israeli High Court of Justice has been criticized, and rightly so, for the role it plays in maintaining Israel's occupation. The Court has a poor record when it comes to issues of occupation. It has consistently given a green light to the fundamental components of the occupation, from Israeli settlements to forced displacement of Palestinians to the exploitation of Palestinian resources for Israeli benefit. This was the case even before Israel's hardline Justice Minister appointed judges both to the High Court of Justice and to lower courts who seem to share an ultra-nationalist agenda.

And yet, it remains the case that litigation is one of the few effective tools to advance Palestinian rights. To paraphrase what Churchill said about democracy, domestic litigation is the worst strategy to defend Palestinians' rights—except for all the other strategies.

HaMoked is the leading provider of legal aid to Palestinians under occupation, litigating hundreds of cases in Israeli courts every year to advocate for Palestinians' freedom of movement, residency rights, and prisoners' rights, and to contest collective punishments. Given the current hostile social and legal climate in Israel, many are surprised by the high success rate of this litigation. In fact, a majority of our cases are ultimately resolved successfully, most through out of court settlements but also through court judgements.

Beyond the individual successes, HaMoked also engages in strategic litigation to effect broader policy change. We will file a series of individual petitions, each one on behalf of a person who needs redress. Often the Court will find a way to address the suffering of this one individual, and then another, and another—until it cannot avoid ruling on the principle. This was the case in 1999, after HaMoked and other attorneys had filed over 100 real-time petitions on behalf of Palestinians undergoing torture in interrogations. The High Court finally ruled that Shin Bet, the Israel Security Agency, cannot use physical force in interrogations of Palestinians.

In other cases, the State will undertake a policy change "in the shadow" of litigation. This was the case after HaMoked filed dozens of petitions on behalf of foreign nationals married to Palestinians but living in the West Bank with no legal status. In the wake of these petitions, in 2008, Israel granted family unification to 32,000 people.  

Our work on East Jerusalem illustrates the impact, but also the limitations of strategic litigation in our context. Israeli government policy to maintain the "demographic balance" between Jews and Palestinians in the city translates into efforts to limit the Palestinian population. In 1998, HaMoked exposed what we called the Quiet Transfer of Palestinians from the city through revocation of residency status. Israel revoked the permanent residency permits of over 14,000 Palestinians who had lived abroad for a period of time, or even moved just a few miles down the road into the West Bank. Together with other human rights organizations, we filed a petition on behalf of 15 of the affected Palestinians. In response to this petition, in 2000, Israel's Minister of Interior announced that residency status would no longer be revoked if the person maintained "a reasonable connection" to Jerusalem. Palestinians who lost residency could apply to have it reinstated once they returned and lived two years in the city.

Of course, this isn't the end of the story. Every year HaMoked represents hundreds of Palestinians fighting to have their residency reinstated, to register their children as Jerusalem residents, to obtain family unification status for their spouse, or to receive social benefits to which they are entitled.  Each case is a battle that can drag on for years. Our efforts received a boost in 2017, when in two separate judgements, the High Court referred to Palestinian Jerusalemites as "an indigenous population with a unique status." This gives us tools to use in future litigation challenging Israeli policies.

Meanwhile, alongside restrictions on residency, Israeli authorities are also restricting Palestinian construction, demolishing Palestinian homes and neglecting infrastructure and services to Palestinians in the city. They do this while at the same time investing massive resources to expand Israeli settlements in East Jerusalem—all in order to prevent any diplomatic compromise regarding Israeli sovereignty over the city.

This brings me back to my opening point: the occupation is the root cause of Israel's human rights violations against the Palestinians. Strategic litigation in Israeli courts is not going to end the occupation. In fact, it may be the opposite. The courts can release a bit of steam from the pressure cooker of occupation, while at the same time allowing Israeli settlements, repression and dispossession of Palestinians and blatant discrimination to continue—and even affording these measures a cloak of legality. Given this reality, there is some pressure to boycott the Israeli courts entirely, and organizations like HaMoked are criticized for participating in what is seen as a fig leaf of justice.

Weighing the protection of individuals' rights against strategies of political change to advance collective rights poses some thorny philosophical questions. But for us there is no dilemma. HaMoked is a legal aid human rights organization and as long as Palestinians approach us for assistance, we have an obligation to provide it. Human rights activists must use all tools at their disposal to combat discrimination and violation of rights. And there is no doubt that strategic litigation is a powerful tool in the human rights toolbox.

 


Jessica Montell is Executive Director of HaMoked, the Center for the Defence of the Individual, in Israel.


 

COMMENTS